DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 57-59, 61, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (USP 4,848,590) in view of Design Choice.
Regarding claim 57, Kelly discloses an object distribution and conveying arrangement (see top of Fig. 1) for distributing and conveying a plurality of objects, said arrangement comprising: an inlet manifold (see Fig. 1; elements generally at the top and where a manifold would be defined as a component that manages the flow of material) for receiving and conveying the objects to sorting units (see Fig. 1) for sorting of the objects, wherein the inlet manifold comprises: one or more feeder inlet (element 11) for feeding the objects into the inlet manifold, at least two outlets (col. 10, lines 25-27 and elements 15a) for distributing the objects to the sorting units (elements 43 and 46, elements 51 and 56, elements 60 and 65), and a guiding arrangement (element 12a) connecting the one or more feeder inlet (see Figs. 1 and 5; elements 12a and 15a) and the at least two outlets (310), said guiding arrangement being adapted to convey the objects downwardly and diagonally relative a horizontal reference plane from the one or more feeder inlet (see Fig. 1; where element 12 feeds at an angle to element 15) downstream to the at least two outlets. Kelly does not explicitly disclose a first outlet of the least two outlets is spaced from a second outlet of the at least two outlets along a vertical axis. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to feeding of material because Applicant has not disclosed that the orientation of the feeding outlets provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Kelly, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either feeding outlets because both feeding outlets would perform the same function of feeding material for the purpose of feeding material into multiple sorting zones.
Regarding claim 58, Kelly discloses the guiding arrangement is arranged to convey the objects in an angle relative a horizontal reference plane larger than an angle of repose of the objects such that the objects are at least partially conveyed by means of gravity (see Fig. 1; element 12).
Regarding claim 59, Kelly discloses the guiding arrangement forms a plurality of passages for conveying and distributing the objects to the at least two outlets (element 14 vibrates items into paths that feed on element 15a).
Regarding claim 61, Kelly discloses the guiding arrangement is arranged to convey the objects along a feeding plane, said feeding plane being inclined relative a reference horizontal plane (see Fig. 1; element 12).
Regarding claim 66, Kelly does not explicitly disclose the outlet manifold is adapted to be releasably connected to the sorting units. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to detach components because Applicant has not disclosed that the outlet manifold being releasably connected provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Kelly, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with detachably components because both manifolds would perform the same function of conveying objects for the purpose of making maintenance of the components more efficient. Furthermore, making elements separable has been held to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 14-17, 21, 23, 33, 34, and 36 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art discloses an object sorting system. The closest prior art does not disclose or make obvious an outlet manifold configured to receive sorted objects from the plurality of sorting units, wherein the outlet manifold comprises a plurality of inlets and at least two separate outlet passages, wherein each inlet of the plurality of inlets of the outlet manifold is configured to receive a respective sorted fraction of objects from the sorting outlet of a respective sorting unit of the plurality of sorting units, and wherein a first separate outlet passage of the at least two separate outlet passages is configured to receive the respective sorted fractions of objects received by at least two inlets of the plurality of inlets associated with at least two different sorting units to combine the respective sorted fractions of objects from the at least two different sorting units in conjunction with the other structures in claim 1.
The closest prior art discloses an object distribution and conveying arrangement. The closest prior art does not disclose or make obvious first separate outlet passage of the at least two separate outlet passages is configured to receive the respective sorted fractions of objects received by at least two inlets of the plurality of inlets associated with two different sorting units to combine the respective sorted fractions of objects from the at least two different sorting units in conjunction with the other structures in claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under USC 103
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” The system of Kelly relies on calculating position based on falling time. Therefore, having a fixed height from which scrap falls, as taught in Kelly, assists with sorting. Having scrap falling from different heights at each column would lead to each column having different dropping speeds. Thus, each column would have to be calibrated for the different speeds associated with different dropping heights having different delays before arriving at each blast valve. Accordingly, modifying Kelly to position the different trays at different heights would have frustrated the purpose of Kelly, making operation more difficult, conferring any without any advantage. Thus, such a modification of Kelly would not have been an obvious design choice, but rather would have diminished operability of the device,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that each sorting unit comprises a photo detector and blast valve (see Fig. 4) at specific locations with known distances between each detector and valve. As such, in an obvious arrangement like vertically spaced outlets, the main processor (element 71) and analyzing system (element 72) would be able to calculate separation timing to separate items into different receiving bins; therefore, the operability would not be diminished with a different, but obvious, arrangement of the two outlets from the inlet manifold.
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653