DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deneen (Pub. No.: US 2019/0035193A1) and further in view of Preus (Pub. No.: US 2018/0112454A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Deneen discloses a short-range wireless communication system comprising: an in-machine communication terminal mounted in a machine body (fig. 1, item 20, 50 represents a in machine communication. This items can also be in a single compartment); and a portable communication terminal capable of connecting to the in-machine communication terminal by a short-range wireless communication line (fig. 1, item 40 is a portable communication terminal. The portable terminal 40 can connect to in-machine terminal by a short range 60), wherein the short-range wireless communication system includes a management server connected to the in-machine communication terminal and the portable communication terminal through a communication network (fig. 1, item 60 which is a router shows the connection to cloud 70 which has a server as in parag. 0027), the portable communication terminal transmits a wireless communication turn-on request to the management server in a case connecting to the in-machine communication terminal by the short-range wireless communication line (In fig. 1, item 40 which is a portable terminal communicate with item 70 which is the server to request for a turn ON which is opening of the garage if the need be. The process goes through a server 70 to router 60 and to in-machine terminal which is 20 and 50) and the management server includes a storage section that acquires and stores information on latest laws and regulations, is configured to determine whether a current position of the machine body received from the in-machine communication terminal is included in a region in which short-range wireless communication is permitted, on a basis of the information on the latest laws and regulations stored in the storage section, in a case receiving the wireless communication turn-on request from the portable communication terminal (parag 0009-0014, transmits the wireless communication turn-on request to the in-machine communication terminal in a case determining that the current position is included in a region in which the short-range wireless communication is permitted (parag 0009-0014, and keeps the wireless communication turn-on request from being transmitted to the in-machine communication terminal in a case determining that the current position is not included in a region in which the short-range wireless communication is permitted (In fig. 1, when item 40 which is a portable terminal is out of range from in-machine terminal 20 and 50, i.e. away from router 60 and no access to cloud 70, the turn ON message is being prevented from transmitting to in-machine) .
Deneen does not explicitly disclose server to have a storage section even though it stores information in the cloud.
Preus discloses a server with a memory as in (fig. 5, parag. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Preus into the teaching of Deneen in order to detect conditions in environments associated with devices, such as garage door openers, and responding to the conditions through control of components of the devices.
With respect to claim 3:
Preus discloses the short-range wireless communication system according to claim 1, wherein the short-range wireless communication system includes an in-machine monitor mounted in the machine body, and the in-machine monitor displays an operation menu to be used for manually turning on the short-range wireless communication in a case the in-machine communication terminal has sensed that it is impossible to use the communication network (parag. 0019).
With respect to claim 4:
Deneen discloses the short-range wireless communication system according to claim 1, wherein the in-machine communication terminal is configured to turn off the short-range wireless communication in a case the machine body has moved by a certain distance after the short-range wireless communication has been turned on or in a case a certain time has elapsed after the short-range wireless communication has been turned on (parag. 0011).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649