DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on October 24, 2024, September 4, 2025, and October 21, 2025. The U.S. patents and Foreign Patents have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on October 24, 2024 have been considered and accepted.
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “part.” Such claim limitations are: Claim 1 recites the terms “an input/output part,” “a storage control part,” and “a movement control part.” Claim 2 recites the terms “an abnormality sensing part.” Claim 3 recites the terms “input/output part.” Claim 4 recites the terms “an authentication request part.” Claim 5 recites the terms “input/output part.” Claim 6 recites the terms “input/output part.” Claim 9 recites the terms “a transmission apparatus communication part,” “a reception apparatus communication part.” Claim 10 recites the terms “a transmission apparatus authentication part,” “a reception apparatus authentication part.”
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stapleton et al. (Pub. No. US 2025/0015980), hereinafter Stapleton.
Claim 1. Stapleton discloses a moving body (see drone(s) 102A-N) comprising:
at least a processor; and a memory in circuit communication with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory (see Parag. [0036]; A drone (e.g., any one of drones 102A-N) may be embodied by one or more computing devices, shown as apparatus 200 in FIG. 2. The apparatus 200 may include processor 202, memory 204, communications hardware 206…) to implement:
an input/output part that receives an encryption key from a transmission apparatus and transmits the encryption key to a reception apparatus (See Parag. [0056]; the host device (transmission apparatus) may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device (reception apparatus));
a storage control part that controls storage of the encryption key in a storage part (See Parag. [0034]; A storage device may store information relied upon during operation of the drone, such as various cryptographic keys, key check values. See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like))); and
a movement control part that moves the moving body to the reception apparatus after receiving the encryption key from the transmission apparatus (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device),
wherein the storage control part stores the encryption key in the storage part upon receiving the encryption key from the transmission apparatus and erases the encryption key stored in the storage part in a case where an abnormality is detected (See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like)). To combat potential eavesdropping or unauthorized access of the cryptographic key during travel, the drone may comprise security circuitry that is configured to detect anomalous conditions of the drone and, if necessary, alter the cryptographic key to avoid the key being compromised. See Parag. [0077]; altering the cryptographic key may comprise deleting the cryptographic key. See Parag. [0045]).
Claim 2. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim 1,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to further implement: an abnormality sensing part that detects the abnormality and notifies the storage control part (See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like)). To combat potential eavesdropping or unauthorized access of the cryptographic key during travel, the drone may comprise security circuitry that is configured to detect anomalous conditions of the drone and, if necessary, alter the cryptographic key to avoid the key being compromised).
Claim 3. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the input/output part receives from an external apparatus that the abnormality has been detected and notifies the storage control part (See Parag. [0045]; the apparatus 200 further comprises security circuitry 214 that detects anomalous conditions of a drone and alters cryptographic keys in response to a detection of an anomalous condition. The security circuitry 214 may utilize processor 202, memory 204, or any other hardware component included in the apparatus 200 to perform these operations, as described in connection with FIG. 5 below. The security circuitry 214 may further utilize communications hardware 206 to gather data from a variety of sources, may utilize input-output circuitry 208 to receive data from a user, and in some embodiments may utilize processor 202 and/or memory 204 to detect anomalous conditions and alter cryptographic keys).
Claim 4. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim 1,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to further implement: an authentication request part that requests the transmission apparatus and the reception apparatus to authenticate the moving body prior to transmitting and receiving the encryption key (See Parag. [0029]; an example scenario in which a drone 102 may communicate with another drone 103 of a drone network in order to establish secure communication between a host device 101 and a remote device 105. In this regard, a first drone 102 may deliver a cryptographic key to a second drone 103 so the first drone and the second drone can communicate securely. In some embodiments, the second drone 103 may deliver another cryptographic key to a third drone, such that the second drone and the third drone can communicate securely, and so the first drone 102 and third drone can communicate securely via the second drone 103. This sequential process may continue indefinitely to produce an authenticated “mesh” of drones that can be leveraged to enable any endpoint remote device 105 and host device 101 to communicate securely).
Claim 5. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim 1,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the input/output part communicates the encryption key with the transmission apparatus and the reception apparatus using a laser beam (See Parag. [0040]; the communications hardware 206 may be any means suitable for transmitting data such as cryptographic keys, encrypted data, and/or the like, such as a device or circuitry embodied in either hardware or a combination of hardware and software that is configured to receive and/or transmit data from/to any other device, circuitry, or module in communication with the apparatus 200 (e.g., remote devices 108A-N, other drones 102A-N, and/or host device 106. In this regard, the communications hardware 206 may include, for example, interfaces for enabling communications with other devices, such as one or more ports (e.g., a laser port, a fiber-optic cable port, and/or the like). See Parag. [0061]; a connection between the drone and the first device may be established using communications hardware 206 interacting with corresponding communications hardware of the remote device. For example, the connection may be a physical connection, such as via a fiber-optic cable. As another example, the connection may be a laser connection. In some embodiments, the connection may a wireless connection, such that the connection may be established via a secure spectrum, channel, or the like).
Claim 6. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim 1,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the input/output part communicates the encryption key with the transmission apparatus and the reception apparatus using a quantum cryptography communication (See Parag. [0002]; cryptographic keys may be generated and distributed to devices via a process known as Quantum Key Distribution (QKD). See Parag. [0026]; utilize a plurality of drones to efficiently navigate to remote locations and leverage quantum-based hardware to generate and securely inject cryptographic keys into multiple devices across different remote locations and correspondingly securely provide the cryptographic keys to a host device. In various embodiments, the host device and drone network may establish a unique key per remote device and/or per drone for secure communications. Since only each remote device and the host have access to the corresponding cryptographic key, each respective device and the host can mutually authenticate using keys for which there is a high assurance level that no other party will be able to access).
Claim 7. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim 1,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the abnormality includes at least one selected from the group consisting of an abnormal value, an interference of another object with the moving body, data transmission between the moving body and another device, and an abnormality resulting from analysis of log information of the moving body (See Parag. [0076]; The anomalous condition may be detected based on a variety of factors. As one example, an anomalous condition may be detected in an instance in which the drone has deviated from a route defined by the itinerary data. As another example, an anomalous condition may be detected in an instance in which an unknown device has connected to or is attempting to connect to the drone),
wherein the abnormal value is at least one selected from the group consisting of abnormal values of vibration, temperature, voltage, position, movement speed, and movement time of the moving body (See Parag. [0076]; The anomalous condition may be detected based on a variety of factors. As one example, an anomalous condition may be detected in an instance in which the drone has deviated from a route defined by the itinerary data. As another example, an anomalous condition may be detected in an instance in which an unknown device has connected to or is attempting to connect to the drone).
Claim 8. Stapleton discloses the moving body according to claim 1,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the moving body is a flying body (See Parag. [0036]; A drone (e.g., any one of drones 102A-N)).
Claim 9. Stapleton discloses an encryption key delivery system, comprising:
a first moving body that is the moving body according to claim 1 (see Parag. [0036]; A drone (e.g., any one of drones 102A-N) may be embodied by one or more computing devices, shown as apparatus 200 in FIG. 2. The apparatus 200 may include processor 202, memory 204, communications hardware 206…);
a transmission apparatus (the host device); and a reception apparatus (remote device), wherein the transmission apparatus comprises at least a processor; and a memory in circuit communication with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory (See Parag. [0035]; one or more remote devices 108A-N and/or the host device(s) 106 need not be stationary or fixed devices, and need not be devices of any specific kind; rather, in various implementations these devices may be embodied by any computing devices known in the art, such as desktop or laptop computers, tablet devices, smartphones, or the like. See Parag. [0022-0023]) to implement:
a transmission apparatus communication part that transmits the encryption key to the moving body (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device), and
the reception apparatus comprises at least a processor; and a memory in circuit communication with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory (See Parag. [0035]; one or more remote devices 108A-N and/or the host device(s) 106 need not be stationary or fixed devices, and need not be devices of any specific kind; rather, in various implementations these devices may be embodied by any computing devices known in the art, such as desktop or laptop computers, tablet devices, smartphones, or the like. See Parag. [0022-0023]) to implement:
a reception apparatus communication part that receives the encryption key from the moving body (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device).
Claim 10. Stapleton discloses the encryption key delivery system according to claim 9,
Stapleton further discloses wherein the transmission apparatus further comprises a transmission apparatus authentication part that authenticates the moving body, the reception apparatus further comprises a reception apparatus authentication part that authenticates the moving body, the transmission apparatus communication part transmits the encryption key to the moving body in a case where the transmission apparatus authentication part succeeds in authentication, and the reception apparatus communication part receives the encryption key from the moving body in a case where the reception apparatus authentication part succeeds in authentication (See Parag. [0029]; an example scenario in which a drone 102 may communicate with another drone 103 of a drone network in order to establish secure communication between a host device 101 and a remote device 105. In this regard, a first drone 102 may deliver a cryptographic key to a second drone 103 so the first drone and the second drone can communicate securely. In some embodiments, the second drone 103 may deliver another cryptographic key to a third drone, such that the second drone and the third drone can communicate securely, and so the first drone 102 and third drone can communicate securely via the second drone 103. This sequential process may continue indefinitely to produce an authenticated “mesh” of drones that can be leveraged to enable any endpoint remote device 105 and host device 101 to communicate securely. See also Parag. [0061]).
Claim 11. Stapleton discloses the encryption key delivery system according to claim 9,
Stapleton further discloses the system further comprising: a second moving body having a same configuration as the first moving body; wherein the second moving body receives an encryption key from the transmission apparatus, the encryption key received being the same as the encryption key delivered by the first moving body (See Para. [0029]; a drone 102 may communicate with another drone 103 of a drone network in order to establish secure communication between a host device 101 and a remote device 105. In this regard, in some example embodiments, a first drone 102 may deliver a cryptographic key to a second drone 103 so the first drone and the second drone can communicate securely... This sequential process may continue indefinitely to produce an authenticated “mesh” of drones that can be leveraged to enable any endpoint remote device 105 and host device 101 to communicate securely).
Claim 12. Stapleton discloses the encryption key delivery system according to claim 9,
Stapleton further discloses the system further comprising: a second moving body having a same configuration as the first moving body (see Parag. [0036]; A drone (e.g., any one of drones 102A-N); wherein the second moving body receives an encryption key from the transmission apparatus, the encryption key received being different from the encryption key delivered by the first moving body (See Parag. [0074-0075]; the drone may utilize itinerary data received from a host device (or another drone) to navigate to the second location of the second device (e.g., another remote device 108A-N, or another drone 102A-N). The drone may travel to a second device in order to generate and cause transmission of another cryptographic key (e.g., a cryptographic key different from the cryptographic key injected into the first remote device) to the second device).
Claim 13. Stapleton discloses the encryption key delivery system according to claim 9,
Stapleton further discloses the system further comprising: a charging processing apparatus that comprises at least a processor; and a memory in circuit communication with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: collect parameters related to charging generated by the encryption key delivery system and performs charging (See Parag. [0045]; The security circuitry 214 may further utilize communications hardware 206 to gather data from a variety of sources, may utilize input-output circuitry 208 to receive data from a user, and in some embodiments may utilize processor 202 and/or memory 204 to detect anomalous conditions and alter cryptographic keys. See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like)). To combat potential eavesdropping or unauthorized access of the cryptographic key during travel, the drone may comprise security circuitry that is configured to detect anomalous conditions of the drone and, if necessary, alter the cryptographic key to avoid the key being compromised).
Claim 14. Stapleton discloses an encryption key delivery method executed by a computer loaded on a moving body (see Parag. [0036]; A drone (e.g., any one of drones 102A-N) may be embodied by one or more computing devices, shown as apparatus 200 in FIG. 2. The apparatus 200 may include processor 202, memory 204, communications hardware 206…), the encryption key delivery method, comprising:
receiving an encryption key from a transmission apparatus (See Parag. [0056]; the host device (transmission apparatus) may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device (reception apparatus));
storing the encryption key received in a storage part (See Parag. [0034]; A storage device may store information relied upon during operation of the drone, such as various cryptographic keys, key check values. See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like));
moving the moving body toward a reception apparatus after storing the encryption key (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device);
erasing the encryption key stored in the storage part in a case where an abnormality of the moving body is detected during a movement (See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like)). To combat potential eavesdropping or unauthorized access of the cryptographic key during travel, the drone may comprise security circuitry that is configured to detect anomalous conditions of the drone and, if necessary, alter the cryptographic key to avoid the key being compromised. See Parag. [0077]; altering the cryptographic key may comprise deleting the cryptographic key. See Parag. [0045]); and
transmitting the encryption key stored in the storage part to the reception apparatus, upon arriving at a destination area (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device).
Claim 15. Stapleton discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program causing a computer loaded on a moving body see Parag. [0036]; A drone (e.g., any one of drones 102A-N) may be embodied by one or more computing devices, shown as apparatus 200 in FIG. 2. The apparatus 200 may include processor 202, memory 204, communications hardware 206…) to execute;
receiving an encryption key from a transmission apparatus (See Parag. [0056]; the host device (transmission apparatus) may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device (reception apparatus));
storing the encryption key received in a storage part (See Parag. [0034]; A storage device may store information relied upon during operation of the drone, such as various cryptographic keys, key check values. See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like));
moving the moving body toward a reception apparatus after storing the encryption key (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device);
erasing the encryption key stored in the storage part in a case where an abnormality of the moving body is detected during a movement (See Parag. [0075]; the drone may traverse some distance while possessing the cryptographic key (i.e., having the cryptographic key stored (e.g., in memory 204, storage device 106A, or the like)). To combat potential eavesdropping or unauthorized access of the cryptographic key during travel, the drone may comprise security circuitry that is configured to detect anomalous conditions of the drone and, if necessary, alter the cryptographic key to avoid the key being compromised. See Parag. [0077]; altering the cryptographic key may comprise deleting the cryptographic key. See Parag. [0045]); and
transmitting the encryption key stored in the storage part to the reception apparatus, upon arriving at a destination area (See Parag. [0056]; the host device may generate the cryptographic key itself (e.g., via an in-house QRNG) and provide it to the drone, after which the drone may travel to the remote device and provide the cryptographic key to the remote device).
Claim 16. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 2 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 17. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 4 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 18. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 5 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 19. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 6 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 20. The applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 7 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to encryption key delivery technology by a moving body.
Esbensen et al. (Patent No. US 11,108,550); “Method and System for Highly Secured Network Communication using Quantum Technologies;”
Teaches Methods and systems for configuring computing devices using mobile workspace contexts based on proximity to locations (see Abstract).
Teaches systems and methods for secure network communications of data using quantum key distribution (QKD) are presented. Source data is provided. The source data is encrypted to produce encrypted data and key data corresponding to the encrypted data. Using QKD, the key data is transmitted from a first network location to a second network location. Successful transmission of the key data to the second location is verified, and upon verification, the encrypted data is transmitted from the first network location to the second network location using QKD. Successful transmission of the encrypted data to the second location is verified, and upon verification, the encrypted data is decrypted with the key data to provide a data output. (See Abstract).
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499