DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/22/25 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to any of
the statutory categories. The claim recites “A computer program” which is considered a product that do
not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as “data per se”) or a
computer program per se (often referred to as “software per se”) when claimed as a product without any
structural recitations. The limitation “computer program” is not eligible and the non-transitory computer
readable medium (CRM) is not positively recited. Examiner suggests applicant to amend the claim to
recite in the “non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wengierow et al. (US 20210055691).
Regarding claim 1, Wengierow teaches a method for generating a pixelated projection in a reconstruction space (fig. 9 and ¶95, display engine 990 extracts each hologram from the data frame using hologram extractor 992 and tiles the hologram according to a tiling scheme generated by tiling engine 970, … display engine 990 is arranged to output a drive signal to SLM 940 to display each hologram of the plurality of holograms, in turn, according to a corresponding tiling scheme) comprising, determining a first discretized hologram having a phase distribution in a plane, wherein the first discretized hologram is determined to generate a desired amplitude profile of an output pixel in the reconstruction space (fig. 9, software optics 994 and ¶95, Display engine 990 may optionally add a phase ramp function (also called a software grating function) and/or a software lens using software optics 994, to translate the position of the replay field on the replay plane and/or determine the position of the replay plane) determining a second discretized hologram having a phase distribution determined to create a desired projection in the reconstruction space (fig. 9, hologram extractor 992 and ¶95, Display engine 990 extracts each hologram from the data frame using hologram extractor 992), determining or generating a tiled hologram by tiling the second discretized hologram a number of one or more times in one or two directions (fig. 9, tiling engine 970 and ¶95, Display engine 990 tiles the hologram according to a tiling scheme generated by tiling engine 970) wherein the number of tilings and the first discretized hologram are determined subject to an output pixel constraint determined based on a dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile (amount of signal content) of the output pixel in the reconstruction space and a pixel pitch (AXholo, AYholo) in the reconstruction space (¶103, pixel size (pitch)/ signal content and ¶89, number of tiles / SNR; ¶103, Specifically, some embodiments implement the technique of tiling to minimise the size of the image pixels whilst maximising the amount of signal content going into the holographic reconstruction and ¶89, teaches that the number of tiles (‘more tiles’) is used to adjust the signal-to-noise ratio of the holographic reconstruction.) determining a composite hologram based on a phasor multiplication of the first discretized hologram and the tiled hologram (¶95, phase addition = phasor multiplication; note: An addition of the software lens, i.e., the first discretized hologram, to the second discretized hologram (¶95). Such an addition of two discrete holograms can only be done pixel by pixel as both holograms are non trivial and the phase vale of each final pixel must be considered for both discretized holograms accordingly. Therefore, a pixel by pixel addition of two phase holograms and therefore a phasor multiplication); phase modulating a coherent input beam (¶95 with fig. 9) based on the composite hologram and directing the phase modulated beam towards the reconstruction space (fig.9: replay plane 925) to generate the pixelated projection in the reconstruction space (fig. 9, light source 910[Wingdings font/0xE0]SLM940[Wingdings font/0xE0]replay plane 925 and ¶95, display engine 990 is arranged to output a drive signal to SLM 940 to display each hologram).
Regarding claim 2, Wengierow teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the pixel constraint requires that the dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile of the output pixel is smaller than, equal or substantially equal to the pixel pitch (AXholo, AYholo) (¶103, the technique of “tiling” is implemented to increase image quality. Specifically, some embodiments implement the technique of tiling to minimise the size of the image pixels whilst maximising the amount of signal content going into the holographic reconstruction. Note: tiling is implemented to minimize the size of the image pixels, pixel size smaller than or equal to pixel pitch is a necessary condition for well-separated pixels).
Regarding claim 3, Wengierow teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determination of the tiled hologram comprises determination of a tiling number (NT, NT 1,NT2) of the tiled hologram subject to the pixel constraint and the dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile of the output pixel (¶95 and ¶103, ¶95, Display engine 990 extracts each hologram from the data frame using hologram extractor 992 and tiles the hologram according to a tiling scheme generated by tiling engine 970, as described herein. In particular, tiling engine 970 may receive a control signal to determine the tiling scheme, or may otherwise determine a tiling scheme for tiling based on the hologram; note: tiling engine 970 determines the tiling scheme based on image pixel size and signal content (pixel amplitude dimension and pixel pitch constraints).
Regarding claim 5, Wengierow teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first discretized hologram is determined dependent on a desired dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile of the output pixel (¶95, determine the position of the replay plane; note: the software lens explicitly chosen to “determine the position of the replay plane” and therewith the desired amplitude profile of the output pixel.).
Regarding claim 8, Wengierow teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the phase modulation comprises controlling a spatial light modulator (SLM) (fig. 9, SLM 940) to generate a discretized phase distribution corresponding to the first discretized hologram, the tiled hologram (¶95, Display engine 990 is arranged to display each of the plurality of holograms, in turn, on SLM 940. Display engine 990 comprises hologram extractor 992, tiling engine 970 and software optics 994. Display engine 990 extracts each hologram from the data frame using hologram extractor 992 and tiles the hologram according to a tiling scheme generated by tiling engine 970, as described herein. In particular, tiling engine 970 may receive a control signal to determine the tiling scheme, or may otherwise determine a tiling scheme for tiling based on the hologram. ) or the composite hologram.
Regarding claim 10, Wengierow teaches a holographic system arranged for generating a pixelated projection in a reconstruction space, wherein the holographic system (fig. 9 and ¶95, display engine 990 extracts each hologram from the data frame using hologram extractor 992 and tiles the hologram according to a tiling scheme generated by tiling engine 970, … display engine 990 is arranged to output a drive signal to SLM 940 to display each hologram of the plurality of holograms, in turn, according to a corresponding tiling scheme) comprises, a data processor (fig. 9, controller 930) arranged to perform the steps of claim 1, a light source (fig. 9, light source 910) for generating the coherent input beam (shown in fig. 9), and a spatial light modulator (SLM) (fig. 9, SLM 940) arranged for phase modulating the coherent input beam based on the composite hologram and directing the phase modulated beam towards the reconstruction space (fig. 9, replay plan 925) to generate the pixelated projection in the reconstruction space (fig. 9, ‘drive signal’ and ¶95; ¶94, FIG. 9 is a schematic showing a holographic projector 900 in accordance with embodiments. Holographic projector 900 comprises a spatial light modulator (SLM) 940 arranged to display holograms received from a controller 930. In operation, a light source 910 illuminates the hologram displayed on SLM 940 and a holographic reconstruction is formed in a replay field on a replay plane 925.).
Regarding claim 14, Wengierow teaches a computer program comprising instructions to cause a data processor to execute the steps of the method of claim 1 (¶55, ¶95, computer program for CGH and ¶111, instructions and processor); .
Regarding claim 15, Wengierow teaches use of the method according to claim 1 or the system of claim 10 or 11 for any one of the following: - multiphoton optical excitation of biologic cells, - printing 3D objects, - holographic displaying (¶95 and ¶55, hologram), - quantum optics and photonics, - photopolymerization, such as two-photon photopolymerization, - laser material processing, such as one shot material processing,- photolithography, - structured illumination microscopy, - treatment of skin, such as cosmetic treatment of skin, - in conjunction with temporal focusing of an ultrafast pulsed laser for multiphoton excitation in selected depth layers, - ultrafast additive manufacturing, - laser material processing in parallel, - rapid laser engraving, welding, machining - two-photon excitation in optogenetics and voltage imaging - multi-color and multi-plane diffraction - photon-efficient phase-only display technology - real-time adaptive optics embodiments including aberration correction, and - temporal focusing (TF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wengierow et al. (US 20210055691) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Popov et al. (US 20200363772).
Regarding claim 4, Wengierow teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach the determination of the first discretized hologram comprises determination of the dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile of the output pixel subject to the pixel constraint and a tiling number (NT, NT1, NT2) of the tiled hologram. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Popov teaches the method, wherein the determination of the first discretized hologram comprises determination of the dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile of the output pixel subject to the pixel constraint and a tiling number (NT, NT1, NT2) of the tiled hologram (¶52 to ¶58, the SLM (EASLM) must be addressed according to the chosen tiling scheme to generate the desired pixel in the depth and lateral direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the method of Wengierow with the determination of the first discretized hologram comprises determination of the dimension (AXpsf, AYpsf) of the amplitude profile of the output pixel subject to the pixel constraint and a tiling number (NT, NT1, NT2) of the tiled hologram of Popov, for the purpose of choosing a tiling scheme to control pixel depth and lateral direction (¶52-¶58).
Regarding claim 7, Wengierow teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach wherein the determination of the second discretized hologram comprises determining the phase distribution so that at least some of the output pixels of the desired projection are determined to be reconstructed in different positions along a propagation direction of the input beam in the reconstruction space. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Popov teaches the method, wherein the determination of the second discretized hologram comprises determining the phase distribution so that at least some of the output pixels of the desired projection are determined to be reconstructed in different positions along a propagation direction of the input beam in the reconstruction space (¶50 to ¶68, the DOE mask (discretized hologram) is used to generate pixel (“voxels”) in a 3D volume. Shown in fig. 3 shows voxel generation in 3D space using the DOE array (tilted hologram)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the method of Wengierow with the determination of the second discretized hologram comprises determining the phase distribution so that at least some of the output pixels of the desired projection are determined to be reconstructed in different positions along a propagation direction of the input beam in the reconstruction space of Popov, for the purpose of choosing a tiling scheme (¶52-¶58).
Regarding claim 9, Wengierow teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach the reconstruction space is a surface in two or three dimensions or a volume in three dimensions. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Popov teaches the method, wherein the reconstruction space is a surface in two or three dimensions or a volume in three dimensions (¶1 teaches the holographic system for 3D display. Shown in fig. 3 shows a 3D projection in the reconstruction space.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the method of Wengierow with the reconstruction space is a surface in two or three dimensions or a volume in three dimensions of Popov, for the purpose of choosing a tiling scheme (¶52-¶58).
Regarding claim 11, Wengierow teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the first discretized hologram and a spatial light modulator arrangement arranged for generating a phase modulation according to the tiled hologram, or a spatial light modulator (SLM) arranged for generating a phase modulation according to the first discretized hologram and a second fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the tiled hologram, or a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the first discretized hologram and a second fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the tiled hologram, or a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the composite hologram, and a light source for generating the coherent input beam and arranged to transmit light through two discretized phase distributions generated by two of the first fixed phase mask, the second fixed phase mask, the spatial light modulator, and the spatial light modulator arrangement or generated by the first fixed phase mask configured with the discretized phase distribution according to the composite hologram and for directing the phase modulated beam towards the reconstruction space to generate the pixelated projection in the reconstruction space. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Popov teaches the holographic system, wherein the holographic system (fig. 1-3) comprises a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the first discretized hologram and a spatial light modulator arrangement arranged for generating a phase modulation according to the tiled hologram, or a spatial light modulator (SLM) (fig. 3, EASLM) arranged for generating a phase modulation according to the first discretized hologram and a second fixed phase mask (fig. 3, DOE mask array) configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the tiled hologram (array of DOEs; ¶59 and fig. 3, EASLM generates phase modulation according to the first discretized hologram; the DOE mask array (second fixed phase mask) is configured with the phase distribution of the tilted hologram (array of DOEs = tiled hologram and fig 3 shows this arrangement), or a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the first discretized hologram and a second fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the tiled hologram, or a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the composite hologram, and a light source for generating the coherent input beam and arranged to transmit light through two discretized phase distributions generated by two of the first fixed phase mask, the second fixed phase mask, the spatial light modulator, and the spatial light modulator arrangement or generated by the first fixed phase mask configured with the discretized phase distribution according to the composite hologram and for directing the phase modulated beam towards the reconstruction space to generate the pixelated projection in the reconstruction space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the system of Wengierow with a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the first discretized hologram and a spatial light modulator arrangement arranged for generating a phase modulation according to the tiled hologram, or a spatial light modulator (SLM) arranged for generating a phase modulation according to the first discretized hologram and a second fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the tiled hologram, or a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the first discretized hologram and a second fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the tiled hologram, or a first fixed phase mask configured with a discretized phase distribution according to the composite hologram, and a light source for generating the coherent input beam and arranged to transmit light through two discretized phase distributions generated by two of the first fixed phase mask, the second fixed phase mask, the spatial light modulator, and the spatial light modulator arrangement or generated by the first fixed phase mask configured with the discretized phase distribution according to the composite hologram and for directing the phase modulated beam towards the reconstruction space to generate the pixelated projection in the reconstruction space of Popov, for the purpose of choosing a tiling scheme (¶52-¶58).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wengierow et al. (US 20210055691) in view of Popov et al. (US 20200363772) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (US 20080247013).
Regarding claim 12, Wengierow in view of Popov teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach wherein the spatial light modulator arrangement comprises a spatial light modulator and an optical tiling system, wherein the spatial light modulator is arranged to generate the second discretized hologram, alternatively the tiled hologram, and the optical tiling system is arranged to tile the second discretized hologram, alternatively the optical tiling system is arranged to further tile the tiled hologram. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Smith teaches the holographic system, wherein the spatial light modulator arrangement comprises a spatial light modulator (SLM 12) and an optical tiling system (active tiling system 14 with lens array 20), wherein the spatial light modulator (12) is arranged to generate the second discretized hologram, alternatively the tiled hologram, and the optical tiling system is arranged to tile the second discretized hologram, alternatively the optical tiling system (14 with 20) is arranged to further tile the tiled hologram (¶13 to ¶14; ¶2, active tiling system of the type used in holography). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the system of Wengierow in view of Popov with the spatial light modulator arrangement comprises a spatial light modulator and an optical tiling system, wherein the spatial light modulator is arranged to generate the second discretized hologram, alternatively the tiled hologram, and the optical tiling system is arranged to tile the second discretized hologram, alternatively the optical tiling system is arranged to further tile the tiled hologram of Smith, for the purpose of producing a dynamic holographic image (¶13).
Regarding claim 13, Wengierow in view of Popov and Smith teaches the invention as set forth above and Smith further teaches the optical tiling system comprises an imaging system, such as a lens array (active tiling system 14 with lens array 20) or a mirror scanner, configured to generate the tiling and to project incident light into the reconstruction space. (¶13 and 14, The active tiling system 2 comprises a light source 8, for example diverging light generated by an Argon laser and passed through a spinning diffuser (not shown). The light 8 may be arranged so that it impinges on an EASLM 12 after being reflected from a beam splitter 10. Active tiling optics 14 are provided to direct light modulated by the EASLM 12 to an active tiling (AT) image plane 16. The active tiling optics 14 may comprise a convex collimating lens 18 and a five-by-five lenslet array 20. The lenslet array 20 is arranged as a two dimensional grid such that twenty-five spatially separated images of the EASLM are replicated at the AT image plane 16 in which the OASLM 4 resides. Different arrays may also be used that include a different numbers of lenses.). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would
be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art
does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the
distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first discretized hologram is determined so that at least 70% of a total power of the amplitude profile in the reconstruction space is contained within the output pixel.”
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not disclose the claimed method specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “for printing 3D objects using volumetric additive manufacturing (VAM), preferably for printing 3D objects for medical use, preferably biocompatible implants, synthetic organs, or parts thereof, or similar objects.”
Conclusion
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/13/26