DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.2022-075746, filed on 5/2/2022.
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on 10/24/2024. The amendment has been placed of record in the file.
The Information Disclosure Statements
The prior art cited in the information disclosure statements filed on 1/15/2025, 2/16/2026 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: generator, imager, controller, in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No.9,965,867 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Patent claims anticipate instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 10-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (1)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by OTSU et al. (US 2016/0247291 A1) [hereinafter OTSU].
As to claims 1, 10, OTSU teaches an optical vortex control apparatus comprising: a light source (10, Fig.1) configured to output light; an optical vortex generator (10, Fig.1) configured to generate an optical vortex from the light; a focusing optical system (30, Fig.1) configured to focus the optical vortex; an imager (33, 60, Fig.1) configured to image a micro object optically trapped and driven by the optical vortex focused by the focusing optical system, and outputting output image data; and a controller (70, Fig.1; paragraph 0030) configured to analyze a motion of the micro object based on the image data, and adjust a phase distribution of the optical vortex generated by the optical vortex generator based on an analysis result.
As to claims 2, 11, OTSU teaches all as applied in claim 1, and in addition teaches wherein the optical vortex generator includes a spatial light modulator having a plurality of pixels arrayed two dimensionally, and configured to modulate at least a phase of the light in each pixel, and output the light (paragraph 0025).
As to claim 7, OTSU teaches all as applied in claim 1, and in addition teaches wherein the controller is configured to analyze/acquire motion information of the micro object as the motion of the micro object (paragraphs 0033-0036). Note the information type/kind is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 8, OTSU teaches all as applied in claim 1, and in addition teaches wherein the controller is configured to analyze any one of a velocity distribution and an angular velocity of the micro object as the motion of the micro object (paragraph 0036).
Claim(s) 1, 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (1)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueth et al. (US 2019/0137931 A1) [hereinafter Mueth].
As to claims 1, 10, OTSU teaches an optical vortex control apparatus comprising: a light source (507, Fig.5) configured to output light; an optical vortex generator (505, Fig.5) configured to generate an optical vortex from the light; a focusing optical system (504, Fig.1) configured to focus the optical vortex; an imager (paragraphs 0181-0184, paragraph 0028) configured to image a micro object optically trapped and driven by the optical vortex focused by the focusing optical system, and outputting output image data; and a controller (paragraph 0052) configured to analyze a motion of the micro object based on the image data. Note the limitation ‘and adjust a phase distribution of the optical vortex generated by the optical vortex generator based on an analysis result,’ is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 16-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaton.
As to claims 9, 18, OTSU teaches all as applied to claims 1, 10, except wherein controller is configured to perform analysis based on a function in which any one of a motion trajectory, a position distribution, a velocity distribution, an angular velocity, and a torque distribution of the micro object is a
variable as the motion of the micro object. However, examiner takes Official use of a controller to perform analysis based on said function is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate such controller to OTSU apparatus in order to evaluate state of an optical trap of micro object.
As to claims 16-17, OTSU teaches all as applied to claim 10, except controlling motion, position, velocity distribution of the micro object. However examiner takes Official Notice that doing so is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to control motion, position, velocity distribution of the micro object, in order to evaluate state of an optical trap of the micro object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optical vortex control apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to superimpose an adjustment pattern for optical vortex generation adjustment on a modulation pattern for optical vortex generation, and cause the spatial light modulator to present the modulation pattern after superimposition, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim. Claims 4-6 depend on claim 3
As to claim 12, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optical vortex control method, wherein in the control, an adjustment pattern for optical vortex generation adjustment is superimposed on a modulation pattern for optical vortex generation, and the modulation pattern after superimposition is presented on the spatial light modulator, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim. Claims 13-15 depend on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
James et al. (US Patent # 11,346,768 B1) teaches an optical metrology device that is capable of determining a characteristic of a sample may include a polarization state generator that converts a light beam into an optical vortex beam. Metrology device may further include focusing optics that have an optical axis that is normal to a surface of the sample. The focusing optics focus the optical vortex beam on the sample over a plurality of angles of incidence and a plurality of azimuth angles that correspond to initial polarization states. A detector receives a reflected optical vortex beam from the sample in an image of a pupil plane of the focusing optics. The detector simultaneously measures polarization states of the reflected optical vortex beam based on multiple positions in the image of the pupil plane, each position differing in at least one of radius and azimuth angle, wherein the radius corresponds to the angle of incidence and the azimuth angle corresponds to initial polarization states from the optical vortex beam. At least one processor receives the image of the pupil plane from the detector and is configured to determine the characteristic of the sample using at least the polarization states of the reflected optical vortex beam (abstract; Figs. 1-3).
/ABDULLAHI NUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2886