DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation “further comprising a third configuration of the fan assembly in the rotation axis of the first fan and the second fan does not coincide with the central longitudinal axis of the passageway”. This appears to be grammatically improper. Consider ––further comprising a third configuration of the fan assembly wherein the rotation axis of the first fan and the second fan does not coincide with the central longitudinal axis of the passageway––.
The limitation of “misconnection of blower attachment” in claims 18 and 20 is grammatically improper. Consider ––misconnection of the blower attachment ––.
The limitation of “the first configuration and the second configuration;” in claim 20 is inconsistent with the antecedent terminology. Consider ––the blower configuration and the vacuum configuration––.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a first motor cooling airflow opening and a second motor cooling airflow opening...a first motor cooling airflow opening...and a second motor cooling airflow opening”. It is unclear how many motor cooling airflow openings are introduced by this claim, and consequently, unclear which are referred to by subsequent reference to “the second motor cooling airflow opening... and the first motor cooling airflow opening”. Claim 14 is therefore rejected as indefinite. Claim 15 depends from claim 14 and is likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al. (US 10897858, "Hoffman").
1. Hoffman teaches an airflow generating device (10) comprising:
a housing (50) extending between a front end and a rear end (front end contacts 46, rear end 58, see Hoffman fig. 2);
a passageway (18) that extends between a first opening (at 58) and a second opening (at 56), wherein the first opening is adjacent to the rear end of the housing (see Hoffman fig. 2);
a fan assembly (combination of motor 22 and fan assembly 86, see Hoffman figs. 3 and 8) positioned at least partly within the housing (86 is inside housing, see Hoffman fig. 8) and comprising a first fan (110), a second fan (114), and a motor (22) configured to drive rotation of the first fan and the second fan (Hoffman fig. 8 and 5:27-46); and
a blower attachment (door 64, Hoffman fig. 2) and a vacuum attachment (a collector, see Hoffman 7:4-13) configured to interchangeably couple to the housing and/or the fan assembly at the rear end of the housing (door 64 may be removably coupled to housing at 58, see Hoffman 4:1-8; collector attaches to housing at 58, see Hoffman 7:4-13);
wherein the fan assembly is rotatable such that, in a first configuration, the first fan is disposed adjacent to the first opening, and in a second configuration, the second fan is disposed adjacent to the first opening (Hoffman 6:1-47).
2. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, wherein the fan assembly is configured to rotate about an axis to transition from the first configuration to the second configuration (fan assembly rotates around axis 80, see Hoffman 6:1-47).
3. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, wherein the first fan and the second fan are configured to rotate about a rotation axis that coincides with a central longitudinal axis of the passageway (fans 110 and 114 rotate around passageway axis 62, see Hoffman fig. 8 and 5:12-26).
4. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 3, further comprising a third configuration of the fan assembly in the rotation axis of the first fan and the second fan does not coincide with the central longitudinal axis of the passageway (during process of rotating between the first and second configurations, the fans would pass through a plurality of additional configurations wherein the rotation axes of the fans are no longer coaxial with passageway axis 62, see Hoffman fig. 8 and 6:1-47).
8. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, wherein the first fan is coupled to a rotation shaft of the motor, and the second fan is coupled to the rotation shaft via a secondary shaft and a gear assembly (each fan is coupled to motor shaft 82 by means of a secondary shaft and a gearing assembly, see Hoffman 5:12-26 and fig.9; as defined by paragraph [0030] of the specification for the present invention, the term "coupled" refers to both direct and indirect coupling. Because the fans of Hoffman are mechanically coupled to the motor via secondary shafts, they anticipate the invention of claim 8).
9. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, wherein the first fan and the second fan are driven by the motor to rotate in opposite directions (Hoffman 5:47-57).
11. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, wherein the blower attachment and the vacuum attachment are each configured to correspond to one of the first configuration or the second configuration of the fan assembly (attachments are each configured to correspond to at least one of the first and second configurations of the fan assembly, see Hoffman 4:1-8 and Hoffman 7:4-13).
16. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, further comprising a mulch blade (190) coupled to the first fan (Hoffman teaches that mulch blades may be provided in front of one or both fans, see Hoffman figs. 12-14 and 7:18-52).
17. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, wherein the blower attachment is configured to couple to the housing and/or the fan assembly in the first configuration, and the vacuum attachment is configured to couple to the housing and/or the fan assembly in the second configuration (attachments are each configured to couple the housing in at least one of the first and second configurations of the fan assembly, see Hoffman 4:1-8, 7:4-13, and figs. 8 and 10, showing door 64 coupled to the housing in both configurations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US PGPub 2017/0325410, "Gao").
5. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, but does not teach that the motor is configured to rotate about a rotation axis that coincides with a central longitudinal axis of the passageway.
However, Gao teaches an airflow generating device (Gao fig. 41), having two fans (502,503) and a motor (501) configured to drive rotation of both fans and configured to rotate about a rotation axis that coincides with a central longitudinal axis of a passageway (motor 501 rotates about a central rotation axis coinciding with the central axis of an air tube 2, see Gao fig. 41 and [0223]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Gao regarding a location for a motor such that the motor was configured to rotate about a rotation axis that coincides with a central longitudinal axis of the passageway, as doing so represents the simple substitution of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
7. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, but does not teach that the motor is disposed between the first fan and the second fan.
However, Gao teaches embodiments for an airflow generating device (see Gao fig. 1), having two fans (310,320) and a motor (4) configured to drive rotation of both fans and positioned therebetween (motor 4 is between fans 310 and 320, see Gao figs. 25-26 and [0218-219]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Gao regarding a location for a motor such that the disposed between the first fan and the second fan, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one known prior art element for another according to known methods, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
13. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, but does not teach the presence of a microswitch configured to detect the presence of the blower attachment or the vacuum attachment coupled to the housing.
However, Gao teaches the concept of including a safety mechanism (8) in an airflow generating device (1, see Gao figs. 1-2), wherein the safety mechanism includes a switch configured to detect the presence of a vacuum attachment (trigger switch 82 is only actuated when the blower tube is connected, and prevents the device from being turned on when the blower tube is disconnected, see Gao [0182]). Gao further teaches the presence of a safety accessory on an opposing end of the device (such as a door or a collection device to prevent a user from inserting a hand into opening 12, see Gao [0183]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Gao regarding safety features for attachments such that it included a microswitch configured to detect the presence of the blower attachment or the vacuum attachment coupled to the housing, as doing so would ensure that a user was not able to insert a hand into a device with an operating motor or fan when a blower attachment or vacuum attachment was not present.
14. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, but does not teach the presence of a first motor cooling airflow opening and a second motor cooling airflow opening;
wherein, during operation of the airflow generating device in the first configuration, a first motor cooling airflow opening provides motor cooling intake airflow and a second motor cooling airflow opening provides motor exhaust airflow; and, during operation of the airflow generating device in the second configuration, the second motor cooling airflow opening provides motor cooling intake airflow and the first motor cooling airflow opening provides motor exhaust airflow.
However, Gao teaches an airflow generating device (1, see Gao fig. 1), including a cooling channel comprising a first motor cooling airflow opening (141) and a second motor cooling airflow opening (142, see Gao figs. 1, 4-5, and [0198]), wherein the airflow openings act in conjunction with a cooling path on the motor cover (between 441 and 442, see Gao figs. 4-5, 10, and [0199]-[0202]), and wherein a flow path is configured to always pass across the motor in a consistent direction regardless of an operating direction of the fan (Gao [0198]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Gao regarding the provision of cooling openings such that it included a first motor cooling airflow opening and a second motor cooling airflow opening; wherein, during operation of the airflow generating device in the first configuration, a first motor cooling airflow opening provides motor cooling intake airflow and a second motor cooling airflow opening provides motor exhaust airflow; and, during operation of the airflow generating device in the second configuration, the second motor cooling airflow opening provides motor cooling intake airflow and the first motor cooling airflow opening provides motor exhaust airflow, as doing so would provide a cooling effect on the motor. Furthermore, although Gao teaches openings that perform the same function regardless of mode, it does so in the context of an embodiment with a fixed motor and fan rather than a rotating one, modifying Hoffman to ensure that cooling air flows over a motor in the same direction regardless of mode as taught by Gao would result in the openings performing different functions, as the orientation of the motor would have changed.
15. Hoffman as modified teaches the airflow generating device of claim 14, further comprising an airflow separation rib in a housing of the fan assembly provided between the first motor cooling airflow opening and the second motor cooling airflow opening. (Gao teaches that cooling airflow uses a separate channel than the airflow generated for blowing or suction (Gao [0198]; this airflow channel is defined, in part, by structural elements such as ribs in motor housing 44, see Gao fig. 10, and [0201]-[0202]; one of ordinary skill would integrate these structures into Hoffman as modified as part of integrating the cooling channel for the invention of claim 14).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sergyeyenko et al. (US PGPub 2016/0324380, "Sergyeyenko").
6. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, further comprising a lever assembly (134) extending from the housing (see Hoffman fig. 7), wherein rotation of the lever transitions the fan assembly between the first configuration and the second configuration (Hoffman 6:1-47), but does not teach that a knob may be used in place of the lever, and therefore does not teach a knob extending from the housing, wherein rotation of the knob transitions the fan assembly between the first configuration and the second configuration.
However, Sergyeyenko teaches the use of a knob (124) to switch an airflow generating device between a blow mode and a suction mode, see Sergyeyenko figs. 8-10 and [0043]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Sergyeyenko regarding the use of a knob for changing modes in an airflow generating device such that it included a knob extending from the housing, wherein rotation of the knob transitions the fan assembly between the first configuration and the second configuration, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one known prior art element for another according to known methods, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2021/0190082, "Zhang").
10. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, but doesn't teach that the second fan rotates at half the speed of the first fan.
However, Zhang is directed to the field of airflow generating devices (Zhang [0003]), and teaches an airflow generator (100) comprising a single motor (200), two axial flow blades (202, and 311), wherein the first blade (202) is connected directly to a shaft (210), and a second blade (311) is connected to a shaft (309) associated with a transmission mechanism (300, see Zhang figs. 1-4 and [0046]-[0047]). Furthermore, Zhang teaches that the relative speeds of the two blades is a result effective variable affecting air output velocity (see Zhang [0065]-[0084]).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airflow generating device of Hoffman such that the second fan rotates and half the speed of the first fan, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05(II) The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is speed ratio between first and second fans which achieves the recognized result of airflow volume relative to air output velocity, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, the disclosure provides no evidence indicating the claimed range is critical.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaoka et al. (US PGPub 2023/0397546, "Yamaoka").
12. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 1, but although it teaches that the device may be electrically powered (Hoffman 3:27-36), it does not teach that it further comprises a battery housing disposed on a front side of the housing.
However, Yamaoka teaches a configuration for an airflow generating device (100) comprising a battery housing (130) disposed on a front side of a device housing (see Yamaoka figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Yamaoka regarding a location for a battery housing such that it comprised a battery housing disposed on a front side of the housing, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Stones et al. (US 8918951, "Stones").
18. Hoffman teaches the airflow generating device of claim 17, further but does not teach that it includes at least one poke-yoke feature configured to prevent misconnection of blower attachment and the vacuum attachment.
However, Stones teaches an airflow generating device (Stones fig. 1), including means for preventing misconnections of a blower attachment or a vacuum attachment (Stones figs. 3-11 and 4:21-6:40), wherein the means include a plurality of features (e.g. lug slots 45 which cooperate with lugs 66 to ensure proper alignment, see Stones figs. 5-6 and 5:23-53).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Stones regarding attachment structures such that it included at least one poke-yoke feature capable of preventing misconnection of the blower attachment and the vacuum attachment, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one sort of attachment connection mechanism known in the art for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Sergyeyenko and Stones.
20. Hoffman teaches an airflow generating device (10) comprising:
a housing (50) extending between a front end and a rear end (front end contacts 46, rear end 58, see Hoffman fig. 2);
a passageway (18) that extends between a first opening (at 58) and a second opening (at 56), wherein the first opening is adjacent to the rear end of the housing (see Hoffman fig. 2);
a fan assembly (combination of motor 22 and fan assembly 86, see Hoffman figs. 3 and 8) positioned at least partly within the housing (86 is inside housing, see Hoffman fig. 8) and comprising a first axial fan (110), a second axial fan (114), and a motor (22) configured to drive rotation of the first axial fan and the axial second fan (Hoffman fig. 8 and 5:27-46),
wherein the first axial fan and the axial second fan are configured to rotate about a rotation axis that coincides with a central longitudinal axis of the passageway (fans 110 and 114 rotate around passageway axis 62, see Hoffman fig. 8 and 5:12-26);
a blower attachment (door 64, Hoffman fig. 2) and a vacuum attachment (a collector, see Hoffman 7:4-13) configured to interchangeably couple to the housing and/or the fan assembly at the rear end of the housing (door 64 may be removably coupled to housing at 58, see Hoffman 4:1-8; collector attaches to housing at 58, see Hoffman 7:4-13);
wherein the fan assembly is rotatable such that, in a blower configuration, the first axial fan is disposed adjacent to the first opening, and in a vacuum configuration, the second axial fan is disposed adjacent to the first opening (Hoffman 6:1-47).
Hoffman further teaches a lever assembly (134) extending from the housing (see Hoffman fig. 7), wherein rotation of the lever transitions the fan assembly between the blower configuration and the vacuum configuration (Hoffman 6:1-47), but does not teach that a knob may be used in place of the lever, and therefore does not teach a knob extending from the housing, wherein rotation of the knob transitions the fan assembly between the blower configuration and the vacuum configuration.
However, Sergyeyenko teaches the use of a knob (124) to switch an airflow generating device between a blow mode and a suction mode, see Sergyeyenko figs. 8-10 and [0043]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman to incorporate the teachings from Sergyeyenko regarding the use of a knob for changing modes in an airflow generating device such that it included a knob extending from the housing, wherein rotation of the knob transitions the fan assembly between the blower configuration and the vacuum configuration, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one known prior art element for another according to known methods, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hoffman as modified does not teach that the airflow generating device further includes at least one poke-yoke feature configured to prevent misconnection of blower attachment and the vacuum attachment based on a configuration of the fan assembly.
However, Stones teaches an airflow generating device (Stones fig. 1), including means for preventing misconnections of a blower attachment or a vacuum attachment (Stones figs. 3-11 and 4:21-6:40), wherein the means include a plurality of features (e.g. lug slots 45 which cooperate with lugs 66 to ensure proper alignment, see Stones figs. 5-6 and 5:23-53).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Hoffman as modified to incorporate the teachings from Stones regarding attachment structures such that it included at least one poke-yoke feature capable of preventing misconnection of the blower attachment and the vacuum attachment, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one sort of attachment connection mechanism known in the art for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest identified prior art (Hoffman in view of Stones) teaches the airflow generating device of claim 18, but does not teach the additional limitations of claim 19 that the poke-yoke feature comprises a poke yoked track mounted to a fan assembly housing, wherein the poke yoked track has a first track side corresponding to the first configuration and a second track side corresponding to the second configuration, wherein the track is configured to receive a pin of an attachment arm of the blower attachment or an attachment arm of the vacuum attachment, wherein the attachment arm of the blower attachment further includes a stop, further wherein, when the pin of the blower attachment is inserted into the poke yoked track, the stop prevents the fan assembly from rotating in a direction of the second configuration to prevent misconnection of the blower attachment. Because no additional art has been discovered that would teach the claimed structure or would have made it obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date, claim 19 contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R ZAWORSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723