DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hassonjee et al. US Publication 2011/0288394 (hereinafter Hassonjee).
Regarding claim 1, Hassonjee discloses an electrode comprising: a conductive fiber fabric layer which is a fiber fabric having conductivity (40); and a conductive elastomer layer formed on at least one surface of the conductive fiber fabric layer and including an elastomer composition and a conductive filler ([0077] which details a conductive silicone rubber).
Regarding claim 2, Hassonjee discloses that the conductive fiber fabric layer is formed by knitting a yarn including conductive fibers ([0052]-[0056] for element 40, where the elastic yarns are coated with silver).
Regarding claim 3, Hassonjee discloses that the yarn is a conductive composite yarn obtained by winding the conductive fibers around an elastic fiber ([0056] which details a hollow spindle double covered nylon yarn with silver/copper wire).
Regarding claim 4, Hassonjee discloses that the conductive fiber fabric layer is formed by knitting the yarn into insulating fibers that insulate electricity ([0101]-[0102] which details that the base fabric has the conductive fiber fabric knitted into it).
Regarding claim 8, see contents of rejected claim 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassonjee in view of Kurzweil et al. US Publication 2008/0287769 (hereinafter Kurzweil).
Regarding claim 5, Hassonjee discloses that the at least one surface of the conductive fiber fabric layer has a conductive coating layer in which a conductive coating film is deposited on an insulating fiber fabric formed of insulating fibers that insulate electricity ([0056] details silver being plated/coated onto a wire which is then wrapped around individual non-conductive fibers). There is a minor difference between coating silver on a wire then wrapping said wire around a nonconductive fiber/yarn and just coating the silver directly onto the non-conductive yarns outright. Kurzweil teaches a monitoring garment that utilized conductive fabric that teaches that either process can be utilized interchangeably for a comparable effect ([0069]). Therefore it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to utilize the conductive coating for the fabric layer as taught by Kurzweil with the layer of Hassonjee as they are art recognized equivalents and would have produced predictable results (providing a conductive layer for sensing biosignals).
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassonjee in view of Cho et al. US Publication 2019/0208629 (hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 6, Hassonjee discloses that the conductive elastomer is coated onto the conductive fiber fabric ([0077] which details conductive silicone rubber on fabric electrodes 40), but is silent on the immersion layer. It should be noted that depending on the coating process, an immersion layer would naturally form with the conductive elastomeric composition being partially embedded into the conductive fiber layer. As the deposition type was not disclosed, Cho teaches a fabric coating with conductive silicone rubber (same material of Hassonjee) as per Figure 2 element 120, which includes an immersion layer (122) that combines with the fabric beneath it at 110 (see also abstract, [0008][0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to utilize the coating process as taught by Cho with the two materials of Hassonjee as predictable results would have ensued (coating of silicone rubber to enhance electrical conductivity and reduce impedance at the sensing site).
Regarding claims 7 and 9-10, see contents of rejected claim 6 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassonjee in view of Kurzweil, as applied to claim 5, and in further view of Cho.
Regarding claim 11, see contents of rejected claim 6 above, the references (Kurzweil and Cho) are combinable for the same reasons as mentioned above (see rejected claims 5-6).
Conclusion
/B.M.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794