Claim Objections
2. Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: 1) “n” in line 16 of claim 30 should be changed to -- on --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: 1) “gripping device” in claims 16, 24-25, 27-28 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 16-25, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Publication No. 1-288562 (hereinafter “JP’562”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0082044 (Gendron et al.) (hereinafter “Gendron”).
Regarding claim 16, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose a method for forming sheet stacks (D), in a dispensing region of a sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising the following steps:
a) stacking sheets (sheets in stack D) by means of a stacker wheel (13) of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1) onto a sheet stack (D) located on a lifting platform (22) (See Fig. 3(b) or 3(c)),
b) introducing a deposition platform (21) into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), wherein the deposition platform (21) is introduced such that the deposition platform (21) is arranged in a position which is underneath the stacker wheel (13) and lies above the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack (D) formed on the lifting platform (22) (See Fig. 3(d)),
c) stacking further sheets (B) by the stacker wheel (13) onto the deposition platform (21) arranged underneath the stacker wheel (13), in order to form a further sheet stack on the deposition platform (21) (See Fig. 3(e)),
d) introducing a device (23) into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus, in order to take up, by the device (23), the sheet stack formed on the lifting platform (22) (See Fig. 3(e)),
e) removing, by the device (23), the sheet stack (D) formed on the lifting platform (22) from the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), and after the removal of the sheet stack (D) (See Fig. 3(f)):
f) raising the lifting platform (22) up to the deposition platform (21) (See Fig. 3(a)), and
g) transferring the further sheet stack formed on the deposition platform (21) onto the lifting platform (22) located on the deposition platform (21) and moving the deposition platform (21) away out of the dispensing region. (See Figs. 3(a) and 3(b)). JP’562 teaches most of the limitations of this claim including introducing a device (23) into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus, in order to take up, by the device (23), the sheet stack formed on the lifting platform, and removing, by the device (23), the sheet stack formed on the lifting platform from the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus, but JP’562 doesn’t explicitly show that the device (23) is a gripping device, as claimed.
Gendron teaches that it is well-known in the art to utilize a gripping device (robotic grips or fingers) to take up and remove a sheet stack from a lifting platform (38), for the purpose of taking away a completed sheet stack. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the apparatus of JP’562 with a gripper device, for the purpose of taking away a completed sheet stack, as taught by Gendron. See numbered paragraph [0064] of Gendron.
Regarding claim 17, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that, after step g), steps a)-g) are repeated.
Regarding claim 18, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that the stacking of sheets by the stacker wheel (13) onto the sheet stack (D) formed on the lifting platform (22) is interrupted (e.g., interrupted by element 19 in Fig. 3(c)) before the introduction of the deposition platform (21), and, after the introduction of the deposition platform (21), the stacking of the further sheets by the stacker wheel (13) onto the deposition platform (21) arranged underneath the stacker wheel is started (Figs. 3(d) – 3(e)), in order to form the further sheet stack on the deposition platform (21).
Regarding claim 19, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that, during and/or after the stacking of the sheets on the lifting platform (22), the lifting platform (22) is lowered downward, while the stacker wheel (13) deposits sheets on the sheet stack (D).
Regarding claim 20, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that, while the stacking is interrupted, the lifting platform (22) is lowered downward, wherein the lifting platform (22) is lowered downward until an introduction condition is met and, once the introduction condition is met, the deposition platform (21) is introduced as per step b) into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1) and then, as per step c), the further sheets are stacked by the stacker wheel (13) onto the deposition platform (21) arranged underneath the stacker wheel (13), in order to form the further sheet stack on the deposition platform (21).
Regarding claim 21, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that the rear boundary of the dispensing region has one or more openings (14), which complement/s the deposition platform (21). See, e.g., Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 22, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that in step g) the further sheet stack is transferred onto the lifting platform (22) by moving the deposition platform (21) away, wherein the sheet stack located on the deposition platform (21) is stripped off at a rear boundary of the dispensing region, in order to transfer the further sheet stack (B) onto the lifting platform (22).
Regarding claim 23, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 disclose that the deposition platform (21) and the lifting platform (22) have mutually complementary, rake-like forms (Fig. 2), and in step g) the further sheet stack is transferred from the deposition platform (21) onto the lifting platform (22) by way of an upwardly directed movement of the lifting platform (22) along the stacking direction (up or down).
Regarding claim 24, JP’562 in view of Gendron discloses that, when the gripping device (robotic grips or fingers in numbered paragraph [0064] of Gendron) is being introduced in step d), the gripping device (robotic grips or fingers in numbered paragraph [0064] of Gendron) takes up the sheet stack between two gripping elements (fingers) of the gripping device (robotic grips or fingers in numbered paragraph [0064] of Gendron) and compresses the taken-up sheet stack counter to the stacking direction (up or down).
Regarding claim 25, as best understood, Fig. 3(d) of JP562 discloses that, before the introduction of the gripping device into the dispensing region as per step d), in a step d0) the sheet stack (D) deposited on the lifting platform (22) is precompressed counter to the stacking direction between the lifting platform (22) and the deposition platform (21), and during the precompressing operation the sheet stack (D) deposited on the lifting platform (22) is clamped and possibly pressed together between the lifting platform (22) and the deposition platform (21).
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, Fig. 3(e) of JP’562 discloses that, before the introduction of the gripping device as per step d), the stacking of further sheets by the stacker wheel (13) onto the further sheet stack (B) located on the deposition platform (21), as per step c), is started.
Regarding claim 30, Figs. 1-3(f) of JP’562 show a sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), for forming sheet stacks (D), in a dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising a stacker wheel (13), a lifting platform (22), a deposition platform (21), a control device (structure that performs “organic operations” in SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION of machine translation of JP’562 is inherently a control device) and a device (23),
wherein the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1) is set up for the stacker wheel (13) to stack sheets processed by the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1) onto a sheet stack (D) which is located on the lifting platform (22) and underneath the stacker wheel (13) in the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), and
the control device (structure that performs “organic operations” in SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION of machine translation of JP’562 is inherently a control device) is set up to cause, at a point in time while the stacking by the stacker wheel (13) is interrupted (e.g., interrupted by element 19 in Fig. 3(c)), the deposition platform (21) to be introduced into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1) such that the deposition platform (21) is arranged in a position which is underneath the stacker wheel (13) and lies above the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack (D) formed on the lifting platform (22),
the sheet processing apparatus is set up to stack, after the introduction of the deposition platform (21) into the dispensing region, further sheets processed by the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1) onto the deposition platform (21) arranged underneath the stacker wheel (13), in order to form a further sheet stack (B) on the deposition platform (21),
the control device (structure that performs “organic operations” in SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION of machine translation of JP’562 is inherently a control device) is set up to cause
the device (23) to be introduced into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), to take up the sheet stack (D) formed on the lifting platform (22) and to remove this sheet stack from the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus (Fig. 1), and,
after the removal of the sheet stack (D) formed on the lifting platform (22), the lifting platform (22) to be raised up to the deposition platform (21), and
the deposition platform (21) to be moved away out of the dispensing region, and
the further sheet stack (D) formed on the deposition platform (21) to be transferred onto the lifting platform (22) located on the deposition platform (21). JP’562 teaches most of the limitations of this claim including the control device (structure that performs “organic operations” in SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION of machine translation of JP’562 is inherently a control device) being set up to cause the device (23) to be introduced into the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus, to take up the sheet stack formed on the lifting platform and to remove this sheet stack from the dispensing region of the sheet processing apparatus, but JP’562 doesn’t explicitly show that the device (23) is a gripping device, as claimed.
Gendron teaches that it is well-known in the art to utilize a gripping device (robotic grips or fingers) to take up and remove a sheet stack from a lifting platform (38), for the purpose of taking away a completed sheet stack. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the apparatus of JP’562 with a gripper device, for the purpose of taking away a completed sheet stack, as taught by Gendron. See numbered paragraph [0064] of Gendron.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 26 and 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653