Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024, 06/25/2025 and 10/01/2025 have been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2023/0309170 A1; hereinafter "Zhou").
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method (FIG. 3) performed by a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 a UE 115-b), the method comprising:
receiving first indication information (FIG. 3 configuration signal 310; a set q1) from a base station (FIG. 3 the base station 105-b) ([0128] the UE receives a configuration signal includes a set q1 from the base station); and
identifying whether to perform candidate beam detection according to a resource corresponding to a reference signal set based on the first indication information ([0076] the base station configures the UE with a new candidate beam resource set q1 of reference-signal resource configuration indexes for identifying candidate beams, [0078] upon detection of beam failure, the UE identifies a new candidate beam from the configured resource set q1, [0131] the UE determines candidate beams based on the reference signals indicated in the configuration signal).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches wherein identifying whether to perform candidate beam detection according to the resource corresponding to the reference signal set based on the first indication information ([0076], [0078], [0131]) comprises:
identifying whether to perform candidate beam detection according to the resource corresponding to the reference signal set based on at least one of a serving cell, a bandwidth part, a cell physical layer identity, or a transmission and reception point (TRP) corresponding to the first indication information ([0076] discloses providing the UE, for each BWP of a serving cell, a new candidate beam resource set q1 for identifying candidate beams).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches a method (FIG. 3) performed by a base station (FIG. 3 the base station 105-b), the method comprising:
transmitting configuration information to a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 a UE 115-b) ([0128] the base station transmits a configuration signal includes a set q1 to the UE); and
transmitting first indication information (FIG. 3 configuration signal 310; a set q1) to the user equipment, wherein the first indication information is associated with indicating whether to perform candidate beam detection according to a resource corresponding to a reference signal set based on the first indication information ([0076] the base station configures the UE with a new candidate beam resource set q1 of reference-signal resource configuration indexes for identifying candidate beams, [0078] upon detection of beam failure, the UE identifies a new candidate beam from the configured resource set q1, [0131] the UE determines candidate beams based on the reference signals indicated in the configuration signal).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 7 a device 705), comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 7 transceiver 720); and a processor (FIG. 7 processor 740) coupled with the transceiver and configured to;
receive first indication information (FIG. 3 configuration signal 310; a set q1) from a base station (FIG. 3 the base station 105-b) ([0128] the UE receives a configuration signal includes a set q1 from the base station), and
identify whether to perform candidate beam detection according to a resource corresponding to a reference signal set based on the first indication information ([0076] the base station configures the UE with a new candidate beam resource set q1 of reference-signal resource configuration indexes for identifying candidate beams, [0078] upon detection of beam failure, the UE identifies a new candidate beam from the configured resource set q1, [0131] the UE determines candidate beams based on the reference signals indicated in the configuration signal).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches a base station (FIG. 8 a device 805) comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 8 transceiver 280); and a processor (FIG. 8 processor 840) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit configuration information to a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 a UE 115-b) ([0128] the base station transmits a configuration signal includes a set q1 to the UE); and transmit first indication information (FIG. 3 configuration signal 310; a set q1) to the user equipment, wherein the first indication information is associated with indicating whether to perform candidate beam detection according to a resource corresponding to a reference signal set based on the first indication information ([0076] the base station configures the UE with a new candidate beam resource set q1 of reference-signal resource configuration indexes for identifying candidate beams, [0078] upon detection of beam failure, the UE identifies a new candidate beam from the configured resource set q1, [0131] the UE determines candidate beams based on the reference signals indicated in the configuration signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,4-9 and 11-13 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of He et al. (US 2024/0214174 A1; hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches wherein identifying whether to perform candidate beam detection according to the resource corresponding to the reference signal set based on the first indication information ([0076], [0078], [0131]) comprises:
identifying whether to perform candidate beam detection according to the resource corresponding to the reference signal set on a first time domain resource based on the first indication information ([0128] the configuration signal 310 identifies the resource set q1 including reference signals for determining new candidate beam information, [0130]-[0131] the UE monitors PDCCH transmissions, detects beam failure, and determines candidate beams based on the pair of reference signals indicated in the configuration signal),
However, Zhou does not teach wherein the first time domain resource is identified based on at least one of: starting of the first time domain resource identified by the first indication information; ending of the first time domain resource identified by the first indication information; or a time domain position of the first time domain resource identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the first indication information.
In an analogous art, He teaches wherein the first time domain resource is identified based on a time domain position of the first time domain resource identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the first indication information ([0090], [0093] an SCell activation command carried by a MAC CE or DCI indicating reference-signal information, [0098], [0101] selecting a reference-signal resource based on a number of slots from the slot in which the activation command is received, [0104] the SCell activation command being scheduled by a PDCCH or carried by a PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a reference-signal resource as taught by He within the system of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce activation latency for improved communication efficiency (He [0101]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches receiving second indication information (FIG. 4 configuration signal 405) from a base station ([0135] the UE receives configuration signal from the base station); identifying a second time domain resource based on the second indication information ([0136] the configuration signal indicates a PRACH transmission configuration and each PRACH transmission occasion is associated with new beam information comprising one or two reference signals); and
providing an index of a reference signal to the base station ([0129] the UE transmits, in a MAC-CE, RS index(es) in the q.new for a periodic CSI-RS configuration or for a SS/PBCH block; [0139], [0144] transmitting candidate-beam information identifying new candidate beams to the base station),
However, Zhou does not teach wherein at least one of the following is satisfied: in case that a time domain resource related to the index of the reference signal overlaps with the second time domain resource, the index of the reference signal is identified from a second reference signal set; or in case that the time domain resource related to the index of the reference signal does not overlap with the second time domain resource, the index of the reference signal is identified from a first reference signal set.
In an analogous art, He teaches wherein at least one of the following is satisfied: in case that a time domain resource related to the index of the reference signal overlaps with the second time domain resource, the index of the reference signal is identified from a second reference signal set ([0078]-[0080] disclose TCI-state configurations including first and second reference signals; [0099], [0102] disclose selecting a reference signal according to configured rules when reference-signal resources overlap in the time domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a reference-signal resource as taught by He within the system of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce activation latency for improved communication efficiency (He [0101]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically Zhou teaches further comprising at least one of the following: receiving at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) according to the index of the reference signal ([0080] discloses candidate-beam indexes in q_new identifying a periodic CSI-RS configuration or SS/PBCH block, [0082]-[0083] disclose the UE uses the candidate beam/reference signal associated with q_new to monitor and receives a PDCCH response from the base station).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically He teaches wherein the second time domain resource is identified based on at least one of the following: a time domain position of the second time domain resource identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the second indication information ([0090], [0093] an SCell activation command carried by a MAC CE or DCI indicating reference-signal information, [0098], [0101] identifying a reference-signal resource based on a number of slots from the slot in which the activation command is received, [0104] the SCell activation command being scheduled by a PDCCH or carried by a PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a reference-signal resource as taught by He within the system of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce activation latency for improved communication efficiency (He [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically He teaches wherein the second reference signal set is identified based on the first reference signal set ([0019] determining reference signals based on a grouping of first and second component-carrier sets, [0071] selecting reference signals according to the corresponding component-carrier group, [0078]-[0080] corresponding first and second reference signals within each TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a reference-signal resource as taught by He within the system of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce activation latency for improved communication efficiency (He [0101]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically He teaches wherein the second reference signal set corresponds to the first reference signal set one by one ([0078] discloses that, for each TCI state, a first combination corresponds to a first reference signal and a second combination corresponds to a second reference signal, [0166]-[0167] disclose respective first and second reference-signal combinations for each TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a reference-signal resource as taught by He within the system of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce activation latency for improved communication efficiency (He [0101]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the first reference signal set is identified based on information transmitted by the base station ([0076], [0078] disclose the base station configures the UE with the new candidate beam resource set q1 including periodic CSI-RS configuration indexes and/or SS/PBCH block indexes, [0128]-[0129] disclose transmitting configuration signal 310 from the base station to the UE identifying the reference-signal resource set q1).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches transmitting second indication information (FIG. 4 configuration signal 405) to the UE ([0135] the base station transmits configuration signal to the UE),
wherein the second indication information is associated with a second time domain resource ([0136] the configuration signal indicates a PRACH transmission configuration and each PRACH transmission occasion is associated with new beam information comprising one or two reference signals); and
receiving an index of a reference signal from the UE ([0129] the UE transmits, in a MAC-CE, RS index(es) in the q.new for a periodic CSI-RS configuration or for a SS/PBCH block; [0139], [0144] transmitting candidate-beam information identifying new candidate beams to the base station),
However, Zhou does not teach wherein at least one of the following is satisfied: in case that a time domain resource related to the index of the reference signal overlaps with the second time domain resource, the index of the reference signal is identified from a second reference signal set; or in case that the time domain resource related to the index of the reference signal does not overlap with the second time domain resource, the index of the reference signal is identified from a first reference signal set.
In an analogous art, He teaches wherein at least one of the following is satisfied: in case that a time domain resource related to the index of the reference signal overlaps with the second time domain resource, the index of the reference signal is identified from a second reference signal set ([0078]-[0080] disclose TCI-state configurations including first and second reference signals; [0099], [0102] disclose selecting a reference signal according to configured rules when reference-signal resources overlap in the time domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a reference-signal resource as taught by He within the system of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce activation latency for improved communication efficiency (He [0101]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically Zhou teaches further comprising at least one of the following: transmitting at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) according to the index of the reference signal ([0080] discloses candidate-beam indexes in q_new identifying a periodic CSI-RS configuration or SS/PBCH block, [0082]-[0083] disclose the UE uses the candidate beam/reference signal associated with q_new to monitor and receives a PDCCH response from the base station).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhou and He, specifically Zhou teaches further comprising transmitting to the user equipment information associated with the first reference signal set ([0076], [0078] disclose the base station configures the UE with the new candidate beam resource set q1 including periodic CSI-RS configuration indexes and/or SS/PBCH block indexes, [0128]-[0129] disclose transmitting configuration signal 310 from the base station to the UE identifying the reference-signal resource set q1).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0175919 A1 (BADIC et al.) discloses methods and devices for radiation exposure control in beamforming technologies.
US 2024/0214838 A1 (Shen et al.) discloses a measurement method, an apparatus, and a system.
US 2024/0235797 A1 (BOLOTIN et al.) discloses enhancements to transmission configuration indicator (TCI) chains for new radio (NR) systems.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413