DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in CHINA 202210458050.9, filed on 04/27/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 and 06/20/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 7, 11-12 and 13:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “the second reference signal set corresponds to the first reference signal set one by one” recited in claims 7 and 13 includes the first reference signal set corresponds to the same CORESETPoolIndex as the same second reference signal set or/and determined by the TCI state of the CORESET related to said same CORESETPoolIndex, according to the specification “[0161] Optionally, the second reference signal set corresponds to the first reference signal set one by one... The specific methods are as follows; [0164] The first reference signal set corresponds to the same CORESETPoolIndex as the second reference signal set. Specifically, these two reference signal sets are both determined according to the TCI state of the CORESET related to CORESETPoolIndex=1; or, the two reference signal sets are both determined according to the TCI state of the CORESET related to CORESETPoolIndex=0 (without configured CORESETPoolIndex)”. Therefore, the CSI-RS #0 (e.g., first reference signal set) and the CSI-RS #1 (e.g., second reference signal set) of Fig. 7 correspond to the same CORESET group or/and the CSI-RS #0 and CSI-RS #1 are based on the TCI state related to a specific CORESET group (e.g., CORESET group = 0) (KANG - Fig. 7 (multiple CSI-RSs); [0012] The specific RS may be based on at least one of i) an RS related to the TCI state, ii) an RS having a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship with the RS related to the TCI state, or iii) an RS based on a specific order among the pre-configured RSs; [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0364] the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0);) is considered “a second reference signal set corresponds to a first reference signal set one by one”.
The BRI of “monitor one of... first reference signal set and... second reference signal set” recited in claims 11 and 12 includes monitor at least one of... first reference signal set or... second reference signal set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the reference signal set is a first reference signal set or a second reference signal set” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “a reference signal set” recited in claim 1 or “a reference signal set” recited in claim 4 is the one being referred to “the reference signal set”. For the purpose of examination, “the reference signal set” will be interpreted as “a reference signal set” recited in claim 4.
Claims 5-7 recite “the reference signal set” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “a reference signal set” recited in claim 1 or “a reference signal set... first signal reference signal set or a second reference signal set” recited in claim 4 is the one being referred to “the reference signal set”. For the purpose of examination, “the reference signal set” will be interpreted as “a reference signal set” recited in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KANG et al. (US 20220173788 A1, hereinafter, KANG).
Regarding claim 1, KANG discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method (Fig. 7-8; Fig. 9-10; Fig. 13; Abstract - A method of performing, by a user equipment (UE), a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure in a wireless communication system comprises performing a detection of a beam failure, transmitting a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ), and receiving a response to the BFRQ. The detection of the beam failure is related to at least one specific RS, and the at least one specific RS is related to a specific control resource set (CORESET) group of a plurality of CORESET groups) comprising:
receiving (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) first indication information from a base station ([0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)); and
identifying whether to monitor a reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is a reference signal set) related to beam failure based on the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1); [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, ,a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP1 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254] A UE may determine whether such a beam failure event occurs through reception quality of a downlink RS; [0259] [Explicit configuration of BFD RSs] a base station may explicitly configure a beam RS(s) for the use (beam failure detection). In this case, a corresponding beam RS(s) corresponds to the ‘all PDCCH beam’; [0373] If a base station does not separately configure/designate BFD RS(s), a UE may perform a beam failure detection (BFD) only on (Type-D) QCL RS(s) indicated in TCI state(s) related to specific CORESET group(s); [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;).
Regarding claim 2, KANG further discloses:
wherein identifying whether to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is the reference signal set)) related to beam failure based on the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1); [0457]; [0026]; [0364]; [0259]; [0155];) comprises:
identifying whether to monitor the reference signal set related to beam failure (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is the reference signal set); [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., DCI in CORESET group ID = 0)) on a first time domain resource based on the first indication information (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP1); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1) in a situation of M-TRP.. method can be extended and applied even if the UE receives the configuration/DCI from at least one TRP; [0184] DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1 may be used for downlink scheduling, and DCI format 1_1 may include the following information. For example, DCI format 1_1 may include at least one of a DCI format identifier, a bandwidth part indicator, frequency domain resource assignment, time domain resource assignment, a PRB bundling size indicator, a rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, antenna port(s), transmission configuration indication (TCI), an SRS request, and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence initialization), wherein the first time domain resource is identified (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP1); [0184];) based on at least one of the following:
starting of the first time domain resource being identified by the first indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP1), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347] If the UE wants to support the operation even in a non-ideal backhaul environment where cooperation between TRPs/panels is difficult to achieve very closely, the time/frequency resource domains in which each TRP/panel can transmit the PDCCH shall be separated. Thus, in the NR system, control resource set (CORESET) groups to which each TRP/panel transmits the PDCCH may be separated; (hence there is a starting and ending of the first time domain resources, e.g., TDRA));
ending of the first time domain resource being identified by the first indication information ([0346]; [0347]); or
a time domain position of the first time domain resource being identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the first indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP1), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347]; (hence there is a time domain position of the time domain resources being identified in the PDCCH, e.g., TRP1-DCI including TDRA)).
Regarding claim 3, KANG further discloses:
wherein identifying whether to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is the first reference signal set)) related to beam failure based on the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1); [0457]; [0026]; [0364]; [0259]; [0155];) comprises:
identifying whether to monitor the reference signal set related to beam failure (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is the reference signal set); [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., DCI in CORESET group ID = 0)) based on at least one of ([0157] Table 5 represents an example of TCI-State IE; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;) a serving cell (Table 5 – servCellIndex; [0163] The UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the corresponding UE and a given serving cell, where M depends on UE capability), a bandwidth part (Table 5; [0159] In Table 5, bwp-Id parameter represents a DL BWP where the RS is located), a cell physical layer identity ([0331] pdcch-DMRS-ScramblingID: PDCCH DMRS scrambling initialization (see TS 38.211, clause 7.4.1.3.1). When the field is absent, the UE applies the value of the physCellId configured for this serving cell; (DCI transmission and decoding are dependent on the PCI, e.g, using DMRS which is tied to the PCI)) or a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0026];) corresponding to the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)).
Regarding claim 4, KANG further discloses:
receiving (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) second indication information from the base station ([0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1) in a situation of M-TRP.. method can be extended and applied even if the UE receives the configuration/DCI from at least one TRP (hence a second indication information); [0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)); and
identifying to monitor a reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) corresponding to the second indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) based on the second indication information (Fig. 7; Fig. 9; Fig. 13; [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP2 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254]; [0259];), wherein the reference signal set is a first reference signal set or a second reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set; [0026]; [0254] A UE may determine whether such a beam failure event occurs through reception quality of a downlink RS; [0259] [Explicit configuration of BFD RSs] a base station may explicitly configure a beam RS(s) for the use (beam failure detection). In this case, a corresponding beam RS(s) corresponds to the ‘all PDCCH beam’; [0026] when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP (e.g., CSI-RS#0 from TRP1 or CSI-RS#1 from TRP2) transmitting important control information; [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s); [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc).
Regarding claim 5, KANG further discloses:
wherein identifying to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) corresponding to the second indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) based on the second indication information ([0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP (e.g., CSI-RS#1 from TRP2) transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP2 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254]; [0259];) comprises:
identifying to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) corresponding to the second indication information ([0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI (e.g., DCI from TRP2) from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP2 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0)) on a second time domain resource based on the second indication information (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2); [0184] DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1 may be used for downlink scheduling, and DCI format 1_1 may include the following information. For example, DCI format 1_1 may include at least one of a DCI format identifier, a bandwidth part indicator, frequency domain resource assignment, time domain resource assignment, a PRB bundling size indicator, a rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, antenna port(s), transmission configuration indication (TCI), an SRS request, and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence initialization), wherein the second time domain resource is identified (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2); [0184];) based on at least one of the following:
starting of the second time domain resource being identified by the second indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP2), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347] If the UE wants to support the operation even in a non-ideal backhaul environment where cooperation between TRPs/panels is difficult to achieve very closely, the time/frequency resource domains in which each TRP/panel can transmit the PDCCH shall be separated. Thus, in the NR system, control resource set (CORESET) groups to which each TRP/panel transmits the PDCCH may be separated; (hence there is a starting and ending of the second time domain resources, e.g., TDRA));
ending of the second time domain resource being identified by the second indication information ([0346]; [0347]); or
a time domain position of the second time domain resource being identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the second indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP2), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347]; (hence there is a time domain position of the time domain resources being identified in the PDCCH, e.g., TRP2- DCI including TDRA)).
Regarding claim 6, KANG further discloses:
wherein identifying to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) corresponding to the second indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) based on the indication information (Fig. 7; Fig. 9; Fig. 13; [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP2 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254]; [0259];) comprises:
identifying to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set)) corresponding to the second indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2); [0026];) based on at least one ([0157] Table 5 represents an example of TCI-State IE; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;) of a serving cell (Table 5 – servCellIndex; [0163] The UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the corresponding UE and a given serving cell, where M depends on UE capability), a bandwidth part (Table 5; [0159] In Table 5, bwp-Id parameter represents a DL BWP where the RS is located), a cell physical layer identity ([0331] pdcch-DMRS-ScramblingID: PDCCH DMRS scrambling initialization (see TS 38.211, clause 7.4.1.3.1). When the field is absent, the UE applies the value of the physCellId configured for this serving cell; (DCI transmission and decoding are dependent on the PCI, e.g, using DMRS which is tied to the PCI)) or a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0026];) corresponding to the second indication information (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., second DCI)).
Regarding claim 7, KANG further discloses:
wherein the second reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) is identified based on the first reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is a first reference signal set); [0152]; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0258] QCLed RS information (e.g., CSI-RS resource ID, SSB ID) from a spatial RX parameter viewpoint may be indicated/configured for each CORESET ID... from a base station viewpoint, this method is a method of notifying a UE that the UE has to perform transmission by applying the same transmission beam or a similar transmission beam (e.g., when beam directions are the same/similar, but beam widths are different) between spatially QCLed antenna ports; [0364] the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD); [0362] The CORESET group ID... a specific indicator for distinguishing/identifying between CORESETs configured/associated for each TRP/panel may be configured/indicated via... L1 signaling (e.g., DCI)), and wherein the second reference signal set corresponds to the first reference signal set (Fig. 7 - CSI-RS#0 and CSI-RS#1) one by one ([0009] The at least one specific RS may include RSs based on transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states related to the specific CORESET group; [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information; [0012] The specific RS may be based on at least one of i) an RS related to the TCI state, ii) an RS having a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship with the RS related to the TCI state, or iii) an RS based on a specific order among the pre-configured RSs; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0364] the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0)).
Regarding claim 8, KANG discloses:
A method performed by a base station (Fig. 7-8; Fig. 9-10; Fig. 13), the method ([0001] The present disclosure relates to a method of performing a beam failure recovery procedure in a wireless communication system and a device therefor) comprising:
transmitting (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310) configuration information to a user equipment ([0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)); and
transmitting (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) first indication information to the user equipment ([0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)), wherein the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) is associated with indicating whether to monitor a reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is a first reference signal set)) related to beam failure ([0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, ,a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP1 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254] A UE may determine whether such a beam failure event occurs through reception quality of a downlink RS; [0259] [Explicit configuration of BFD RSs] a base station may explicitly configure a beam RS(s) for the use (beam failure detection). In this case, a corresponding beam RS(s) corresponds to the ‘all PDCCH beam’; [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;).
Regarding claim 9, KANG further discloses:
wherein the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) is associated with indicating whether to monitor the reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is the reference signal set)) related to beam failure (Fig. 7; Fig. 9; Fig. 13; [0457]; [0026]; [0364]; [0259]; [0155];) on a first time domain resource (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP1); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1) in a situation of M-TRP.. method can be extended and applied even if the UE receives the configuration/DCI from at least one TRP; [0184] DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1 may be used for downlink scheduling, and DCI format 1_1 may include the following information. For example, DCI format 1_1 may include at least one of a DCI format identifier, a bandwidth part indicator, frequency domain resource assignment, time domain resource assignment, a PRB bundling size indicator, a rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, antenna port(s), transmission configuration indication (TCI), an SRS request, and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence initialization), wherein the first time domain resource is identified (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP1); [0184];) based on at least one of:
starting of the first time domain resource being identified by the first indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP1), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347] If the UE wants to support the operation even in a non-ideal backhaul environment where cooperation between TRPs/panels is difficult to achieve very closely, the time/frequency resource domains in which each TRP/panel can transmit the PDCCH shall be separated. Thus, in the NR system, control resource set (CORESET) groups to which each TRP/panel transmits the PDCCH may be separated; (hence there is a starting and ending of the first time domain resources, e.g., TDRA));
ending of the first time domain resource being identified by the first indication information ([0346]; [0347]); or
a time domain position of the first time domain resource being identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the first indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE, and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347]; (hence there is a time domain position of the time domain resources being identified in the PDCCH, e.g., TRP1-DCI including TDRA)).
Regarding claim 10, KANG further discloses:
wherein the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) is associated with indicating whether to monitor the reference signal set related to beam failure (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is the first reference signal set); [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., DCI in CORESET group ID = 0)) based on at least ([0157] Table 5 represents an example of TCI-State IE; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;) one of a serving cell (Table 5 – servCellIndex; [0163] The UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the corresponding UE and a given serving cell, where M depends on UE capability), a bandwidth part (Table 5; [0159] In Table 5, bwp-Id parameter represents a DL BWP where the RS is located), a cell physical layer identity ([0331] pdcch-DMRS-ScramblingID: PDCCH DMRS scrambling initialization (see TS 38.211, clause 7.4.1.3.1). When the field is absent, the UE applies the value of the physCellId configured for this serving cell; (DCI transmission and decoding are dependent on the PCI, e.g, using DMRS which is tied to the PCI)) or a transmission and reception point (TRP) ([0026];) corresponding to the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)).
Regarding claim 11, KANG further discloses:
transmitting (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310) configuration information to the user equipment ([0457]; [0364];);
transmitting ((Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) second indication information to the user equipment ([0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1) in a situation of M-TRP.. method can be extended and applied even if the UE receives the configuration/DCI from at least one TRP (hence a second indication information); [0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)), wherein the second indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) is associated with indicating the user equipment to identify to monitor one of (Fig. 7; Fig. 9; Fig. 13; [0026]; [0254] A UE may determine whether such a beam failure event occurs through reception quality of a downlink RS; [0259] [Explicit configuration of BFD RSs] a base station may explicitly configure a beam RS(s) for the use (beam failure detection). In this case, a corresponding beam RS(s) corresponds to the ‘all PDCCH beam’; [0026] when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP (e.g., CSI-RS#0 from TRP1 or CSI-RS#1 from TRP2) transmitting important control information; [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s); [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc) a first reference signal set and a second reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set); [0026]; [0254]; [0259];).
Regarding claim 12, KANG further discloses:
wherein the second indication information is associated with indicating the user equipment (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2)) to identify to monitor one of the first reference signal set and the second reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) [0254]; [0026]; [0259]; [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI (e.g., DCI from TRP2) from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related (e.g., CSI-RS#0 from TRP1 or CSI-RS#1 from TRP2) to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP2 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0)) on a second time domain resource (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2); [0184] DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1 may be used for downlink scheduling, and DCI format 1_1 may include the following information. For example, DCI format 1_1 may include at least one of a DCI format identifier, a bandwidth part indicator, frequency domain resource assignment, time domain resource assignment, a PRB bundling size indicator, a rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, antenna port(s), transmission configuration indication (TCI), an SRS request, and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence initialization), wherein the second time domain resource is identified (Fig. 9 – DCI (e.g., from TRP2); [0184];) based on at least one of the following:
starting of the second time domain resource being identified by the second indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP2), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347] If the UE wants to support the operation even in a non-ideal backhaul environment where cooperation between TRPs/panels is difficult to achieve very closely, the time/frequency resource domains in which each TRP/panel can transmit the PDCCH shall be separated. Thus, in the NR system, control resource set (CORESET) groups to which each TRP/panel transmits the PDCCH may be separated; (hence there is a starting and ending of the second time domain resources, e.g., TDRA));
ending of the second time domain resource being identified by the second indication information ([0346]; [0347]); or
a time domain position of the second time domain resource being identified by a time domain position of a channel or signal carrying the second indication information ([0346] If the multi-PDCCH based approach is applied, each TRP/panel may independently transmit DCI to the UE (e.g., from TRP2), and each independent PDSCH may be scheduled for each TRP/panel. There may occur an overlap in a resource domain (time/frequency domain) in which the corresponding PDSCHs are transmitted; [0347]; (hence there is a time domain position of the time domain resources being identified in the PDCCH, e.g., TRP2- DCI including TDRA)).
Regarding claim 13, KANG further discloses:
wherein the second reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#1 is a second reference signal set) is determined based on the first reference signal set Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is a first reference signal set); [0152]; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0258] QCLed RS information (e.g., CSI-RS resource ID, SSB ID) from a spatial RX parameter viewpoint may be indicated/configured for each CORESET ID... from a base station viewpoint, this method is a method of notifying a UE that the UE has to perform transmission by applying the same transmission beam or a similar transmission beam (e.g., when beam directions are the same/similar, but beam widths are different) between spatially QCLed antenna ports; [0364] the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD); [0362] The CORESET group ID... a specific indicator for distinguishing/identifying between CORESETs configured/associated for each TRP/panel may be configured/indicated via... L1 signaling (e.g., DCI)), and wherein the second reference signal set corresponds to the first reference signal set (Fig. 7 - CSI-RS#0 and CSI-RS#1) one by one ([0009] The at least one specific RS may include RSs based on transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states related to the specific CORESET group; [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information; [0012] The specific RS may be based on at least one of i) an RS related to the TCI state, ii) an RS having a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship with the RS related to the TCI state, or iii) an RS based on a specific order among the pre-configured RSs; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0364] the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0)).
Regarding claim 14, KANG discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 17 – First Device 100; Fig. 7-8; Fig. 9-10; Fig. 13; Abstract - A method of performing, by a user equipment (UE), a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure in a wireless communication system comprises performing a detection of a beam failure, transmitting a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ), and receiving a response to the BFRQ. The detection of the beam failure is related to at least one specific RS, and the at least one specific RS is related to a specific control resource set (CORESET) group of a plurality of CORESET groups), comprising:
a transceiver ([0459]an operation of the UE (100/200 of FIGS. 16 to 20) in the step S1310 to receive the configuration information from the network side (100/200 of FIGS. 16 to 20) may be implemented by a device of FIGS. 16 to 20 to be described below. For example, referring to FIG. 17, one or more processors 102 may control one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more memories 104 so as to receive the configuration information, and the one or more transceivers 106 may receive the configuration information from the network side); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured ([0450] the base station/UE operations according to the above-described embodiments (e.g., operations related to the beam failure recovery based on at least one of the methods 1-1 and 1-2 of the proposal 1/the methods 2-1, 2-2 and 2-3 of the proposal 2/the methods 3-1, 3-2 and 3-3 of the proposal 3/the methods 4-1, 4-2 and 4-3 of the proposal 4/the methods 5-1, 5-2, 5-2a and 5-2b of the proposal 5, etc.) may be processed by a device of FIGS. 16 to 20 to be described later (e.g., processors 102 and 202 of FIG. 17)) to:
receive (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) first indication information from a base station ([0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)); and
identify whether to monitor a reference signal set related to beam failure based on the first indication information (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is a reference signal set); [0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, ,a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP1 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254] A UE may determine whether such a beam failure event occurs through reception quality of a downlink RS; [0259] [Explicit configuration of BFD RSs] a base station may explicitly configure a beam RS(s) for the use (beam failure detection). In this case, a corresponding beam RS(s) corresponds to the ‘all PDCCH beam’; [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;).
Regarding claim 15, KANG discloses:
A base station (Fig. 17 – Second Device 200; Fig. 7-8; Fig. 9-10; Fig. 13; [0001] The present disclosure relates to a method of performing a beam failure recovery procedure in a wireless communication system and a device therefor) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 17 – transceiver(s) 206; [0513] According to the step, an operation of the base station (100/200 of FIGS. 16 to 20) to transmit the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI related to the response to the BFRQ to the UE (100/200 of FIGS. 16 to 20) may be implemented by the device of FIGS. 16 to 20. For example, referring to FIG. 17, one or more processors 202 may control one or more transceivers 206 and/or one or more memories 204 so as to transmit the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI related to the response to the BFRQ to the UE 100); and
a processor (Fig. 17 – processor(s) 202) coupled to the transceiver and configured ([0450] the base station/UE operations according to the above-described embodiments (e.g., operations related to the beam failure recovery based on at least one of the methods 1-1 and 1-2 of the proposal 1/the methods 2-1, 2-2 and 2-3 of the proposal 2/the methods 3-1, 3-2 and 3-3 of the proposal 3/the methods 4-1, 4-2 and 4-3 of the proposal 4/the methods 5-1, 5-2, 5-2a and 5-2b of the proposal 5, etc.) may be processed by a device of FIGS. 16 to 20 to be described later (e.g., processors 102 and 202 of FIG. 17)) to:
transmit (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310) configuration information to a user equipment ([0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)); and
transmit (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) first indication information to the user equipment ([0457] The UE may receive, from the network side, configuration information related to M-TRP based transmission/reception via/using the TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2), in S1310... the configuration information may be transmitted via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE, . . . ); [0456] Referring to FIG. 13, it is assumed that a UE receives configuration/DCI from a representative TRP (e.g., TRP 1); [0364] A UE performs a beam failure detection (BFD) only on specific CORESET group(s). In this instance, the specific CORESET group(s) may be CORESET group(s) (e.g., CORESET group in which CORESET group ID=0) corresponding to promised/defined/pre-configured CORESET group ID(s) or CORESET group(s) that a base station configures/designates (so that the base station performs the BFD)), wherein the first indication information (Fig. 13 - Configuration S1310; Fig. 9 – DCI; (e.g., from TRP1)) is associated with indicating whether to monitor a reference signal set (Fig. 7 – CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RS#0 is a first reference signal set)) related to beam failure ([0026] beam failure detection (BFD) is performed on RSs related to a specific CORESET group. Thus, when a UE receiving multi-DCI from a plurality of TRPs detects a beam failure, ,a BFD target is limited to RSs related to a specific TRP transmitting important control information (e.g., TRP1 - DCI in CORESET group ID = 0); [0364]; [0254] A UE may determine whether such a beam failure event occurs through reception quality of a downlink RS; [0259] [Explicit configuration of BFD RSs] a base station may explicitly configure a beam RS(s) for the use (beam failure detection). In this case, a corresponding beam RS(s) corresponds to the ‘all PDCCH beam’; [0155] Each TCI state may be configured with one RS set. Each ID of DL RS at least for the purpose of spatial QCL (QCL Type D) in an RS set may refer to one of DL RS types such as SSB, P-CSI RS, SP-CSI RS, A-CSI RS, etc; [0158] The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RSs) with corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) types; [0159] As another example, in order to indicate QCL reference information on PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), the TCI state ID may be indicated via DCI;).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
Kwak et al. (US 20230300645 A1) teaches to determining whether at least a subset of RSs of the set of RSs is failed, and selecting at least a first RS and a second RS from the set of candidate RSs, based on a determination that... at least the subset of RSs of the set of RSs is failed (e.g., all-beam/all-RSs failure).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418