DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/24/2024. Claims 1-6 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2023/0171031).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a terminal, comprising: a controller that controls PDCCH overbooking in XDD (Cross Division Duplex) time units where PDCCH monitoring is configured; and a receiver that performs PDCCH monitoring in a PDCCH monitoring occasion selected in the controlled PDCCH overbooking (Zhang, paragraph 23 and claim 9 discloses calculating a number of blind decodes (BD) to be used for the PDCCH reception, based in part on the scaling factors for the SS/CORESET carrying PDCCH repetitions, and, when the number of BDs exceeds a specified limit, implementing overbooking operations to reduce the BD count to within the specified limit… wherein the overbooking operation comprises: dropping certain ones of the configured PDCCH candidates so that the candidates are not searched; and recalculating the number of BDs without including the PDCCH candidates that are dropped).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller selects the PDCCH monitoring occasion in accordance with a prioritization (Zhang, paragraph 52 discloses if the number of BDs configured for a slot exceeds a maximum specified BD limit, then the slot is considered to be overbooked. In an overbooking scenario, some SS may be prioritized for searching (e.g., PDCCH detection) while other SS are dropped (not searched) so that the UE does not exceed the BD limit).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 2, wherein the PDCCH monitoring occasion is selected based on a first prioritization between a common search space and a user specific search space, a second prioritization between a non-XDD search space set and an XDD search space set, and a third prioritization among search space indices (Zhang, paragraph 56 discloses the UE may be configured with different priority orders by higher layers for different search space sets. In case of overbooking, the PDCCH candidate(s) is dropped in an increasing or decreasing order of PDCCH candidates index starting from the lower prioritized search spaces sets. In some designs, to further reduce UE complexity, PDCCH candidates may be dropped on an aggregation level (AL) basis, i.e., once one candidate is dropped for a given AL, all candidates associated with this AL are dropped).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 3, wherein the PDCCH monitoring occasion is selected further based on a fourth prioritization between a non-XDD PDCCH monitoring occasion and an XDD PDCCH monitoring occasion (Zhang, paragraph 56 discloses the UE may be configured with different priority orders by higher layers for different search space sets. In case of overbooking, the PDCCH candidate(s) is dropped in an increasing or decreasing order of PDCCH candidates index starting from the lower prioritized search spaces sets. In some designs, to further reduce UE complexity, PDCCH candidates may be dropped on an aggregation level (AL) basis, i.e., once one candidate is dropped for a given AL, all candidates associated with this AL are dropped).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses a base station, comprising: a controller that configures a PDCCH monitoring occasion overbooking in XDD (Cross Division Duplex) time units where PDCCH monitoring is configured; and a transmitter that transmits control information in the PDCCH monitoring occasion (Zhang, paragraph 23 and claim 9 discloses calculating a number of blind decodes (BD) to be used for the PDCCH reception, based in part on the scaling factors for the SS/CORESET carrying PDCCH repetitions, and, when the number of BDs exceeds a specified limit, implementing overbooking operations to reduce the BD count to within the specified limit… wherein the overbooking operation comprises: dropping certain ones of the configured PDCCH candidates so that the candidates are not searched; and recalculating the number of BDs without including the PDCCH candidates that are dropped).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a terminal implemented radio communication method, comprising: controlling PDCCH overbooking in XDD (Cross Division Duplex) time units where PDCCH monitoring is configured; and performing PDCCH monitoring in a PDCCH monitoring occasion selected in the controlled PDCCH overbooking (Zhang, paragraph 23 and claim 9 discloses calculating a number of blind decodes (BD) to be used for the PDCCH reception, based in part on the scaling factors for the SS/CORESET carrying PDCCH repetitions, and, when the number of BDs exceeds a specified limit, implementing overbooking operations to reduce the BD count to within the specified limit… wherein the overbooking operation comprises: dropping certain ones of the configured PDCCH candidates so that the candidates are not searched; and recalculating the number of BDs without including the PDCCH candidates that are dropped).
Conclusion
/JERRY T JEAN BAPTISTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481