Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ramireddy (US 20220029676).
Regarding claim 1, Ramireddy discloses a terminal comprising:
a control section that performs a measurement on a Doppler shift of a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) and determines channel state information (CSI) based on the measurement (fig. 4, [0017][0057-59][0268-277][0359-362], a processor configured to estimate an explicit CSI in the frequency domain using measurements on the downlink reference signals on the radio channel, is parameterized with a Doppler-frequency shift; the downlink reference signals provided over a certain observation time; performs, at step 252, measurements on downlink CSI-RS over T consecutive time-instants/slots; selects, at step 256, the Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix; calculate either one or more of a channel quality indicator, CQI, and/or a precoder matrix indicator, PMI, and/or a rank indicator, RI, using the explicit CSI and the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder with the selected Doppler-delay-beam precoder matrix (W); step 250), and
a transmitting section that transmits a reporting of the CSI (fig. 4, [0065][0273] report to the transmitter the CSI feedback including either one or more of the CQI, and/or the PMI and/or the RI, wherein the PMI and RI are used to indicate the Doppler-delay-beam three-stage composite precoder matrix for the configured antenna ports).
Claims 5-6 are rejected similarly with claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Ramireddy discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the measurement is based on a configuration of a resource set of the CSI-RS for the Doppler shift ([0277], once the UE is configured with a CSI-RS resource and a CSI reporting configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Ramireddy discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the CSI includes information related to the Doppler shift or a time domain correlation (fig. 4, [0065][0273] report to the transmitter the CSI feedback including either one or more of the CQI, and/or the PMI and/or the RI, wherein the PMI and RI are used to indicate the Doppler-delay-beam three-stage composite precoder matrix for the configured antenna ports).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy in view of Qualcomm (Discussion on CSI-RS Design [online], 3GPP TSG RAN WGl, Rl-1711655, 30 June 2017, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Ramireddy discloses the terminal according to claim 1,
Even though Ramireddy discloses, [0019-23][0277], the configuration of a CSI-RS resource set(s) which may refer to NZP-CSI-RS, CSI-IM or CSI-SSB resource set(s) is performed using the following higher layer parameters; the density and bandwidth of occupancy of the reference symbols in the frequency domain, Ramireddy does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of resources of the CSI-RS is accompanied by at least one of a same frequency domain resource and a different symbol.
Qualcomm discloses wherein a plurality of resources of the CSI-RS is accompanied by at least one of a same frequency domain resource and a different symbol (Qualcomm, section 2, the component CSI-RS REs are replicated in the same frequency location across different OFDM symbols).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Ramireddy with the teachings given by Qualcomm. The motivation for doing so would have been to be compliance with the 3GPP standards.
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474