DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed om 24 August 2026.
Benefit
The application is a National Stage entry under 35 USC 371 of PCT/US2023/066180 (4/25/2023), which claims benefit of US Provisional 63/6369,533 (4/25/2022).
Formal Matters
Claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 12-21 are withdrawn without traverse, as set forth above. Claims 1-11 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 November 2024 has been considered by the examiner. A signed copy is attached.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shetye et al., WO 2022076795 A1 (14 April 2022, benefit to 8 October 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Shetye teaches a nasal insert (nasal molding device 100; FIG 3A) configured to be deployed over an extended period (p. 14, lines 28-29) into an airway of a person (p. 9, line 5) to modify a physical structure forming the airway (p. 13, lines 7-8), the nasal insert (100) comprising:
a nasal insert body (nasal molding stent 110) having a size and shape (p. 9, lines 9-17) matched to the airway of the person (p. 14, lines 1-2) and having a corrective surface configured to engage one or more of nasal bone and cartilage surrounding the airway (p. 14, lines 4-7) and to permanently adjust the structure of the airway (p. 14, lines 4-7) and dimensioned to be inserted into a nasal passage of the person (p. 9, lines 9-17) by the person to apply pressure via the corrective surface to the one or more of nasal bone and cartilage surrounding the airway (p. 14, lines 4-7); and
a passageway formed in the nasal insert body to allow air to enter and exit the airway when the nasal insert is inserted in the airway (FIG 1).
Regarding claim 2, Shetye teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, wherein the nasal insert is manufactured using size and shape information of the person to match the airway of the person (FIG 4, “dimensions of exemplary symmetrical individual nasal molding devices”, p. 4, lines 28-29; “3D printing or other additive manufacturing”, p. 12, lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 3, Shetye teaches the nasal insert of claim 2, where the nasal insert is manufactured using an additive manufacturing process (FIG 4, “dimensions of exemplary symmetrical individual nasal molding devices”, p. 4, lines 28-29; “3D printing or other additive manufacturing”, p. 12, lines 23-25) using size and shape information acquired from medical images of the person (“based on 3D scans or 2D images of a subject’s face”, p. 13, lines 14-17; FIG 4, “any suitable size range”, p. 13, lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 9, Shetye teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, further comprising an adjustment system that incrementally changes a geometry (FIGs 1-3C, “molding stent 110 comprising a substantially tubular shape having a length 112 comprising a superior with 114 and an inferior width 116, p. 9, lines 3-4) of the nasal insert body to be matched to the size and shape of the airway (“based on 3D scans or 2D images of a subject’s face”, p. 13, lines 14-17; FIG 4, “any suitable size range”, p. 13, lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 11, Shetye teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, wherein the nasal insert body includes one or more recesses or passages formed in a sidewall (FIGs 1-3C, “molding stent 110 comprising a substantially tubular shape having a length 112 comprising a superior with 114 and an inferior width 116, comprising a hollow interior (passage), p. 9, lines 3-9).
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maryanka, US 20040059368 (25 March 2004).
Regarding claim 1, Maryanka teaches a nasal insert (nasal dilation device) configured to be deployed over an extended period (¶17) into an airway of a person (nasal cavity; ¶11) to modify a physical structure forming the airway (¶12), the nasal insert (nasal dilation device) comprising:
a nasal insert body (nasal dilation device) having a size and shape (¶¶15, 27) matched to the airway of the person (¶27) and having a corrective surface (¶20) configured to engage one or more of nasal bone and cartilage surrounding the airway (¶¶11, 23) and to permanently adjust the structure of the airway (¶15) and dimensioned to be inserted into a nasal passage of the person (¶27) by the person to apply pressure via the corrective surface to the one or more of nasal bone and cartilage surrounding the airway (¶11); and
a passageway formed in the nasal insert body to allow air to enter and exit the airway when the nasal insert is inserted in the airway (¶¶11, 27).
Regarding claim 2, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert is manufactured using size and shape information of the person to match the airway of the person (¶27).
Regarding claim 4, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert forms one in a set of nasal inserts (¶¶12, 18), each nasal insert in the set of nasal inserts (¶18) having a different size or geometry (¶¶12, 23-25), and wherein the set of nasal inserts are configured to provide incremental adjustments to the airway over a treatment duration (¶¶20, 23-25).
Regarding claim 5, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert body includes a grip (expansion means of the draw-pull element, ¶37) configured to facilitate insertion, removal, and adjustment of the nasal insert in the airway by the person (¶¶38, 40; claim 15).
Regarding claim 6, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 5, as set forth above, wherein the grip (expansion means of the draw-pull element, ¶37) includes an opening dimensioned to at least partially receive a digit of the person to rotate the nasal insert in the airway (expansion means, ¶27).
Regarding claim 8, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert body is compressible (¶52).
Regarding claim 9, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, further comprising an adjustment system (expansion means and holding means, ¶18) that incrementally changes a geometry (¶¶23-25) of the nasal insert body to be matched to the size and shape of the airway (¶27).
Regarding claim 10, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 9, as set forth above, wherein the adjustment system (¶18) includes an expandable material (¶¶44, 64).
Regarding claim 11, Maryanka teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert body includes one or more recesses or passages formed in a sidewall (FIGs 1-3, spaces between ribs; claim 3).
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over in view of Matheny, et al., US 20220168465 (2 June 2022, benefit to 14 April 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Matheny teaches a nasal insert (biodegradable nasal splint, ¶8) configured to be deployed over an extended period (¶¶6, 39) into an airway of a person (¶9) to modify a physical structure forming the airway (¶9), the nasal insert (biodegradable support, ¶39) comprising:
a nasal insert body (¶39) having a size and shape (¶41) matched to the airway of the person (¶¶12, 18) and having a corrective surface (¶39) configured to engage one or more of nasal bone and cartilage surrounding the airway (¶¶9, 40) and to permanently adjust the structure of the airway (¶¶9, 40) and dimensioned to be inserted into a nasal passage of the person (¶41) by the person to apply pressure via the corrective surface to the one or more of nasal bone and cartilage surrounding the airway (¶61); and
a passageway formed in the nasal insert body to allow air to enter and exit the airway when the nasal insert is inserted in the airway (¶¶10).
Regarding claim 2, Matheny teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert is manufactured using size and shape information of the person to match the airway of the person (¶41).
Regarding claim 7, Matheny teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert body comprises hydrogel (¶71).
Regarding claim 8, Matheny teaches the nasal insert of claim 1, as set forth above, wherein the nasal insert body is compressible (¶142).
Regarding claim 10, Matheny teaches the nasal insert of claim 9, as set forth above, wherein the adjustment system includes an expandable material (¶142).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not presently relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maryanka, US 20060259065 (16 November 2006) teaches nasal cavity dilator.
Brennan, US 5931852 (3 August 1999) teaches nasal airway devices.
/CHERIE M POLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3771