Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20240275653 to Zhang et al.
Referring to claim 7, Zhang et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a terminal (UE) comprising:
A receiver (UE transceiver module 230, including a receiver) that receives (step 1515) a configuration of a DMRS for a PUSCH or a PDSCH. Step 1515: BS transmits a DMRS configuration, to UE via a DCI, of a DMRS for a PUSCH (Sections 0023, 0045, 0104, 0109-0111, 0142, 0171, 0194, 0207, 0246, 0249, 0251, and 0252) or a PDSCH (Sections 0021, 0023, 0034, 0198, 0246-0249, 0251-252, 0254, and 0258). The DMRS configuration includes which FD-OCC length should be used for an uplink DMRS port, a DMRS type of type I or type I, a maximum number of continuous DMRS OFDM symbols, a number of the DMRS ports, etc. for a corresponding PUSCH or PDSCH. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Different FD-OCC lengths apply to different uplink DMRS ports according to the DMRS configuration. Sections 0012, 0104, and 0142: UE can also determine the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belong to {2,4} or {2,6}.
A processor (UE processor module 236) that controls (step 1550) a length of a FD-OCC applied to the DMRS. Upon receiving the DMRS configuration, UE determines the FD-OCC length to be applied to the DMRS according to the DMRS port. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”.
Wherein when receiving the configuration, the processor applies an FD-OCC having a length
of 4 to the DMRS. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Example 3 and Sections 0171-0225: based on the DMRS configuration from BS, the FD-OCC length can have a length of 4, so UE applies an FD-OCC having a length of 4 to the DMRS. Refer to Sections 0089-0277.
Referring to claim 10, Zhang et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a radio communication method for a terminal (BS), comprising:
Receiving (step 1515, using UE transceiver module 230, including a receiver) a configuration of a DMRS for a PUSCH or a PDSCH. Step 1515: BS transmits a DMRS configuration, to UE via a DCI, of a DMRS for a PUSCH (Sections 0023, 0045, 0104, 0109-0111, 0142, 0171, 0194, 0207, 0246, 0249, 0251, and 0252) or a PDSCH (Sections 0021, 0023, 0034, 0198, 0246-0249, 0251-252, 0254, and 0258). The DMRS configuration includes which FD-OCC length should be used for an uplink DMRS port, a DMRS type of type I or type I, a maximum number of continuous DMRS OFDM symbols, a number of the DMRS ports, etc. for a corresponding PUSCH or PDSCH. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Different FD-OCC lengths apply to different uplink DMRS ports according to the DMRS configuration. Sections 0012, 0104, and 0142: UE can also determine the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belong to {2,4} or {2,6}.
Controlling (step 1550, using UE processor module 236) a length of a FD-OCC applied to the DMRS. Upon receiving the DMRS configuration, UE determines the FD-OCC length to be applied to the DMRS according to the DMRS port. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”.
Wherein when the configuration is received, the processor applies an FD-OCC having a length
of 4 to the DMRS. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Example 3 and Sections 0171-0225: based on the DMRS configuration from BS, the FD-OCC length can have a length of 4, so UE applies an FD-OCC having a length of 4 to the DMRS. Refer to Sections 0089-0277.
Referring to claim 11, Zhang et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a base station (BS) comprising:
A transmitter (BS transceiver module 210, including a transmitter) that receives (step 1515) a configuration of a DMRS for a PUSCH or a PDSCH. Step 1515: BS transmits a DMRS configuration, to UE via a DCI, of a DMRS for a PUSCH (Sections 0023, 0045, 0104, 0109-0111, 0142, 0171, 0194, 0207, 0246, 0249, 0251, and 0252) or a PDSCH (Sections 0021, 0023, 0034, 0198, 0246-0249, 0251-252, 0254, and 0258). The DMRS configuration includes which FD-OCC length should be used for an uplink DMRS port, a DMRS type of type I or type I, a maximum number of continuous DMRS OFDM symbols, a number of the DMRS ports, etc. for a corresponding PUSCH or PDSCH. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Different FD-OCC lengths apply to different uplink DMRS ports according to the DMRS configuration. Sections 0012, 0104, and 0142: UE can also determine the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belong to {2,4} or {2,6}.
A processor (BS processor module 214) that controls (steps 1515 and 1535) a length of a FD-OCC applied to the DMRS. BS indicates, to UE via the DCI, the FD-OCC length to be applied to the DMRS for the DMRS port. Upon receiving the DMRS configuration, UE determines the FD-OCC length to be applied to the DMRS according to the DMRS port. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”.
Wherein when transmitting the configuration, an FD-OCC having a length of 4 is applied to the DMRS. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Example 3 and Sections 0171-0225: based on the DMRS configuration from BS, the FD-OCC length can have a length of 4, so UE applies an FD-OCC having a length of 4 to the DMRS. Refer to Sections 0089-0277.
Referring to claim 12, Zhang et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a system comprising a terminal (UE) and a base station (BS), wherein:
The terminal comprises:
A receiver (UE transceiver module 230, including a receiver) that receives (step 1515) a configuration of a DMRS for a PUSCH or a PDSCH. Step 1515: BS transmits a DMRS configuration, to UE via a DCI, of a DMRS for a PUSCH (Sections 0023, 0045, 0104, 0109-0111, 0142, 0171, 0194, 0207, 0246, 0249, 0251, and 0252) or a PDSCH (Sections 0021, 0023, 0034, 0198, 0246-0249, 0251-252, 0254, and 0258). The DMRS configuration includes which FD-OCC length should be used for an uplink DMRS port, a DMRS type of type I or type I, a maximum number of continuous DMRS OFDM symbols, a number of the DMRS ports, etc. for a corresponding PUSCH or PDSCH. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Different FD-OCC lengths apply to different uplink DMRS ports according to the DMRS configuration. Sections 0012, 0104, and 0142: UE can also determine the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belong to {2,4} or {2,6}.
A processor (UE processor module 236) that controls (step 1550) a length of a FD-OCC applied to the DMRS. Upon receiving the DMRS configuration, UE determines the FD-OCC length to be applied to the DMRS according to the DMRS port. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”.
Wherein when receiving the configuration, the processor applies an FD-OCC having a length
of 4 to the DMRS. Example 3 and Section 0171: “The UE may determine that the FD-OCC length of uplink DMRS port belongs to {2,4}. Which FD-OCC should be adopted for one uplink DMRS port may be informed by DCI. The UE may adopt the determined FD-OCC length to transmit DMRS of PUSCH, or transmit DMRS of PUSCH.”. Example 3 and Sections 0171-0225: based on the DMRS configuration from BS, the FD-OCC length can have a length of 4, so UE applies an FD-OCC having a length of 4 to the DMRS. Refer to Sections 0089-0277.
The base station comprises:
A transmitter (BS transceiver module 210, including a transmitter) that transmits (step 1515) the configuration. Step 1515: BS transmits the DMRS configuration to UE via the DCI. Refer to Sections 0089-0277.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240275653 to Zhang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200137745 to Bachu et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230209541 to He et al.
Zhang et al do not disclose wherein the DMRS for the PUSCH or the PDSCH has a plurality of configuration types, and separate capabilities … for the plurality of configuration types.
Bachu et al disclose in Figures 1-11, Table 2, and Section 0057 wherein there are a plurality of PUSCH DMRS configuration types and a plurality of PDSCH DMRS configuration types. Table 2 indicates which PUSCH DMRS configuration types and a plurality of PDSCH DMRS configuration type is supported, wherein a “0” indicates Type 1 of PUSCH DMRS configuration or PUSCH DMRS configuration type, and a “1” indicates Type 2 of PUSCH DMRS configuration or PUSCH DMRS configuration type (claimed “separate capabilities … for the plurality of configuration types”; wherein “0” and “1” read on the claimed “separate capabilities” since each indicate a different PDSCH or PUSCH configuration type ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the DMRS for the PUSCH or the PDSCH has a plurality of configuration types, and separate capabilities … for the plurality of configuration types. One would have been motivated to do so to support a plurality of PUSCH DMRS configuration types to facilitate uplink transmission and a plurality of PDSCH DMRS configuration types to facilitate downlink transmission.
Zhang et al and Bachu et al do not disclose wherein the DMRS for the PUSCH or the PDSCH has a plurality of configuration types, and separate capabilities are reported for the plurality of configuration types.
He et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0039 and 0131 wherein UE indicates different capabilities through different PUSCH DMRS configurations. UE determines the PUSCH DMRS configuration corresponding to the capability of the UE according to the configuration information of the resource of the PUSCH DMRS. Refer to Sections 0027-0213. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the DMRS for the PUSCH or the PDSCH has a plurality of configuration types, and separate capabilities are reported for the plurality of configuration types. One would have been motivated to do so since different PUSCH DMRS configuration support different capabilities to be reported by UE.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240275653 to Zhang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250247187 to Muruganathan et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63328224).
Zhang et al do not disclose wherein when the FD-OCC having the length of 4 is applied to the DMRS, the processor does not assume that a PUSCH or a PDSCH with an odd number of PRBs is scheduled.
Muruganathan et al disclose in Figures 1-36, Tables 6-7, and Sections 0143, 0182, 0196, and 0222 wherein an FD-OCC length of 4 is applied to a DMRS on a PUSCH or PDSCH for scheduled blocks of an odd number of contiguous PRBs. Sections 0153, 0155, and 0158: However, UE does not expect to be scheduled with RBGs containing an odd number of PRBs for scheduling PDSCH; for example: if the first RBG or the last RBG has an odd number of PRBs, then these two RBGs are not expected to be allocated when scheduling PDSCH. Refer to Sections 0075-0430. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein when the FD-OCC having the length of 4 is applied to the DMRS, the processor does not assume that a PUSCH or a PDSCH with an odd number of PRBs is scheduled. One would have been motivated to do so so
that when the FD-OCC having the length of 4 is applied to the DMRS, a PUSCH or a PDSCH with an odd number of PRBs does not have to be scheduled, and can instead use an even number of PRBs, thereby increasing flexibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20220295529 to Si et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0137-0170 wherein two types of DM-RS configurations for PDSCH are supported: in Type-1 DM-RS configuration, 6 REs with uniform interval within an RB are mapped for DM-RS sequence, which is further applied with length-2 FD-OCC; in Type-2 DM-RS configuration, 4 REs with every two in a group within an RB are mapped for DM-RS sequence, which is further applied with length-2 FD-OCC. Refer to Sections 0027-0239.
U.S. Publication No. 20210014011 to Xiong et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0634-0651 wherein a DMRS configuration information includes the number of DMRS ports, indexes of DMRS ports, and DMRS sequence indexes available on one PUSCH time-frequency resource unit; and DMRS port configuration information; wherein a FD-OCC length can be applied to a DMRS. Refer to Sections 0093-0708.
U.S. Publication No. 20230188294 to Qu et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0110-0154 wherein the micro site configures the UE to include a DMRS in an uplink PUSCH and obtains an interference covariance matrix through measurement based on the DMRS sent by the UE; each CDM group supports a FD-OCC sequence whose length is 4, so that each CDM group includes four orthogonal DMRS ports. Refer to Sections 0093-0247.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
August 6, 2026