DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 20200413410 A1) in view of Kadari et al (US 20190159126 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, Zhou et al, discloses a terminal (UEs 120 (120a, 120b, 120c) comprising: a communication unit (each UE may be stationary or mobile, where a UE may also be referred to as an access terminal, a terminal, a mobile station, a subscriber unit, a station, a UE may be a cellular phone ; paragraph 0033) that executes intermittent communication (read as when transmitting a subsequent uplink transmission to the base station, the uplink transmission may be a discontinuous transmission (DTX); the intermittent communication may be referred to as Connected mode Discontinuous Reception; paragraph 0076) in which communication is executed in a periodic first section (receive information in the one or more slots of the periodic transmission cycle according to the selected candidate search space configuration set ; paragraph 0010), and communication is not executed in a second section other than the first section (a base station (base station 110) may determine a result associated with an initial set of transmissions of a periodic transmission cycle; paragraph 0010-0011, 0061-0062) ; the UE capability limitation is satisfied can be achieved by explicit configuration of PDCCH candidates per search space in each candidate search space configuration set (ensure the total number of PDCCH candidates for all search spaces in a slot does not exceed a UE capability limit); furthermore, the base station may determine (based at least in part on the NACK, based at least in part on the DTX, based at least in part on failing to receive the uplink transmission) that at least one of the initial downlink transmission or the initial uplink transmission failed ; paragraph 0072-0073).
However, Zhou et al does not specifically disclose a control unit that executes extension of the first section or shortening of the first section when a specific condition is satisfied.
On the other hand, Kadari et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a control unit (Base station) that executes extension of the first section (read as : secondary cell active mode or state; the UE is in a first state corresponding to the Scell; paragraph 0005, 0008, 0076) or shortening of the first section (a first state) when a specific condition is satisfied (the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration ; note that if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI; paragraph 0077-0078; paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109).
Kadari et al, discloses a carrier aggregation scheme 900 that employs a low power secondary cell active mode or state (equivalent to: the first section may be called an active section), where the UE may enter LTE RRC idle state (equivalent to: the second section may be called a sleep section) with respect to a PCell. An RRC connection setup may be initiated between the UE and the network, and the UE may transition to an LTE RRC connected state with a single carrier PCell. The UE may indicate capabilities to support new states and transitions via an RRC UE capability information indication (paragraph 0075-0076). Furthermore, the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration (Low Power Inactivity Expiry) specific to or associated with an SCell or a PDCCH downlink control information trigger received on at least one PCell or SCell. For example, the low power inactivity timer may be a function of a CDRX inactivity timer or a distinct defined timer. The transition from 960 to 958 may be prioritized by defining a shorter low power inactivity timer compared to legacy SCell inactivity timer, in which case a transition may be made to 956 due to the SCell inactivity timer expiry not occurring (paragraph 0079-0084). Note that the UE may transition from the SCell deactivated to the low power SCell mode based on a MAC control element. In an aspect, the UE may transition to the low power Scell mode with respect to one or more SCells while other SCells configured for the UE may remain in the deactivated state or transition to the legacy SCell activated state (paragraph 0077-0078). In addition, when the UE enters into a connected mode DRX (CDRX) state (equivalent to: the CDRX may include an existing CDRX or a CDRX introduced for Extended Reality), UE may still monitor SCell PDCCH during a CDRX ON or activated period, resulting in significant SCell power consumption if the SCell is not deactivated based on SCell usage; further, when there is no data to be scheduled on one or more SCells, the SCells may be deactivated through a MAC-CE deactivation procedure (paragraph 0022, 0070, 0071). Furthermore, if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI. The eNB may transmit an indication to the UE that a request/trigger is to be transmitted in a subsequent time window (paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Kadari to the communication system of Zhou in order to provide a method for reporting aperiodic channel quality indicator in a new Secondary Cell state for improving effective utilization of SCells to reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou et al, discloses a base station (a base station for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory) comprising: a communication unit (UE 120, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data from a data source 262 and control from controller/processor 280; paragraph 0041) that executes intermittent communication (read as when transmitting a subsequent uplink transmission to the base station, the uplink transmission may be a discontinuous transmission (DTX); the intermittent communication may be referred to as Connected mode Discontinuous Reception; paragraph 0076) in which communication is executed in a periodic first section (the base station may transmit control information in the one or more slots of the transmission cycle in accordance with the candidate search space configuration set ; paragraph 0074), and communication is not executed in a second section other than the first section (a base station (base station 110) may determine a result associated with an initial set of transmissions of a periodic transmission cycle; paragraph 0010-0011, 0061-0062); the UE capability limitation is satisfied can be achieved by explicit configuration of PDCCH candidates per search space in each candidate search space configuration set (ensure the total number of PDCCH candidates for all search spaces in a slot does not exceed a UE capability limit); furthermore, the base station may determine (based at least in part on the NACK, based at least in part on the DTX, based at least in part on failing to receive the uplink transmission) that at least one of the initial downlink transmission or the initial uplink transmission failed ; paragraph 0072-0073).
However, Zhou et al does not specifically disclose a control unit that assumes that the terminal executes extension of the first section or shortening of the first section when a specific condition is satisfied.
On the other hand, Kadari et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a control unit (Base station) that executes extension of the first section (read as : secondary cell active mode or state; the UE is in a first state corresponding to the Scell; paragraph 0005, 0008, 0076) or shortening of the first section (a first state) when a specific condition is satisfied (the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration ; note that if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI; paragraph 0077-0078; paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109).
Kadari et al, discloses a carrier aggregation scheme 900 that employs a low power secondary cell active mode or state (equivalent to: the first section may be called an active section), where the UE may enter LTE RRC idle state (equivalent to: the second section may be called a sleep section) with respect to a PCell. An RRC connection setup may be initiated between the UE and the network, and the UE may transition to an LTE RRC connected state with a single carrier PCell. The UE may indicate capabilities to support new states and transitions via an RRC UE capability information indication (paragraph 0075-0076). Furthermore, the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration (Low Power Inactivity Timer Expiry) specific to or associated with an SCell or a PDCCH downlink control information trigger received on at least one PCell or SCell. For example, the low power inactivity timer may be a function of a CDRX inactivity timer or a distinct defined timer. The transition from 960 to 958 may be prioritized by defining a shorter low power inactivity timer compared to legacy SCell inactivity timer, in which case a transition may be made to 956 due to the SCell inactivity timer expiry not occurring (paragraph 0079-0084). Note that the UE may transition from the SCell deactivated to the low power SCell mode based on a MAC control element. In an aspect, the UE may transition to the low power Scell mode with respect to one or more SCells while other SCells configured for the UE may remain in the deactivated state or transition to the legacy SCell activated state (paragraph 0077-0078). In addition, when the UE enters into a connected mode DRX (CDRX) state (equivalent to: the CDRX may include an existing CDRX or a CDRX introduced for Extended Reality), UE may still monitor SCell PDCCH during a CDRX ON or activated period, resulting in significant SCell power consumption if the SCell is not deactivated based on SCell usage; further, when there is no data to be scheduled on one or more SCells, the SCells may be deactivated through a MAC-CE deactivation procedure (paragraph 0022, 0070, 0071). Furthermore, if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI. The eNB may transmit an indication to the UE that a request/trigger is to be transmitted in a subsequent time window (paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Kadari to the communication system of Zhou in order to provide a method for reporting aperiodic channel quality indicator in a new Secondary Cell state for improving effective utilization of SCells to reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al, discloses a radio communication device (UE may be stationary or mobile) comprising a terminal and a base station, the terminal (a UE may also be referred to as an access terminal, a terminal, a mobile station, a subscriber unit, a station; a UE may be a cellular phone (a smart phone), a personal digital assistant, a wireless modem, a wireless communication device, a handheld device, a laptop computer; paragraph 0033) comprising: a communication unit that executes intermittent communication (read as when transmitting a subsequent uplink transmission to the base station, the uplink transmission may be a discontinuous transmission (DTX); the intermittent communication may be referred to as Connected mode Discontinuous Reception; paragraph 0076) in which communication is executed in a periodic first section (receive information in the one or more slots of the periodic transmission cycle according to the selected candidate search space configuration set ; paragraph 0010), and communication is not executed in a second section other than the first section (a base station (base station 110) may determine a result associated with an initial set of transmissions of a periodic transmission cycle; paragraph 0010-0011, 0061-0062) ; the UE capability limitation is satisfied can be achieved by explicit configuration of PDCCH candidates per search space in each candidate search space configuration set (ensure the total number of PDCCH candidates for all search spaces in a slot does not exceed a UE capability limit); furthermore, the base station may determine (based at least in part on the NACK, based at least in part on the DTX, based at least in part on failing to receive the uplink transmission) that at least one of the initial downlink transmission or the initial uplink transmission failed ; paragraph 0072-0073).
However, Zhou et al does not specifically disclose a control unit that executes extension of the first section or shortening of the first section when a specific condition is satisfied.
On the other hand, Kadari et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a control unit (Base station) that executes extension of the first section (read as : secondary cell active mode or state; the UE is in a first state corresponding to the Scell; paragraph 0005, 0008, 0076) or shortening of the first section (a first state) when a specific condition is satisfied (the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration ; note that if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI; paragraph 0077-0078; paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109).
Kadari et al, discloses a carrier aggregation scheme 900 that employs a low power secondary cell active mode or state (equivalent to: the first section may be called an active section), where the UE may enter LTE RRC idle state (equivalent to: the second section may be called a sleep section) with respect to a PCell. An RRC connection setup may be initiated between the UE and the network, and the UE may transition to an LTE RRC connected state with a single carrier PCell. The UE may indicate capabilities to support new states and transitions via an RRC UE capability information indication (paragraph 0075-0076). Furthermore, the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration (Low Power Inactivity Timer Expiry) specific to or associated with an SCell or a PDCCH downlink control information trigger received on at least one PCell or SCell. For example, the low power inactivity timer may be a function of a CDRX inactivity timer or a distinct defined timer. The transition from 960 to 958 may be prioritized by defining a shorter low power inactivity timer compared to legacy SCell inactivity timer, in which case a transition may be made to 956 due to the SCell inactivity timer expiry not occurring (paragraph 0079-0084). Note that the UE may transition from the SCell deactivated to the low power SCell mode based on a MAC control element. In an aspect, the UE may transition to the low power Scell mode with respect to one or more SCells while other SCells configured for the UE may remain in the deactivated state or transition to the legacy SCell activated state (paragraph 0077-0078). In addition, when the UE enters into a connected mode DRX (CDRX) state (equivalent to: the CDRX may include an existing CDRX or a CDRX introduced for Extended Reality), UE may still monitor SCell PDCCH during a CDRX ON or activated period, resulting in significant SCell power consumption if the SCell is not deactivated based on SCell usage; further, when there is no data to be scheduled on one or more SCells, the SCells may be deactivated through a MAC-CE deactivation procedure (paragraph 0022, 0070, 0071). Furthermore, if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI. The eNB may transmit an indication to the UE that a request/trigger is to be transmitted in a subsequent time window (paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Kadari to the communication system of Zhou in order to provide a method for reporting aperiodic channel quality indicator in a new Secondary Cell state for improving effective utilization of SCells to reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou et al, discloses a radio communication method (fig. 1, fig. 6comprising: a step of executing intermittent communication (read as when transmitting a subsequent uplink transmission to the base station, the uplink transmission may be a discontinuous transmission (DTX); the intermittent communication may be referred to as Connected mode Discontinuous Reception; paragraph 0076) in which communication is executed in a periodic first section (receive information in the one or more slots of the periodic transmission cycle according to the selected candidate search space configuration set ; paragraph 0010), and communication is not executed in a second section other than the first section (a base station (base station 110) may determine a result associated with an initial set of transmissions of a periodic transmission cycle; paragraph 0010-0011, 0061-0062); the UE capability limitation is satisfied can be achieved by explicit configuration of PDCCH candidates per search space in each candidate search space configuration set (ensure the total number of PDCCH candidates for all search spaces in a slot does not exceed a UE capability limit); furthermore, the base station may determine (based at least in part on the NACK, based at least in part on the DTX, based at least in part on failing to receive the uplink transmission) that at least one of the initial downlink transmission or the initial uplink transmission failed ; paragraph 0072-0073).
However, Zhou et al does not specifically disclose a step of executing extension of the first section or shortening of the first section when a specific condition is satisfied.
On the other hand, Kadari et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a control unit (Base station) that executes extension of the first section (read as : secondary cell active mode or state; the UE is in a first state corresponding to the Scell; paragraph 0005, 0008, 0076) or shortening of the first section (a first state) when a specific condition is satisfied (the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration ; note that if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI; paragraph 0077-0078; paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109).
Kadari et al, discloses a carrier aggregation scheme 900 that employs a low power secondary cell active mode or state (equivalent to: the first section may be called an active section), where the UE may enter LTE RRC idle state (equivalent to: the second section may be called a sleep section) with respect to a PCell. An RRC connection setup may be initiated between the UE and the network, and the UE may transition to an LTE RRC connected state with a single carrier PCell. The UE may indicate capabilities to support new states and transitions via an RRC UE capability information indication (paragraph 0075-0076). Furthermore, the UE may transition from the SCell activated state having PDCCH monitoring at 960 to the low power SCell mode not having PDCCH monitoring by UE at 958 via a low power inactivity timer expiration (Low Power Inactivity Timer Expiry) specific to or associated with an SCell or a PDCCH downlink control information trigger received on at least one PCell or SCell. For example, the low power inactivity timer may be a function of a CDRX inactivity timer or a distinct defined timer. The transition from 960 to 958 may be prioritized by defining a shorter low power inactivity timer compared to legacy SCell inactivity timer, in which case a transition may be made to 956 due to the SCell inactivity timer expiry not occurring (paragraph 0079-0084). Note that the UE may transition from the SCell deactivated to the low power SCell mode based on a MAC control element. In an aspect, the UE may transition to the low power Scell mode with respect to one or more SCells while other SCells configured for the UE may remain in the deactivated state or transition to the legacy SCell activated state (paragraph 0077-0078). In addition, when the UE enters into a connected mode DRX (CDRX) state (equivalent to: the CDRX may include an existing CDRX or a CDRX introduced for Extended Reality), UE may still monitor SCell PDCCH during a CDRX ON or activated period, resulting in significant SCell power consumption if the SCell is not deactivated based on SCell usage; further, when there is no data to be scheduled on one or more SCells, the SCells may be deactivated through a MAC-CE deactivation procedure (paragraph 0022, 0070, 0071). Furthermore, if periodic CSI is configured and aperiodic CSI is also triggered, to meet the k=4 legacy timeline for A-CQI reporting, the UE may use previously measured periodic CQI for reporting A-CQI. The eNB may transmit an indication to the UE that a request/trigger is to be transmitted in a subsequent time window (paragraph 0104-0105; paragraph 0108-0109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Kadari to the communication system of Zhou in order to provide a method for reporting aperiodic channel quality indicator in a new Secondary Cell state for improving effective utilization of SCells to reduce UE power consumption.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641