DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 30-32, 34-36, 40-44 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steris Life Sciences (“Accurate Wash Cycles, Every Time | Smart AR Loading Technology; hereinafter Steris), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2024/0335083, hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claim 27, Steris teaches a loading method for loading a wash rack for cleaning in a cleaning system (page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks. Reduce risk and increase efficiency by running complete, consistent wash cycles every time; page 3 timeline 0:06: Introducing Smart AR Loading Technology) comprising the steps of:
- providing an augmented reality apparatus to a user (tablet, page 6; the user is shown capturing an image of a wash rack using the tablet as the augmented reality apparatus);
- providing a wash rack (page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks; page 3 timeline 0:23: Reliance GMP wash racks; page 6-11 shows a wash rack);
- providing loading instructions (displaying load items (items that the user needs to load onto the wash rack) as superimposed on the wash rack) via the augmented reality apparatus for loading the wash rack (page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks; page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; page 14-15 shows a user selecting load items that need to be loaded on the wash rack from a roll down list on the app and 3D models of the load items are superimposed on the wash rack); and
- loading the wash rack with items to be cleaned according to the given loading instructions (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 12-13 shows a plurality of components that needs to be loaded on the wash rack to be cleaned; page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list),
wherein the loading instructions are visualized to the user by virtually displaying 3D models (three-dimensional overlay of the components) of a loaded wash rack of at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack (page 14-15 shows a three dimensional model of a component is overlaid on the wash rack corresponding to a component that needs to be cleaned) using the augmented reality apparatus (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack).
Steris does not explicitly teach wherein the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps.
Hwang teaches the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps (dish placement guide information including a text and an indicator to arrange one or more tableware in a correct posture and position is functionally analogous to the loading steps; [0202]: The mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 based on the dish information; [0203]: When the posture of the tableware deviates from the preset posture, the mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 to warn that the dish placement is incorrect; [0204]: The dish placement guide information 1110 may include a text 1111 to adjust the placement of one or more tableware in a specific position for normal washing of the tableware, and an indicator 1113 that identifies the position of the tableware whose placement needs to be adjusted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Hwang’s knowledge of displaying dish placement guide information to a user as taught and modify the process of Steris because such a process can clean the tableware more efficiently and cleanly ([0017]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein virtual loading instructions (three dimensional overlay) are projected onto real positions of the wash rack by the augmented reality apparatus (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; Steris - page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack; Steris - page 14-15 shows three dimensional models of the load items/components are projected as overlaying on the wash rack).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, further comprising the following steps:
- collecting at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack to be used (Steris - page 16-17 shows the operator collecting a component corresponding to the overlaid three dimensional model and placing it on the wash rack).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the augmented reality apparatus comprises at least one recording device for recording information (Steris - as shown on page 6, 19-20 and 25-26, the tablet uses a camera for recording the images of the wash rack and the components that are loaded in the wash rack).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the method further comprises aligning the 3D models by the user (Steris - page 4 timeline 1:07: Smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack; Steris - page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified; Steris - page 18-20 shows that once the component is correctly placed, the Operator acknowledges its placement and orientation).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the method further comprises the following steps:
- selection of loading instructions by the user by means of interaction with the augmented reality apparatus (Steris - page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications; Steris - page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; Steris - page 14-15 shows a user selecting load items that need to be loaded on the wash rack from a roll down list on the app and 3D models of the load items are superimposed on the wash rack); and
- visualizing the selected loading instructions (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; Steris - page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; Steris - page 14-15 shows a user selecting load items that need to be loaded on the wash rack from a roll down list on the app and 3D models of the load items are superimposed on the wash rack).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the method further comprises capturing at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack to be used (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; Steris - as shown on page 6, 19-20 and 25-26, the tablet uses a camera for recording the images of the wash rack and the components that are loaded in the wash rack).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack comprise at least one identification feature for identifying at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack (Steris - page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list; Steris - page 25-27 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is inherently verified using identification features such as size and shape of the components loaded on the wash rack with that of load items on the roll-down list that were selected to be added to the wash rack by the operator).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the loading method further comprises providing a database (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; since the load items are selected from a roll-down list, it is inherent that the items in the roll-down list are obtained from a database related to the washer), wherein the database comprises loading instructions (displaying selected load items on the wash rack) for loading wash racks (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; Steris - page 14-15 shows a user selecting load items that need to be loaded on the wash rack from a roll down list on the app and 3D models of the load items are superimposed on the wash rack).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 41, wherein the database comprises virtual 3D models of at least one of the items to be cleaned and of real wash racks (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; Steris - page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack; page 8 shows a 3D model of the wash rack overlaid on the real wash rack; Steris - page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; Steris - page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the loading instructions further comprise information on additional cleaning devices to be used (Steris - as shown on page 31, the user is placing a component on a first cleaning device (first sprayer) and there is also an open second cleaning device (second sprayer); Steris - as shown on page 32, the user uses the second cleaning device to load a component such as a bottle), for specific items to be cleaned (Steris - page 32 shows the user loading a component such as a bottle on the second cleaning device (second sprayer)), and wherein the loading method further comprises the step of positioning, arranging, and/or mounting, by the user, at least one additional cleaning device to be used according to the loading instructions (Steris - as shown on page 32, the user loads a component such as a bottle and places it on the second cleaning device (second sprayer) of the wash rack).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 32, wherein the wash rack and the items to be cleaned are recorded by the recording device (Steris - as shown on page 6, 19-20 and 25-26, the tablet uses a camera for recording the images of the wash rack and the components to be cleaned that are loaded in the wash rack; Steris - page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified; Steris - page 25-28 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and such a verification inherently involves to record the images of the components loaded onto the wash rack to be cleaned and compare with the three dimensional model overlaid on the wash rack).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches a test method for cleaning items to be cleaned (Steris - page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks. Reduce risk and increase efficiency by running complete, consistent wash cycles every time; Steris - page 3 timeline 0:06: Introducing Smart AR Loading Technology; Steris - page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack; Steris - page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; Steris - page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified), comprising the steps of:
- loading the wash rack by means of a load method according to claim 27 (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; Steris - page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list; Steris - page 12-13 shows a plurality of components that needs to be loaded on the wash rack to be cleaned; Steris - page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; Steris - page 25-27 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is inherently verified using identification features such as size and shape of the components loaded on the wash rack with that of load items on the roll-down list that were selected to be added to the wash rack by the operator);
- introducing the loaded wash rack into a cleaning system (page 33 shows the wash rack has been pushed inside the cleaning system and the door is being closed by the operator); and
- cleaning the items to be cleaned by the cleaning system (running complete, consistent wash cycles is functionally analogous to running the dishwasher for cleaning; page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks. Reduce risk and increase efficiency by running complete, consistent wash cycles every time; page 34 shows the operator has closed the door and issued a command for cleaning the items inside).
Claim(s) 29, 33, 37-38, 45-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steris, in view of Hwang, and further in view of Ha et al. (US 2021/0127943, hereinafter Ha).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Steris and Hwang does not explicitly teach the loading method of claim 27, wherein the loading instructions are visualized in animated form.
Ha teaches the loading instructions are visualized in animated form ([0088]: the device includes a signal that visually highlights a recommended location and/or orientation for the object that is found to have violated the one or more constraints. For example, a laser light pointer on the dishwasher (e.g., next to the camera) projects a light spot or sign (e.g., still arrow or animated arrow) onto the offending object and/or the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ha’s knowledge of using an animated form to visualize instructions as taught and modify the process of Steris and Hwang because such a process assists the user with loading dishes properly and efficiently into the dishwasher, e.g., via a visual-aided recommendation system that provides intuitive and convenient visual or audio guidance and/or recommendation related to a proper dishwasher loading ([0004]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches does not explicitly teach the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the wash rack and at least one of the items to be cleaned comprise positioning features for detecting the alignment of the at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack.
Ha teaches the wash rack and at least one of the items to be cleaned comprise positioning features (preset constraints such as size, shape and/or orientation) for detecting the alignment of the at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack (determining proper placement of the items in the rack is functionally analogous to detecting alignment of the items and the wash rack; [0006]: After capturing the images, the placement recommendation system automatically starts to analyze the images to recognize one or more characteristics (e.g., size, shape, orientation, and/or materials) of the dishes, and generate recommendation and/or guidance regarding how to properly load dishes and/or how to correct the improper loading of one or more existing dishes on the rack; [0009]: the method further includes identifying a first location and a first orientation for placing the object on the mounting rack according to the preset constraints; providing, on the display of the device, a notification associated with placing the object on the mounting rack in accordance with the identified first location and the first orientation; [0061]: The image analysis module 172 may stores object recognition algorithm for recognizing object characteristics, such as shape and size of the dishes to be mounted or already placed on the rack of the dishwasher. The image analysis module 172 may perform object placement inspection against preset constraints for placing objects on the rack of the dishwasher; [0070]: instead of capturing multiple images at a certain frequency, only one or more still images are needed to inspect the loading result on the rack. In some embodiments, the recommendation system detects (506) improper placement of dishes (e.g., dishes 520, 522, and 524 in the photo of FIG. 5) on the rack based on preset constraints. For example, the recommendation system uses the dish detection and recognition. Based on the recognition results, another algorithm (e.g., dish replacement algorithm) analyzes the rack and provides recommendations to the user to adjust the loading. In some embodiments, based on the detection result of the improper placement, and based on the characteristics of the dish identified from the capture images, the placement recommendation system determines (510) proper placement of dishes on the rack based on preset constraints (e.g., dishes with certain dimensions and of certain materials are to be placed on certain locations on the rack); [0077]: an inspection of dish placement can be performed at the end of dish loading (e.g., triggered by detection of user's action to push the rack into the dishwasher chamber) and prior to running the dishwasher to identify and guide the user to correct any improper dish placement on the rack; [0078]: In yet another example, after the user finishes loading the dishes on the rack and in response to detecting that the user pushes the rack back in (e.g., as discussed with reference to FIG. 5), the camera takes one or more still images and the system performs image analysis on the captured images to identify any incorrect or unoptimized dish placement on the rack to inform the user via visual display and/or audio alert; [0081]: placement of the plurality of objects on the rack are subject to one or more preset constraints corresponding to one or more characteristics (e.g., shape, size, orientation, materials, etc.) of respective objects of the plurality of objects relative to one or more physical parameters of respective locations on the rack. In some embodiments, such placement takes into consideration spatial configurations, such as dimensions and/or shapes of the rows, layers, wires, tines, baskets, and/or clips on the rack, when the rack is placed within the chamber during the preset operations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ha’s knowledge of determining proper placement of items on the rack as taught and modify the process of Steris and Hwang because such a process assists the user with loading dishes properly and efficiently into the dishwasher, e.g., via a visual-aided recommendation system that provides intuitive and convenient visual or audio guidance and/or recommendation related to a proper dishwasher loading ([0004]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 36, wherein the method further comprises the following steps: visualizing a superimposed representation of at least one of the wash racks and items to be cleaned with the aligned virtual 3D models (Steris- page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; Steris - page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack; Steris - page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; Steris - page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified).
The combination of Steris and Hwang does not explicitly teach recognizing one or more positioning features of at least one of the captured wash racks and items to be cleaned, aligning one or more virtual 3D models of at least one of the wash racks and the items to be cleaned according to these positioning features.
Ha teaches recognizing one or more positioning features (preset constraints such as size, shape and/or orientation) of at least one of the captured wash racks and items to be cleaned ([0006]: After capturing the images, the placement recommendation system automatically starts to analyze the images to recognize one or more characteristics (e.g., size, shape, orientation, and/or materials) of the dishes, and generate recommendation and/or guidance regarding how to properly load dishes and/or how to correct the improper loading of one or more existing dishes on the rack; [0009]: the method further includes identifying a first location and a first orientation for placing the object on the mounting rack according to the preset constraints; providing, on the display of the device, a notification associated with placing the object on the mounting rack in accordance with the identified first location and the first orientation; [0061]: The image analysis module 172 may stores object recognition algorithm for recognizing object characteristics, such as shape and size of the dishes to be mounted or already placed on the rack of the dishwasher. The image analysis module 172 may perform object placement inspection against preset constraints for placing objects on the rack of the dishwasher; [0081]: placement of the plurality of objects on the rack are subject to one or more preset constraints corresponding to one or more characteristics (e.g., shape, size, orientation, materials, etc.) of respective objects of the plurality of objects relative to one or more physical parameters of respective locations on the rack. In some embodiments, such placement takes into consideration spatial configurations, such as dimensions and/or shapes of the rows, layers, wires, tines, baskets, and/or clips on the rack, when the rack is placed within the chamber during the preset operations), aligning one or more virtual 3D models of at least one of the wash racks and the items to be cleaned according to these positioning features (determining proper placement of the items in the rack is functionally analogous to detecting alignment of the items and the wash rack; [0070]: instead of capturing multiple images at a certain frequency, only one or more still images are needed to inspect the loading result on the rack. In some embodiments, the recommendation system detects (506) improper placement of dishes (e.g., dishes 520, 522, and 524 in the photo of FIG. 5) on the rack based on preset constraints. For example, the recommendation system uses the dish detection and recognition. Based on the recognition results, another algorithm (e.g., dish replacement algorithm) analyzes the rack and provides recommendations to the user to adjust the loading. In some embodiments, based on the detection result of the improper placement, and based on the characteristics of the dish identified from the capture images, the placement recommendation system determines (510) proper placement of dishes on the rack based on preset constraints (e.g., dishes with certain dimensions and of certain materials are to be placed on certain locations on the rack); [0077]: an inspection of dish placement can be performed at the end of dish loading (e.g., triggered by detection of user's action to push the rack into the dishwasher chamber) and prior to running the dishwasher to identify and guide the user to correct any improper dish placement on the rack; [0078]: In yet another example, after the user finishes loading the dishes on the rack and in response to detecting that the user pushes the rack back in (e.g., as discussed with reference to FIG. 5), the camera takes one or more still images and the system performs image analysis on the captured images to identify any incorrect or unoptimized dish placement on the rack to inform the user via visual display and/or audio alert; [0088]: the device includes a signal that visually highlights a recommended location and/or orientation for the object that is found to have violated the one or more constraints. For example, a laser light pointer on the dishwasher (e.g., next to the camera) projects a light spot or sign (e.g., still arrow or animated arrow) onto the offending object and/or the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ha’s knowledge of determining proper placement of items on the rack as taught and modify the process of Steris and Hwang because such a process assists the user with loading dishes properly and efficiently into the dishwasher, e.g., via a visual-aided recommendation system that provides intuitive and convenient visual or audio guidance and/or recommendation related to a proper dishwasher loading ([0004]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 36, wherein the method further comprises the following steps: correcting, by the user, the position of the items to be cleaned according to the position correction indication (green arrow corresponds to the position correction indication; Steris - page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model (shown by the green arrow) on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; Steris - page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list).
The combination of Steris and Hwang does not explicitly teach recognizing one or more positioning features of at least one of the captured wash racks and items to be cleaned, and indicating position corrections of the items to be cleaned by means of positioning features.
Ha teaches recognizing one or more positioning features (preset constraints such as size, shape and/or orientation) of at least one of the captured wash racks and items to be cleaned ([0006]: After capturing the images, the placement recommendation system automatically starts to analyze the images to recognize one or more characteristics (e.g., size, shape, orientation, and/or materials) of the dishes, and generate recommendation and/or guidance regarding how to properly load dishes and/or how to correct the improper loading of one or more existing dishes on the rack; [0009]: the method further includes identifying a first location and a first orientation for placing the object on the mounting rack according to the preset constraints; providing, on the display of the device, a notification associated with placing the object on the mounting rack in accordance with the identified first location and the first orientation; [0061]: The image analysis module 172 may stores object recognition algorithm for recognizing object characteristics, such as shape and size of the dishes to be mounted or already placed on the rack of the dishwasher. The image analysis module 172 may perform object placement inspection against preset constraints for placing objects on the rack of the dishwasher; [0081]: placement of the plurality of objects on the rack are subject to one or more preset constraints corresponding to one or more characteristics (e.g., shape, size, orientation, materials, etc.) of respective objects of the plurality of objects relative to one or more physical parameters of respective locations on the rack. In some embodiments, such placement takes into consideration spatial configurations, such as dimensions and/or shapes of the rows, layers, wires, tines, baskets, and/or clips on the rack, when the rack is placed within the chamber during the preset operations), indicating position corrections (animated arrow onto the offending object or the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location) of the items to be cleaned by means of positioning features (determining proper placement of the items in the rack is functionally analogous to detecting alignment of the items and the wash rack; [0070]: instead of capturing multiple images at a certain frequency, only one or more still images are needed to inspect the loading result on the rack. In some embodiments, the recommendation system detects (506) improper placement of dishes (e.g., dishes 520, 522, and 524 in the photo of FIG. 5) on the rack based on preset constraints. For example, the recommendation system uses the dish detection and recognition. Based on the recognition results, another algorithm (e.g., dish replacement algorithm) analyzes the rack and provides recommendations to the user to adjust the loading. In some embodiments, based on the detection result of the improper placement, and based on the characteristics of the dish identified from the capture images, the placement recommendation system determines (510) proper placement of dishes on the rack based on preset constraints (e.g., dishes with certain dimensions and of certain materials are to be placed on certain locations on the rack); [0077]: an inspection of dish placement can be performed at the end of dish loading (e.g., triggered by detection of user's action to push the rack into the dishwasher chamber) and prior to running the dishwasher to identify and guide the user to correct any improper dish placement on the rack; [0078]: In yet another example, after the user finishes loading the dishes on the rack and in response to detecting that the user pushes the rack back in (e.g., as discussed with reference to FIG. 5), the camera takes one or more still images and the system performs image analysis on the captured images to identify any incorrect or unoptimized dish placement on the rack to inform the user via visual display and/or audio alert; [0088]: the device includes a signal that visually highlights a recommended location and/or orientation for the object that is found to have violated the one or more constraints. For example, a laser light pointer on the dishwasher (e.g., next to the camera) projects a light spot or sign (e.g., still arrow or animated arrow) onto the offending object and/or the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ha’s knowledge of determining and displaying proper placement of items on the rack as taught and modify the process of Steris and Hwang because such a process assists the user with loading dishes properly and efficiently into the dishwasher, e.g., via a visual-aided recommendation system that provides intuitive and convenient visual or audio guidance and/or recommendation related to a proper dishwasher loading ([0004]).
Claim(s) 29, 33, 37-38, 45-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steris, and further in view of Ha.
Regarding claim 45, Steris teaches a test method for testing the loading of a wash rack (page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks. Reduce risk and increase efficiency by running complete, consistent wash cycles every time; page 3 timeline 0:06: Introducing Smart AR Loading Technology; page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack; page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified), comprising the steps of:
- loading the wash rack (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list; page 12-13 shows a plurality of components that needs to be loaded on the wash rack to be cleaned; page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; page 25-27 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is inherently verified using identification features such as size and shape of the components loaded on the wash rack with that of load items on the roll-down list that were selected to be added to the wash rack by the operator);
- capturing the loading of the wash rack ((page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks; page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3 timeline 0:36: Accessible through a roll down list, load items are selected and then displayed on the wash rack; page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list; page 14-15 shows a user selecting load items that need to be loaded on the wash rack from a roll down list on the app and 3D models of the load items are superimposed on the wash rack; as shown on page 6, 19-20 and 25-26, the tablet uses a camera for recording the images of the wash rack and the components to be cleaned that are loaded in the wash rack; page 25-28 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and such a verification inherently involves to record the images of the components loaded onto the wash rack to be cleaned and compare with the three dimensional model overlaid on the wash rack);
- checking whether the wash rack is correctly loaded (page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified; page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model (shown by the green arrow) on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack; page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list); and
issuing a release for cleaning (running complete, consistent wash cycles is functionally analogous to running the dishwasher for cleaning; page 1: The app, customized to your items and loading specifications, leverages Augmented Reality (AR) to guide operators in the loading of STERIS Reliance PG washer racks. Reduce risk and increase efficiency by running complete, consistent wash cycles every time; page 34 shows the operator has closed the door and issued a command for cleaning the items inside).
Steris does not explicitly teach if the wash rack is not correctly loaded, issuing a warning, otherwise issuing a release for cleaning.
Ha teaches if the wash rack is not correctly loaded, issuing a warning (generate recommendation and/or guidance regarding how to properly load dishes and/or how to correct the improper loading of one or more existing dishes on the rack; identify any incorrect or unoptimized dish placement on the rack to inform the user via visual display and/or audio alert; [0006]: After capturing the images, the placement recommendation system automatically starts to analyze the images to recognize one or more characteristics (e.g., size, shape, orientation, and/or materials) of the dishes, and generate recommendation and/or guidance regarding how to properly load dishes and/or how to correct the improper loading of one or more existing dishes on the rack; [0070]: instead of capturing multiple images at a certain frequency, only one or more still images are needed to inspect the loading result on the rack. In some embodiments, the recommendation system detects (506) improper placement of dishes (e.g., dishes 520, 522, and 524 in the photo of FIG. 5) on the rack based on preset constraints. For example, the recommendation system uses the dish detection and recognition. Based on the recognition results, another algorithm (e.g., dish replacement algorithm) analyzes the rack and provides recommendations to the user to adjust the loading. In some embodiments, based on the detection result of the improper placement, and based on the characteristics of the dish identified from the capture images, the placement recommendation system determines (510) proper placement of dishes on the rack based on preset constraints (e.g., dishes with certain dimensions and of certain materials are to be placed on certain locations on the rack); [0077]: an inspection of dish placement can be performed at the end of dish loading (e.g., triggered by detection of user's action to push the rack into the dishwasher chamber) and prior to running the dishwasher to identify and guide the user to correct any improper dish placement on the rack; [0078]: In yet another example, after the user finishes loading the dishes on the rack and in response to detecting that the user pushes the rack back in (e.g., as discussed with reference to FIG. 5), the camera takes one or more still images and the system performs image analysis on the captured images to identify any incorrect or unoptimized dish placement on the rack to inform the user via visual display and/or audio alert; [0081]: placement of the plurality of objects on the rack are subject to one or more preset constraints corresponding to one or more characteristics (e.g., shape, size, orientation, materials, etc.) of respective objects of the plurality of objects relative to one or more physical parameters of respective locations on the rack. In some embodiments, such placement takes into consideration spatial configurations, such as dimensions and/or shapes of the rows, layers, wires, tines, baskets, and/or clips on the rack, when the rack is placed within the chamber during the preset operations; [0088]: the device includes a signal that visually highlights a recommended location and/or orientation for the object that is found to have violated the one or more constraints. For example, a laser light pointer on the dishwasher (e.g., next to the camera) projects a light spot or sign (e.g., still arrow or animated arrow) onto the offending object and/or the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location), otherwise issuing a release for cleaning (if the inspection of the dishwasher determines that there are no incorrectly placed dishes/items, then it will start running the dishwasher to clean the dishes; [0077]: an inspection of dish placement can be performed at the end of dish loading (e.g., triggered by detection of user's action to push the rack into the dishwasher chamber) and prior to running the dishwasher to identify and guide the user to correct any improper dish placement on the rack). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ha’s knowledge of determining proper placement of items on the rack before running the dishwasher as taught and modify the process of Steris because such a process assists the user with loading dishes properly and efficiently into the dishwasher, e.g., via a visual-aided recommendation system that provides intuitive and convenient visual or audio guidance and/or recommendation related to a proper dishwasher loading ([0004]).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Steris and Ha teaches the test method according to claim 45, wherein the test method further comprises the following steps:
- displaying at least one of: the correct loading of the wash rack (Steris - page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified; Steris - page 18-20 shows that once the component is correctly placed, the Operator acknowledges its placement and orientation), the loading instructions for correcting the loading (Ha - the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location), and/or one or more incorrectly arranged wash items (Ha - incorrect or unoptimized dish placement; Ha: [0078]: In yet another example, after the user finishes loading the dishes on the rack and in response to detecting that the user pushes the rack back in (e.g., as discussed with reference to FIG. 5), the camera takes one or more still images and the system performs image analysis on the captured images to identify any incorrect or unoptimized dish placement on the rack to inform the user via visual display and/or audio alert; Ha - [0088]: the device includes a signal that visually highlights a recommended location and/or orientation for the object that is found to have violated the one or more constraints. For example, a laser light pointer on the dishwasher (e.g., next to the camera) projects a light spot or sign (e.g., still arrow or animated arrow) onto the offending object and/or the recommended location to indicate where the user should move the object and/or how the user should orient the object at the proper location); and
- correcting the loading of the wash rack (Steris - page 4 timeline 1:15: Upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified; Steris - page 18-20 shows that once the component is correctly placed, the Operator acknowledges its placement and orientation; Ha - [0077]: guide the user to correct any improper dish placement on the rack).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Steria and Ha teaches the test method according to claim 45, wherein at least one of the capturing of the loading of the wash rack and the checking of the loading is carried out during the loading of the wash rack (Steris - page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; Steris - as shown on page 6, 19-20 and 25-26, the tablet uses a camera for recording the images of the wash rack and the components that are loaded in the wash rack; Ha - [0006]: After capturing the images, the placement recommendation system automatically starts to analyze the images to recognize one or more characteristics (e.g., size, shape, orientation, and/or materials) of the dishes, and generate recommendation and/or guidance regarding how to properly load dishes and/or how to correct the improper loading of one or more existing dishes on the rack; Ha - [0061]: The image analysis module 172 may stores object recognition algorithm for recognizing object characteristics, such as shape and size of the dishes to be mounted or already placed on the rack of the dishwasher. The image analysis module 172 may performs object placement inspection against preset constraints for placing objects on the rack of the dishwasher; Ha – [0064]: the built-in camera or the camera of the user's device is used to monitor a dish loading process and further verify the dish loading layout on the rack (e.g., either an optimized loading layout prior to loading a certain model of the dishwasher, or a live loading situation during or after the user has placed dishes on the rack); Ha – [0068]: In some embodiments, when the image processing module or the placement recommendation module finds that the moving-in hand is holding a dish, the placement recommendation system detects (308) characteristics, such as the type, material, size, and shape, of the dish included in the captured images. Based on the detection results, the placement recommendation system determines (310) the optimal rack, optimal location, optimal orientation to load the dish on the rack; Ha - [0070]: instead of capturing multiple images at a certain frequency, only one or more still images are needed to inspect the loading result on the rack. In some embodiments, the recommendation system detects (506) improper placement of dishes (e.g., dishes 520, 522, and 524 in the photo of FIG. 5) on the rack based on preset constraints. For example, the recommendation system uses the dish detection and recognition. Based on the recognition results, another algorithm (e.g., dish replacement algorithm) analyzes the rack and provides recommendations to the user to adjust the loading. In some embodiments, based on the detection result of the improper placement, and based on the characteristics of the dish identified from the capture images, the placement recommendation system determines (510) proper placement of dishes on the rack based on preset constraints (e.g., dishes with certain dimensions and of certain materials are to be placed on certain locations on the rack); Ha - [0077]: different types of alerts and/or guidance are provided at different stages of dish loading. In another example, dish placement guidance can be provided during dish loading process; [0078]: In another example, during dish loading process, the image capturing may be triggered by detecting that the dishwasher door is opened (e.g., as discussed with reference to FIG. 4), and a rack monitoring algorithm is used to monitor the dishes placed on the rack, and provide notifications to the user when the system detects any improper dish placement on the rack).
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steris, in view of Hwang, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0049548, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Steris and Hwang teaches the loading method according to claim 27, wherein the augmented reality apparatus comprises at least one speaker (Steris - the tablet as shown on page 6 inherently includes a speaker; Hwang – [0089] and [0094]).
The combination of Steris and Hwang does not explicitly teach the augmented reality apparatus comprises at least one speaker and one earphone for reproducing acoustic loading instructions.
Zhang teaches the augmented reality apparatus comprises at least one speaker and one earphone for reproducing acoustic loading instructions ([0003]: user may have three terminal devices of a smart phone, a tablet computer, and a notebook computer at the same time. Currently, a terminal device may also be connected to another audio output device such as a wired earphone, a Bluetooth earphone, or an external speaker in addition to a self-contained earpiece; [0051]: a tablet computer 101 currently plays a video, and the tablet computer 101 plays audio content of the video by using an earphone 100; [0125]: it is assumed that the first terminal device is a tablet device, the tablet device is currently connected to a Bluetooth earphone, and the tablet device currently outputs an audio signal of a video service from a video application by using the Bluetooth earphone). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Zhang’s knowledge of using an earphone with a tablet to play voice content as taught and modify the process of Steris and Hwang because such a system can easily provide voice content using multiple different devices and thereby improving user experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27 and 29-48 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to the argument that Steris discloses no loading instructions comprising loading steps for the sequence in which loading onto the wash rack must take place. See page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks filed on 7/23/2026.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., sequence in which loading onto the wash rack must take place) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In this instant case, Steris in view of Hwang teaches above limitation. Especially, Hwang teaches the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps (dish placement guide information including a text and an indicator to arrange one or more tableware in a correct posture and position is functionally analogous to the loading steps; [0202]: The mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 based on the dish information; [0203]: When the posture of the tableware deviates from the preset posture, the mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 to warn that the dish placement is incorrect; [0204]: The dish placement guide information 1110 may include a text 1111 to adjust the placement of one or more tableware in a specific position for normal washing of the tableware, and an indicator 1113 that identifies the position of the tableware whose placement needs to be adjusted).
Response to the argument that Steris fails to disclose that loading instructions are visualized to the user by virtually displaying 3D models of a loaded wash rack and load steps as recited in the claims. See page 10 of Remarks.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., displaying 3D models of a loaded wash rack) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It should be noted that the claim recites to display 3D models of at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack, but does not necessarily claim displaying 3D models of a loaded wash rack.
In this instant case, Steris teaches the loading instructions are visualized to the user by virtually displaying 3D models (three-dimensional overlay of the components) of a loaded wash rack of at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack (page 14-15 shows a three dimensional model of a component is overlaid on the wash rack corresponding to a component that needs to be cleaned) using the augmented reality apparatus (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack).
Further, Hwang teaches the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps (dish placement guide information including a text and an indicator to arrange one or more tableware in a correct posture and position is functionally analogous to the loading steps; [0202]: The mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 based on the dish information; [0203]: When the posture of the tableware deviates from the preset posture, the mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 to warn that the dish placement is incorrect; [0204]: The dish placement guide information 1110 may include a text 1111 to adjust the placement of one or more tableware in a specific position for normal washing of the tableware, and an indicator 1113 that identifies the position of the tableware whose placement needs to be adjusted).
Response to the argument that Steris does not disclose loading instructions which comprise visualization of loading steps. See page 10 of Remarks.
Steris in view of Hwang teaches exactly the same. Especially, Steris teaches the loading instructions are visualized using the augmented reality apparatus (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack). Hwang teaches the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps (dish placement guide information including a text and an indicator to arrange one or more tableware in a correct posture and position is functionally analogous to the loading steps; [0202]: The mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 based on the dish information; [0203]: When the posture of the tableware deviates from the preset posture, the mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 to warn that the dish placement is incorrect; [0204]: The dish placement guide information 1110 may include a text 1111 to adjust the placement of one or more tableware in a specific position for normal washing of the tableware, and an indicator 1113 that identifies the position of the tableware whose placement needs to be adjusted).
Response to the argument that Ha does not disclose the visualization of loading steps. See page 10 of Remarks.
Steris, in view of Hwang, and further in view of Hwang teaches exactly the same. Especially, Steris teaches the loading instructions are visualized using the augmented reality apparatus (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack). Hwang teaches the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps (dish placement guide information including a text and an indicator to arrange one or more tableware in a correct posture and position is functionally analogous to the loading steps; [0202]: The mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 based on the dish information; [0203]: When the posture of the tableware deviates from the preset posture, the mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 to warn that the dish placement is incorrect; [0204]: The dish placement guide information 1110 may include a text 1111 to adjust the placement of one or more tableware in a specific position for normal washing of the tableware, and an indicator 1113 that identifies the position of the tableware whose placement needs to be adjusted).
Response to the argument that Zhang does not disclose loading instructions and therefore, also does not disclose that loading instructions are visualized to the user by virtually displaying 3D models of at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack and loading steps using an augmented reality apparatus. See page 10-11 of Remarks.
Steris, in view of Hwang and further in view of Zhang teaches the above limitation. Especially, Steris teaches the loading instructions are visualized to the user by virtually displaying 3D models (three-dimensional overlay of the components) of a loaded wash rack of at least one of the items to be cleaned and the wash rack (page 14-15 shows a three dimensional model of a component is overlaid on the wash rack corresponding to a component that needs to be cleaned) using the augmented reality apparatus (page 3 timeline 0:23: Utilizing state of the art augmented reality and model tracking, the innovative app superimposes interactive experiences on Reliance GMP wash racks to guide Operators as they are loading the washable items; page 3-4 timeline 0:58 and 1:07: With three-dimensional overlay, smart AR delivers consistent information on the proper orientation and position of components regardless of the Operator’s motion around the rack). Moreover, Hwang teaches the loading instructions displayed to the user include loading steps (dish placement guide information including a text and an indicator to arrange one or more tableware in a correct posture and position is functionally analogous to the loading steps; [0202]: The mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 based on the dish information; [0203]: When the posture of the tableware deviates from the preset posture, the mobile terminal 100 may display dish placement guide information 1110 to warn that the dish placement is incorrect; [0204]: The dish placement guide information 1110 may include a text 1111 to adjust the placement of one or more tableware in a specific position for normal washing of the tableware, and an indicator 1113 that identifies the position of the tableware whose placement needs to be adjusted).
Response to the argument that in Steris, it is neither checked whether the wash rack is correctly loaded, nor whether the individual items to be cleaned have been correctly loaded, and further argues that the tablet’s camera does not detect the placed element and that the operator could place the item anywhere and just confirm that it is placed correctly.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a camera detecting the correct placement of the items) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Steris on page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model (shown by the green arrow) on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack. Further, Steris on page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list. Such a verification, by the user, of the placement and orientation of items placed on the wash rack is functionally analogous to checking whether the wash rack is correctly loaded and issuing a command to start the cleaning operation.
Response to the argument that Ha does not disclose that if no warning is issued, the release for cleaning is issued. See page 12 of Remarks.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this instant case, Steris on page 17-20 shows the operator placing the component at the location of its respective 3D model (shown by the green arrow) on the wash rack and acknowledging its placement and orientation when it is placed correctly on the wash rack. Further, Steris on page 25-26 shows that upon completion of a load, the position of all items is verified, and none should be left in the roll-down list. Such a verification, by the user, of the placement and orientation of items placed on the wash rack is functionally analogous to checking whether the wash rack is correctly loaded and issuing a command to start the cleaning operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Painter et al. (US 2024/0041296) describes capturing a 2D image of a dish rack of the dishwasher and dishes arranged therein and metadata of the captured 2D image; determining a 3D image of the dish rack as a function of the captured 2D image and the captured metadata; and executing a wash program as a function of the determined 3D image. The determined 3D image can also be referred to as a 3D model of the dish rack. The 3D image comprises depth information, which is not contained in the 2D image. The execution of the wash program can be optimized on the basis of the depth information. Optimization of the execution of the wash program comprises in particular outputting an instruction to the user of the dishwasher to signal a sub-optimal arrangement of dishes to them, so said user can for example optimize the arrangement.
Michalscheck et al. (US 2016/0282858) describes the computer instructions may cause a display 42 of the computing device 26 to display a list of steps that the technician 70 should perform when placing the industrial automation equipment 16 offline.
Ungoren et al. (US 2024/0117548) describes the steps of opening the door, loading the products and starting the washing process by the operator according to the guidance recipes displayed on a user display, during the steps of loading the products and starting the washing process after the step of approving the recipe.
Shin et al. (US 2022/0183531) describes a camera configured to capture the dish rack to obtain a dish arrangement image, and a processor configured to provide the dish arrangement image to a dish recognition model to obtain dish information included in the dish arrangement image, determine a washing cycle for the dishes based on the dish information, and control driving of the washing motor according to the determined washing cycle is provided.\
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JWALANT AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612