DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority Acknowledgment
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210434583.3 filed on 04/24/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-13, 15-16, 20-22 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites
“1. A method for presenting information, comprising:
obtaining an entry association corresponding to a target keyword in response to triggering, by a user, a relationship viewing operation on an entry carrier of the target keyword, wherein the entry association corresponding to the target keyword is configured to present a primary associated keyword associated to the target keyword and a secondary associated keyword associated to the target keyword, the secondary associated keyword is a keyword associated to the primary associated keyword, and the entry carrier is configured to carry content information of the target keyword; and
presenting the entry association corresponding to the target keyword.”
Claims 1, 27 and 28 recite substantially the same concept but do so in the context of a method, a device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
The limitations recited in the independent claims as drafted covers a mental process. More specifically, the underlying abstract idea revolved around what happen once a human gives a user an entry association corresponding to a target keywork in response to triggering a relationship viewing operation on an entry carrier of the target keyword from a user.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims recite the additional limitations of “a processor”, “a memory”, “a device” and “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”. The additional element(s) or combination of elements such as processor, memory, device and/or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se amount(s) to no more than (i) mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, and/or (ii) recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. There is further no improvement to the computing device other than giving a user an entry association corresponding to a target keywork in response to triggering a relationship viewing operation on an entry carrier of the target keyword from a user. The mere recitation of processor, memory, device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and/or the like is akin of adding the word “apply it” and/or “use it” with a computer in conjunction with the abstract idea. The paragraphs [00216-00218] disclose “[00216] In a third aspect, the embodiments of the present application provide a device. The device comprises a processor and a memory, [00217] The processor is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory, causing the device to execute the method for presenting information according to any of the method example described above, [00218] The embodiments of the present application provide a computer-readable storage medium. The computer-readable storage medium comprises instructions, where the instructions instruct a device to execute the method for presenting information according to any of the method example described above.”
As filed in the specification, the computer is listed as a general-purpose computer and are mainly used as an application thereof. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer is noted as a general computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims further do not remedy the issues noted above. More specifically, Claim 2 recites a mental process of presenting content information of the target keyword to the user. Claim 3 recites a mental process of highlighting the target keyword. Claim 4 merely recites definition of the target content. Claim 5 merely defines using an entry viewing page to present the entry carrier of the target keyword. Claims 6-13, 15-16, 20-22 recites presenting the entry carrier, the entry association, the entry relationship, stop displaying the entry relationship, defining a number of primary associated keywords, the association between the target keyword and the primary associated keyword/the secondary associated keyword. Presenting/Stop presenting words, phrases, the relationship between the words is/are mental processes. For example, the human could write/draw the word/phrase/the relationship between the words on the paper and present them to the user.
For at least the supra provided reasons, claims 1-13, 15-16, 20-22 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, 16, 20-21, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2023/0259567 A1.)
With respect to Claim 1, Liu et al. disclose
A method for presenting information, comprising:
obtaining an entry association corresponding to a target keyword in response to triggering (Liu et al. [0175] describes the user trigger a target keyword switching operation to switch the target keyword), by a user, a relationship viewing operation on an entry carrier of the target keyword, wherein the entry association corresponding to the target keyword is configured to present a primary associated keyword associated to the target keyword and a secondary associated keyword associated to the target keyword, the secondary associated keyword is a keyword associated to the primary associated keyword, and the entry carrier is configured to carry content information of the target keyword (Liu et al. Fig. 1 elements S101, S102 and S103, the method disclosed in Liu comprising: S101: acquiring a search keyword. S102: determining a plurality of target keywords related to the search keyword; and S103: displaying the search keyword and the plurality of target keywords, wherein the plurality of target keywords is dispersedly distributed on the periphery of a circle centered on the search keyword, [0159] describes determining the plurality of target keywords from the plurality of keywords, for example, the plurality of keywords may be sorted according to a degree of popularity each keyword and/or degree of relevance between the keyword and the search keyword, and a preset quantity of keywords ranked top are determined as the plurality of target keywords, [0172] describes a target keyword with the highest degree of relevance to the search keyword in the plurality of target keywords may be determined as the first keyword, [0175] describes switching display a knowledge card corresponding to the first keyword to display a knowledge card corresponding to the second keyword, wherein the knowledge card includes content matching the first keyword/the second keyword and the search keyword); and
presenting the entry association corresponding to the target keyword (Liu et al. Fig. 1 element S103: Display the search keyword and the plurality of target keywords, the plurality of target keywords being distributed on the periphery of a circle with the search keyword as a center in a dispersed manner.)
With respect to Claim 2, Liu et al. disclose
wherein the entry carrier of the target keyword is presented in response to triggering, by the user, a preset operation on the target keyword (Liu et al. [0023] describes a plurality of preset operation includes a click operation or a slide operation. The user uses these operation to trigger the presenting of the knowledge card and/or switching from one keyword to another, [0185] describes the user realize switching between knowledge cards by performing a preset operation.)
With respect to Claim 5, Lin et al. disclose
wherein the entry carrier of the target keyword is presented on an entry viewing page (Lin et al. [0096] describes displaying a knowledge card on an entry viewing page, where the user is able to view the content of the keywords.)
With respect to Claim 7, Lin et al. disclose
wherein the entry carrier of the target keyword is presented on an entry search result page (Lin et al. [0096] describes displaying a knowledge card on an entry search result. The knowledge card is result of searching the keyword. Examiner note that the claimed language does not define difference between an entry viewing page as recited in claim 5 and an entry search result page as recited in claim 7. Claimed language also does not recite an entry search result page is different from an entry viewing page.)
With respect to Claim 8, Lin et al. disclose
wherein the entry search result page further comprises an entry carrier of the primary associated keyword associated to the target keyword (Lin et al. [0096] describes displaying a knowledge card corresponding to the first keyword, the knowledge card corresponding to the first keyword including the content matching the first keyword and the search keyword.)
With respect to Claim 9, Liu et al. disclose
wherein the entry association is an entry relationship graph (Liu et al. [0174] describes obtaining and displaying a connection line showing association between the first keyword and the search keyword.)
With respect to Claim 10, Lin et al. disclose
further comprising: presenting an entry carrier corresponding to a first keyword presented in the entry relationship graph in response to triggering, by the user, a selection operation on the first keyword (Lin et al. [0101-0103] acquiring a keyword in response to switching operating triggered by a user and displaying a knowledge card corresponding to the keyword.)
With respect to Claim 11, Lin et al. disclose
wherein the selection operation comprises at least one of a click operation (Lin et al. [0105] describes clicking operation) or a hover operation
With respect to Claim 12, Lin et al. disclose
further comprising: presenting an entry relationship graph corresponding to the first keyword, wherein the entry relationship graph corresponding to the first keyword is configured to present a primary associated keyword associated to the first keyword and a secondary associated keyword associated to the first keyword (Liu et al. [0101] describes acquiring a second keyword in the plurality of target keywords in response to a target keyword switching operation triggered by a user, [0174] describes obtaining and displaying a connection line between the keyword (e.g., first keyword or second keyword) and the search keyword, )
With respect to Claim 13, Lin et al. disclose
wherein the method further comprises: displaying the first keyword at a central area of a page where the first keyword is located (Lin et al. [0091-0093] describes displaying the search keyword and the plurality of target keywords, the plurality of target keywords being distributed on a periphery of a circle with the search keyword as a center in a dispersed manner.)
With respect to Claim 16, Liu et al. disclose
wherein a number of primary associated keywords associated to the target keyword presented in the entry relationship graph of the target keyword is M, M is an integer greater than 1, and the M primary associated keywords are distributed evenly on a circle with the target keyword as a center (Liu et al. Fig. 1 element S103: Display the search keyword and the plurality of target keywords, the plurality of target keywords being distributed on the periphery of a circle with the search keyword as a center in a dispersed manner. The plurality of target keyworks teach a claimed M is an integer greater than 1); or
wherein a number of primary associated keywords associated to the target keyword presented in the entry relationship graph of the target keyword is M, M is an integer greater than 1, the M primary associated keywords comprise a first primary associated keyword, the secondary associated keyword associated to the target keyword comprises A secondary associated keywords associated to the first primary associated keyword, and the A secondary associated keywords are distributed in a circle with the first primary associated keyword as a center; or
wherein a number of primary associated keywords associated to the target keyword presented in the entry relationship graph of the target keyword is M, M is an integer greater than 1, and the M primary associated keywords comprise a second primary associated keyword and a third primary associated keyword, wherein in a case that the second primary associated keyword and the third primary associated keyword are associated, a distance between the second primary associated keyword and the third primary associated keyword is shorter than or equal to a distance between the second primary associated keyword and a further primary associated keyword, and wherein the further primary associated keyword is a primary associated keyword among the M primary associated keywords other than the second primary associated keyword and the third primary associated keyword; or
wherein a number of primary associated keywords associated to the target keyword presented in the entry relationship graph of the target keyword is M, a number of secondary associated keywords associated to the target keyword presented in the entry relationship graph of the target keyword is N, M and N are integers greater than 1, the N secondary associated keywords comprise a first secondary associated keyword, and the M primary associated keywords comprise a fourth primary associated keyword and a fifth primary associated keyword, wherein in a case that the fourth primary associated keyword and the fifth primary associated keyword are associated to the first secondary associated keyword, a distance between the fourth primary associated keyword and the fifth primary associated keyword is shorter than or equal to a distance between the fourth primary associated keyword and a further primary associated keyword, and wherein the further primary associated keyword is a primary associated keyword among the M primary associated keywords other than the fourth primary associated keyword and the fifth primary associated keyword.
With respect to Claim 20, Liu et al. disclose
further comprising:
presenting an association between the target keyword and the primary associated keyword (Liu et al. [0016] describes displaying an association between keywords. See paragraphs [0038, 0057, 0079].); and
presenting an association between the primary associated keyword and the secondary associated keyword (Liu et al. [0016] describes displaying an association between keywords. . See paragraphs [0038, 0057, 0079].)
With respect to Claim 21, Liu et al. disclose
wherein the association comprises at least one of: a connection line representing the association (Liu et al. [0174] describes the association between the first keyword and the search keyword may be displayed on a connection line between the search keyword and the first keyword. See paragraph [0193].)
With respect to Claim 27, Claim 27 recites the similar features as Claim 1, thus Claim 27 is rejected as the same ground as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 28, Claim 28 recites the similar features as Claim 1, thus Claim 28 is rejected as the same ground as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2023/0259567 A1) in view of Jablokov et al. (US 2010/0058200 A1.)
With respect to Claim 3, Liu et al. disclose all the limitations of Claim 1 upon which Claim 3 depends. Liu et al. fail to explicitly teach
further comprising:
highlighting the target keyword in response to detecting the target keyword in target content.
However, Jablokov et al. teach
further comprising:
highlighting the target keyword in response to detecting the target keyword in target content (Jablokov et al. [0207] describes highlighting the detected keyword(s) in response to detecting the keyword(s) in the instant message.)
Lin et al. and Jablokov et al. are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in the Signal Processing techniques and applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steps of presenting the knowledge card corresponding with the keyword as taught by Lin et al., using teaching of highlighting as taught by Jablokov et al. for the benefit of presenting the detected keyword(s) in the instant message to the user (Jablokov et al. [0207] describes highlighting the detected keyword(s) in response to detecting the keyword(s) in the instant message.)
With respect to Claim 4, Lin et al. in view of Jablokov et al. teach
wherein the target content comprises at least one of the following: a message of an instant messaging session (Jablokov et al. [0207] describes highlighting the detected keyword(s) in response to detecting the keyword(s) in the instant message), or content of a cloud document.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 6, 15 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. However, claims are rejected under 101 abstract idea, and for the application to pass to allowance these rejections need to be overcome. Any amendments to overcome the 101 rejection that results in any change in scope require further search and/or consideration in order to determine it allowability.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art(s) taken alone or in combination fail(s) to teach the following element(s) in combination with the other recited elements in the claim(s).
“wherein the entry carrier of the target keyword is presented in a first area of the entry viewing page, and the method further comprises:
presenting, in a second area, complete content carried by the entry carrier in response to triggering, by the user, an entry viewing operation on the entry carrier of the target keyword, wherein the second area is obtained by expanding the first area, and the second area comprises the first area.” as recited in Claim 6.
“wherein when the entry relationship graph corresponding to the first keyword is being presented, stop displaying the association in the entry relationship graph corresponding to the target keyword which is not corresponding to the entry relationship graph of the first keyword.” as recited in Claim 15.
“wherein the entry relationship graph comprises a second keyword, and a character identification of a character associated to the second keyword is presented as an attribute of the second keyword in the entry relationship graph, and the method further comprises at least one of:
presenting at least one entry associated to the character in response to a trigger operation on the character identification; and
presenting at least one entry associated to the second keyword in response to a trigger operation on the second keyword, and/or
wherein the method further comprises: adding an entry into the entry relationship graph in response to triggering an entry adding operation on the entry relationship graph, and/or
wherein the entry relationship graph comprises a third keyword, and the method further comprises: obtaining description information edited for the third keyword and adding the description information for the third keyword, in response to triggering an editing operation on the third keyword, and/or
wherein in response to triggering, by the user, the relationship viewing operation on the entry carrier of the target keyword comprises: in response to triggering, by the user, a search operation on the target keyword in an interface of the entry relationship graph.” as recited in Claim 22.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO-892.
a. Wu et al. (US 2023/0401256 A1) In this reference, Wu et al. disclose a method and a system for performing highlighted displaying on the at least one first search recommendation word presented in the first area and the keyword matched with the first search recommendation word in the target comment content associatively.
b. Kanemoto et al. (US 2023/0108518 A1.) In this reference, Kanemoto et al disclose a method and a system for highlighting the search keywords in addition to the automatically suggested phrase.
c. Hu et al. (US 2022/0382445 A1.) In this reference, Hu et al disclose a method and a system for receiving a search triggering operation of the user for a search keyword; and distinctively display a target keyword hit by searching for the search keyword in the subtitle content and the subtitle interaction content.
/THUYKHANH LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655