DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments on 10/5/2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendment and has reviewed the claims accordingly.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS(s) dated 10/24/2024 that have been previously considered remain placed in the application file.
Overview
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and have been considered below.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Applicant Arguments
In regards to Argument 1, Applicant states that Paxman’s phase diversity functions are known inputs to the analysis rather than outputs of it, and that Paxman solves for the object and a single aberration parameter vector describing the imaging system as a whole, not for a focus related value that is associated with a respective image and is an unknown value solved for by the analysis (See Remarks, page 9-11).
In regards to Argument 2, Applicant states that Simonov’s intermediate images have “a precisely known degree of defocus”, which is not an unknown value solved for by the phase diversity analysis, and that nothing in Simonov was identified as solving for the focus related values together with a maximum likelihood estimate (See Remarks, page 1).
In regards to Argument 3, Applicant states that Hong’s Z values are lens to stage distances commanded by the system before any image is acquired, not unknown values solved for from the images, and that Hong performs no maximum likelihood estimation (See Remarks, page 11).
In regards to Argument 4, Applicant states that the prior Office action was internally inconsistent because it mapped the generating limitation to Paxman and then stated that Hong in view of Paxman did not explicitly teach that limitation before relying on Simonov, at pages 5-6, 14-15, and 20-21 (See Remarks, page 12).
In regards to Argument 5, Applicant states that claim 4 is allowable because Hong develops its focus information from images of a separate focusing target rather than from images of the area of the sample, and that neither Paxman nor Simonov was cited for the source of the images from which the focus information is developed (See Remarks, page 12-13).
Examiner’s Response
In response to Argument 1, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant alleges that Paxman does not teach focus related values that are associated with respective images and are unknown values solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE.
The Examiner finds that Applicant correctly identifies Paxman’s diversity functions as known inputs (Paxman, page 1073, right column). However, the amended claims do not require an independently unknown focus related value for each image. The instant specification in at least ¶¶49-51, 64, 80-81 explains that the defocus distance between the images may be known while the true defocus value is unknown, and that the analysis solves for a single unknown variable. Simonov teaches that the defocus of the n-th intermediate image is unknown before the intermediate images are provided, although the relative differences are known (Simonov, page 17). Paxman teaches estimating the object and aberration functions simultaneously (Paxman, page 1074, left column)
The Examiner interprets the prior art to teach “the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE”.
In response to Argument 2, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant alleges that Simonov’s “precisely known degree of defocus” is inconsistent with the requirement for unknown focus-related values and that Simonov does not teach solving for those values together with an MLE.
The Examiner finds that the quoted passage distinguishes absolute defocus from relative defocus. Simonov describes intermediate images “having an unknown degree of defocus compared to an ideal focal plane”, but having a precisely known degree of defocus compared to each other (Simonov, page 7). Simonov further states that the defocus of each intermediate image is unknown before the images are provided and that the estimate is obtained by the algorithm itself without an additional measuring device (Simonov, pages 13-14, 17). Simonov is not independently relied upon for the MLE as Paxman supplies the joint maximum likelihood estimation (Paxman, page 1074 left column, page 1075 left column).
The Examiner interprets the prior art to teach the amended claims as presented.
In response to Argument 3, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant alleges that Hong’s commanded Z values and absence of maximum likelihood estimation leave the claimed unknown focus related values and MLE untaught by the applied combination.
The Examiner finds that Hong’s Z values are commanded lens to stage distances (Hong, ¶¶33-37). Hong is not relied upon for solving for unknown focus related values or determining the MLE. Hong supplies the image acquisition system and the plurality of images of the sample (Hong, ¶¶6, 20). Paxman supplies joint maximum likelihood estimation of the object and aberrations (Paxman, page 1074 left column), and Simonov supplies the unknown per image defocus values with known relative differences (Simonov, page 17).
The Examiner interprets the prior art to teach the amended claims as presented.
In response to Argument 4, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant alleges that relying on both Paxman and Simonov for the generating limitation makes the rejection internally inconsistent.
The Examiner finds that the references provide overlapping support for the generating limitation. A rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 does not require each reference to supply mutually exclusive limitations. Paxman teaches constructing the optical transfer functions from the estimated aberrations and computing the MLE of the object (Paxman, page 1076 left column). Simonov further teaches reconstructing an in-focus image from multiple defocused images and improving that reconstruction using an improved defocus estimate (Simonov, pages 6, 16). Relying on Simonov does not negate Paxman’s disclosure. The prior action’s statement that Hong in view of Paxman did not explicitly teach “all of” the limitation is clarified by identifying the respective contributions below.
The Examiner interprets the prior art to teach maximum likelihood estimation and object reconstruction through Paxman, supplemented by Simonov’s defocus based reconstruction teaching. The combined teachings teach “generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE”.
In response to Argument 5, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant alleges that claim 4 is allowable because Hong develops focus information from images of a separate focus target rather than from images of the area of the sample.
The Examiner finds that Applicant correctly describes Hong’s characteristic map procedure. However, the proposed combination determines the focus related values and the MLE from the sample area images instead. Paxman estimates the object and aberration parameters from the detected diversity images and identifies the object being imaged as the reference used for aberration estimation (Paxman, page 1073 right column, page 1072 right column). Simonov teaches obtaining the defocus estimate through the algorithm itself without an additional measuring device and determining defocus per sub-image (Simonov, pages 13-14, 30). These teaching support applying the analysis to the images of the area without using Hong’s separately acquired focus target images to determine the claimed values or MLE
The Examiner interprets the prior art to teach “the plurality of focus-related values and the MLE are determined from the plurality of images of the area and not from any image obtained from outside the area”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hong et al (US 20200382715 A1, hereafter referred to as Hong) in view of Paxman et al (Paxman, R. G., Schulz, T. J., & Fienup, J. R. (1992). Joint estimation of object and aberrations by using phase diversity. Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 9(7), 1072-1085, hereafter referred to as Paxman), further in view of Simonov et al (WO 2009108050 A1, hereafter referred to as Simonov).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Hong teaches A system for improving image quality, the system comprising:
a controller including circuitry configured to cause the system to perform (Hong in ¶6 discloses “a computer implemented system” where “the image acquirer operates on a processor”):
obtaining a plurality of images of an area of a sample (Hong in ¶6 discloses that the image acquirer “receives a plurality of images of the sample from the image sensor”; ¶20 discloses that “a first image of the sample is acquired … a second image of the sample is acquired … and additional images of the sample are acquired”).
Hong does not explicitly teach all of determining via a phase diversity analysis; a plurality of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective image of the plurality of images; a maximum likelihood estimate (MLE) of the plurality of images, wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE; and generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE.
However, Paxman teaches determining, via a phase diversity analysis of the plurality of images (Paxman in Abstract discloses “joint estimation of an object and the aberrations of an incoherent imaging system from multiple images incorporating phase diversity”; page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions, and the binary pupil functions, estimate the object and the aberration parameters”):
a plurality of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective image of the plurality of images (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that additional images are formed by perturbing unknown aberrations “in some known fashion”, including imagery degraded with “a known amount of defocus”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image, and … Phase diversity can be created, for example, by intentionally defocusing the system by known amounts.”);
a maximum likelihood estimate (MLE) of the plurality of images (Paxman in ¶ discloses “Maximum-likelihood estimation is considered under additive Gaussian and Poisson noise models” for “multiple images incorporating phase diversity”; page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images {dk}, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions {θk}, and the binary pupil functions {|Hk|}, estimate the object f and the aberration parameters α”; page 1073 left column discloses an objective function that “yields the maximum-likelihood estimate (MLE) for the aberration parameters when maximized”; page 1074 left column discloses “The MLE is the estimate that is most likely to I produced a specific measurement” and is found by maximizing the likelihood function “with respect to f and α”; page 1075 left column discloses that once the MLE for the aberration parameter is found, it can be used “to find the MLE for the object parameter”),
wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE (Paxman in page 1073 right column discloses that Ф “is the unknown phase aberration function that we would like to estimate” and that it is “often convenient to parameterize the unknown phase aberration function”; page 1074 left column discloses that the log-likelihood function “could be used to estimate the object and aberration functions simultaneously”; page 1075 left column discloses obtaining the MLE of the aberration parameter and using it to find the MLE of the object; Paxman solves for unknown aberration parameters together with the MLE, but treats the defocus diversity θk of each image as known); and
generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that once aberration estimates are known, “an estimate of the system optical transfer function (OTF) can be constructed, and the object can be restored by using, for example, Wiener filtering”; page 1076 discloses “Once an aberration function that maximizes LM is found, the corresponding OTF's can be constructed, and the MLE of the object is easily computed with Eq. (19)”).
Paxman is analogous art because Paxman, like Hong, is in the field of correcting focus related image degradation using multiple images and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining focus related information from those images to generate a focus corrected image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the focus correction processing of Hong with maximum likelihood phase diversity estimation of Paxman because Paxman teaches that phase diversity estimation provides aberration sensing that relies heavily on the object being imaged and is therefore less susceptible to systematic errors introduced by optical hardware, with each photon used for both imaging and aberration estimation (Paxman, page 1072 right column), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the system of Hong would determine the focus related information and the MLE of the object from Hong’s plurality of images of the sample and generate the focus corrected image from that estimate, with a reasonable expectation of success because Hong already acquires multiple images of the same sample at different, stepped objective lens distances, which is the defocus diverse image set that Paxman’s estimator receives.
Hong in view of Paxman does not explicitly teach all of wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis
However, Simonov teaches wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis (Simonov in page 7 discloses defocused intermediate images “having an unknown degree of defocus compared to an ideal focal plane …, but having a precisely known degree of defocus of each intermediate image compared to any other intermediate image,” and that “each intermediate image has a different and a priori unknown degree of defocus in relation to the in-focus image plane of the object”; page 17 discloses that “the defocus of the n-th intermediate image is unknown prior to provision of the intermediate images”; page 6 discloses “estimation of defocus in the optical system without prior knowledge of the distance of the object” that “is based on digital processing of multiple intermediate defocused images”; pages 13-14 discloses that “the estimate is provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring device”)
(Simonov in page 6 discloses “digitally reconstruct a final in-focus image of the object based on digital processing of multiple intermediate defocused images”; page 16 discloses that the reconstruction “can be significantly improved by replacing the initial defocus estimate with the improved estimate”).
Simonov is analogous art because Simonov, like Hong in view of Paxman, is in the field of correcting defocus using multiple images of the same object acquired at different degrees of defocus and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining the defocus of those images to reconstruct an in focus image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase diversity estimation of Hong in view of Paxman with the per image defocus of Simonov because Simonov teaches that estimating this defocus from the phase diverse images provides estimation of defocus in the optical system without prior knowledge of the distance to the object with the estimate provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring devices (Simonov, pages 6, 13-14), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the system of Hong in view of Paxman would include the defocus of each image among the unknown aberration parameters that Paxman solves for together with the MLE of the object, and would generate the focus corrected image from the solved defocus values and the MLE, with a reasonable expectation of success because Paxman’s generalized pupil function already combines an unknown aberration phase with a known diversity phase for each image, which corresponds directly to Simonov’s per image defocus formed from an unknown defocus and known differences, and Hong’s known step size between sequential images supplies the known differences, while the in focus plane of Hong, which varies across the field of view, corresponds to Simonov’s unknown defocus.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values comprises a defocus value (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that additional images are formed by perturbing unknown aberrations “in some known fashion”, including imagery degraded with “a known amount of defocus”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image, and … Phase diversity can be created, for example, by intentionally defocusing the system by known amounts.”).
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein each image of the plurality of images has a different associated focus-related value (Paxman in page 1073 discloses a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image and intentional defocusing by known amounts).
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of focus-related values comprise a range of focus-related values (Hong in ¶52 discloses “a minimum distance (Z′min) and a maximum distance (Z′max) between the objective lens 154 and the focus plane of the sample” over which images of the sample are captured; ¶54 discloses the step size (ΔZ′) between sequential images of the sample. Simonov in page 17 discloses the defocus of each of the M intermediate images, and that the degrees of defocus of the multiple intermediate images differ),
and wherein the plurality of focus-related values and the MLE are determined from the plurality of images of the area and not from any image obtained from outside the area (Paxman in page 1073 right column discloses estimating the object and the aberration parameters from the set of K detected diversity images; page 1072 right column discloses that the method relies heavily on the object being imaged. Simonov in pages 13-14 discloses that the estimate is provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring devices; page 30 discloses that the degree of defocus is determined per sub-image).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the area is within a field of view of the sample (Hong in ¶6 discloses that the image acquirer “receives a plurality of images of the sample from the image sensor”; ¶20 discloses that “a first image of the sample is acquired … a second image of the sample is acquired … and additional images of the sample are acquired”).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the MLE is determined based on the determined plurality of focus-related values (Paxman in page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images {dk}, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions {θk}, and the binary pupil functions {|Hk|}, estimate the object f and the aberration parameters α”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image; page 1074 left column discloses “The MLE is the estimate that is most likely to I produced a specific measurement” and is found by maximizing the likelihood function “with respect to f and α”; page 1075 left column discloses that once the MLE for the aberration parameter is found, it can be used “to find the MLE for the object parameter”).
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein:
the area comprises a first area of the sample and a second area of the sample (Paxman in page 1072 discloses that phase diversity accommodates “extended objects or even scenes” and that “the ability to operate on image subframes successfully, which is a fundamental requirement in the application of phase diversity to scenes, has also been demonstrated”);
the plurality of images comprises a first set of images of the first area of the sample and a second set of images of the second area of the sample (Paxman in page 1072 discloses applying phase diversity to image subframes in scenes and collecting multiple phase-diversity images for an area. Applying the same process to a first subframe and a second subframe yields a first set of images for the first area and a second set of images for the second area);
the phase diversity analysis comprises a first phase diversity analysis corresponding to the first set of images and a second phase diversity analysis corresponding to the second set of images (Paxman in page 1072 discloses phase-diversity estimation from multiple images and successful operation on image subframes. Applying Paxman’s phase-diversity estimation to each subframe/image set yields first and second phase-diversity analyses);
the plurality of focus-related values comprises a first set of focus-related values corresponding to the first phase diversity analysis and a second set of focus-related values corresponding to the second phase diversity analysis (Paxman in page 1073 discloses a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image and intentional defocusing by known amounts. Applying those values to each subframe set gives first and second sets of focus-related values);
the MLE comprises a first MLE of the first set of images and a second MLE of the
second set of images (Paxman in page 1072 discloses MLE phase-diversity estimation from multiple diversity images. Paxman’s subframe disclosure supports applying the MLE process separately to first and second image sets); and
the focus-corrected image comprises a first focus-corrected image of the first area and a second focus-corrected image of the second area (Simonov in page 7 discloses deriving a focused final image from defocused intermediate images having known defocus relationships; page 11 discloses reconstructing a final in-focus image from phase-diverse intermediate images. Applying the reconstruction separately to first and second subframe/area image sets yields first and second focus-corrected images).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the system to further perform:
determining, via the first phase diversity analysis:
the first set of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the first set of focus-related values is associated with each image of the first set of images (Paxman in page 1073 discloses a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image and intentional defocusing by known amounts. Applying those values to each subframe set gives first and second sets of focus-related values);
the first MLE of the first set of images (Paxman in page 1072 discloses MLE phase-diversity estimation from multiple diversity images. Paxman’s subframe disclosure supports applying the MLE process separately to first and second image sets); and
generating the first focus-corrected image of the first area based on the determined first plurality of focus-related values and the determined first MLE (Simonov in page 7 discloses deriving a focused final image from defocused intermediate images having known defocus relationships; page 11 discloses reconstructing a final in-focus image from phase-diverse intermediate images. Applying the reconstruction separately to first and second subframe/area image sets yields first and second focus-corrected images).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the system to further perform:
determining, via the second phase diversity analysis:
the second set of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the second set of focus-related values is associated with each image of the second set of images (Paxman in page 1073 discloses a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image and intentional defocusing by known amounts. Applying those values to each subframe set gives first and second sets of focus-related values);
the second MLE of the second set of images (Paxman in page 1072 discloses MLE phase-diversity estimation from multiple diversity images. Paxman’s subframe disclosure supports applying the MLE process separately to first and second image sets); and
generating the second focus-corrected image of the second area based on the determined second plurality of focus-related values and the determined second MLE (Simonov in page 7 discloses deriving a focused final image from defocused intermediate images having known defocus relationships; page 11 discloses reconstructing a final in-focus image from phase-diverse intermediate images. Applying the reconstruction separately to first and second subframe/area image sets yields first and second focus-corrected images).
Claim 13
Regarding Claim 13, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches A method of improving image quality, the method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of images of an area of a sample (Hong in ¶6 discloses that the image acquirer “receives a plurality of images of the sample from the image sensor”; ¶20 discloses that “a first image of the sample is acquired … a second image of the sample is acquired … and additional images of the sample are acquired”).
Hong does not explicitly teach all of determining via a phase diversity analysis; a plurality of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective image of the plurality of images; a maximum likelihood estimate (MLE) of the plurality of images, wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE; and generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE.
However, Paxman teaches determining, via a phase diversity analysis of the plurality of images (Paxman in Abstract discloses “joint estimation of an object and the aberrations of an incoherent imaging system from multiple images incorporating phase diversity”; page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions, and the binary pupil functions, estimate the object and the aberration parameters”):
a plurality of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective image of the plurality of images (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that additional images are formed by perturbing unknown aberrations “in some known fashion”, including imagery degraded with “a known amount of defocus”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image, and … Phase diversity can be created, for example, by intentionally defocusing the system by known amounts.”);
a maximum likelihood estimate (MLE) of the plurality of images (Paxman in ¶ discloses “Maximum-likelihood estimation is considered under additive Gaussian and Poisson noise models” for “multiple images incorporating phase diversity”; page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images {dk}, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions {θk}, and the binary pupil functions {|Hk|}, estimate the object f and the aberration parameters α”; page 1073 left column discloses an objective function that “yields the maximum-likelihood estimate (MLE) for the aberration parameters when maximized”; page 1074 left column discloses “The MLE is the estimate that is most likely to I produced a specific measurement” and is found by maximizing the likelihood function “with respect to f and α”; page 1075 left column discloses that once the MLE for the aberration parameter is found, it can be used “to find the MLE for the object parameter”),
wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE (Paxman in page 1073 right column discloses that Ф “is the unknown phase aberration function that we would like to estimate” and that it is “often convenient to parameterize the unknown phase aberration function”; page 1074 left column discloses that the log-likelihood function “could be used to estimate the object and aberration functions simultaneously”; page 1075 left column discloses obtaining the MLE of the aberration parameter and using it to find the MLE of the object; Paxman solves for unknown aberration parameters together with the MLE, but treats the defocus diversity θk of each image as known); and
generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that once aberration estimates are known, “an estimate of the system optical transfer function (OTF) can be constructed, and the object can be restored by using, for example, Wiener filtering”; page 1076 discloses “Once an aberration function that maximizes LM is found, the corresponding OTF's can be constructed, and the MLE of the object is easily computed with Eq. (19)”).
Paxman is analogous art because Paxman, like Hong, is in the field of correcting focus related image degradation using multiple images and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining focus related information from those images to generate a focus corrected image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the focus correction processing of Hong with maximum likelihood phase diversity estimation of Paxman because Paxman teaches that phase diversity estimation provides aberration sensing that relies heavily on the object being imaged and is therefore less susceptible to systematic errors introduced by optical hardware, with each photon used for both imaging and aberration estimation (Paxman, page 1072 right column), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the system of Hong would determine the focus related information and the MLE of the object from Hong’s plurality of images of the sample and generate the focus corrected image from that estimate, with a reasonable expectation of success because Hong already acquires multiple images of the same sample at different, stepped objective lens distances, which is the defocus diverse image set that Paxman’s estimator receives.
Hong in view of Paxman does not explicitly teach all of wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis
However, Simonov teaches wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis (Simonov in page 7 discloses defocused intermediate images “having an unknown degree of defocus compared to an ideal focal plane …, but having a precisely known degree of defocus of each intermediate image compared to any other intermediate image,” and that “each intermediate image has a different and a priori unknown degree of defocus in relation to the in-focus image plane of the object”; page 17 discloses that “the defocus of the n-th intermediate image is unknown prior to provision of the intermediate images”; page 6 discloses “estimation of defocus in the optical system without prior knowledge of the distance of the object” that “is based on digital processing of multiple intermediate defocused images”; pages 13-14 discloses that “the estimate is provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring device”)
(Simonov in page 6 discloses “digitally reconstruct a final in-focus image of the object based on digital processing of multiple intermediate defocused images”; page 16 discloses that the reconstruction “can be significantly improved by replacing the initial defocus estimate with the improved estimate”).
Simonov is analogous art because Simonov, like Hong in view of Paxman, is in the field of correcting defocus using multiple images of the same object acquired at different degrees of defocus and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining the defocus of those images to reconstruct an in focus image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase diversity estimation of Hong in view of Paxman with the per image defocus of Simonov because Simonov teaches that estimating this defocus from the phase diverse images provides estimation of defocus in the optical system without prior knowledge of the distance to the object with the estimate provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring devices (Simonov, pages 6, 13-14), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the system of Hong in view of Paxman would include the defocus of each image among the unknown aberration parameters that Paxman solves for together with the MLE of the object, and would generate the focus corrected image from the solved defocus values and the MLE, with a reasonable expectation of success because Paxman’s generalized pupil function already combines an unknown aberration phase with a known diversity phase for each image, which corresponds directly to Simonov’s per image defocus formed from an unknown defocus and known differences, and Hong’s known step size between sequential images supplies the known differences, while the in focus plane of Hong, which varies across the field of view, corresponds to Simonov’s unknown defocus.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 14
Regarding Claim 14, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The method of claim 13, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values comprises a defocus value (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that additional images are formed by perturbing unknown aberrations “in some known fashion”, including imagery degraded with “a known amount of defocus”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image, and … Phase diversity can be created, for example, by intentionally defocusing the system by known amounts.”).
Claim 15
Regarding Claim 15, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The method of claim 13, wherein each image of the plurality of images has a different associated focus-related value (Paxman in page 1073 discloses a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image and intentional defocusing by known amounts).
Claim 16
Regarding Claim 16, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The method of claim 13, wherein the plurality of focus-related values comprise a range of focus-related values (Hong in ¶17 discloses “the objective lens is positioned at a predetermined minimum distance” and continuing until the distance is “at least a first predetermined maximum distance”; ¶20 discloses imaging from a “second minimum distance” until reaching “at least a second maximum distance from the focus plane of the sample”; ¶54 discloses “Z′min, Z′max, and ΔZ” values for generating the focus-corrected image).
Claim 18
Regarding Claim 18, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The method of claim 13, wherein the area is within a field of view of the sample (Hong in ¶6 discloses that the image acquirer “receives a plurality of images of the sample from the image sensor”; ¶20 discloses that “a first image of the sample is acquired … a second image of the sample is acquired … and additional images of the sample are acquired”).
Claim 19
Regarding Claim 19, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The method of claim 13, wherein the MLE is determined based on the determined plurality of focus-related values (Paxman in page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images {dk}, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions {θk}, and the binary pupil functions {|Hk|}, estimate the object f and the aberration parameters α”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image; page 1074 left column discloses “The MLE is the estimate that is most likely to I produced a specific measurement” and is found by maximizing the likelihood function “with respect to f and α”; page 1075 left column discloses that once the MLE for the aberration parameter is found, it can be used “to find the MLE for the object parameter”).
Claim 20
Regarding Claim 20, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a set of instructions that is executable by at least one processor of a computing device to cause the computing device to perform operations for improving image quality, the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of images of an area of a sample (Hong in ¶6 discloses that the image acquirer “receives a plurality of images of the sample from the image sensor”; ¶20 discloses that “a first image of the sample is acquired … a second image of the sample is acquired … and additional images of the sample are acquired”).
Hong does not explicitly teach all of determining via a phase diversity analysis; a plurality of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective image of the plurality of images; a maximum likelihood estimate (MLE) of the plurality of images, wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE; and generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE.
However, Paxman teaches determining, via a phase diversity analysis of the plurality of images (Paxman in Abstract discloses “joint estimation of an object and the aberrations of an incoherent imaging system from multiple images incorporating phase diversity”; page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions, and the binary pupil functions, estimate the object and the aberration parameters”):
a plurality of focus-related values, wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective image of the plurality of images (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that additional images are formed by perturbing unknown aberrations “in some known fashion”, including imagery degraded with “a known amount of defocus”; page 1073 discloses “θk is a known phase function associated with the kth diversity image, and … Phase diversity can be created, for example, by intentionally defocusing the system by known amounts.”);
a maximum likelihood estimate (MLE) of the plurality of images (Paxman in ¶ discloses “Maximum-likelihood estimation is considered under additive Gaussian and Poisson noise models” for “multiple images incorporating phase diversity”; page 1073 right column discloses “Given the set of K detected diversity images {dk}, the corresponding set of phase-diversity functions {θk}, and the binary pupil functions {|Hk|}, estimate the object f and the aberration parameters α”; page 1073 left column discloses an objective function that “yields the maximum-likelihood estimate (MLE) for the aberration parameters when maximized”; page 1074 left column discloses “The MLE is the estimate that is most likely to I produced a specific measurement” and is found by maximizing the likelihood function “with respect to f and α”; page 1075 left column discloses that once the MLE for the aberration parameter is found, it can be used “to find the MLE for the object parameter”),
wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis together with the MLE (Paxman in page 1073 right column discloses that Ф “is the unknown phase aberration function that we would like to estimate” and that it is “often convenient to parameterize the unknown phase aberration function”; page 1074 left column discloses that the log-likelihood function “could be used to estimate the object and aberration functions simultaneously”; page 1075 left column discloses obtaining the MLE of the aberration parameter and using it to find the MLE of the object; Paxman solves for unknown aberration parameters together with the MLE, but treats the defocus diversity θk of each image as known); and
generating a focus-corrected image of the area based on the determined plurality of focus-related values and the determined MLE (Paxman in page 1072 right column discloses that once aberration estimates are known, “an estimate of the system optical transfer function (OTF) can be constructed, and the object can be restored by using, for example, Wiener filtering”; page 1076 discloses “Once an aberration function that maximizes LM is found, the corresponding OTF's can be constructed, and the MLE of the object is easily computed with Eq. (19)”).
Paxman is analogous art because Paxman, like Hong, is in the field of correcting focus related image degradation using multiple images and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining focus related information from those images to generate a focus corrected image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the focus correction processing of Hong with maximum likelihood phase diversity estimation of Paxman because Paxman teaches that phase diversity estimation provides aberration sensing that relies heavily on the object being imaged and is therefore less susceptible to systematic errors introduced by optical hardware, with each photon used for both imaging and aberration estimation (Paxman, page 1072 right column), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the system of Hong would determine the focus related information and the MLE of the object from Hong’s plurality of images of the sample and generate the focus corrected image from that estimate, with a reasonable expectation of success because Hong already acquires multiple images of the same sample at different, stepped objective lens distances, which is the defocus diverse image set that Paxman’s estimator receives.
Hong in view of Paxman does not explicitly teach all of wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis
However, Simonov teaches wherein the plurality of focus-related values are unknown values that are solved for by the phase diversity analysis (Simonov in page 7 discloses defocused intermediate images “having an unknown degree of defocus compared to an ideal focal plane …, but having a precisely known degree of defocus of each intermediate image compared to any other intermediate image,” and that “each intermediate image has a different and a priori unknown degree of defocus in relation to the in-focus image plane of the object”; page 17 discloses that “the defocus of the n-th intermediate image is unknown prior to provision of the intermediate images”; page 6 discloses “estimation of defocus in the optical system without prior knowledge of the distance of the object” that “is based on digital processing of multiple intermediate defocused images”; pages 13-14 discloses that “the estimate is provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring device”)
(Simonov in page 6 discloses “digitally reconstruct a final in-focus image of the object based on digital processing of multiple intermediate defocused images”; page 16 discloses that the reconstruction “can be significantly improved by replacing the initial defocus estimate with the improved estimate”).
Simonov is analogous art because Simonov, like Hong in view of Paxman, is in the field of correcting defocus using multiple images of the same object acquired at different degrees of defocus and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining the defocus of those images to reconstruct an in focus image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase diversity estimation of Hong in view of Paxman with the per image defocus of Simonov because Simonov teaches that estimating this defocus from the phase diverse images provides estimation of defocus in the optical system without prior knowledge of the distance to the object with the estimate provided by the algorithm itself without the aid of any additional measuring devices (Simonov, pages 6, 13-14), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the system of Hong in view of Paxman would include the defocus of each image among the unknown aberration parameters that Paxman solves for together with the MLE of the object, and would generate the focus corrected image from the solved defocus values and the MLE, with a reasonable expectation of success because Paxman’s generalized pupil function already combines an unknown aberration phase with a known diversity phase for each image, which corresponds directly to Simonov’s per image defocus formed from an unknown defocus and known differences, and Hong’s known step size between sequential images supplies the known differences, while the in focus plane of Hong, which varies across the field of view, corresponds to Simonov’s unknown defocus.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hong et al (US 20200382715 A1, hereafter referred to as Hong) in view of Paxman et al (Paxman, R. G., Schulz, T. J., & Fienup, J. R. (1992). Joint estimation of object and aberrations by using phase diversity. Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 9(7), 1072-1085, hereafter referred to as Paxman), further in view of Simonov et al (WO 2009108050 A1, hereafter referred to as Simonov), further in view of Shemesh et al (X, hereafter referred to as Shemesh).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a range of the plurality of focus-related values (Hong in ¶52 discloses a range of focus-related positions by using a minimum distance Z’min and maximum distance Z’max between the objective lens and the focus plane of the sample over which images are captured)
Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov does not explicitly teach all of corresponds to a range of voltages associated with an objective lens.
However, Shemesh teaches corresponds to a range of voltages associated with an objective lens (Shemesh in ¶30 discloses that changing the energy of the charged-particle beam includes changes of potentials in the charged-particle beam column that influence charged velocity within the objective lens, that an accelerating voltage may be varied, and that any other voltage or current modification that affects the focusing properties of the objective lens can be used. The variation in energy produces defocusing and may be conducted as a “single linear ramp”; ¶61 discloses a high-voltage supply unit, an objective-lens supply unit, and a specimen-voltage supply unit controlled by a parameter-adjustment unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov by incorporating voltage/current-based focus or defocus control associated with an objective lens that is taught by Shemesh, since both reference are analogous art in the field of controlling focus/defocus conditions in imaging systems; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov’s focus/phase-diversity image-correction system with Shemesh’s voltage/current-based focus-control technique yields the predictable result of electronically generating a range of focus/defocus values corresponding to voltage changes, thereby enabling faster and more controllable focus variation.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 17
Regarding Claim 17, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The method of claim 13, wherein a range of the plurality of focus-related values (Hong in ¶52 discloses a range of focus-related positions by using a minimum distance Z’min and maximum distance Z’max between the objective lens and the focus plane of the sample over which images are captured)
Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov does not explicitly teach all of corresponds to a range of voltages associated with an objective lens.
However, Shemesh teaches corresponds to a range of voltages associated with an objective lens (Shemesh in ¶30 discloses that changing the energy of the charged-particle beam includes changes of potentials in the charged-particle beam column that influence charged velocity within the objective lens, that an accelerating voltage may be varied, and that any other voltage or current modification that affects the focusing properties of the objective lens can be used. The variation in energy produces defocusing and may be conducted as a “single linear ramp”; ¶61 discloses a high-voltage supply unit, an objective-lens supply unit, and a specimen-voltage supply unit controlled by a parameter-adjustment unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov by incorporating voltage/current-based focus or defocus control associated with an objective lens that is taught by Shemesh, since both reference are analogous art in the field of controlling focus/defocus conditions in imaging systems; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov’s focus/phase-diversity image-correction system with Shemesh’s voltage/current-based focus-control technique yields the predictable result of electronically generating a range of focus/defocus values corresponding to voltage changes, thereby enabling faster and more controllable focus variation.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hong et al (US 20200382715 A1, hereafter referred to as Hong) in view of Paxman et al (Paxman, R. G., Schulz, T. J., & Fienup, J. R. (1992). Joint estimation of object and aberrations by using phase diversity. Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 9(7), 1072-1085, hereafter referred to as Paxman), further in view of Simonov et al (WO 2009108050 A1, hereafter referred to as Simonov), further in view of Makitalo et al (X, hereafter referred to as Makitalo).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov teaches The system of claim 1.
Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov does not explicitly teach all of wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the system to further perform: denoising noise in the obtained plurality of images, wherein the noise is modeled as a Poisson distribution; and modeling the denoised noise in the obtained plurality of images on a Gaussian distribution
However, Makitalo teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the system to further perform:
denoising noise in the obtained plurality of images (Makitalo in Abstract discloses denoising for errors of digital imaging devices modeled as Poisson-Gaussian noise and states that the noise removal can be approached through variance stabilization; Section 4 discloses denoising each image using a three-step variance-stabilization approach and using BM3D or BLS-GSM as Gaussian denoising algorithms),
wherein the noise is modeled as a Poisson distribution (Makitalo in Section 2.1 discloses modeling each observed pixel value as an independent random Poisson variable p with an underlying mean value, scaled and corrupted by additive Gaussian noise, where p is distributed according to a function; Section 2.2 discloses the pure Poisson case of the Anscombe transformation for data corrupted by Poisson noise); and
modeling the denoised noise in the obtained plurality of images on a Gaussian
distribution (Makitalo in Section 1 discloses a three-step process in which noisy data is first modified by a variance-stabilizing transformation (VST), the resulting data can be treated as Gaussian with unitary variance and denoised with an algorithm designed for Gaussian noise, and an inverse VST is applied to the denoised data; Section 4 discloses denoising each image using BM3D or BLS-GSM as the Gaussian denoising algorithm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov by incorporating a Poisson/Poisson-Gaussian image-noise denoising and Gaussian-modeling technique that is taught by Makitalo, since both reference are analogous art in the field of digital image processing for improving reconstructed image quality from noisy data; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov’s focus/phase-diversity reconstruction system with Makitalo’s denoising and Gaussian-modeling technique yields the predictable result of reducing Poisson/photon-limited image noise before or during phase-diversity reconstruction, thereby improving the accuracy and quality of the resulting focus-corrected image.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, Hong in view of Paxman in view of Simonov, further in view of Makitalo teaches The system of claim 11,
wherein each focus-related value of the plurality of focus-related values is associated with a respective denoised image of the plurality of images (Paxman in page 1073 discloses that a known phase function is associated with the kth diversity image and that phase diversity can be created by intentionally defocusing the system by known amounts; Makitalo in Abstract discloses denoising each image using the three-step variance-stabilization approach)
modeled on the Gaussian distribution (Makitalo in Section 1 discloses a three-step process in which noisy data is first modified by a variance-stabilizing transformation (VST), the resulting data can be treated as Gaussian with unitary variance and denoised with an algorithm designed for Gaussian noise, and an inverse VST is applied to the denoised data; Section 4 discloses denoising each image using BM3D or BLS-GSM as the Gaussian denoising algorithm).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674
Date: 10/27/2026