DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 44, 46, 49-50, 53, 57 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/9/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of trademarked terms has been noted in this application in [00413], [00560], among possibly others. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
4. Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency – 1. It is noted that SEQ ID NOs: 86 and 90 are recited in [00204] of the specification, but are not included in the Sequence Listing (XML file).
2. Sequences appearing in the drawings such as Figure 4 are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claim 44 as submitted 1/6/2026.
As to claim 44, the claim recites a method but does not appear to recite any actual steps, rather merely “transcription” and “purification”. To overcome this rejection, the claim should recite steps such as ‘transcribing” and “purifying”.
6. Claims 46, 49, 50, 53, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
See claims 46, 49, 50, 53, 57 as submitted 1/6/2026.
As to claim 46, the claim recites a recombinant RNA molecule, or a plurality of recombinant RNA molecules, transcribed from the recombinant DNA molecule of any one of claim 1. Claim 46 is not considered to be further limiting of claim 1, which recites a recombinant DNA molecule. A RNA molecule and a DNA molecule are distinct nucleic acid molecules, and a RNA molecule as claimed is not considered to include or further limit claim 1 on which the claim depends. Claims 49, 50, 53, 57 depend on this claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 44, 46, 49, 50, 53, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner et al. (WO2021243172A1)(cited in applicant’s IDS submitted 12/9/2024) in view of Gasser et al. (“SHAPE probing pictures Mg2+-dependent folding of small self-cleaving ribozymes,” Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 46, No. 14: 6983-6995 (2018))(See PTO-892: Notice of References Cited).
See claims 1, 44, 46, 49, 50, 53, 57 as submitted 1/6/2026.
Lerner et al. teaches: recombinant DNA molecules comprising from 5’ to 3’, a promoter sequence, a 5’ junctional cleavage sequence, polynucleotide sequence encoding recombinant RNA replicon [0014](as recited in claim 1); wherein RNA replicon comprises picornavirus genome and a heterologous polynucleotide [0027](as recited in claim 1); ribozyme encoding sequences [00242]; including pistol ribozyme [00242]; RNA transcribed from DNA molecule [0015](as recited in claim 46); compositions, formulations, diluent, particles [00291](as recited in claims 49, 50); plurality (claim 100)(as recited in claim 53); producing, purifying [0015](as recited in claim 44); treating cancer [0024](as recited in claim 57).
Lerner et al. not teach: env27.
Gasser et al. teaches self cleaving ribozymes (abstract); including pistol ribozyme env 27 (p. 6988).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use ribozyme as taught by Gasser et al. with the nucleic acid molecule as taught by Lerner et al. Lerner et al. teaches the use of pistol ribozymes, and Gasser et al. teaches such a known ribozyme (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for using ribozyme as taught by Gasser et al. with the nucleic acid molecule as taught by Lerner et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials (pistol ribozymes as taught by Lerner et al. and Gasser et al.) and methods are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
8. No claims are allowed.
/M FRANCO G SALVOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672