DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 & 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Maza et al. (US 2015/0328911).
Garcia Maza et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clms 1 & 19, a printing unit/inkjet printer 10/ (Abst., figs 1-9);
* a carriage/12/ configured to reciprocate in a main scanning direction (para 0015, fig 1); * a plurality of ink heads/26, 28, 22/ configured to discharge ink, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28, 22/ are mounted on the carriage/12/ to form a plurality of ink head columns, each of the plurality of ink head columns extending along the main scanning direction/34// (paras 0015-0017, figs 2, 6 & 7);
* the plurality of ink head columns being arranged side by side in a sub scanning direction/24/ intersecting with the main scanning direction/34/ (figs 2, 6, 7);
* the plurality of ink heads/28, 22/ comprise a plurality of same-color ink head groups/28/, each of the plurality of same-color ink head groups comprising a plurality of same- color ink heads configured to discharge ink of the same color (paras 0011, 0017, figs 2, 6, 7);
* in at least one same-color ink head group of the plurality of same-color ink head groups/26, 28, 22/, the plurality of same-color ink heads/26, 28/ are disposed in one ink head column of the plurality of ink head columns and are not disposed in the other ink head columns/22/, in in one column and not the other one/ (paras 0011, 0017, figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 2, wherein in all of the plurality of same-color ink head groups, the plurality of same-color ink heads are disposed in one ink head column of the plurality of ink head columns and are not disposed in the other ink head columns (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 3, wherein the plurality of same-color ink head groups/28/ comprise a black ink head group configured to discharge black ink, and the plurality of same-color ink heads of the black color ink head group are disposed at both end portions of the one ink head column in the main scanning direction (paras 0021-0022, figs 8-9).
* Re clm 4, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28/ are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, and the black ink head group is disposed in a column on a downstream side in the conveyance direction among the plurality of ink head columns (paras 0021-0022, figs 8-9).
* Re clm 5, wherein the plurality of ink heads comprise a plurality of basic-color ink heads/bcmy/ and a plurality of non-basic-color ink heads/w/, each of the plurality of basic-color ink heads configured to discharge ink of one of basic colors of black, cyan, magenta, and yellow, each of the plurality of non-basic-color ink heads configured to discharge ink of a color other than the basic colors/w/, and the basic-color ink heads are disposed outside the non-basic-color ink heads in the main scanning direction (paras 0011, 0017, fig 3).
* Re clm 6, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28/ comprise a black ink head configured to discharge black ink and a yellow ink head configured to discharge yellow ink, and the black ink head and the yellow ink head are disposed in different columns in the plurality of ink head columns (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 7, wherein the plurality of ink heads are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium/print substrate 16/ conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, and an ink head configured to discharge ink of a color closest to cyan in a hue/magenta, yellow/ among the plurality of ink heads is disposed in a column on a downstream side in the conveyance direction among the plurality of ink head columns/28/ (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 8, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28/ are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium/print substrate 16/ conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, and when colors of the ink discharged from the plurality of ink heads/28/ are arranged in order of hue from closest to cyan, and half of the inks closer/magenta, yellow/ to
cyan are defined as cyan-based inks, and the remaining half of the inks are defined as non-cyan- based inks/black/, half or more of the inks/magenta, yellow/ disposed in a column on a downstream side in the conveyance direction among the plurality of ink head columns are set as the cyan-based inks/magenta, yellow/ (paras 0014, figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 9, wherein the plurality of ink heads are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, and an ink head that discharges ink of a color closest to red/magenta/ in terms of hue among the plurality of ink heads is disposed in a column on an upstream side in the conveyance direction among the plurality of ink head/28/ columns (paras 0011, 0017, 0019, 0021-0023, figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 10, wherein the plurality of ink heads are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, and when colors of the ink discharged from the plurality of ink heads/28/ are arranged in an order of hue closest to red/magenta/, and half of the inks closer to red/magenta/ are defined as red-based inks/magenta/, and the remaining half of the inks are defined as non-red-based inks/yellow, cyan, black/ half or more of the inks disposed in a column on an upstream side in the conveyance direction among the plurality of ink head columns are set as the red-based inks. (paras 0010-0011, 0017, 0019, 0021-0023, figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 11, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28/ are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning irection, the plurality of ink heads comprise a first ink head/28/ configured to discharge first ink/cyan/ and
a second ink head/28/ configured to discharge second ink/magenta/ having a hue similar to a hue of the first ink/cyan/ and a high lightness, and in the plurality of ink head columns, the second ink head/28/ is disposed in a column on a downstream side of the first ink head/28/ in the conveyance direction (paras 0010-0011, 0017, 0019, 0021-0023, figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 12, wherein the second ink head/28/ is disposed inside the plurality of ink heads in the main scanning direction (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 13, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28/ are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, the plurality of ink heads comprise a first ink head/28/ configured to discharge first ink/cyan/ and a second ink head/28/ configured to discharge second ink/magenta/ having a pigment content higher than a pigment content of the first ink/cyan/, and in the plurality of ink head/28/ columns, the second ink head/28/ is disposed in a column on a downstream side of the first ink head in the conveyance direction (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 15, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28, 22/ are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium/print substrate 16/ conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, the printing unit/26, 28, 22/ (paras 0014-0016, figs 1, 2, 6, 7). * a pre-processing head/adjustable position printhead 22/ disposed upstream of the plurality of ink head/26/ columns in the conveyance direction and configured to discharge pre- processing liquid/treatment solution/ (para 0021, fig 8).
* a post-processing head/adjustable position printhead 22/ disposed downstream of the plurality of ink head columns in the conveyance direction and configured to discharge post- processing liquid/treatment solution/ (para 0021, fig 8).
* the plurality of ink heads/28/ comprise a first ink head/28/ configured to discharge first ink/cyan/ and a second ink head/28/ configured to discharge second ink/magenta/ having a pigment content higher than a pigment content of the first ink/cyan/, and (paras 0014-0016, figs 1, 2, 6, 7);
* in the plurality of ink head columns, the second ink head/28/ is disposed in a column upstream of the first ink head in the conveyance direction (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 17, wherein the plurality of ink heads/28/ are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, * the plurality of ink heads/28 comprise a plurality of basic-color ink heads/cmy/ and a plurality of non-basic-color ink heads/white/, each of the plurality of basic-color ink heads/cmy/ configured to discharge ink of one of basic colors of black, cyan, magenta, and yellow, each of the plurality of non-basic-color ink heads/white/ configured to discharge ink of a color other than the basic colors/white/ (paras 0010-0011, 0017-0019, 0021-0022, figs 2, 6, 7);
* the basic-color ink heads/cmy/ are disposed in a column on a downstream side in the conveyance direction in the plurality of ink head columns (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Re clm 18, wherein the plurality of same-color ink head groups are mounted on the carriage such that colors/cmy/ of the ink discharged by the plurality of same-color ink head groups/cmy/ are symmetrical in the main scanning direction (figs 2, 6, 7).
* Further re clm 19, a recording apparatus (para 0014, fig 1);
* a conveying portion configured to convey a recording medium/print substrate 16/ along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction (paras 0014-0016, figs 1. 2, 6, 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Maza et al. (US 2015/0328911) in view of Gianetti et al. (US 2021/0040328).
Garcia Maza et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 14, wherein the plurality of ink heads are configured to discharge ink onto a recording medium conveyed along a conveyance direction parallel to the sub scanning direction, the plurality of ink heads/28, 22/ comprise a first ink head/28/ configured to discharge first ink/cyan/ and a second ink head/22/ configured to discharge second ink/white/, and in the plurality of ink head columns, the second ink head is disposed in a column on a downstream side of the first ink head in the conveyance direction.
Garcia Maza et al. does not disclose the following:
* a second ink having a binder content higher than a binder content of the first ink.
Gianetti et al. disclose the following:
* a second ink/white/ having a binder content higher than a binder content of the first ink/cyan/ (para 0141).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a second ink having a binder content higher than a binder content of the first ink, taught by Gianetti et al. into Garcia Maza et al. for the purpose of showing less visible flip flop effect, thereby having less change in color brightness or shade of a printed object.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Garcia Maza et al. fails to disclose "same-color ink head groups" and/or does not teach multiple ink heads that discharge ink of the same color is noted. However, Garcia Maza et al. does disclose multiple ink heads that discharge ink of the same color. Printheads 28, each contain ink having cyan, magenta and yellow (CMY), therefore each printhead has the same color.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Garcia Maza et al. fails to disclose any same-color ink head group with a plurality of same color ink heads is noted. However Garcia Maza et al. disclose in figure 2, groups of ink head groups/28/ or printheads 28, arranged in groups there are 6 printheads groups arramged in columns or there are 3 printheads in the front group and 3 printheads in the rear group and each having the same ink color..
Regarding applicant argument that Garcia Maza et al. does not disclose "in at least one same-color ink head group of the plurality of same-color ink head groups, the plurality of same-color ink heads are disposed in one ink head column of the plurality of ink head columns and are not disposed in the other ink head columns," is noted. However, Garcia Maza et al. does disclose "in at least one same-color ink head group of the plurality of same-color ink head groups (the 6 printheads 28), the plurality of same-color ink heads are disposed in one ink head column of the plurality of ink head columns and are not disposed in the other ink head columns," Printheads 28 are not in the column of the printhead 22. Printhead 22 is not in the same column as the printheads 28. Each of printheads 28 have the same color of ink (CMY) and they are multiple printheads having the same color of ink and printhead 22 has white ink. Also, the 6 printheads are in 6 different columns and printhead 22 is not in the same column as printheads 28. There are a total of 7 columns shown in figure 2.as shown above. Printheads 28, each contain ink having cyan, magenta and yellow (CMY), therefore each printhead has the same color. Furthermore, Garcia Maza et al. also discloses to make one or more printheads 22,28 adjustable along carriage scan line and that other configurations for printheads 22,28 are possible (paragraph 0016).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853