DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18860013 filed 10/25/26.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 recite(s) the limitation "a threshold", “a relative velocity”, “a mobility indicator”. There is/are insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation(s) in the claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 10-11 & 14 recite(s) the limitation "a velocity”, is the “velocity” the same or different than “a relative velocity”? There is/are insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation(s) in the claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: the upper cases of every single claim limitations should changes to a lower cases. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-7, 10-11 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaponniere, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2021/0084559 A1.
As to claim 1, Chaponniere teaches a wireless communication system comprising a first non- terrestrial base station serving at least one user equipment device, and a second non- terrestrial base station, wherein the user equipment device comprises a memory and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to:
Determine a mobility indicator representative of whether a relative velocity between the user equipment device and the first base station is lower than a threshold (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load
threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive),
Transmit said mobility indicator to the first base station (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive),
Complete handover to the second base station without random access procedure when said relative velocity is lower than said threshold (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive), and
wherein the first base station comprises a memory and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to:
Receive a mobility indicator representative of whether a relative velocity between the user equipment device and the first base station is lower than a threshold (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load
threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive),
Transmit said mobility indicator to the second base station, along with an identifier of said user equipment device and an uplink grant configuration configured for said user equipment device in said first base station (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 4, paragraph 47; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0047] a base station 102 facilitates the scheduling of resources for D2D communications; [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive; [NOTE: scheduling of resources is equating to uplink grant]), and
wherein the second base station comprises a memory and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to:
Receive a configuration from the first base station comprising at least a mobility indicator representative of whether a relative velocity between the user equipment device and the first base station is lower than a threshold, an identifier of said user equipment device and an uplink grant configuration configured for said user equipment device in said first base station (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 7, paragraph 63; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0063] The BSM may include location information, security and identity information, and vehicle information (such as velocity, maneuver, size, etc.) for the corresponding UE.); [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive),
Configure at least one grant resource according to said received configuration when received mobility indicator is representative of a velocity between said user equipment device and the first base station that is lower than said threshold (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load
threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE; [0103] determining, by the UE, whether a handover decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to path information of a first relay location and path information of a second relay location; [0104] determining, by the network node, whether a handover preparation decision is positive or negative, wherein the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive when a combination of one or more of the following is true: the signal strength information of the first relay is below a strength threshold, the load information of the first relay is above a load threshold, the signal strength information of the second relay is above the strength threshold, the load information of the second relay is below the load threshold, a UE location relative to the path information of the first relay location and the path information of the second relay location. the UE when the handover preparation decision is determined to be positive).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 7, 10, 11 & 14 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 2, 6, 7, 10, 11 & 14 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 12-13, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaponniere, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2021/0084559 A1 in view of Matsuda, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2025/0159565 A1.
As to claim 3, Chaponniere teaches the method as recited in claim 2, wherein computing a relative velocity between the user equipment device and the first base station comprises:
Determining a velocity of the user equipment relative to the ground (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE),
Determining a velocity of the first base station relative to the ground (Chaponniere, figure 9-10; page 3, paragraph 34; page 12, paragraph 103; page 13, paragraph 104; i.e., [0034] As used herein, the terms "load information", "load
threshold" "signal strength information", "strength threshold", "velocity", and "velocity threshold" threshold related to the load on a relay or UE, the signal strength of the relay or UE signal, the relative speed of the relay or UE);
Determining a projection of said velocity of the first base station onto plane of movement of said user equipment device (Chaponniere, page 14, paragraph 112 i.e., [0112] determines that the UE will soon move away from the coverage of Relay #1);
Computing a ratio between said velocity of the user equipment and said projection of the velocity of the first base station (Chaponniere, page 3, paragraph 34 i.e., [0034] velocity of a UE may be a relative velocity of the UE compared to the relay that may be used to predict when the UE may exit or enter the relay's coverage area. The thresholds may be dynamic, static, and specific to a particular UE or relay and may be set or calculated by a network administrator or the network equipment itself).
But Chaponniere failed to teach the claim limitation wherein Applying a scaling factor to the computed ratio depending on the relative orientation between the user equipment and the first base station.
However, Matsuda teaches the limitation wherein Applying a scaling factor to the computed ratio depending on the relative orientation between the user equipment and the first base station (Matsuda, page 20, paragraph 287i.e., [0287] large scale integration LSI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chaponniere to substitute FEUTRA from Matsuda for FDMA from Chaponniere to achieving high communication performance (Matsuda, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 4, Chaponniere teaches the method as recited in claim 2. But Chaponniere failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the mobility indicator is transmitted to the second base station on a Dedicated Control Channel.
However, Matsuda teaches the limitation wherein the mobility indicator is transmitted to the second base station on a Dedicated Control Channel (Matsuda, page 16, paragraph 238; i.e., [0238] [0238] Examples of the logical channel include a BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel), a PCCH (Paging Control Channel), a CCCH (Common Control Channel), a DCCH (Dedicated Control Channel), a DTCH (Dedicated Traffic Channel),).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chaponniere to substitute FEUTRA from Matsuda for FDMA from Chaponniere to achieving high communication performance (Matsuda, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 5, Chaponniere teaches the method as recited in claim 2. But Chaponniere failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the mobility indicator is transmitted to the second base station on a Physical uplink shared channel.
However, Matsuda teaches the limitation wherein the mobility indicator is transmitted to the second base station on a Physical uplink shared channel (Matsuda, page 16, paragraph 240; i.e., [0240] physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chaponniere to substitute FEUTRA from Matsuda for FDMA from Chaponniere to achieving high communication performance (Matsuda, page 1, paragraph 6).
Claim(s) 12-13 & 15-16 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 4-5. Therefore, claim(s) 12-13 & 15-16 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 4-5.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaponniere, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2021/0084559 A1 in view of Vivanco, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0329458 A1.
As to claim 8, Chaponniere teaches the method as recited in claim 7. But Chaponniere failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the received configuration further comprises a timing advance parameter configured in the second base station for said user equipment device.
However, Vivanco teaches the limitation wherein Applying a scaling factor to the computed ratio depending on the relative orientation between the user equipment and the first base station (Vivanco, page 7, paragraph 59; i.e., [0059] timing advance command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chaponniere to substitute RA-PDCCH from Vivanco for FDMA from Chaponniere to preventing successful completion of an attachment process responsive to the comparison result
indicating a suspect condition (Vivanco, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 9, Chaponniere teaches the method as recited in claim 7. But Chaponniere failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the configuration is received through an Xn communication interface.
However, Vivanco teaches the limitation wherein Applying a scaling factor to the computed ratio depending on the relative orientation between the user equipment and the first base station (Vivanco, page 12, paragraph 114; i.e., [0114] communication network interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chaponniere to substitute RA-PDCCH from Vivanco for FDMA from Chaponniere to preventing successful completion of an attachment process responsive to the comparison result
indicating a suspect condition (Vivanco, page 1, paragraph 5).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Freda, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220182979 A1 discloses schedule grants, contention-based; handover.
Egner, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20170238346 A1 discloses satellite communication, handoff, relative velocity threshold.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416