DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, and 44 and the species corresponding to the structure:
in the reply filed on 9/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 28, 38-39, 41, 43, 51, and 54-57 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 60 and 61 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27-28, 44, 51, and 54-61 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 58-59 are under current examination. Claims 28, 38-39, 41, 43, 51, 54-57, and 60-61 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 4, and 58 recite the limitation “ascaroside-based”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how much ascaroside an oligomer or polymer must contain in order to be considered “ascaroside-based”.
Regarding claim 22, the parenthetical phrases “(e.g….)” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 22, the claim contains a period followed by a new sentence starting with “Where Rc is independently…”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear where the claim ends. Please refer to MPEP 608.01 (m), which states: “each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.”
Claim 23 recites the limitations:
“(iv) -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-CH(OH)-CH-CO2R2”,
“(v) -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-C(O)-CH-CO2R2”,
“(viii) -(CH2)n-CH(OH)-CH-CO2R2”,
“(xii) -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-CH(OH)-CH-CON(R3)2”,
“(xiii) -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-C(O)-CH-CON(R3)2”,
“(xvi) -(CH2)n-CH(OH)-CH-CON(R3)2”, and
“(xvii) -(CH2)n-C(O)-CH-CON(R3)2”.
These limitations render the claim indefinite because each of the recited formulas contain a “-CH-“ moiety, which is an incomplete valency requirement for a neutral carbon atom. Because there is no charge or additional moiety indicated by the claims or specification, this raises the question as to the existence of additional structural features not expressly recited in the claim.
Regarding claims 19-20, 25, 27, 44, and 59, claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 22-23, 25, 27, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klessig (WO2021/007282, publication date: 1/14/2021, cited in the IDS filed 3/24/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Klessig discloses a method for promoting, enhancing, and/or increasing plant growth comprising contacting the target plant and/or its environment with a compound with a chemical structure identical to a compound produced by a pathogen (pg. 2, lines 6-9). The compound may comprise dimers, trimers, oligomers or polymers of ascr#18 (pg. 10 line 31).
Regarding claim 2, it is noted that Klessig is silent with regards to linker moieties between adjacent ascaroside moieties in a dimer, trimer, oligomer or polymer of ascr#18 and therefore reads on the “no linker moieties” limitations of instant claim 2.
[AltContent: ]
Regarding claims 22, 23, 25, 27, and 59, Klessing teaches a compound comprising dimers, trimers, oligomers or polymers of ascr#18 (pg. 10 line 31). Ascr#18 has the structure (pg. 9):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klessig (WO2021/007282, publication date: 1/14/2021, cited in the IDS filed 3/24/2025).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
As noted in the anticipation in the rejection above Klessig anticipated claims 1-2, 22-23, 25, 27, and 59; so in anticipating claims 1-2, 22-23, 25, 27, and 59, said claims are also considered obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Klessig for the reasons set forth below (“lack of novelty is the epitome of obviousness” May, 574 F.2d at 1089, 197 USPQ at 607 (citing in re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1402, 181 USPQ 641, 644 (CCPA 1974))).
Regarding claim 4, Klessig teaches that the pathogen-produced compound may have the formula:
Wherein X may represent NRy, R may be -G-Lp-(C=O)-XR (e.g., a dimer or oligomer), Ry may be H or an optionally substituted moiety selected from C1-12 aliphatic, C1-12 heteroaliphatic, aromatic, and heteroaromatic (pg. 6, lines 8-17). The Examiner considers the optionally substituted Ry moieties to read on the “linker” limitation of the instant claim 4.
Regarding claim 44, Klessing teaches that the compound may be formulated together with an agronomically acceptable carrier. The term “agronomically acceptable carrier” includes any carrier suitable for administration to a plant or soil. These formulations are produced in a known manner, for example by mixing the compounds with agronomically acceptable carrier, such as liquid solvents or solid carriers, optionally with the use of surfactants, including emulsifiers, dispersants, and foam-formers (pg. 12, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 58, Klessing teaches that increased amounts of ascaroside 18 applied to rice seeds results in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 4 and 44, Klessing does not teach a single embodiment or example meeting all limitation of the invention of claims 4 and 44.
Regarding claim 58, Klessing does not teach a number of ascaroside moieties to be included in the oligomer or polymer.
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Within the broader scope of Klessing all of the limitations of the invention of claims 4 and 44 are met. It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to choose the limitations in the instant claims from those disclosed by Klessing and arrive at this conclusion because such was contemplated by Klessing.
Regarding claim 58, the number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal number of ascaroside moieties in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous growth enhancement effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Klessing teaches that an increased amount of ascaroside 18 results in in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19). The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer, and therefore the amount of ascaroside applied to the plant, unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the number of ascaroside moieties, and therefore the amount of ascaroside, present in the composition would have a direct effect on the degree of plant growth enhancement and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klessig (WO2021/007282, publication date: 1/14/2021, cited in the IDS filed 3/24/2025), as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 58-59 above, and further in view of Tsatsakis (EP0609638, publication year: 1994).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 19-20, Klessig discloses the relevant limitations of claim 1 as described in the anticipation rejection above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 19-20, Klessig does not an ascaroside pendant-polymer. However, this deficiency is cured by Tsatsakis.
Tsatsakis teaches polymeric plant growth regulators comprising plant growth regulators chemically bonded to polymers. Such modified plant growth regulators display certain advantages in comparison to simple plant growth regulators, including controlled release of the active component and prolonged action, desirable solubility and low toxicity to living organisms, and a wide region of stimulating concentrations (pg. 3 lines 11-15). In general, the macromolecule of phytoactive polymer is a high molecular weight system in which the unit of bioactive compound is attached to the polymeric chain by a hydrolysable chemical bond (pg. 3
lines 20-22). The phytoactive polymer has a structure (pg. 2):
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 19-20, it would have been prima facie obvious to include the ascarosides of Klessig as the pendant bioactive compounds of Tsatsakis. One would have understood in view of Tsatsakis that incorporation of a plant growth regulating compound onto a polymer via a hydrolysable bond that results in a composition that allows for the controlled release and prolonged action of the compound. It would have been obvious to incorporate the growth regulating ascarosides of Klessig in such a polymer. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include the ascaroside in the pendant polymer of Tsatsakis in order to facilitate the controlled release and prolonged action of the ascaroside on the target plant. The artisan of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because Klessig teaches that the compound may comprise dimers, trimers, oligomers or polymers of an ascaroside (pg. 10 line 31).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, and 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1, 9, and 14-36 of copending application no. 18/854,175, and
claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 15-19, 21, 23-25, 29-31, and 41-43 of copending application no. 18/867,965.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘175 and ‘965 applications embrace a composition comprising one or more ascarosides. The ascarosides have the structure (I):
wherein Ra and Rb may be hydrogen and Z may be -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-CO2R2 or –(CH2)n-CO2R2, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 40 and R2 is -H. Z may also be -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-C(O)-CH-CON(R3)2, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 40 and R3 may be a polymer chain or a linkage via a bond or a carbon-containing linker moiety to another ascaroside molecule. The composition may comprise ascr#18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 44 and 58 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1, 9, and 14-36 of copending application no. 18/854,175, and
claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 15-19, 21, 23-25, 29-31, and 41-43 of copending application no. 18/867,965,
as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, and 59 above, and further in view of Klessig (WO2021/007282, publication date: 1/14/2021, cited in the IDS filed 3/24/2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘175 and ‘965 applications embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘175 and ‘965 applications do not embrace a agronomically acceptable excipient or additive or twenty to one thousand ascaroside moieties. However, this deficiency is cured by Klessig.
Klessig discloses a method for promoting, enhancing, and/or increasing plant growth comprising contacting the target plant and/or its environment with a compound with a chemical structure identical to a compound produced by a pathogen (pg. 2, lines 6-9). The compound may comprise dimers, trimers, oligomers or polymers of ascr#18 (pg. 10 line 31). Klessing teaches that the compound may be formulated together with an agronomically acceptable carrier. The term “agronomically acceptable carrier” includes any carrier suitable for administration to a plant or soil. These formulations are produced in a known manner, for example by mixing the compounds with agronomically acceptable carrier, such as liquid solvents or solid carriers, optionally with the use of surfactants, including emulsifiers, dispersants, and foam-formers (pg. 12, lines 1-12). Klessing also teaches that increased amounts of ascaroside 18 applied to rice seeds results in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to utilize an agronomically acceptable excipient or additive with the composition embraced by the ‘175 and ‘965 applications. One would have understood in view of Klessig that the ascaroside compounds of the ‘175 and ‘965 applications may be utilized to enhance plant growth and may be formulated with an acceptable carrier or other excipient for application to plants. It would have been obvious to include such a carrier with the composition embraced by the ‘175 and ‘965 applications. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to include the excipient in order to formulate the composition for effective application to plants. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success because Klessing teaches that identical compounds may be utilized in application to plant to enhance growth.
The number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal number of ascaroside moieties in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous growth enhancement effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Klessing teaches that an increased amount of ascaroside 18 results in in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19). The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer, and therefore the amount of ascaroside applied to the plant, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the number of ascaroside moieties, and therefore the amount of ascaroside, present in the composition would have a direct effect on the degree of plant growth enhancement and therefore be an optimizable variable.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 8-22, and 25-26 of copending application no. 18/864,686.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘686 application embrace an ascaroside with the structure (I):
wherein Ra and Rb may be hydrogen or a C2-20 carbonate moiety such as -C(O)ORc. Rc may be a polymer chain. Z may have the structure -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-CO2R2 wherein n is an integer from 1 to 40 and R2 may be a linkage via a bond or a carbon-containing linker moiety to another ascaroside molecule. The ascaroside may be ascr#18. The composition comprises one or more further components such as surfactants, foam-formers, and tackifiers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 58 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 8-22, and 25-26 of copending application no. 18/864,686, as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 59 above, and further in view of Klessig (WO2021/007282, publication date: 1/14/2021, cited in the IDS filed 3/24/2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘686 application embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘686 application do not embrace twenty to one thousand ascaroside moieties. However, this deficiency is cured by Klessig.
Klessig discloses a method for promoting, enhancing, and/or increasing plant growth comprising contacting the target plant and/or its environment with a compound with a chemical structure identical to a compound produced by a pathogen (pg. 2, lines 6-9). The compound may comprise dimers, trimers, oligomers or polymers of ascr#18 (pg. 10 line 31). Klessing also teaches that increased amounts of ascaroside 18 applied to rice seeds results in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19).
The number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal number of ascaroside moieties in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous growth enhancement effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Klessing teaches that an increased amount of ascaroside 18 results in in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19). The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer, and therefore the amount of ascaroside applied to the plant, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the number of ascaroside moieties, and therefore the amount of ascaroside, present in the composition would have a direct effect on the degree of plant growth enhancement and therefore be an optimizable variable.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-32 of co-pending application no. 19/501,654,
claims 1-31 of co-pending application no. 19/504,881, and
claims 1-43 of co-pending application no. 19/511,084.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘654, ‘881, and ‘084 applications embrace a composition comprising one or more ascarosides. The ascarosides have the structure (I):
wherein Ra and Rb may be hydrogen and Z may be -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-CO2R2 or –(CH2)n-CO2R2, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 40 and R2 is -H. Z may also be -CH(CH3)-(CH2)n-C(O)-CH-CON(R3)2, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 40 and R3 may be a polymer chain or a linkage via a bond or a carbon-containing linker moiety to another ascaroside molecule. The composition may comprise ascr#18. The composition may also comprise a filler or one or more pH adjusting agents.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 58 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-32 of co-pending application no. 19/501,654,
claims 1-31 of co-pending application no. 19/504,881, and
claims 1-43 of co-pending application no. 19/511,084,
as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27, 44, and 59 above, and further in view of Klessig (WO2021/007282, publication date: 1/14/2021, cited in the IDS filed 3/24/2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘654, ‘881, and ‘084 applications embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘654, ‘881, and ‘084 applications do not embrace twenty to one thousand ascaroside moieties. However, this deficiency is cured by Klessig.
Klessig discloses a method for promoting, enhancing, and/or increasing plant growth comprising contacting the target plant and/or its environment with a compound with a chemical structure identical to a compound produced by a pathogen (pg. 2, lines 6-9). The compound may comprise dimers, trimers, oligomers or polymers of ascr#18 (pg. 10 line 31). Klessing also teaches that increased amounts of ascaroside 18 applied to rice seeds results in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19).
The number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal number of ascaroside moieties in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous growth enhancement effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Klessing teaches that an increased amount of ascaroside 18 results in in a faster germination/emergence rate for the rice seeds, faster growth for the rice plants, and greater biomass for the rice plants (pg. 17, lines 10-19). The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the number of ascaroside moieties in the oligomer or polymer, and therefore the amount of ascaroside applied to the plant, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the number of ascaroside moieties, and therefore the amount of ascaroside, present in the composition would have a direct effect on the degree of plant growth enhancement and therefore be an optimizable variable.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERS Examiner, Art Unit 1617
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617