DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 30 states “An automated motor vehicle” and this appears as a typo since the limitation ought to read as “The automated motor vehicle” per the Applicant’s claim invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume et al., US 20250249924 A1 (herein, Kume) and in view of Sham et al., US 20220404823 A1 (herein, Sham).
Regarding Claims 11, 21, and 26, Kume discloses, a method for operating a hands-off driving function of an automated motor vehicle (¶[0071] – “The hands-off level 2 mode is an operation mode that does not require the driver to hold the steering wheel, in other words, it is an operation mode that allows hands-off driving.”), the method comprising:
Claim 21 preamble - A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing commands which, upon execution of the commands by a computer (¶[0183] – “The computer program may be stored as instructions executed by a computer on a computer-readable non-transitory tangible storage medium.”), prompt the computer to carry out a method comprising:
Claim 26 preamble - A data processing device for an automated motor vehicle (¶[0067] – “The automated driving ECU 30 is an ECU that executes some or all of the driving operations in place of the driver…”), wherein the data processing device is configured to carry out a method comprising:
determining a first lane model based on image data of a camera installed on the automated motor vehicle, a field of view of which covers at least a part of surroundings of the automated motor vehicle (¶[0085] – “The subject-vehicle lane number may be identified from the map data and the subject-vehicle position data. The identification of the subject-vehicle lane number may be carried out by the camera 111…”);
determining a trajectory of the automated motor vehicle based on the first lane model (¶[0085] – “…the road structure may be identified using map data or the trajectory information of the forward vehicle.”);
controlling automated driving along the determined trajectory (¶[0143] – “… The hands-off capable mode is an operating mode in which the vehicle substantially drives automatically and the driver's hands-off is permitted…”).
Kume discloses automated driving, first lane model and trajectory but does not disclose,
safeguarding the automated driving, the first lane model, and/or the determined trajectory based on sensor data.
However, Sham teaches,
safeguarding the automated driving, the first lane model, and/or the determined trajectory based on sensor data (¶[0051] – “… the lane path management system 200, including: (i) the lane path data repository 202 to ensure the lane path data repository 202 has the most accurate lane path descriptors…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous vehicle as disclosed by Kume to include the safeguarding of the determined trajectory based on the sensor data as taught by Sham. Doing so, provides an increased level of safety due to the safeguard of the autonomous vehicle and passenger/driver during driving operations.
Regarding Claims 12, 22, and 27, modified Kume further teaches, wherein the safeguarding of the automated driving includes detecting a lane departure of the automated motor vehicle based on the sensor data (¶[0094] – “…The behavior pre-notification is the process of notifying the driver of anticipated vehicle behaviors such as lane changes, overtaking, and deceleration….”).
Regarding Claims 13, 23, and 28, modified Kume further teaches, wherein the lane departure is detected based on vibrations in a chassis of the automated motor vehicle and/or interior acoustics of the automated motor vehicle (¶[0102] – “…Notification in the subtle mode refers to a notification that mainly involves image display, without applying vibration to the driver, and with the output volume of the notification sound set to a predetermined level or lower…”).
Regarding Claims 14, 15, 16, 24, and 29, modified Kume further teaches, wherein the safeguarding of the automated driving includes monitoring an acceleration of the automated motor vehicle (¶[0075] – “…, the automated driving ECU 30 performs control for autonomous driving of the vehicle even while in the Level 2 mode. In other words, it performs the recognition of the driving environment, planning of the driving trajectory, and reflection/feedback into the control. Reflection into the control includes speed adjustments through acceleration and deceleration,…”).
Regarding Claims 17, 18, 19, and 25 modified Kume further teaches, wherein the safeguarding of the first lane model and/or the determined trajectory includes determining a second lane model based on the sensor data (FIG. 3 illustrates second lane change and ¶[0085] – “…dentification of the subject-vehicle lane number may be carried out by the camera 111 or the locator 13. The weather and road conditions can be identified by combining the recognition results of the camera 111 with the weather…”).
Regarding Claim 30, modified Kume further teaches, An automated motor vehicle (See above Claim Objection) comprising the data processing device according to claim 26 (ECU – 30).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume et al., US 20250249924 A1 (herein, Kume), in view of Sham et al., US 20220404823 A1 (herein, Sham), and in further view of Jeschke et al., US 20160217688 A1 (herein, Jes).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Kume teaches the first and second lane model and the trajectory but does not teach, wherein the safeguarding of the first lane model and/or the determined trajectory includes a plausibility check in which the first lane model is checked for plausibility based on the second lane model.
However, Jes teaches, wherein the safeguarding of the first lane model and/or the determined trajectory includes a plausibility check in which the first lane model is checked for plausibility based on the second lane model (FIG. 4 and ¶[0052] – “…at least one direction-dependent traffic sign 20 is detected by video sensor system 21 of motor vehicle 7, as shown in FIG. 4. …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous vehicle as disclosed by modified Kume to include a plausibility check a as taught by Jes. Doing so, provides an increased level of safety due to the addition of a plausibility check for the second lane model.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS G DEL VALLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666