DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action in response to communication filed on 10/25/2024.
Claims 21-40 are pending of which claims 21, 28 and 35 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 10-25-2024 is being considered. So far the examiner has determined IEEE P802.11bf/D0.1 is relevant and anticipates the independent claims and may be applied in the future.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 22, 25, 26, 27, and 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al (US 20250185056 A1. The examiner has verified that the document relied for priority fully supports cited portions. )
Regarding claim 21, Jang discloses a sensing responder (i.e. First Station/device in Fig. 1- see paragraphs 42) comprising:
a processor (i.e. Fig. 1 processor 102) and a transceiver (Fig. 1 Transceiver 106) configured to receive, from a sensing initiator (STA 2/device 200 in Fig. 1 as initiator 66, 209, 210 ), a sensing measurement setup request frame initiating a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing setup procedure associated with a sensing measurement instance (See paragraphs 0224 and 0008 indicating second station 200 sending as initiator sensing measurement setup request frame to STA 1 responder) ;
the processor (i.e. Fig. 1 processor 102) and the transceiver (Fig. 1 Transceiver 106) configured to transmit a sensing measurement setup response frame (i.e. see paragraphs 0008 and 0224) to the sensing initiator (Responder/STA 1/Device 100 transmits to STA 2/Device 200 a sensing measurement setup response frame per paragraphs 0008 and 0204) ; and
the processor and the transceiver configured to receive, from the sensing
initiator, a sensing measurement setup termination frame (Per Paragraphs 0008 and 0229 Sensing Initiator STA 2/Device 200 sends a sensing measurement setup termination frame), the sensing measurement setup termination frame (See Figs. 20 and 21) including an indication to terminate the WLAN sensing setup procedure associated with the sensing measurement instance and at least one other WLAN sensing setup procedure associated with at least one other sensing measurement instance (See paragraphs 218, 236, and 263 with respect to Figs. 20 and 21 indicate each measurement setup ID has multiple sensing measurement instances and those intended to be terminated are included in the sensing.), the sensing measurement setup termination frame including a sensing measurement identifier (ID) associated with the sensing measurement instance and at least one sensing measurement ID associated with the at least one other sensing measurement instance. (See paragraphs 218, 236, and 263 with respect to Fig. 20 indicate multiple measurement setup IDs associated with different WLAN procedures. Per Fig. 20 measurement setup ids 0, 2, and 3 are included in the termination frame to be terminated),
Regarding claim 28, Jang discloses a method performed by a sensing responder, (i.e. First Station/device in Fig. 1- see paragraphs 42) the method comprising:
receiving, from a sensing initiator (STA 2/device 200 in Fig. 1 as initiator 66, 209, 210 ), a sensing measurement setup request frame initiating a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing setup procedure associated with a sensing measurement instance (See paragraphs 0224 and 0008 indicating second station 200 sending as initiator sensing measurement setup request frame to STA 1 responder) ;
transmitting a sensing measurement setup response frame (i.e. see paragraphs 0008 and 0224) to the sensing initiator (Responder/STA 1/Device 100 transmits to STA 2/Device 200 a sensing measurement setup response frame per paragraphs 0008 and 0204) ; and
receiving, from the sensing initiator, a sensing measurement setup termination frame (Per Paragraphs 0008 and 0229 Sensing Initiator STA 2/Device 200 sends a sensing measurement setup termination frame), the sensing measurement setup termination frame (See Figs. 20 and 21) including an indication to terminate the WLAN sensing setup procedure associated with the sensing measurement instance and at least one other WLAN sensing setup procedure associated with at least one other sensing measurement instance (See paragraphs 218, 236, and 263 with respect to Figs. 20 and 21 indicate each measurement setup ID has multiple sensing measurement instances and those intended to be terminated are included in the sensing.), the sensing measurement setup termination frame including a sensing measurement identifier (ID) associated with the sensing measurement instance and at least one sensing measurement ID associated with the at least one other sensing measurement instance. (See paragraphs 218, 236, and 263 with respect to Fig. 20 indicate multiple measurement setup IDs associated with different WLAN procedures. Per Fig. 20 measurement setup ids 0, 2, and 3 are included in the termination frame to be terminated).
Regarding claim 22, Jang discloses The sensing responder of claim 21, the processor configured to, in response to the received sensing measurement setup termination frame, release resources allocated for the sensing measurement instance. (See paragraph 219 indicating terminating a measurement setup via a termination frame involves releasing the resource as part of tear down of the session)
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected in the same scope as claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Jang discloses the sensing responder of claim 21, wherein the sensing measurement setup termination frame include a plurality of subfields respectively associated with the sensing measurement instance and the at least one other sensing measurement instance. (See Jang’s Fig. 20 sensing measurement termination frame with plurality subfields with ID 0, ID 1, and ID 2)
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected in the same scope as claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, Jang discloses the sensing responder of claim 21, wherein the sensing measurement setup response frame includes information indicating rejection in response to the sensing measurement setup request frame. (See Paragraph 256 stating “At least one sensing measurement setup response frame may include information for accepting/rejecting parameters, etc. included in at least one sensing measurement setup request frame. Additionally or alternatively, at least one sensing measurement setup response frame may include parameters, etc. related to the sensing measurement setup proposed by the first STA.” See also paragraph 228.)
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected in the same scope as claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, Jang discloses the sensing responder of claim 21, wherein the sensing responder is a non-access point (non-AP) station (STA). (See paragraph 42 on a Non-AP role of 1st Station 100 as a responder. See also paragraphs 50-51)
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected in the same scope as claim 27
Claim(s) 35, 36, 39, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al (US 20240349024 A1.)
Regarding claim 35, Lou discloses a sensing initiator (i.e. Fig. 9 Sensing Initiator = Sensing by Proxy Responder detailed in Fig. 24) comprising:
a processor (i.e. Fig. 24 Processor 610) and a transceiver (i.e. Fig. 24 Transceiver 630) configured to send, to a plurality of sensing responders (i.e. Fig. 9 Sense Responder 1 to Sense Responder N), a respective plurality of sensing measurement setup request frames (Fig. 9 Sensing measurement setup requests frames S2331 and S2332 and S233N sent to Sensing Responder 1 and Sensing Responder 2 and Sensing Responder N) initiating wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing setup procedures associated with a respective plurality of sensing measurement instance (See Fig. 9 one or more measurement senses); the processor (i.e. Fig. 24 Processor 610) and the transceiver (i.e. Fig. 24 Transceiver 630) configured to receive at least one sensing measurement setup response frame from at least one of the plurality of sensing responders (Fig. 9 sensing measurement setup response frames S2341, S2342 and S234N received from Responder 1 and Sensing Responder 2 and Sensing Responder N) ; and the processor (i.e. Fig. 24 Processor 610) and the transceiver configured to transmit(i.e. Fig. 24 Transceiver 630), plurality of sensing responders (Fig. 10 Responders 1 to N like Fig. 9), a sensing measurement setup termination frame (i.e. Fig. 10 Sensing Measurement Setup Terminations S2451 and S2452 sent to Responders 1 and 2), the sensing measurement setup termination frame including an indication to terminate the respective plurality of WLAN sensing setup procedures associated with the respective plurality of sensing measurement instances (See Fig. 17 is the format of termination frame and in paragraph 342 the termination frame includes identification of measurement setup/instance. See paragraphs 344 and 362 too.), the sensing measurement setup termination frame including a plurality of sensing measurement identifiers (IDs) associated with the plurality of sensing measurement instances.(See per paragraphs 97 and 98 under one measurement setup id there are plurality of measurement instances with measurement instance ID and corresponding IDs has to be in the termination frame per paragraph 362)
Regarding claim 36, Lou discloses the sensing initiator of claim 35, the processor configured to, subsequent to the transmission of the sensing measurement setup termination frame, release resources allocate ed for one or more of the plurality of sensing measurement instances. (See Paragraph 94 stating “Sensing measurement setup termination phase: terminating one or more measurement setups, stopping corresponding measurement, and releasing related storage and computing resources.’)
Regarding claim 39, Lou discloses the sensing initiator of claim 36, wherein the at least one sensing measurement setup response frame includes information indicating rejection in response to the sensing measurement setup request. (See Fig. 10 where S2433 Sensing measurement setup request is rejected/refused by Sensing responder N by sending S2443, Sensing Measurement Response with cause value refused)
Regarding claim 40, Lou discloses the sensing initiator of claim 36, wherein the sensing responder is an access point (AP) station (STA). (Per Fig, 8 where second device is an initiator and second device is a responder and both can be access points (APs) per paragraph 115)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Dong et al (US 20260189954 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Jang discloses the sensing responder of claim 21, but fails to disclose the processor and the transceiver configured to send an acknowledgment to the sensing initiator in response to the received sensing measurement termination frame.
Dong, in the same endeavor, discloses the processor and the transceiver configured to send an acknowledgment to the sensing initiator in response to the received sensing measurement termination frame. (See Fig. 6 the sensing measurement setup termination frame is transmitted in step 2 and the responder responds with an acknowledgment frame sent in step 3.)
In view of the above, having Jang’s sensing procedure and then given the well- established teaching of Dong’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Jang’s sensing procedure as taught by Dong’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, since Dong states in paragraph 88 that the modification results in allowing confirmation of the termination of the sensing process.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected in the same scope as claim 23.
Claim(s) 24 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Zhou et al (US 20240314590 A1).
Regarding Claim 24, Jang discloses the sensing responder of claim 21, but fails to disclose the processor and the transceiver configured to send a sensing measurement setup termination response frame to the sensing initiator in response to the received sensing measurement setup termination frame.
Zhou, in the same endeavor, discloses the processor and the transceiver configured to send a sensing measurement setup termination response frame to the sensing initiator in response to the received sensing measurement setup termination frame. (See Fig. 10 A and paragraph 175 where is a sensing measurement setup termination response frame to a sensing measurement setup termination frame request)
In view of the above, having Jang’s sensing procedure and then given the well- established teaching of Zhou’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Jang’s sensing procedure as taught by Zhou’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, since Zhou states in paragraph 175 that the modification results in allowing role confirmation for the termination of the sensing process.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 is rejected in the same scope as claim 24.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of Dong et al (US 20260189954 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Lou discloses the sensing initiator of claim 36, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one sensing measurement setup response frame is an acknowledgement message.
Dong, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein the at least one sensing measurement setup response frame is an acknowledgement message. (See Fig. 6 the sensing measurement setup termination frame is transmitted in step 2 and the responder responds with an acknowledgment frame sent in step 3.)
In view of the above, having Lou’s sensing procedure and then given the well- established teaching of Dong’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lou’s sensing procedure as taught by Dong’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, since Dong states in paragraph 88 that the modification results in allowing confirmation of the termination of the sensing process.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of Zhou et al (US 20240314590 A1).
Regarding Claim 38, Jang discloses the sensing initiator of claim 36, but fails to disclose the processor and the transceiver configured to receive a sensing measurement setup termination response frame to the sensing measurement setup termination frame.
Zhou, in the same endeavor, discloses the processor and the transceiver configured to receive a sensing measurement setup termination response frame to the sensing measurement setup termination frame. (See Fig. 10 A and paragraph 175 where is a sensing measurement setup termination response frame to a sensing measurement setup termination frame request)
In view of the above, having Lou’s sensing procedure and then given the well- established teaching of Zhou’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lou’s sensing procedure as taught by Zhou’s techniques for termination of measurement setup, since Zhou states in paragraph 175 that the modification results in allowing role confirmation for the termination of the sensing process.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474