DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 10/25/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
1a. Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 3-12, and 15 are amended
Claims 1, 3-15 are pending.
Objection
2. The Abstract is objected because an abstract language should be clear and concise and should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure describes.” MPEP 608.01(b). The language “A method of associating a first type of node device and a second type of node device in a network is disclosed.” can be implied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3a. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
3b. Claim 1 recites the limitations " " in line 1 and " " in line 2. Subsequently " " in line 6 and " " in line 8. It is not clear if the " " cited in line 1 is the same as " " cited in line 6. And if " " cited in line 2 is the same as " " cited in line 8. In addition, “repeating the steps of calculating associating for a second number of signals from the second type of node device” at the last paragraph is not clear because it is not clear that the associating and the calculating are for node devices of second type of nodes only or node device between second type of nodes and first type of nodes.
3c. Claims 3-9 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as dependent of claim 1.
3d. Claims 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as according to claim 1. And claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as dependent claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
4a. Claims 1, 5, 7-, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jones et al. (hereinafter “Jones”) (US 2013/0107909 A1) ,an IDS provided reference, in view of Hundal et al. (hereinafter “Hundal”) (US 2004/0132410 A1), an IDS provided reference.
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses a method of associating a first type of node device and a second type of node device in a network ( sensors 113 and 114 are two different types of sensors , Jones [0025]; Fig. 1)), the network comprising a plurality of first type of node devices and a plurality of second type of node devices operatively interconnected with each other ( sensors 113 and sensors114 are two different type sets of sensors are for example the first set signals are signals with high strength and the second set of signals are signals with low strength, Jones [0023]; Fig. 1)), each first type of node device and each second type of node device comprising a wireless communication module ( sensors 1, sensor 2, sensor 3 has respectively com1, com 2, and com 3 , Jones [0031]; Fig. 2)), the method performed by a first type of node device ( the first type of node device is long range radio device , Jones [0030])) and comprising the steps of:
receiving a first number of signals each having a signal strength level from a second type of node device ( accept received signal strength indication (RSSI) values from incoming messages on various frequency channels transmitted by a plurality of neighboring (low range radio device) for each of communication links established with respective neighboring radios in a mesh network, Jones [0142]); where the low range radio device that is the second type of node device is disclosed in [0030]);
calculating a percentage of received signals with a signal strength level higher than a predetermined signal strength threshold (calculate a representative xth percentile RSSI level for the RSSI values accepted for each of the communication links established with the respective neighboring radios; compare the calculated representative xth percentile RSSI level to a predetermined threshold, and utilize the respective communication links to route messages only when the calculated representative xth percentile RSSI level for the respective link is greater than the threshold, Jones [0142])); wherein the method further comprising the steps of: comparing a signal strength level of a further signal received from the second type of node device ( the signal strength received from a radio signal device ( second type of node device) is compared to a threshold level of signal by comparing xth percentile RSSI level to a predetermined threshold , Jones, [0107]; [0142]), determining that the signal strength level of the received further signal is different from signal strength levels of previously received signals by at least a determined amount ( the signal received has a threshold level greater than a predetermined threshold; and the determination of the signal strength level is done by comparing and by calculating xth percentile RSSI level to a predetermined level; where the signal strength of the received signal has a “signal margin” difference, Jones, [0107]);
repeating the steps of calculating for a second number of signals from the second type of node device ( the calculating steps described above for two types of cordless devices for devices of a first types of signal are repeated for devices of a second type of signal; but because of a lack of clarity about if “repeating the steps of calculating for a second number of signals from a second type of node device to a second type of node device” or if “repeating the steps of calculating associating for a second number of signals are from a second type of node devices to a first type node devices ”; for the purpose of examination the Examiner has interpreted that the calculating are for node devices of second type of node devices only” , Jones [0142]); repeating the steps is equated to performing the steps at least second time).
Jones does not disclose associating the first type of node device with the second type of node device if the percentage is higher than a threshold percentage by configuring the first type of node device to react to messages from the second type of node device.
Hundal discloses associating the first type of node device with the second type of node device if the percentage is higher than a threshold percentage by configuring the first type of node device to react to messages from the second type of node device ( Hundal discloses in [0028] that interference between a channel and another one happens when a RSSI threshold is exceeded for the given channel. Because the channel is associated with cordless device, the association between two channels lead to association between two cordless type devices having different frequences. First, In [0004] –[0005], a cordless telephone is disclosed being associated with a device (cordless telephone ); and interference occurs between cordless devices and degradation of a device channel make the communication to switch to a different device channel that correspond to a second type device. Second, in [0028] it is disclosed that when the number of RSSI exceed for a channel , the communication moves to a different channel. Moving to another channel leads to moving to another type device because the channel is associated to the type device when the transmission of data that is equated to a message reach a threshold for a given type of device); repeating the step of associating for a second number of signals from the second type of node device (the associating steps described above for two types of cordless devices for devices of a first types of signal are repeated for devices of a second type of signal; but because of a lack of clarity about if “repeating the steps of associating for a second number of signals from a second type of node device to a second type of node device” or if “repeating the steps of associating for a second number of signals are from a second type of node devices to a first type node devices ”; for the purpose of examination the Examiner has interpreted that the associating are for node devices of second type of nodes only , Hundal [0028]); repeating the steps is equated to performing the steps at least second time).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hundal’s teachings with Jones’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to allow a user to easily identify the validity of the presence of a signal efficiently by using a signal strength level that allows to identify the validity of the presence of a signal efficiently.
Regarding claim 5, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of associating further comprises: associating the first type of node devices with a number of second type of node devices by configuring the first type of node device to react to messages from each of the number of second type of node devices ( various frequency channels are configured for accepting receiving messages from a radio frequency signal transmission using processor-based control that perform the configuration. Messages are routing for avoiding multipath fading issues in message routing , Jones [030]; [0142]; claim 1)).
Regarding claim 7, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein each first type of node device is configured to communicate with each second type of node device by way of a preconfigured device credential (sensor nodes are configured to act as gateway devices as needed or desired when they are communicating in a mesh network where devices are communicating with each other, by configuring the device to act as a gateway as needed, the device is configured to act as a dedicated device because as a dedicated device the configuration requirement for the device that is pre-configuration credential of the device is set before the connection is established Jones [0033]; [0003])).
Regarding claim 12, Jones and Hundal disclose a network system comprising a plurality of first type of node devices and a plurality of second type of node devices operatively interconnected with each other, each first type of node device and each second type of node device comprising a wireless communication module ( sensors 113 and 114 are two different types of sensors that are communicating together, for example signal with high strength and signal with low strength , Jones [0023]; Fig. 1)), wherein a first type of node device is arranged to be associated with a second type of node device ( accept received signal strength indication (RSSI) values from incoming messages on various frequency channels transmitted by a plurality of neighboring radios , Jones [0142])) according to the method of claim l.
Regarding claim 15, Jones and Hundal disclose a computer program product, comprising a computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed on at least one processor ( a memory storing executable instructions executed by a processor , Jones [019])) comprised in a first type of node device, cause said first type of node device to carry out the method according to claim l (where the sensors 113 are equated to the first types of sensors that performs , Jones [0023]; Fig. 1))
4b. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jones, in view of Hundal, and further in view of CAI (CN 103857025 A).
Regarding claim 3, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 1.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose wherein the further signal is received from the second type of node device as a result of a transmitting power adjusting switch (230) of the second type of node device being operated.
CAI discloses wherein the further signal is received from the second type of node device as a result of a transmitting power adjusting switch (230) of the second type of node device being operated (a transmission power that increases when a mode of operation is switching from a first mode operation to a second mode of operation of a second electronic device, CAI, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate CAI’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to efficiently operate using another type of device by adjusting the transmission of power to a transmission of power associated with a second type of device.
Regarding claim 4, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 1.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose the first and second number of signals are received from the second type of node device continuously as a result of a control button of the second type of node device being operated.
CAI discloses the first and second number of signals are received from the second type of node device continuously as a result of a control button of the second type of node device being operated ( a control button is used to transmit infrared signal from a first electronic device to a second electronic device based on greater operation time by using he control button to control the signal, the transmission of signal is being continuously transmitted, CAI, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate CAI’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to improve convenience when wireless low battery devices are communicating.
4c. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jones, in view of Hundal, and further in view of JIYUN et al. (hereinafter “JIYUN”) (JP 2010130542 A).
Regarding claim 6, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 5.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose further comprising the steps of: ranking a plurality of signals respectively received from a plurality of second type of node devices to be associated with the first type of node devices in descending order or ascending order according to signal strength levels of the plurality of signals; associating the first type of node devices with a limited number of highest or lowest ranking second type of node devices of the plurality of second type of node devices.
JIYUN discloses further comprising the steps of: ranking a plurality of signals respectively received from a plurality of second type of node devices to be associated with the first type of node devices in descending order or ascending order according to signal strength levels of the plurality of signals ( priority for each type of other signal is in descending order, JIYUN, Claim 1); associating the first type of node devices with a limited number of highest or lowest ranking second type of node devices of the plurality of second type of node devices ( each type of other radio signal is related to a descending order , JIYUN, Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate JIYUN’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to prioritize efficiently the signals received from different type of secondary signal by having each of the secondary type of signals associated with descending order.
4d. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jones, in view of Hundal, and further in view of CHEN et al. (hereinafter “CHEN”) (US 20200146132 A1) an IDS provided reference.
Regarding claim 8, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication module of the first and second type of node devices comprises the signal strength level comprises a receive signal strength indicator, RSSI ( signal strength indicator is disclosed , Jones [0017])).
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose wherein the wireless communication module of the first and second type of node devices comprises a Zigbee module or a Bluetooth Low Energy, BLE, module.
CHEN discloses wherein the wireless communication module of the first and second type of node devices comprises a Zigbee module or a Bluetooth Low Energy, BLE, module ( a RF energy device is disclosed ( Bluetooth Low Energy is disclosed, CHEN, [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate CHEN’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to detect efficiently when an object is moving in wireless network area by using motion sensors switch for doing so.
4e. Claims 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jones, in view of Hundal, and further in view of Spanos et al. (hereinafter “Spanos”) (US 2021/0279549 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jones and Hundal disclose the method according to claim 1.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose wherein the first type of node devices comprises lighting devices and the second type of node devices comprises sensing devices, in particular, motions sensors.
Spanos discloses wherein the first type of node devices comprises lighting devices and the second type of node devices comprises sensing devices, in particular, motions sensors ( motion sensors and light switches are disclosed, Spanos, [0014])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spanos’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to detect efficiently when an object is moving in wireless network area by using motion sensors switch for doing so.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose the device arranged to perform the method according to claim l was a lighting device.
Spanos discloses a lighting device ( a lighting switch , Jones [0014])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spanos’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to allow a user to identify a visual presence of a signal efficiently by using a lighting switch for doing so.
Regarding claim 13, Jones and Hundal disclose the network system according to claim 12.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose the network system comprises a lighting system, the first type of node devices comprise lighting devices, the second type of node devices comprise sensing devices.
Spanos discloses the network system comprises a lighting system, the first type of node devices comprise lighting devices, the second type of node devices comprise sensing devices ( motion sensors and light switches are disclosed, Spanos, [0014])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spanos’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to allow a user to identify a visual presence of a signal efficiently by using a lighting switch for doing so.
Regarding claim 14, Jones and Hundal disclose the network system according to claim 13.
Jones in view of Hundal do not disclose wherein the sensing devices comprise motions sensors.
Spanos discloses wherein the sensing devices comprise motions sensors ( a motion sensors switch , Jones [0014])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spanos’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to detect efficiently when an object is moving in wireless network area by using motion sensors switch for doing so.
4f. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jones, in view of Hundal, in view of Spanos, and further in view of CAI.
Regarding claim 11, Jones and Hundal disclose do not disclose a sensing device comprising a wireless communication module and arranged to be associated to lighting devices by the method according to claim l.
Spanos discloses a sensing device comprising a wireless communication module and arranged to be associated to lighting devices by the method according to claim l. ( motion sensors and light switches are disclosed, Spanos, [0014]) that are associated to perform the method disclosed by the combination of Jones and Hundal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spanos’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to allow a user to identify a visual presence of a signal efficiently by using a lighting switch for doing so.
Jones in view of Hundal and in view of Spanos do not disclose wherein the sensing device further comprises: a transmitting power adjusting switch arranged for adjusting a transmitting power of the sensing device, and a control button arranged for transmitting a plurality of signals continuously.
CAI discloses wherein the sensing device further comprises: a transmitting power adjusting switch arranged for adjusting a transmitting power of the sensing device, and a control button arranged for transmitting a plurality of signals continuously (a transmission power that increases when a mode of operation is switching from a first mode operation to a second mode of operation of a second electronic device by doing so the signal is continuously being transmitted , CAI, [0063])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spanos’s teachings with Jones’s teachings in view of Hundal’s teachings and in view of Spanos’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to allow a user to identify a visual presence of a signal efficiently by using
Conclusion
/MARIEGEORGES A HENRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455