DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN203777146 U) in view of Monroe et al. (US Patent No. 5919130).
Regarding Claim 1, Feng discloses an otoscope comprising: a body comprising a speculum receiving portion at a first end of said body (see below); an ENT speculum (2) connectable to the speculum receiving portion (Fig. 3), the speculum (2) comprising a longitudinal axis (see below) along which is arranged: a tapered distal portion (see below) having a tool access bore (see below) therethrough, a proximal portion (see below) comprising a connector and having a proximal aperture(fitting around receiving portion of body in Fig. 3) therethrough, and an intermediate portion (see below) intermediate the distal portion and the proximal portion (see below), the distal, intermediate and proximal portions being arranged axially along said longitudinal axis (fig. 1), wherein said proximal aperture and tool access bore are aligned such that they form a first viewing passage (see below), and said otoscope further comprising: an optical output (4) connected to a second end of the body, comprising a viewing aperture which forms a second viewing passage (see below); a handle (7) attachable to the body and comprising a light emitter(6+8+10, Fig. 3 [0013]); wherein said intermediate portion (see below) comprises a tool entry aperture (“passage” 1) through which an ENT tool can access the tool access bore without passing through said proximal aperture in the connector [0014]; wherein the proximal portion of the speculum attaches to the speculum receiving portion such that the first and second viewing passages are aligned (shown below).
Feng shows the intermediate portion is a c-shaped or u-shaped partial tube section with the solid wall of the portion making up part of the 360° circumference while the tool entry aperture makes up a remainder of the 360° circumference (Fig. 2). However, as shown below, the solid wall of the tube appears to be over 250° of the circumference and not in the range of 1°-250° as claimed.
However, the size of the tool entry aperture relative to the rest of the intermediate portion has a direct and predictable effect on the size of tool which can be inserted therein and the range of movement of said tool when inserted therein. For example, a wider opening will allow for a wider tool section to pass through and it would also allow for a tool shaft to pivot further when being placed through the speculum. Further, the instant disclosure describes the 1°-250° angular span of the solid wall section as being merely preferable in paragraph [0052] indicating that the angle “may” be within the claimed range, and offering other acceptable ranges (e.g., 1-359 degrees, specification at para. [0052]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angular span of the solid wall of the intermediate section (relative to the spacing of the tool entry aperture) to have an angle between 1 and 250 degrees as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Feng is silent to the first end of the body comprising one or more optics (e.g. lenses).
Monroe discloses an otoscope in the same field of endeavor which comprises an otoscope body (28, fig. 14) with specula (74) attached. The tip of the otoscope received in the specula(74) includes a lens (40) to focus an image of the target (col. 9; ln. 25-57). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a lens within the first end of the body of Feng as taught by Monroe in order to focus the image of the target.
Regarding Claim 2, said tool entry aperture(“passage” 1 of Feng) is configured such that an ENT tool can access the tool access bore at an angle incident to said longitudinal axis (tool can come at an angle and intersect the longitudinal axis through the passage).
Regarding Claim 4, said tool entry aperture is formed as a cut-away portion of the intermediate portion (fig. 2 , Feng).
Regarding Claim 5, said connector is a threaded connector, (see Feng translation of [0014], “the speculum 2 end in a projecting thread, 3 is provided with a corresponding screw thread in speculum 2, in endoscopic device 2 and 3 through screw thread connection”).
Regarding Claim 6, the proximal portion of the speculum (2) comprises radially outwardly protruding protrusions (see Feng figures below).
Regarding Claim 7, the speculum (2) is single-use (the speculum, regardless of material, is fully capable of being discarded after a single use).
Regarding Claim 9, the distal, intermediate and proximal portions are formed from a single piece of material (shown as single piece in Feng Fig. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 10, the device of Feng in view of Monroe is described in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Feng is silent to wherein the distal portion is removable from the intermediate and proximal portions. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the speculum in a variety of pieces such that the distal portion would be removable in order to have interchangeability of the distal portion to adjust the length of the speculum or tip material. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)
Regarding Claim 11, the optical output (4, Feng) comprises an eyepiece (“observing magnifier” [0005]).
Regarding Claim 12, (as best understood) the eyepiece comprises one or more magnification lenses or optics (described as a magnifier by Feng, see [0005, 0014]).
Claim(s) 13 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN203777146 U) in view of Monroe et al. (US Patent No. 5919130) in further view of Perkins et al. (US Patent No. 11096627 B2).
Regarding Claim 13, Feng in view of Monroe discloses the otoscope as described in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Feng in view of Monroe is silent to a portable electronic device comprising a camera, a display and a camera adapter for attaching the otoscope of claim 1 to the portable electronic device such that the camera is aligned with the second viewing passage.
Perkins discloses an otoscope (160, Fig. 2f-2i, col. 9; ln. 5-21) with viewing device in the same field of endeavor. Perkins teaches attaching a portable electronic device (smart phone) comprising a camera, a display with a camera adapter to an otoscope to align with the viewing window of the otoscope (col. 9; ln. 5-52) in order to be able to use the single otoscope under different operating modes due to the capabilities of the smart phone (col. 1; ln. 15-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a smart phone (having camera and display) with a camera adapter with the otoscope of Feng in view of Monroe as taught by Perkins in order to allow the user to use different operating modes of a smart phone to assist in diagnosing or treating the patient.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN203777146 U) in view of Monroe et al. (US Patent No. 5919130) in further view of Clark et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0172427 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Feng discloses an otoscope comprising: a body comprising a speculum receiving portion at a first end of said body (see below); an ENT speculum (2) connectable to the speculum receiving portion (Fig. 3), the speculum (2) comprising a longitudinal axis (see below) along which is arranged: a tapered distal portion (see below) having a tool access bore (see below) therethrough, a proximal portion (see below) comprising a connector and having a proximal aperture(fitting around receiving portion of body in Fig. 3) therethrough, and an intermediate portion (see below) intermediate the distal portion and the proximal portion (see below), the distal, intermediate and proximal portions being arranged axially along said longitudinal axis (fig. 1), wherein said proximal aperture and tool access bore are aligned such that they form a first viewing passage (see below), and said otoscope further comprising: an optical output (4) connected to a second end of the body, comprising a viewing aperture which forms a second viewing passage (see below); a handle (7) attachable to the body and comprising a light emitter(6+8+10, Fig. 3 [0013]); wherein said intermediate portion (see below) comprises a tool entry aperture (“passage” 1) through which an ENT tool can access the tool access bore without passing through said proximal aperture in the connector [0014]; wherein the proximal portion of the speculum attaches to the speculum receiving portion such that the first and second viewing passages are aligned (shown below); wherein when the handle (7) is connected to the body, light produced by the light emitter (6+8+10) is directed down the speculum towards the tool access bore.
Feng shows the intermediate portion is a c-shaped or u-shaped partial tube section with the solid wall of the portion making up part of the 360° circumference while the tool entry aperture makes up a remainder of the 360° circumference (Fig. 2). However, as shown below, the solid wall of the tube appears to be over 250° of the circumference and not in the range of 1°-250° as claimed.
However, the size of the tool entry aperture relative to the rest of the intermediate portion has a direct and predictable effect on the size of tool which can be inserted therein and the range of movement of said tool when inserted therein. For example, a wider opening will allow for a wider tool section to pass through and it would also allow for a tool shaft to pivot further when being placed through the speculum. Further, the instant disclosure describes the 1°-250° angular span of the solid wall section as being merely preferable in paragraph [0052] indicating that the angle “may” be within the claimed range, and offering other acceptable ranges (e.g., 1-359 degrees, specification at para. [0052]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angular span of the solid wall of the intermediate section (relative to the spacing of the tool entry aperture) to have an angle between 1 and 250 degrees as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Feng is silent to the first end of the body comprising one or more optics (e.g. lenses).
Monroe discloses an otoscope in the same field of endeavor which comprises an otoscope body (28, fig. 14) with specula (74) attached. The tip of the otoscope received in the specula(74) includes a lens (40) to focus an image of the target (col. 9; ln. 25-57). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a lens within the first end of the body of Feng as taught by Monroe in order to focus the image of the target. By having optics at the end of the body, the light from the light emitter would pass through the optics before reaching the tool access bore.
Feng in view of Monroe is silent to the components being provided in a kit.
Clark disclose otoscope devices in the same field of endeavor. Clark disclose providing the otoscope devices and specula in a kit along with other components and spare parts [0054]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the components of the device of Feng in view of Monroe in a kit as taught by Clark in order to supply all necessary components together to the end user.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN203777146 U) in view of Monroe et al. (US Patent No. 5919130) in further view of Baker et al. (US Publication No. 2014/0039262 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, the device of Feng in view of Monroe is described in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Feng is silent to the dimensions of the specula, in particular wherein said intermediate portion is between 20mm and 50mm (2-5 cm) in length.
Baker discloses an otoscope speculum in the same field of endeavor. Baker discloses that the length of the speculum body is 2-5 cm [0024]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the body of the speculum 5 cm (50 mm) in length as taught by Baker since this is shown to be a suitable dimension for an otoscope speculum. It would have been obvious to dimension the intermediate portion of Feng to be a dimension which falls within the range of 2-5 cm since this is a major portion of the overall speculum and optimizing the length of the intermediate section would allow the device to optimize fit within a patient’s ear canal . "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN203777146 U) in view of Monroe et al. (US Patent No. 5919130) in further view of Kwong (US Publication NO. 2020/0178776 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the device of Feng in view of Monroe is described in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Feng is silent to the material of the speculum being that such that the speculum is autoclavable.
Kwong discloses an otoscope speculum in the same field of endeavor. Kwong teaches that the speculum may be made from materials which allow it to be autoclaved in order to sterilize the speculum [0059]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the speculum of Feng in view of Monroe from an autoclavable material as taught by Kwong in order to be able to sanitize the speculum.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773