DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 and 12/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rico Alvarino et al. (WO 2019/213267 A1), Rico Alvarino hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Rico Alvarino teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 3, 6, 8, 11-14 & ¶0026 - An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory);
configure a reference signal that is associated with a communication element and indicates a potential interference from the apparatus; (¶0068 - The techniques include a signal transmitted by a base station that enhances detection of interference between the aggressor base station and the victim base station. The signal may be referred to as a remote interference reference signal (RI-RS). ¶0120 - For example, RI-RS 220 may be transmitted in a first special subframe in a radio frame or with a periodicity that is different from some other CSI-RS periodicities. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. In some cases, multiple candidate aggressor base stations 105 may transmit indications of RI-RS. Base station l05-b may detect the RI-RS 220 and determine which of the base stations 105 is causing or experiencing interference based on the RI-RS 220 and the indications. Please also see ¶0126);
and transmit, prior to the communication element being used for a transmission, a first signaling that includes the reference signal (¶0068 - In cases where the aggressor base station transmits the RI-RS, the aggressor base station may transmit the RI-RS at the end of the downlink TTI which is anticipated to overlap with the uplink transmission and result in interference. The victim base station may identify the aggressor base station based on the signal and measure the interference caused by the aggressor base station. Fig. 6 & ¶0157 - If base station l05-b cannot detect the source of the interference, base station l05-b may send an overload indication at 615 to base station l05-a (e.g., and other neighboring base stations) based on detecting the interference. The overload indication may include information related to the interfered time-frequency resources. ¶0158 - In some cases, the request for RI-RS is based on the indication of remote interference sent in response to the overload indication).
Re. Claim 2, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 1.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the communication element is at least one of a plurality of time resources, all resources associated in a time duration, a plurality of frequency resources, all resources in a frequency range, one or multiple spatial relations, a communication channel, or a second reference signal (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0115 - For example, base station l05-a may transmit an RI-RS 220 in the downlink transmission, which base station l05-b can reliably detect to identify interference. In some cases, the RI-RS 220 may be based on or re-use resources of another signal design, such as CSI-RS, CRS, or TRS. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. ¶0218 - The RI- RS may in some cases be based on another signal, such as a CSI-RS, a CRS, or a TRS, or other signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses second reference signal).
Re. Claim 3, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 2.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the plurality of time resources comprises at least one of a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, a plurality of slots, or a time duration (Fig. 3-6 & ¶0115 - For example, base station l05-a may transmit an RI-RS 220 in the downlink transmission, which base station l05-b can reliably detect to identify interference. In some cases, the RI-RS 220 may be based on or re-use resources of another signal design, such as CSI-RS, CRS, or TRS. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. ¶0138 - In some cases, a first mitigation technique may be used for a first set of TTIs, and a second, different mitigation technique may be used for a second set of TTIs. For example, the victim base station 105 may reduce uplink transmission for a first few subframes, then the aggressor base station 105 may reduce downlink transmission for subsequent subframes. Please also see ¶0139. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses time duration (TTI)).
Re. Claim 4, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 2.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the plurality of frequency resources comprises at least one of a frequency band, a frequency sub-band, a carrier frequency, a component carrier, a bandwidth part, or a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Fig. 3-6 & ¶0139 - In some cases, the aggressor base station 105 and the victim base station 105 may use an FDM configuration to mitigate interference. The downlink of the aggressor base station 105 may use a subset of resources that are frequency division multiplexed with resources used for uplink transmissions by the victim base station 105 … In some cases, the FDM configuration may include applying an interference mitigation action to a subset of RBs or UEs 115. For example, the aggressor base station 105 may shorten RBs 0-49 by one OFDM symbol and use the whole downlink TTI in RBs 50-99 … the rate matching behavior may vary for different sets of RBs. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses PRBs).
Re. Claim 5, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 2.
Rico Alvarino further teaches each of the one or multiple spatial relations comprises at least one of a reference signal identifier (RS ID), a quasi- collocation (QCL) relationship with a third reference signal as a source, a transmission configuration indication (TCI), or a spatial relation information parameter (Fig. 3-6 & ¶0051 - the transmitting the RI-RS may include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting a first RI-RS via a first beam, the first RI-RS including a first beam identifier for the first beam. ¶0052 - the transmitting the RI-RS may include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting a second RI-RS via a second beam, the second RI-RS including a second beam identifier for the second beam, where the first and second RI-RS are multiplexed using time domain multiplexing or frequency domain multiplexing, or the first RI-RS is transmitted using a first RI-RS sequence and the second RI-RS is transmitting using a second RI-RS sequence. ¶0126 - For example, the RI-RS 220 may be based on a cell ID, virtual cell ID, antenna ID, beam ID, or other identifiers. ¶0127 - Thus, base station l05-a may include a beam ID or antenna ID in the RI-RS 220. Different beams may be multiplexed differently, such as according to TDM or FDM or using different sequences. The “beam” indicated by the beam ID (e.g., a beam or antenna or antenna array, etc.) may be known by base station l05-b. Base station l05-b may detect different RI-RS resources and measure the interference in those resources. In some cases, the interference may be spatially localized (e.g., coming from a single direction such as by beamforming. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses spatial relation information parameter).
Re. Claim 6, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 2.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the communication channel comprises at least one of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0144 - In some cases, new CSI-RS, reference signal (RS), or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) formats may be introduced to enable the mitigation techniques 400. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Re. Claim 7, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 2.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the reference signal comprises at least one of a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0068 - In some cases, the RI-RS may be based on another signal design, such as a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) … ¶0115 - In some cases, the RI-RS 220 may be based on or re-use resources of another signal design, such as CSI-RS … Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); or a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Re. Claim 8, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 1.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the reference signal while applying a same spatial filter or a same beam as is used to transmit the communication element (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0051 - the transmitting the RI-RS may include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting a first RI-RS via a first beam, the first RI-RS including a first beam identifier for the first beam. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. In some cases, multiple candidate aggressor base stations 105 may transmit indications of RI-RS. Base station l05-b may detect the RI-RS 220 and determine which of the base stations 105 is causing or experiencing interference based on the RI-RS 220 and the indications. Please also see ¶0126. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” and chooses same beam).
Re. Claim 9, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 1.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a target base station (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” and chooses target base station), a second signaling indicating the reference signal and the communication element (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0068 - The techniques include a signal transmitted by a base station that enhances detection of interference between the aggressor base station and the victim base station. The signal may be referred to as a remote interference reference signal (RI-RS). ¶0120 - For example, RI-RS 220 may be transmitted in a first special subframe in a radio frame or with a periodicity that is different from some other CSI-RS periodicities. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. In some cases, multiple candidate aggressor base stations 105 may transmit indications of RI-RS. Base station l05-b may detect the RI-RS 220 and determine which of the base stations 105 is causing or experiencing interference based on the RI-RS 220 and the indications. Please also see ¶0126);
Re. Claim 11, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 9.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the AMF or the target base station (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” and chooses target base station), an interference report; (Fig. 4-6 & ¶0052 - the interference report includes at least one of a location of the second base station, an observed delay at the second base station associated with the first cell, detected power information for one or more time-frequency resources, detected signal strength for the RI-RS, or a detected transmission parameter for the RI-RS. ¶0117 - Base station l05-b may send a measurement of the received interference to base station l05-a (e.g., via backhaul links l34-a). In some cases, the measurement report may include the detected RI-RS with the corresponding strength and, if present, beam or antenna information. The measurement report may also include a detected RI-RS numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing) and bandwidth);
take, based at least in part on the interference report, an interference mitigation action; (¶0043 - receiving an interference report from the second base station, the interference report being based on the transmitted RI-RS, and performing an interference mitigation action for a transmission in a second downlink TTI based on the interference report);
and transmit, to the AMF or the target base station, a third signaling indicating the interference mitigation action (Fig. 4 & ¶0141 - In each example, an aggressor base station 105 may transmit control information on a control channel 405. The control information may include DCI indicating resource allocation or TTI structure for the following downlink transmission. For example, the DCI may indicate changes for the downlink transmission corresponding to the selected mitigation technique 400, 401, or 402. Fig. 6 & ¶0162 - At 640, one or more of the base stations 105 may perform the interference mitigation action for the transmission in the second downlink TTI. The interfere mitigation actions are described in more detail in FIGs. 4A, 4B, 4C, 5A, and 5B).
Re. Claim 12, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 11.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the interference mitigation action comprises at least one of turning off a network-controlled repeater, reducing a transmission power of the apparatus, (Fig. 4B & ¶0070 - In some cases, the interference may be mitigated by modifying transmission at the aggressor base station. For example, the aggressor base station may skip or reduce transmission of CRS or CSI-RS in a subframe or slot prior to the guard period. In some other examples, the aggressor base station may transmit with reduced power or skip transmission during the last symbols of the downlink transmission. In some cases, the aggressor base station may adjust transmission of CRS/CSI-RS and either transmit with reduced power or skip transmission during the last symbols. Please also see ¶0138 and ¶0145. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); or changing a beamforming configuration associated with the communication element.
Re. Claim 13, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 1.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the apparatus comprises a base station (Fig. 8 & ¶0172 - FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 that supports management of remote interference in time division duplexing networks in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a device 705 or a base station 105 as described herein).
Re. Claim 17, Rico Alvarino teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 3, 6, 8, 11-14 & ¶0026 - An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory);
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a source base station (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” and chooses source base station), a first signaling indicating a reference signal and an associated communication element; (¶0068 - The techniques include a signal transmitted by a base station that enhances detection of interference between the aggressor base station and the victim base station. The signal may be referred to as a remote interference reference signal (RI-RS). ¶0120 - For example, RI-RS 220 may be transmitted in a first special subframe in a radio frame or with a periodicity that is different from some other CSI-RS periodicities. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. In some cases, multiple candidate aggressor base stations 105 may transmit indications of RI-RS. Base station l05-b may detect the RI-RS 220 and determine which of the base stations 105 is causing or experiencing interference based on the RI-RS 220 and the indications. Please also see ¶0126);
perform at least one of: configure an entity to perform an interference measurement on the reference signal and receive a report from the entity, (¶0006 - The victim base station or aggressor base station may identify the aggressor base station or victim base station, respectively, based on the signal and measure the interference caused by the other base station.
wherein the report comprises an interference estimate; (¶0052 - the interference report includes at least one of a location of the second base station, an observed delay at the second base station associated with the first cell, detected power information for one or more time-frequency resources, detected signal strength for the RI-RS, or a detected transmission parameter for the RI-RS. ¶0117 - Base station l05-b may send a measurement of the received interference to base station l05-a (e.g., via backhaul links l34-a). In some cases, the measurement report may include the detected RI-RS with the corresponding strength and, if present, beam or antenna information. The measurement report may also include a detected RI-RS numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing) and bandwidth);
or perform an interference measurement on the reference signal and obtain an interference estimate; (¶0006 - The victim base station or aggressor base station may identify the aggressor base station or victim base station, respectively, based on the signal and measure the interference caused by the other base station. ¶0052 - the interference report includes at least one of a location of the second base station, an observed delay at the second base station associated with the first cell, detected power information for one or more time-frequency resources, detected signal strength for the RI-RS, or a detected transmission parameter for the RI-RS. ¶0117 - Base station l05-b may send a measurement of the received interference to base station l05-a (e.g., via backhaul links l34-a). In some cases, the measurement report may include the detected RI-RS with the corresponding strength and, if present, beam or antenna information. The measurement report may also include a detected RI-RS numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing) and bandwidth);
and take an adaptation action based in part on the interference estimate (Fig. 4-6 & ¶0053 - the performing the interference mitigation action includes at least one of modifying a reference signal configuration for the first base station, modifying a transmission power for at least one time-frequency resource of the second downlink TTI, modifying a number of symbols of a downlink physical shared channel transmission in the second downlink TTI, suppressing scheduling for at least one beam for the second downlink TTI, or suppressing scheduling for at least one transmission layer for the second downlink TTI. Please also see ¶0161-¶0162).
Re. Claim 18, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 17.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to at least one of the AMF or the source base station (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” and chooses source base station), a second signaling indicating an interference report; (Fig. 3, 6, 8, 11-14 & ¶0025 - The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive, at a first base station … an indication of an RI-RS to be transmitted via a second cell deployed by a second base station, … monitor for the RI-RS transmitted from the second base station in at least a portion of a first uplink TTI of the first TDD configuration, and send an interference report to the second base station, the remote interference report being based on the monitoring for the RI-RS);
and receive, from the at least one of the AMF or the source base station, a third signaling indicating an interference mitigation action taken by the source base station, the AMF, or another network entity (Fig. 4-6 & ¶0161 - At 635, the base stations 105 may configure an interference mitigation action. For example, base station l05-a or base station l05-b, or both, may perform an interference mitigation action for a transmission in a second downlink TTI based on the interference report. The interference mitigation action may also be based on other parameters exchanged via backhaul links, such as cell IDs, TDD configurations, the observed delay of the interference, etc. ¶0162 - At 640, one or more of the base stations 105 may perform the interference mitigation action for the transmission in the second downlink TTI. The interfere mitigation actions are described in more detail in FIGs. 4A, 4B, 4C, 5A, and 5B).
Re. Claim 19, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 17.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the communication element is at least one of a plurality of time resources, all resources associated in a time duration, a plurality of frequency resources, all resources in a frequency range, one or multiple spatial relations, a communication channel, or a reference signal (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0115 - For example, base station l05-a may transmit an RI-RS 220 in the downlink transmission, which base station l05-b can reliably detect to identify interference. In some cases, the RI-RS 220 may be based on or re-use resources of another signal design, such as CSI-RS, CRS, or TRS. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. ¶0218 - The RI- RS may in some cases be based on another signal, such as a CSI-RS, a CRS, or a TRS, or other signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses second reference signal).
Re. Claim 21, Rico Alvarino teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: configuring a reference signal that is associated with a communication element and indicates a potential interference from the apparatus; (Fig. 3, 6, 8, 11-14 & ¶0068 - The techniques include a signal transmitted by a base station that enhances detection of interference between the aggressor base station and the victim base station. The signal may be referred to as a remote interference reference signal (RI-RS). ¶0120 - For example, RI-RS 220 may be transmitted in a first special subframe in a radio frame or with a periodicity that is different from some other CSI-RS periodicities. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. In some cases, multiple candidate aggressor base stations 105 may transmit indications of RI-RS. Base station l05-b may detect the RI-RS 220 and determine which of the base stations 105 is causing or experiencing interference based on the RI-RS 220 and the indications. Please also see ¶0126);
and transmitting, prior to the communication element being used for a transmission, a first signaling that includes the reference signal (¶0068 - In cases where the aggressor base station transmits the RI-RS, the aggressor base station may transmit the RI-RS at the end of the downlink TTI which is anticipated to overlap with the uplink transmission and result in interference. The victim base station may identify the aggressor base station based on the signal and measure the interference caused by the aggressor base station. Fig. 6 & ¶0157 - If base station l05-b cannot detect the source of the interference, base station l05-b may send an overload indication at 615 to base station l05-a (e.g., and other neighboring base stations) based on detecting the interference. The overload indication may include information related to the interfered time-frequency resources.¶0158 - In some cases, the request for RI-RS is based on the indication of remote interference sent in response to the overload indication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0169435 A1), Kang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Rico Alvarino teaches Claim 9.
Yet, Rico Alvarino does not explicitly teach the second signaling further indicates interference reporting information that comprises at least one of an interference threshold and a reporting quantity.
However, in the analogous art, Kang explicitly teaches the second signaling further indicates interference reporting information that comprises at least one of an interference threshold (Fig. 1, 4-5 & ¶0012 - In some embodiments, the at least one of the one or more measurements reported to the AP comprise: a measurement for a potential aggressor wireless device for which a contribution of the potential aggressor wireless device to an overall cross-link interference is above a certain threshold … and/or a measurement for a potential aggressor wireless device for which a difference between the contribution of the potential aggressor wireless device to the overall cross-link interference and a wanted signal strength is above a certain threshold. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); and a reporting quantity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kang to the teaching of Rico Alvarino. The motivation would be because the invention discusses systems and methods for reducing cross-link interference in a wireless system, where cross-link interference measurement and reporting is enabled (Abstract, Kang).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino, and further in view of Abedini et al. (US 2022/0053486 A1), Abedini hereinafter.
Re. Claim 14, Rico Alvarino teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 3, 6, 8, 11-14 & ¶0026 - An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory);
receive a first signaling indicating a configuration of a reference signal associated with a communication element; (¶0068 - The techniques include a signal transmitted by a base station that enhances detection of interference between the aggressor base station and the victim base station. The signal may be referred to as a remote interference reference signal (RI-RS). ¶0120 - For example, RI-RS 220 may be transmitted in a first special subframe in a radio frame or with a periodicity that is different from some other CSI-RS periodicities. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. In some cases, multiple candidate aggressor base stations 105 may transmit indications of RI-RS. Base station l05-b may detect the RI-RS 220 and determine which of the base stations 105 is causing or experiencing interference based on the RI-RS 220 and the indications. Please also see ¶0126);
receive, prior to the communication element being used for a transmission, a second signaling that includes the reference signal; (¶0068 - In cases where the aggressor base station transmits the RI-RS, the aggressor base station may transmit the RI-RS at the end of the downlink TTI which is anticipated to overlap with the uplink transmission and result in interference. The victim base station may identify the aggressor base station based on the signal and measure the interference caused by the aggressor base station. Fig. 6 & ¶0157 - If base station l05-b cannot detect the source of the interference, base station l05-b may send an overload indication at 615 to base station l05-a (e.g., and other neighboring base stations) based on detecting the interference. The overload indication may include information related to the interfered time-frequency resources. ¶0158 - In some cases, the request for RI-RS is based on the indication of remote interference sent in response to the overload indication);
Yet, Rico Alvarino does not explicitly teach and forward the second signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches and forward the second signaling (Fig. 5, 7-9, 12, 20 & ¶0178 - a smart repeater device may combine the “amplify and forward” aspects of a Layer-1 relay with enhancements … all references to a repeater device made herein may be understood as being references to a smart repeater device … a base station or scheduling entities (e.g., a network access node, a gNB, an eNB) shown in any of FIGS. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 19, and/or 21 may control a repeater device that is remote to the base station … a base station controlling a specific repeater device may be the base station that utilizes the specific repeater device to relay traffic. ¶0234 - … the repeater device may forward communication (e.g., traffic and/or control) in both the UL and DL directions … the repeater device may forward communication (e.g., traffic and/or control) in either the UL or DL direction, as determined by a default direction that may be configured to the repeater device. Please also see ¶0179).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Rico Alvarino. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claim 15, Rico Alvarino and Abedini teach Claim 14.
Rico Alvarino further teaches the communication element is at least one of a plurality of time resources, all resources associated in a time duration, a plurality of frequency resources, all resources in a frequency range, one or multiple spatial relations, a communication channel, or a second reference signal (Fig. 3, 6, 11-14 & ¶0115 - For example, base station l05-a may transmit an RI-RS 220 in the downlink transmission, which base station l05-b can reliably detect to identify interference. In some cases, the RI-RS 220 may be based on or re-use resources of another signal design, such as CSI-RS, CRS, or TRS. ¶0121 - The indication of RI-RS may include the periodicity, the resources used, and the sequences used for the RI-RS 220. ¶0218 - The RI- RS may in some cases be based on another signal, such as a CSI-RS, a CRS, or a TRS, or other signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and chooses second reference signal).
Re. Claim 16, Rico Alvarino and Abedini teach Claim 14.
Yet, Rico Alvarino does not explicitly teach the apparatus comprises a network-controlled repeater.
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches the apparatus comprises a network-controlled repeater (Fig. 5, 7-9, 12, 20 & ¶0178 - a smart repeater device may combine the “amplify and forward” aspects of a Layer-1 relay with enhancements … all references to a repeater device made herein may be understood as being references to a smart repeater device … a base station or scheduling entities (e.g., a network access node, a gNB, an eNB) shown in any of FIGS. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 19, and/or 21 may control a repeater device that is remote to the base station … a base station controlling a specific repeater device may be the base station that utilizes the specific repeater device to relay traffic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Rico Alvarino. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ly et al. (WO 2020/024081 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-10.
Luo et al. (US 2019/0363810 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-13.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465