DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/860,119, filed October 25, 2024. This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-11, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 12 and 14 have been cancelled. New Claims 16-22 have been added. Claims 1-11, 13, and 15-22 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority based on an EP application filed on May 3, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 1/23/2026, 10/3/2025, and 10/25/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings (Figure 1) should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control arrangement” in claims 13 and 15.
Regarding “control arrangement” in claims 13 and 15, the specification recites the structure of “The control arrangement comprises a processor 104 and memory 102. The control arrangement 10, or more specifically the processor 104 of the control arrangement 10, is configured to cause the control arrangement 10 to perform all aspects of the method described above and below. This is typically done by running computer program code P stored in the data storage or memory 102 in the processor 104 of the control arrangement 10.” in at least page 20. Therefore the control arrangement is interpreted as a processor and memory to perform the functions recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11, 13, and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue (US-5754967).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches a method for operating a vehicle comprising a drivetrain, said method comprising (Column 1, lines 5-10, "This invention relates to a torque detection apparatus for controlling an anti-lock braking system, a traction controller and the like in a vehicle.") (See also Figure 1 showing an engine and transmission)
determining a windup of the one or more shafts (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1") (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end)
based on angular positions of one or more shafts of the drivetrain at different points along the drivetrain (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end) (See Figure 2 showing the system determining revolution angles of the differential gear on the drive shaft side and the revolution angle of the drive wheels)
estimating a wheel torque of one or more wheels arranged on a driven wheel axle of the vehicle (Column 4, lines 15-20, "A torque detection apparatus for vehicle control according to the present invention claimed in claim 1")
based on the determined windup of the one or more shafts and a stiffness constant representing characteristics of the one or more shafts in-between the different points (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1.")
and using the estimated wheel torque while operating the vehicle (See Figure 5, step S6, here the system is sending the calculated wheel torques to the ABS controller to control braking operations of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches measuring the angular positions using angular position sensors arranged along the driven wheel axle (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end) (See Figure 2 showing the system determining revolution angles of the differential gear on the drive shaft side and the revolution angle of the drive wheels)
and wherein determining a windup of the one or more shafts comprises determining a windup of the driven wheel axle based on an angular displacement between the measured angular positions (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “As described in the foregoing, at a calculation timing of a k-th torque, an engine revolution angle is calculated at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 indicated by "j" in FIG. 10B, and at the same time, a wheel revolution angle is calculated. Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained” here the system is determining a twist angle/windup of the rear/driven wheel axle based on a displacement between the engine revolution angle and the wheel revolution angle).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches wherein measuring the angular positions using angular positions using angular position sensors is performed continually while operating the vehicle (See Figure 5 in which the system determines if the vehicle is in drive and then if the brakes are engaged, if the vehicle is in drive and the brakes are engaged then the process is performed while the vehicle is being operated, the final step of figure 5 is “Return” which restarts the processes for continuous operation).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches wherein the angular positions are provided by a plurality of first sensors arranged to measure angular positions of wheels arranged on the driven wheel axle (Column 12 line 60 – Column 13 line 5, “The torque calculation unit 41 (for the drive shafts) is incorporated in the ABS controller 4 which comprises a microcomputer and an input/output unit, receives revolution angles of the right and left front and rear wheels detected by the wheel revolution sensors 6 for the right and left front and rear wheels and an engine revolution angle detected by the engine revolution sensor 15”)
and at least one second sensor arranged to measure an angular position at a differential gear arranged centrally at the driven wheel axle (Column 8, lines 30-40, “revolution angle detection means for detecting a revolution angle of a differential gear 13 on the propeller shaft side (propeller shaft revolution sensor 33)”).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches wherein the at least one second sensor is arranged to measure an angular position of a drive gear and/or angular positions of side gears of the differential gear (Column 8, lines 30-40, “A torque detection apparatus for vehicle control according to the present invention claimed in claim 17 comprises revolution angle detection means (engine revolution sensor 15) for detecting a revolution angle of a drive source 10 and revolution angle detection means for detecting a revolution angle of a differential gear 13 on the propeller shaft side (propeller shaft revolution sensor 33)”).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises controlling an engine to apply a drive torque on the driven wheel axle based on the estimated wheel torque (Column 1, lines 25-35, “The traction controller (abbreviated as TRC) which suppresses wheel slip at the time of driving the vehicle to improve driving performance is intended to maintain auto body directional stability, steering performance and the optimum driving force of the vehicle by detecting wheel slip and by controlling a throttle valve to reduce an engine torque”).
Regarding claim 11, Inoue teaches a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, said computer program product for operating a vehicle comprising a drivetrain wherein said computer program product comprising computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operations (Column 12 line 60 – Column 13 line 5, “The torque calculation unit 41 (for the drive shafts) is incorporated in the ABS controller 4 which comprises a microcomputer and an input/output unit, receives revolution angles of the right and left front and rear wheels detected by the wheel revolution sensors 6 for the right and left front and rear wheels and an engine revolution angle detected by the engine revolution sensor 15 so as to calculate a torque of each of the drive shafts 14, and outputs the calculated torque to the ABS controller 4,” here the torque calculation unit is implemented a ABS controller which includes a microcomputer containing a processing means and readable medium)
determining a windup of the one or more shafts (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1") (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end)
based on angular positions of one or more shafts of the drivetrain at different points along the drivetrain (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end) (See Figure 2 showing the system determining revolution angles of the differential gear on the drive shaft side and the revolution angle of the drive wheels)
estimating a wheel torque of one or more wheels arranged on a driven wheel axle of the vehicle (Column 4, lines 15-20, "A torque detection apparatus for vehicle control according to the present invention claimed in claim 1")
based on the determined windup of the one or more shafts and a stiffness constant representing characteristics of the one or more shafts in-between the different points (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1.")
and using the estimated wheel torque while operating the vehicle (See Figure 5, step S6, here the system is sending the calculated wheel torques to the ABS controller to control braking operations of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 13, Inoue teaches a sensor arrangement for operating a vehicle comprising a drivetrain, the sensor arrangement comprising (Column 1, lines 5-10, "This invention relates to a torque detection apparatus for controlling an anti-lock braking system, a traction controller and the like in a vehicle.") (See also Figure 1 showing an engine and transmission)
angular position sensors arranged to measure angular positions of one or more shafts of the drivetrain at different points along the drivetrain (Column 12 line 60 – Column 13 line 5, “The torque calculation unit 41 (for the drive shafts) is incorporated in the ABS controller 4 which comprises a microcomputer and an input/output unit, receives revolution angles of the right and left front and rear wheels detected by the wheel revolution sensors 6 for the right and left front and rear wheels and an engine revolution angle detected by the engine revolution sensor 15”)
and a control arrangement configured to (Column 12 line 60 – Column 13 line 5, “The torque calculation unit 41 (for the drive shafts) is incorporated in the ABS controller 4 which comprises a microcomputer and an input/output unit”)
determine a windup of the one or more shafts of the drivetrain (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1") (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end)
based on angular positions provided by the plurality of angular position sensors (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end) (See Figure 2 showing the system determining revolution angles of the differential gear on the drive shaft side and the revolution angle of the drive wheels)
estimate a wheel torque of one or more wheels arranged on the driven wheel axle (Column 4, lines 15-20, "A torque detection apparatus for vehicle control according to the present invention claimed in claim 1")
based on the determined windup and a stiffness constant of the driven wheel axle representing characteristics of the one or more shafts in-between the angular position sensors (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1.")
and use the estimated wheel torque while operating the vehicle (See Figure 5, step S6, here the system is sending the calculated wheel torques to the ABS controller to control braking operations of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Inoue teaches a vehicle comprising a drivetrain and a sensor arrangement for operation the vehicle, said sensor arrangement comprising (Column 1, lines 5-10, "This invention relates to a torque detection apparatus for controlling an anti-lock braking system, a traction controller and the like in a vehicle.") (See also Figure 1 showing an engine and transmission)
angular position sensors arranged to measure angular positions of one or more shafts of the drivetrain at different points along the drivetrain (Column 12 line 60 – Column 13 line 5, “The torque calculation unit 41 (for the drive shafts) is incorporated in the ABS controller 4 which comprises a microcomputer and an input/output unit, receives revolution angles of the right and left front and rear wheels detected by the wheel revolution sensors 6 for the right and left front and rear wheels and an engine revolution angle detected by the engine revolution sensor 15”)
and a control arrangement configured to (Column 12 line 60 – Column 13 line 5, “The torque calculation unit 41 (for the drive shafts) is incorporated in the ABS controller 4 which comprises a microcomputer and an input/output unit”)
determine a windup of the one or more shafts of the drivetrain (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1") (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end)
based on angular positions provided by the plurality of angular position sensors (Column 18 line 60 – Column 19 line 10, “Thereby, a highly accurate engine revolution angle can be obtained at a pulse output timing of the engine revolution sensor 15 and a highly accurate wheel revolution angle can also be obtained due to a high pulse resolution. As the result, a highly accurate twist angle can be obtained,” here the system is teaching detecting a torque of each shaft using a twist angle/windup of the drive shaft using sensors to detect the drive shaft position at the engine end and the position at the wheel end) (See Figure 2 showing the system determining revolution angles of the differential gear on the drive shaft side and the revolution angle of the drive wheels)
estimate a wheel torque of one or more wheels arranged on the driven wheel axle (Column 4, lines 15-20, "A torque detection apparatus for vehicle control according to the present invention claimed in claim 1")
based on the determined windup and a stiffness constant of the driven wheel axle representing characteristics of the one or more shafts in-between the angular position sensors (Column 14, lines 30-35, "This embodiment provides an apparatus for detecting a torque of each of the drive shafts using a relational expression (torsional stiffness of drive shaft).times.(twist angle of drive shaft) shown in the expression 1.")
and use the estimated wheel torque while operating the vehicle (See Figure 5, step S6, here the system is sending the calculated wheel torques to the ABS controller to control braking operations of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 2 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 5 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 6 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 2 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 6 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US-5754967) in view of Nefcy (US-20130297110).
Regarding claim 7, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches wherein the controlling an engine to apply a drive torque comprises increasing or decreasing the drive torque (Column 1, lines 25-35, “The traction controller (abbreviated as TRC) which suppresses wheel slip at the time of driving the vehicle to improve driving performance is intended to maintain auto body directional stability, steering performance and the optimum driving force of the vehicle by detecting wheel slip and by controlling a throttle valve to reduce an engine torque”).
However Inoue does not explicitly teach wherein the controlling an engine to apply a drive torque comprises increasing or decreasing the drive torque upon the wheel torque approaching zero, such that a fast zero crossing is achieved.
Nefcy teaches a hybrid vehicle including an engine and an electric machine which uses a controller to control an output torque including
wherein the controlling an engine to apply a drive torque comprises increasing or decreasing the drive torque (Paragraph [0031], “As a part of the control strategy or algorithm for operation of the vehicle 10, the control system 42 may make an engine 12 torque request (.tau..sub.e) and/or a M/G 14 torque request (.tau..sub.m), as shown in FIG. 1,” here the system can control the engine via torque requests to increase or decrease a drive torque)
upon the wheel torque approaching zero, such that a fast zero crossing is achieved (Paragraph [0034], “At some point during this transition, the driveline 26 passes through a relaxed state with zero torque applied to the wheels 16”) (Paragraph [0039], “The control system 42 is configured to detect, sense, and/or predict the lash region to reduce or mitigate the effect of the backlash. The backlash in the vehicle 10 may be sensed by observing transmission input and output torque, as described below,” here the system is configured to detect this lash region which occurs when the wheel torque is approaching zero) (Paragraph [0041], “By controlling input torque when the vehicle 10 is operating on line 122 as the vehicle accelerates or decelerates along it, the effects of a lash crossing event may be reduced or mitigated,” here the system can control the engine in order to minimize this lash region when the wheel torque approaches zero and achieve a fast crossing).
Inoue and Nefcy are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for measuring and controlling the torque of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the controlling an engine to apply a drive torque comprises increasing or decreasing the drive torque upon the wheel torque approaching zero, such that a fast zero crossing is achieved of Nefcy in the method for determining wheel torque and operating a vehicle of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the drivability of the vehicle and improve the user experience (Paragraph [0008], “the detection of the lash zone and predicting the lash zone may be required for better drivability and to meet user expectations”).
Regarding claim 8, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches determining a drive torque of the engine (Column 24, lines 10-20, “Further, an engine torque, T.sub.-- E, may be obtained and the expressions 39 and 40 may be used to calculate torques of shafts such as drive shafts. The engine torque, T.sub.-- E, can be obtained from an absorbed air flow rate and an engine revolution angle speed detected by an unshown fuel jet controller for the engine 10 using the prestored map. Use of the engine torque, T.sub.-- E, makes it possible to obtain a more accurate torque.”).
However Inoue does not explicitly teach wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating a damping of a gear box of the vehicle by comparing the determined wheel torque and a drive torque of the engine.
Nefcy teaches wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating a damping of a gear box of the vehicle by comparing the determined wheel torque and a drive torque of the engine (Paragraph [0046], “However, the transmission 24 is not perfectly efficient and has some losses. The losses in the transmission may be a function of friction, heat, spin losses or many other factors. The losses in the transmission may be characterized as `proportional losses` and `non-proportional losses`. Proportional losses vary as a function of the current gear and speed, whereas non-proportional losses are independent of torque.”) (Paragraph [0049], “By knowing the ideal torque ratio, or gear ratio, and torque input-output relationship and measuring only a few points of the actual torque ratio input-output relationships, the difference between the slopes of the ideal torque ratio (TR.sub.ideal) and the actual torque ratio (TR.sub.actual) can be determined. By subtracting off the portion of .tau..sub.in that comes from the difference in the slopes between the ideal torque ratio and the actual torque ratio, we can account for the proportional torque losses. Non-proportional losses are represented by T.sub.s. The linear formula for the transmission when accounting for proportional and non-proportional losses, shown as line 116 in FIG. 2, could be written as,” here the system is determining a damping/losses of a transmission by comparing a determined output/wheel torque, with an input/engine torque).
Inoue and Nefcy are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for measuring and controlling the torque of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating a damping of a gear box of the vehicle by comparing the determined wheel torque and a drive torque of the engine of Nefcy in the method for determining wheel torque and operating a vehicle of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the drivability of the vehicle and improve the user experience (Paragraph [0008], “the detection of the lash zone and predicting the lash zone may be required for better drivability and to meet user expectations”).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Inoue further teaches estimating a drive torque of an engine of the vehicle (Column 24, lines 10-20, “Further, an engine torque, T.sub.-- E, may be obtained and the expressions 39 and 40 may be used to calculate torques of shafts such as drive shafts. The engine torque, T.sub.-- E, can be obtained from an absorbed air flow rate and an engine revolution angle speed detected by an unshown fuel jet controller for the engine 10 using the prestored map. Use of the engine torque, T.sub.-- E, makes it possible to obtain a more accurate torque.”)
and measuring, using wheel speed sensors, wheel speeds of the wheels of the driven wheel axle (Column 2, lines 30-40, “vehicle speed signals from front wheel revolution sensors 6A and 6B provided to detect a revolution speed of each front wheel 9 and a rear wheel revolution sensor 6c provided on the propeller shaft 12 to detect a revolution speed of each rear wheel 1”).
However Inoue does not explicitly teach wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating efficiency of a powertrain of the vehicle based on a drive torque of an engine of the vehicle, the measured wheel speeds, and the estimated wheel torque of the driven wheel axle.
Nefcy teaches wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating efficiency of a powertrain of the vehicle based on a drive torque of an engine of the vehicle, the measured wheel speeds, and the estimated wheel torque of the driven wheel axle (Paragraph [0046], “However, the transmission 24 is not perfectly efficient and has some losses. The losses in the transmission may be a function of friction, heat, spin losses or many other factors. The losses in the transmission may be characterized as `proportional losses` and `non-proportional losses`. Proportional losses vary as a function of the current gear and speed, whereas non-proportional losses are independent of torque.”) (Paragraph [0047], “Non-proportional losses, Ts, may be in units of output torque. The non-proportional losses, or spin losses, in the driveline may be a function of driveline output speed”) (Paragraph [0049], “By knowing the ideal torque ratio, or gear ratio, and torque input-output relationship and measuring only a few points of the actual torque ratio input-output relationships, the difference between the slopes of the ideal torque ratio (TR.sub.ideal) and the actual torque ratio (TR.sub.actual) can be determined. By subtracting off the portion of .tau..sub.in that comes from the difference in the slopes between the ideal torque ratio and the actual torque ratio, we can account for the proportional torque losses. Non-proportional losses are represented by T.sub.s. The linear formula for the transmission when accounting for proportional and non-proportional losses, shown as line 116 in FIG. 2, could be written as,” here the system is determining losses/efficiency of the powertrain using a plurality of inputs including an engine/input torque, output/wheel speed/ and output torque).
Inoue and Nefcy are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for measuring and controlling the torque of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating efficiency of a powertrain of the vehicle based on a drive torque of an engine of the vehicle, the measured wheel speeds, and the estimated wheel torque of the driven wheel axle of Nefcy in the method for determining wheel torque and operating a vehicle of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the drivability of the vehicle and improve the user experience (Paragraph [0008], “the detection of the lash zone and predicting the lash zone may be required for better drivability and to meet user expectations”).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US-5754967) in view of Kashiwabara (JP-H0599014).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, however Inoue does not explicitly teach wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating, at a plurality of individual points in time, slip of one or more wheels of the driven wheel axle and estimating a tire-road friction coefficient by analyzing slip for different estimated wheel torques.
Kashiwabara teaches a vehicle which accurately detects a friction coefficient of a road surface including
Detects the axle torque of the drive wheels (Paragraph [0004], “a system that detects the axle torque of the drive wheels”)
wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating, at a plurality of individual points in time, slip of one or more wheels of the driven wheel axle (Paragraph [0008], “Therefore, when a decrease in axle torque is detected under the above conditions, it means that the drive wheels are slipping, and the value of the torque generated at the contact surface of the drive wheels (contact surface torque) immediately before that is equal to the maximum friction force generated between the drive wheels and the road surface multiplied by the diameter of the drive wheels,” here the system is determining a slip of one or more of the wheels)
and estimating a tire-road friction coefficient by analyzing slip for different estimated wheel torques (Paragraph [0017], “If it is determined in step 6 that this is the first time, it is determined that the axle torque Te has decreased as a result of the rear wheel 7 slipping, and since the previous detected axle torque value TW-1 is the maximum axle torque that can be generated for the friction coefficient μ of the current road surface, the friction coefficient μ is calculated backward in step 7 as follows,” here when slip is determined the system uses the axle/wheel torque in order to calculate the friction coefficient).
Inoue and Kashiwabara are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for measuring and controlling the torque of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein using the estimated wheel torque comprises estimating, at a plurality of individual points in time, slip of one or more wheels of the driven wheel axle and estimating a tire-road friction coefficient by analyzing slip for different estimated wheel torques of Kashiwabara in the method for determining wheel torque and operating a vehicle of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the control performance of the vehicle by accurately determining the road surface friction coefficient (Paragraph [0027], “If the angular acceleration of the drive wheels is converted using the axial torque and the running resistance, the road surface friction coefficient can be detected without providing a sensor for directly detecting the angular acceleration. If traction control or the like is performed using such a road surface friction coefficient, control performance can be improved.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Salif (US-20250050851) teaches systems and methods for controlling torque on a heavy duty vehicle by estimating a current applied wheel torque. Sawada (US-20190100114) teaches a control method for a vehicle by controlling a torque command value by calculating a final torque value using dead zone periods. Vath (US-20150177022) teaches a method of determining at least one of a rotational angle position and a rotational speed of a rotating element of a drive train includes arranging at least two sensors.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Examiner, Art Unit 3662