Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites the limitation of “making the diver perform diving work at the target depth”. However, nothing in the specification makes or compels the diver to perform her work once she has reached the target depth. A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty, see MPEP 2173.03. Applicant may overcome the rejection by amending the limitation to recite “permitting the diver to perform diving work at the target depth”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “nitrogen producer” in claims 1 and 2.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: “is made to move down” in claim 1 should read “is configured to move down”; “supplies the nitrogen” in claim 2 should read “is configured to supply the nitrogen”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banjavich (US 3323312) in view of Delp (US 20130047988) in view of Kotliar (US 5799652).
1. Banjavich discloses a diving work support system (c. 1: 41 – 46) comprising: a mother ship (ship supporting the system, the deck illustrated in Fig. 4 and additionally described in c. 11: 40 – 46); a deck decompression chamber mounted on the mother ship (90, c. 8: 3 – 6, c. 11: 40 – 46, Fig. 4); an underwater decompression chamber that is coupleable to the deck decompression chamber and is made to move down from the mother ship to a target depth (10, see Figs. 4 and 5, which is coupleable as per c. 8: 3 – 11, moved down as per c. 5: 8 – 12, and decompressible as per c. 5: 28 – 32, c. 1: 60 – 65); a supply system that is mounted on the mother ship to supply nitrogen to the deck decompression chamber (see c. 8: 71 – 75, where the supplied atmosphere composition is predominately nitrogen gas; the supply system is mounted to the decompression chamber and thus mother ship).
However, Banjavich does not disclose a nitrogen producer that separates nitrogen from air. Nonetheless, Delp discloses a mother ship and decompression chamber (see [0025] and [0014], respectively), wherein a nitrogen producer separates nitrogen from air to provide gas to the decompression chamber (see [0027], [0082], claim 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the supply system of Banjavich to include a PSA nitrogen producer as taught in Delp for the benefit of a suitable control device for providing an atmosphere composition to the decompression chamber, the PSA device reducing the risk of explosion and fire and providing readily available limitless source of gas, see para [0025]. One of ordinary skill in the art would also understand the PSA device to increase storage space by obviating the need for gas canisters.
Banjavich discloses the supply of an atmosphere composition to the decompression chamber, and Delp furthermore discloses supply of nitrogen gas to the decompression chamber as fire propagation retardant per [0080]. However, Banjavich in view of Delp does not disclose that the PSA nitrogen producer supplies nitrogen to the decompression chamber. Nonetheless, Kotliar discloses a breathing chamber (13) comprising a mounted nitrogen producer that separates nitrogen from air and supplies the nitrogen to the breathing chamber (15, see Figs. 1, 2, and 3, Fig. 8, see c. 3: 18 – 34, claim 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the deck decompression chamber supply system of Banjavitch in view of Delp to include a PSA nitrogen producer supplying nitrogen to the chamber, as taught in Kotliar, for the benefit of a suitable device in the control of atmosphere composition within the decompression chamber, and for the benefit of supplying an inert fire propagation retardant. Examiner notes that the modification as outlined may be made with or without the additional supply of PSA provided oxygen to the decompression chamber.
2. Banjavitch as modified discloses the diving work support system according to claim 1, wherein the supply system supplies nitrogen to the underwater decompression chamber separated from the deck decompression chamber, see c. 5: 28 – 38, Fig. 1. As described in claim 1 above, Delp in view of Kotliar renders obvious a nitrogen producer that supplies nitrogen to a decompression chamber. Therefore, according to the teachings of Delp and Kotliar, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the underwater decompression chamber Banjavitch with a PSA nitrogen producer supplying nitrogen to the chamber for the benefit of a suitable device in the control of atmosphere composition within the decompression chamber, and for the benefit of supplying an inert fire propagation retardant.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banjavich (US 3323312) in view of https://adas.org.au/careers/bell-diving-offshore-construction/ (hereinafter, “ADAS”).
3. Banjavich discloses a diving work support method (c. 1: 41 – 46) comprising: supplying nitrogen as an inactive gas for pressurization to a deck decompression chamber (90, see c. 8: 71 – 75, where the supplied atmosphere composition is predominately nitrogen gas; the supplied nitrogen gas component is inherently an inactive gas and contributes to pressurization of the chamber) to which an underwater decompression chamber is coupled (10, see Figs. 4 and 5, which is coupleable as per c. 8: 3 – 11, and decompressible as per c. 5: 28 – 32, c. 1: 60 – 65); separating the underwater decompression chamber including a diver from the deck decompression chamber and making the underwater decompression chamber move down to a target depth (see c. 8: 52 – 57, c. 5: 8 – 12, Fig. 1 versus Fig. 4); and making the diver perform diving work at the target depth (c. 5: 33 – 34).
However, Banjavitch does not disclose making the underwater decompression chamber move down to a target depth that is 40 meters or less. However, ADAS discloses a method in which gas supplied closed bell chambers move down to a target depth that is 40 meters or less (see “overview” of the supplied reference, closed bell diving of 50 m or less is considered to overlap 40 m with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03 (II)). Therefore, according to the teachings of ADAS, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the target depth of Banjavitch to be 40 meters or less for benefit of “shallow sat” diving that enables substantially extended work periods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4227524 – gas supplied decompression chamber
US 3548516 – gas supplied decompression chamber
US 4195949 – gas supplied decompression chamber
US 3478769 – gas supplied decompression chamber
US 20180003684, [0007] – compressed air supplied below 40 m depth
US 10329002 – compressed air supplied below 40 m depth
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799