DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The disclosure does not recite that the application claims the benefits of an international application, PCT/JP2023/016633 filed on 04/27/2023. The applicant is reminded to update the continuity data of their invention. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2020152757 to Miyazaki (hereinafter “Miyazaki”, see English translation provided in IDS filed on 10/25/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki teaches a method for cleaning a surface of an object (dishes) (English translation [0075]) comprising the step of bringing a cleaning liquid obtained by diluting a liquid detergent composition with water into contact with the object surface (English translation [0076 and 0077]), the liquid detergent composition comprising water (English translation [0074, and 0089]), an alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (English translation [0006, and 0011]) (reads on “component (a)”), an amphoteric surfactant (English translation [0006, 0018 and 0022]) (reads on “component (b)”), a nonionic surfactant (English translation [0068]) (reads on “component (c)”), and an enzyme (English translation [0062]) (reads on “component (e)”).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki further teaches that the sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) is an alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester having an alkyl group having 5 to 18 carbons (English translation [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, Miyazaki further teaches that the sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) is a branched alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester having a branched alkyl group with 6 to 14 carbons (English translation [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazaki further teaches that the nonionic surfactant (reads on “component (c)”) is one or more selected from a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether and an alkyl (poly)glycoside (English translation [0068]).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazaki further teaches that the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) is a betaine-type surfactant (English translation [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Miyazaki further teaches that the betaine-type surfactant includes lauryl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut alkyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut oil fatty acid amidopropyl betaine, lauric acid amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut alkyl amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, and coconut oil fatty acid amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine (cocamidopropyl betaine) (English translation [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazaki further teaches that the enzyme (reads on “component (e)”) is one or more selected from amylases and proteases (English translation [0062-0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazaki further teaches that the liquid detergent composition comprises ethanol (reads on “water-soluble organic” and “component (f)”) (English translation [0071, 0081 and 0099]).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazaki further teaches that the liquid detergent composition can comprise alkali metal salts such as sodium and potassium (reads on “inorganic salt”, and “component (g)”) (English translation [0039]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Miyazaki further teaches that the object surface is a hard surface of a hard article, wherein the hard article is tableware and/or a hard article around the kitchen (dishes, pots, knives, chopsticks, spoons, and other tableware) (English translation [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Miyazaki further teaches that the step of bringing the cleaning liquid into contact with the object surface comprises immersing the object into the cleaning liquid (English translation [0076-0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Miyazaki teaches a liquid dishwasher detergent composition comprising an alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (English translation [0006, and 0011]) (reads on “component (a)”), an amphoteric surfactant (English translation [0006, 0018 and 0022]) (reads on “component (b)”), a nonionic surfactant (English translation [0068]) (reads on “component (c)”), and an enzyme (English translation [0062]) (reads on “component (e)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020152757 to Miyazaki (hereinafter “Miyazaki”, see English translation provided in IDS filed on 10/25/2024).
Regarding claim 15, Miyazaki does not teach that a mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition, (b)/(a), is 0.01 or more and 50 or less.
However, the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too low it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the surface of the objects, and/or wastes the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester, while if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too high, it wastes the amphoteric surfactant. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 16, Miyazaki does not teach that a mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition, (b)/(a), is 0.4 or more and 50 or less.
However, the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too low it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the surface of the objects, and/or wastes the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester, while if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too high, it wastes the amphoteric surfactant. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 17, Miyazaki does not teach that a mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition, (b)/(a), is 0.8 or more and 50 or less.
However, the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too low it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the surface of the objects, and/or wastes the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester, while if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too high, it wastes the amphoteric surfactant. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 18, Miyazaki does not teach that a mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition, (b)/(a), is 1.0 or more and 50 or less.
However, the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too low it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the surface of the objects, and/or wastes the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester, while if the mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too high, it wastes the amphoteric surfactant. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate mass ratio of a content of the amphoteric surfactant (reads on “component (b)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding claim 19, Miyazaki does not teach that a mass ratio of a content of the nonionic surfactant (reads on “component (c)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition, (c)/(a), is 0.2 or more and 3 or less.
However, the mass ratio of a content of the the nonionic surfactant (reads on “component (c)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is a result effective variable modifying the cleaning results. For example, if the mass ratio of a content of the nonionic surfactant (reads on “component (c)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too low it risks insufficient removal of contaminants from the surface of the objects, and/or wastes the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester, while if the mass ratio of a content of the nonionic surfactant (reads on “component (c)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition is too high, it wastes the nonionic surfactant. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate mass ratio of a content of the nonionic surfactant (reads on “component (c)”) to a content of the alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester (reads on “component (a)”) in the liquid cleaning agent composition with predictable results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Consult MPEP 2144.05II.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020152757 to Miyazaki (hereinafter “Miyazaki”, see English translation provided in IDS filed on 10/25/2024) in view of DE102014204352 to Buisker et al. (hereinafter “Buisker”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 12, Miyazaki does not teach that a hardness of the water used for diluting the liquid cleaning agent composition is 4°DH or more.
Buisker teaches a method for cleaning hard surfaces with a liquid cleaning agent (dishwashing liquid), wherein the cleaning agent can be first diluted with hard water or very hard water with a hardness of 16 to 32°DH (English translation [0001, 0008, and 0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Miyazaki wherein a hardness of the water used for diluting the liquid cleaning agent composition is from16 to 32°DH with a reasonable expectation of success, since Buisker teaches that it is effective to dilute a liquid cleaning agent (dishwashing liquid) with hard water or very hard water with a hardness from 16 to 32°DH (English translation [0001, 0008, and 0087] of Buisker). In the case where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Consult MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8-16 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/860,090 (reference application, published as US 2025/0257289 to Miyazaki) (hereinafter “US’289”) in view of JP 2020152757 to Miyazaki (hereinafter “Miyazaki”, see English translation provided in IDS filed on 10/25/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’289 claims a similar liquid cleaning agent composition and method for cleaning an object surface comprising, bringing a cleaning liquid obtained by diluting the liquid cleaning agent composition with water into contact with the object surface, the liquid cleaning agent composition comprising water, an alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester or a salt thereof, an amphoteric surfactant, an enzyme, and a surfactant other than an alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester or a salt thereof, an amphoteric surfactant, an enzyme.
Claims 1, 6, 8-16 and 18 do not teach that the liquid cleaning agent composition comprises a nonionic surfactant, wherein the nonionic surfactant is one or more selected from a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether and an alkyl (poly)glycoside, and that the amphoteric surfactant is a betaine-type surfactant, wherein the betaine-type surfactant is one or more selected from an alkylamidopropyl-N,N- dimethyl carboxybetaine and an alkyl-N,N-dimethyl acetic acid betaine.
However, Miyazaki teaches a liquid dishwashing detergent composition (English translation [0007-0008]) and a method of washing dishes with the liquid dishwashing detergent composition (English translation [0075]), the liquid dishwashing detergent composition comprising an alkyl sulfosuccinic acid ester or a salt thereof (English translation [0011]), an amphoteric surfactant (English translation [0018 and 0022]), a nonionic surfactant (English translation [0068]), an enzyme (English translation [0062]), and water (English translation [0074, and 0089]). In addition, Miyazaki teaches that the nonionic surfactant is one or more selected from a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether and an alkyl (poly)glycoside (English translation [0068]). Furthermore, Miyazaki teaches that the amphoteric surfactant is a betaine-type surfactant, such as lauryl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut alkyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut oil fatty acid amidopropyl betaine, lauric acid amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut alkyl amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, and coconut oil fatty acid amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine (cocamidopropyl betaine) (English translation [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teaching of Miyazaki, to include a nonionic surfactant in the liquid cleaning agent composition, wherein the nonionic surfactant is one or more selected from a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether and an alkyl (poly)glycoside, and wherein the amphoteric surfactant is a betaine-type surfactant, wherein the betaine-type surfactant is one or more selected from an alkylamidopropyl-N,N- dimethyl carboxybetaine and an alkyl-N,N-dimethyl acetic acid betaine, since Miyazaki teaches that it is effective to include a nonionic surfactant such as a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether and an alkyl (poly)glycoside (English translation [0068] of Miyazaki), and an amphoteric surfactant is a betaine-type surfactant, such as lauryl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut alkyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut oil fatty acid amidopropyl betaine, lauric acid amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, coconut alkyl amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine, and coconut oil fatty acid amidopropyl dimethylaminoacetic acid betaine (cocamidopropyl betaine) in a liquid detergent composition (English translation [0022] of Miyazaki).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714