DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
Presented arguments filed on August 27, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed on May 27, 2026 have been made of record. Claims 1 - 3, 13, 17 and 18 have been amended. Claims 1- 18 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 8 – 19 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-6, 17 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2020/0213612 A1) in view of YAN et al. (US 2024/0305786 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2020/0213612 A1) referred to as LIU hereinafter, and in view of ZHU et al. (US 2021/0400299 A1) referred to as ZHU hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, LIU teaches a method of video coding (Par. [0004] Devices, systems and methods related to digital video coding, and specifically wherein the AMVR tool is used to refine motion vector resolution during decoding), the method comprising:
receiving input data associated with a current block (Par. [0442], The system 2900 may include input 2902 for receiving video content (i.e. input data)), wherein the input data comprise pixel data for the current block to be encoded (Par. [0442], The video content may be received in a raw or uncompressed format, e.g., 8 or 10 bit multi-component pixel values (i.e. pixel data)) at an encoder side (Par. [0443] the coding tools or operations are used at an encoder and corresponding decoding tools or operations that reverse the results of the coding will be performed by a decoder) or encoded data associated with the current block to be decoded (Par. [0442], The video content may be in a compressed or encoded format (i.e. encoded data)) at a decoder side (Par. [0443] the coding tools or operations are used at an encoder and corresponding decoding tools or operations that reverse the results of the coding will be performed by a decoder), and wherein the current block is coded using uni-prediction or bi-prediction (Par. [0158] In the bilateral matching merge mode, bi-prediction is applied because the motion information of a CU is derived based on the closest match between two blocks along the motion trajectory of the current CU in two different reference pictures. In the template matching merge mode, the encoder can choose among uni-prediction from list0, uni-prediction from list1, or bi-prediction for a CU);
determining at least one of a first MVP (Motion Vector Predictor) and a second MVP for the current block (Par. [0073] FIG. 8 summarizes derivation process for motion vector prediction (i.e. MVP) candidate. Par. [0216], A motion vector predictor (e.g., inherited from a neighboring block MV) is denoted by MVPred(MVPred.sub.X, MVPred.sub.Y) (i.e. first MVP));
determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP (As illustrated in Fig. 28, MVD0 (i.e. first MVD) from reference picture in list 0 and MVD1 (i.e. second MVD) from reference picture in list 1 candidates. See Table 3) based on template matching costs (Par. [0182] the two motion vectors of the bi-prediction are further refined by a bilateral template matching process), comprising at least one of the following:
in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction, each of the template matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a uni-prediction candidate MVbased on a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates and one of the first MVP and the second MVP;
in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Fig. 25, Par. [0182] In a bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal,), each of the template matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV based on at least the first MVP and the second MVP (Par. [0053] When signaling indicates that both of the reference picture lists are to be used, the PU (prediction unit) is produced from two blocks of samples. This is referred to as ‘bi-prediction’. Bi-prediction is available for B-slices only. Par. [0182] –[0183] The template matching operation consists of calculating cost measures between the generated template and the sample region (around the initial prediction block) in the reference picture. For each of the two reference pictures, the MV that yields the minimum template cost is considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one. Nine MV candidates are searched for each list. The nine MV candidates include the original MV and 8 surrounding MVs with one luma sample offset to the original MV in either the horizontal or vertical direction, or both.); and
encoding or decoding the current block by using motion information comprising at least one of a first final MV associated with the first MVP and the first MVD, and a second final MV associated with the second MVP and the second MVD (Par. [0183] The two new MVs (i.e. first and second final MV), i.e., MV0′ and MV1′ as shown in FIG. 25, are used for generating the final bi-prediction results).
LIU does not specifically teach pre-defined set of MVD candidates. Therefore, LIU fails to explicitly teach determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates based on template matching costs, comprising at least one of the following: in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction, each of the template matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates.
However, ZHU teaches determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates based on template matching costs (Par. [0184] MVD mirroring between list 0 and list 1 is assumed as shown in FIG. 21, and bilateral matching is performed to refine the MVs, i.e., to find the best MVD (i.e. first MVD) among several MVD candidates (i.e. pre-defined set of MVD candidates). Par. [0182] the motion vectors are refined by a bilateral template matching process), comprising at least one of the following:
in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0180] In bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal. In the decoder-side motion vector refinement (DMVR) method, the two motion vectors of the bi-prediction are further refined), each of the template matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates (Par. [0184] bilateral matching is performed to refine the MVs, i.e., to find the best MVD among several MVD candidates (i.e. predefined set of MVD candidates). Denote the MVs for two reference picture lists by MVL0(L0X, L0Y), and MVL1(L1X, L1Y). The MVD denoted by (MvdX, MvdY) for list 0 that could minimize the cost function (e.g., SAD) is defined as the best MVD (i.e. determine each cost). For the SAD function, it is defined as the SAD between the reference block of list 0 derived with a motion vector (L0X+MvdX, L0Y+MvdY) in the list 0 reference picture and the reference block of list 1 derived with a motion vector (L1X-MvdX, L1Y-MvdY) in the list 1 reference picture).
References LIU and ZHU are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding apparatus and methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of including a pre-defined set of MVD candidates as suggested by ZHU in the invention of LIU in order to further refine the motion vectors of bi-prediction (See ZHU, Par. [0180]).
Regarding Claim 2, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction (the alternative limitation “in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction” is not required, as Claim 1 recites “determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference)… comprising at least one of the following”), the uni-prediction candidate MV achieving a smallest template matching cost is selected to derive said at least one of the first final MV and the second final MV.
Regarding Claim 3, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Fig. 25, Par. [0182] In a bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal), the bi-prediction candidate MV achieving a smallest matching cost is selected to derive said at least one of the first final MV and the second final MV (Par. [0182]-0183] In DMVR, a bilateral template is generated as the weighted combination of the two prediction blocks, from the initial MV0 of list0 (i.e. first MVP) and MV1 of list1 (i.e. second MVP), respectively, as shown in FIG. 25. The template matching operation consists of calculating cost measures between the generated template and the sample region (around the initial prediction block) in the reference picture. For each of the two reference pictures, the MV that yields the minimum template cost (i.e. smallest matching cost) is considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one).
Regarding Claim 4, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction (the alternative limitation “in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction” is not required, as Claim 1 recites “determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference)… comprising at least one of the following”), said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates corresponds to only one pre-defined set of MVD candidates used for deriving the uni-prediction candidate MV in list 0 or list 1.
Regarding Claim 5, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Fig. 25, Par. [0182] In a bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal).
LIU does not specifically teach pre-defined set of MVD candidates. However, ZHU further teaches said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates corresponds to only one pre-defined set of MVD candidates used for deriving the bi-prediction candidate MV (Par. [0184] MVD mirroring between list 0 and list 1 is assumed as shown in FIG. 21, and bilateral matching is performed to refine the MVs, i.e., to find the best MVD among several MVD candidates (i.e. one pre-defined set of MVD candidates). Denote the MVs for two reference picture lists by MVL0(L0X, L0Y), and MVL1(L1X, L1Y). The MVD denoted by (MvdX, MvdY) for list 0 that could minimize the cost function (e.g., SAD) is defined as the best MVD). It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of including a pre-defined set of MVD candidates as suggested by ZHU in the invention of LIU in order to further refine the motion vectors of bi-prediction (See ZHU, Par. [0180]).
Regarding Claim 6, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Fig. 25, Par. [0182] In a bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal).
LIU does not specifically teach pre-defined set of MVD candidates. However, ZHU further teaches said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates corresponds to two separate pre-defined sets of MVD candidates used for deriving list 0 MV in the bi-prediction candidate MV and list 1 MV in the bi-prediction candidate MV respectively (Par. [0184] MVD mirroring between list 0 and list 1 is assumed as shown in FIG. 21, and bilateral matching is performed to refine the MVs, i.e., to find the best MVD among several MVD candidates (i.e. pre-defined set of MVD candidates). Denote the MVs for two reference picture lists by MVL0(L0X, L0Y), and MVL1(L1X, L1Y) (i.e. two separate MVD candidates)). It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of including a pre-defined set of MVD candidates as suggested by ZHU in the invention of LIU in order to further refine the motion vectors of bi-prediction (See ZHU, Par. [0180]).
Regarding Claim 7, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction or the bi-prediction (Fig. 25, Par. [0182] In a bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal), one or more candidates are derived from an initial MVD (Par. [0121] In an existing implementation, the MV may be derived as follows, e.g., it predicts mvd.sub.1 and mvd.sub.2 are predicted from mvd.sub.0 (i.e. initial MVD)).
LIU does not specifically teach pre-defined set of MVD candidates. However, ZHU further teaches one pre-defined set of MVD candidates are derived from an initial MVD (Par. [0184] MVD mirroring between list 0 and list 1 is assumed as shown in FIG. 21, and bilateral matching is performed to refine the MVs, i.e., to find the best MVD among several MVD candidates (i.e. pre-defined set of MVD candidates). Par. [0185] In the first step, MVD (0, 0) (i.e. initial MVD), (−1, 0), (1, 0), (0, −1), (0, 1) are checked). It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of including a pre-defined set of MVD candidates as suggested by ZHU in the invention of LIU in order to further refine the motion vectors of bi-prediction (See ZHU, Par. [0180]).
Regarding Claim 8, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 7. ZHU further teaches wherein the initial MVD for list 0 or list 1 (Par. [0184] Denote the MVs for two reference picture lists by MVL0(L0X, L0Y), and MVL1(L1X, L1Y)) is signaled or parsed (Par. [0180] In bi-prediction operation, for the prediction of one block region, two prediction blocks, formed using a motion vector (MV) of list0 and a MV of list1, respectively, are combined to form a single prediction signal).
Regarding Claim 9, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 7. ZHU further teaches wherein said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates comprises one or more candidate members determined based on one or more signs of the initial MVD, one or more values of the initial MVD or both (Par. [0173] Direction index represents the direction of the MVD relative to the starting point (i.e. one or more signs). Table 3. Par. [0172] Distance index is motion magnitude information (i.e. one or more values). Distance index indicates the pre-defined distance from the starting point information. Table 2).
Regarding Claim 10, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 9. ZHU further teaches wherein said one or more signs of the initial MVD correspond to plus sign and minus sign (Par. [0173] Direction index represents the direction of the MVD relative to the starting point (i.e. one or more signs). Table 3 - x-axis + − and y-axis + −) .
Regarding Claim 11, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 9. ZHU further teaches wherein said one or more values of the initial MVD correspond to k*(the initial MVD) or 0 (Par. [0185] In the first step, MVD (0, 0), (i.e. initial MVD corresponds to 0)), and wherein k corresponds to N or 1/N, and N is a positive integer (the alternative limitation “correspond to k*(the initial MVD)” is not required, as per the “or” term).
Regarding Claim 12, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 9. ZHU further teaches wherein said one or more values of the initial MVD correspond to (the initial MVD)±b, and wherein b corresponds to an integer or a fractional number (Par. [0197] - [0203] the adopted DMVR design to VTM-4.0 (to be released soon) has the following main features: 25 points SAD-based integer-pel search (i.e. (+ −) 2 refinement search range (i.e. initial MVD ± b), integer is 2).
Regarding Claim 17, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein the template matching costs correspond to distortion between said one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more corresponding neighbouring sample of each reference block (Par. [0182], the bilateral template matching applied in the decoder to perform a distortion-based search between a bilateral template and the reconstruction samples in the reference pictures in order to obtain a refined MV without transmission of additional motion information), and wherein the distortion is measured using one or more metrics comprising SATD, SAD, MSE or SSE (Par. [0269] Denote RD cost (real RD cost, or SATD/SSE/SAD cost plus rough bits cost) of affine mode and AMVP mode as affineCosti and amvpCosti for IMV=i, where in i=0, 1 or 2).
Apparatus claim 18 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to method claims 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above. Claim 18 further recites comprising one or more electronics or processors (See LIU, Fig. 27, Par. [0441], The apparatus 2700 may be used to implement one or more of the methods described herein. The apparatus 2700 may be embodied in a smartphone, tablet, computer, Internet of Things (IoT) receiver, and so on. The apparatus 2700 may include one or more processors 2702, one or more memories 2704 and video processing hardware 2706).
Claims 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2020/0213612 A1), and in view of ZHU et al. (US 2021/0400299 A1), and in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0250580 A1) referred to as Chen hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 13, LIU in view of ZHU teaches Claim 7. ZHU further teaches wherein said at least one pre- efined set of MVD candidates comprises one or more candidate members determined based on one or more signs of the initial MVD (Par. [0173] Direction index represents the direction of the MVD relative to the starting point (i.e. one or more signs). Table 3, - x-axis + − and y-axis + −).
LIU in view of ZHU does not specifically teach a target MVD. Therefore, LIU in view of ZHU fails to explicitly teach a sign for a target MVD candidate is determined from said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates based on the template matching costs.
However, Chen teaches a sign for a target MVD candidate is determined from said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates (Par. [0180] A syntax for a target MVD (Motion Vector Difference) is signaled at an encoder side or parsed at a decoder side without sign information of the target MVD or with reduced sign information of the target MVD by utilizing other information including current permitted band information in step 1430, where the target MVD corresponds to a difference between a current motion vector of the current block and a target IBC candidate) based on the template matching costs (Par. [0165] the MVD sign reorder can be reordered according to L-shape template matching cost).
References LIU, ZHU and Chen are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding apparatus and methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of including a target MVD candidate as suggested by Chen in the inventions of LIU and ZHU in order to reduce bit rate associated with MVD (Motion Vector Difference) (See Chen, Par. [0002]).
Regarding Claim 14, LIU in combination with ZHU and Chen teaches Claim 13. Chen further teaches wherein a value for the target MVD candidate is predefined (Par. [0180] A syntax (i.e. a value) for a target MVD (Motion Vector Difference) is signaled at an encoder side or parsed at a decoder side).
Regarding Claim 15, LIU in combination with ZHU and Chen teaches Claim 13. Chen further teaches wherein a value for the target MVD candidate is signalled or parsed (Par. [0180] A syntax (i.e. a value) for a target MVD (Motion Vector Difference) is signaled at an encoder side or parsed at a decoder side).
Regarding Claim 16, LIU in combination with ZHU and Chen teaches Claim 15. Chen further teaches wherein one or more syntaxes related to the value for the target MVD candidate are signaled or parsed at a block level, SPS- level, PPS-level, APS-level, PH-level, SH-level or a combination thereof (Par. [0155] The MVD subtraction mode (i.e., subtracting the horizontal part or vertical part or both) can be signaled in the picture header, or slice header, or CTU level, or CU level. Par. [0180] A syntax (i.e. a value) for a target MVD (Motion Vector Difference) is signaled at an encoder side or parsed at a decoder side).
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ZHAO et al. (US 2023/0328227 A1) teaches joint coding of motion vector difference using template matching based scaling factor derivation. Chen et al. (US 2023/0199213 A1) teaches template-matching based adaptive motion vector resolution by using an adaptive order of motion vector resolutions. LIU et al. (US 2021/0203945 A1) teaches motion vector precision in merge with motion vector difference mode.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425