DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on April 14, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1 – 18 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s submitted Replacement Drawings and Amendments to the Specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 14, 2026. Accordingly, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 10 – 16 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-6, 17 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2020/0213612 A1) in view of YAN et al. (US 2024/0305786 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on pages 12 and 14 that “The matching costs of claim 1 are understood as including template matching costs”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., template matching costs) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues on pages 13 and 14 that “Yan does not disclose, teach, or suggest "at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates" and "a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates". Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As found in the Non-Final office action filed on January 14, 2026, LIU is relied upon for teaching at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates, as illustrated in Fig. 28, MVD0 and MVD1 (i.e. first and second MVD) from list 0 and list 1 candidates, Par. [0144], the list size is set to two (i.e. pre-defined set of candidates). LIU does not specifically teach each of the matching costs is determined by a bi-prediction candidate MV. Yan is relied upon for teaching this limitation “in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction” in Par. [0102], when the video block is coded with bi-prediction using the AMVP mode, the bilateral matching technique disclosed herein can be applied to derive one or more MVDs. Par. [0140] In the second exemplary case where the video block is coded using the bi-prediction scheme, the processor may perform MVD prediction 618 to determine one or more MVDs for the video block using the bilateral matching technique and further teaching “each of the matching costs is determined” in Par. [0146], for each pair of the first MVD candidates and the second MVD candidates, the processor may determine a matching cost. Yan was further relied upon for teaching “pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV” in Fig. 5B, initial MV, Par. [0094], a template can include a top neighboring block and/or a left neighbouring block of the current CU in the current video frame. A reference region of the template may have the same size as the template and may include a first reference block and/or a second reference block determined by a motion vector candidate from a reference frame, where the template matching technique can be cascaded with a bilateral matching (i.e. bi-prediction) process in merge modes and “based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of candidates” in Par. [0149], MVD prediction 618 under the bi-prediction scheme, the one or more MVDs to be derived (i.e. candidate) on the decoder side may include a pair of MVDs, including (a) the first MVD for the first motion vector associated with the first reference frame list and (b) the second MVD for the second motion vector associated with the second reference frame list). It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying determining each matching costs by bi-prediction candidate MV as suggested by YAN in the invention of LIU in order to check with the bilateral matching technique which leads to the minimum matching cost being selected for the derivation of the first MVD and the second MVD on the decoder side (See YAN, Par. [0149]).
Applicant argues on page 13 that “Liu in view of Yan fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "determining at least one of a first MVP (Motion Vector Predictor) and a second MVP for the current block”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As found in the Non-Final Office action, LIU teaches determining at least one of a first MVP (Motion Vector Predictor) and a second MVP for the current block in Par. [0216], A motion vector predictor (e.g., inherited from a neighboring block MV) is denoted by MVPred(MVPred.sub.X, MVPred.sub.Y), Par. [0115], FIG. 15 shows an example of an affine motion field of a block 1400 described by two control point motion vectors V.sub.0 (i.e. first MVP) and V.sub.1 (i.e. second MVP))). LIU does not specifically teach each of the matching costs is determined by a bi-prediction candidate MV. Yan is relied upon for teaching this limitation “in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction” in Par. [0102], when the video block is coded with bi-prediction using the AMVP mode, the bilateral matching technique disclosed herein can be applied to derive one or more MVDs. Par. [0140] In the second exemplary case where the video block is coded using the bi-prediction scheme, the processor may perform MVD prediction 618 to determine one or more MVDs for the video block using the bilateral matching technique and “each of the matching costs is determined” in Par. [0146], for each pair of the first MVD candidates and the second MVD candidates, the processor may determine a matching cost. It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying determining each matching costs by bi-prediction candidate MV as suggested by YAN in the invention of LIU in order to check with the bilateral matching technique which leads to the minimum matching cost being selected for the derivation of the first MVD and the second MVD on the decoder side (See YAN, Par. [0149]).
Accordingly, LIU in view of Yan teaches the limitations as claimed. Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2020/0213612 A1) referred to as LIU hereinafter, and in view of YAN et al. (US 2024/0305786 A1) referred to as YAN hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, LIU teaches a method of video coding (Par. [0004] Devices, systems and methods related to digital video coding, and specifically, to motion vector predictor derivation and signaling for affine mode with adaptive motion vector resolution (AMVR)), the method comprising:
receiving input data associated with a current block (Par. [0442], The system 2900 may include input 2902 for receiving video content), wherein the input data comprise pixel data for the current block to be encoded (Par. [0442], The video content may be received in a raw or uncompressed format, e.g., 8 or 10 bit multi-component pixel values) at an encoder side (Par. [0443] the coding tools or operations are used at an encoder and corresponding decoding tools or operations that reverse the results of the coding will be performed by a decoder) or encoded data associated with the current block to be decoded (Par. [0442], The video content may be in a compressed or encoded format) at a decoder side (Par. [0443] the coding tools or operations are used at an encoder and corresponding decoding tools or operations that reverse the results of the coding will be performed by a decoder), and wherein the current block is coded using uni-prediction or bi-prediction (Par. [0158], In the template matching merge mode, the encoder can choose among uni-prediction from list0, uni-prediction from list1, or bi-prediction for a CU);
determining at least one of a first MVP (Motion Vector Predictor) and a second MVP for the current block (Par. [0216], A motion vector predictor (e.g., inherited from a neighboring block MV) is denoted by MVPred(MVPred.sub.X, MVPred.sub.Y), Par. [0115], FIG. 15 shows an example of an affine motion field of a block 1400 described by two control point motion vectors V.sub.0 (i.e. first MVP) and V.sub.1 (i.e. second MVP)));
determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates (As illustrated in Fig. 28, MVD0 and MVD1 (i.e. first and second MVD) from list 0 and list 1 candidates, Par. [0144], the list size is set to two (i.e. pre-defined set of candidates)) based on matching costs (Par. [0138] The PMMVD mode is a special merge mode based on the Frame-Rate Up Conversion (FRUC) method, Par. [0140], the decision on whether using FRUC merge mode for a CU is based on RD cost selection as done for normal merge candidate. For example, multiple matching modes (e.g., bilateral matching and template matching) are checked for a CU by using RD cost selection. The one leading to the minimal cost is further compared to other CU modes. If a FRUC matching mode is the most efficient one, FRUC flag is set to true for the CU and the related matching mode is used.), comprising at least one of the following:
in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction (Par. [0158]-[0164] The selection can be based on a template matching cost as follows: if cost0<=cost1 uni-prediction from list0 is used; Otherwise, uni-prediction from list1 is used), each of the matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a uni-prediction candidate MV based on a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates and one of the first MVP and the second MVP;
in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0158]-[0160], The selection can be based on a template matching cost as follows: If costBi<=factor*min (cost0, cost1) Par. [0160] bi-prediction is used), the matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV (Par. [0183] In DMVR, a bilateral template is generated as the weighted combination of the two prediction blocks, from the initial MV0 of list0 (i.e. first MVP) and MV1 of list1 (i.e. second MVP), respectively, as shown in FIG. 25. The template matching operation consists of calculating cost measures between the generated template (i.e. neighboring sample of current block) and the sample region (around the initial prediction block) in the reference picture (i.e. neighboring sample of reference block). For each of the two reference pictures, the MV that yields the minimum template cost is considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one. Nine MV candidates are searched for each list. The nine MV candidates include the original MV and 8 surrounding MVs with one luma sample offset to the original MV in either the horizontal or vertical direction, or both. The two new MVs, i.e., MV0′ and MV1′ as shown in FIG. 25, are used for generating the final bi-prediction results); and
encoding or decoding the current block by using motion information comprising at least one of a first final MV associated with the first MVP and the first MVD, and a second final MV associated with the second MVP and the second MVD (Par. [0183] The two new MVs (i.e. first and second final MV), i.e., MV0′ and MV1′ as shown in FIG. 25, are used for generating the final bi-prediction results).
LIU does not specifically teach each of the matching costs is determined by a bi-prediction candidate MV. Therefore, LIU fails to explicitly teach determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates based on matching costs, comprising at least one of the following: in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction, each of the matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of candidates.
However, YAN teaches determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates (As illustrated in Fig. 5A, MVdiff and -MVdiff (i.e. first and second MVD), MV0 MV1 (i.e. first and second MVP), 1st reference frame in list 0, 2nd reference frame in list 1 (i.e. candidates), Par. [0069], The video decoder 30 may construct the reference frame lists, e.g., List 0 and List 1, using default construction techniques (i.e. pre-defined candidate list) based on reference frames stored in the DPB 92) based on matching costs (Par. [0147], the processor may derive the first MVD for the video block based on a first MVD candidate associated with the minimum matching cost among the plurality of matching costs, where a MVD can be calculated to be a difference between the motion vector and the motion vector predictor (e.g., MVD=the motion vector−the motion vector predictor) see Par. [0105]), in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0102], when the video block is coded with bi-prediction using the AMVP mode, the bilateral matching technique disclosed herein can be applied to derive one or more MVDs. Par. [0140] In the second exemplary case where the video block is coded using the bi-prediction scheme, the processor may perform MVD prediction 618 to determine one or more MVDs for the video block using the bilateral matching technique), each of the matching costs is determined (Par. [0146], for each pair of the first MVD candidates and the second MVD candidates, the processor may determine a matching cost) between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block (Fig. 5B, Par. [0094], template matching technique is a decoder-side MV derivation method configured to refine motion information of a current video block (e.g., a current CU) by finding the closest match between a template in a current video frame and a reference region in a reference frame) pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV (Fig. 5B, initial MV, Par. [0094], a template can include a top neighboring block and/or a left neighbouring block of the current CU in the current video frame. A reference region of the template may have the same size as the template and may include a first reference block and/or a second reference block determined by a motion vector candidate from a reference frame, where the template matching technique can be cascaded with a bilateral matching (i.e. bi-prediction) process in merge modes) based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of candidates (Par. [0149], MVD prediction 618 under the bi-prediction scheme, the one or more MVDs to be derived (i.e. candidate) on the decoder side may include a pair of MVDs, including (a) the first MVD for the first motion vector associated with the first reference frame list and (b) the second MVD for the second motion vector associated with the second reference frame list).
References LIU and YAN are considered to be analogous art because they both provide a guide device to aid the visually impaired. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying determining each matching costs by bi-prediction candidate MV as suggested by YAN in the invention of LIU in order to check with the bilateral matching technique which leads to the minimum matching cost being selected for the derivation of the first MVD and the second MVD on the decoder side (See YAN, Par. [0149]).
Regarding Claim 2, LIU in view of YAN teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction (the alternative limitation “in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction” is not required, as Claim 1 recites “determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference)… comprising at least one of the following”), the uni-prediction candidate MV (Par. [0158], In the template matching merge mode, the encoder can choose among uni-prediction from list0, uni-prediction from list1, or bi-prediction for a CU) achieving a smallest matching cost is selected to derive said at least one of the first final MV and the second final MV (Par. [0140]-[0141], multiple matching modes (e.g., bilateral matching and template matching (i.e. uni-prediction)) are checked for a CU by using RD cost selection. A list of MV candidates is generated and the candidate that leads to the minimum (i.e. smallest) matching cost is selected as the starting point for further CU level refinement. Then a local search based on bilateral matching or template matching around the starting point is performed. The MV results in the minimum matching cost is taken as the MV for the whole CU).
Regarding Claim 3, LIU in view of YAN teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0158]-[0160], The selection can be based on a template matching cost as follows: If costBi<=factor*min (cost0, cost1) [0160] bi-prediction is used), the bi-prediction candidate MV achieving a smallest matching cost is selected to derive said at least one of the first final MV and the second final MV (Par. [0183] In DMVR, a bilateral template is generated as the weighted combination of the two prediction blocks, from the initial MV0 of list0 (i.e. first MVP) and MV1 of list1 (i.e. second MVP), respectively, as shown in FIG. 25. The template matching operation consists of calculating cost measures between the generated template and the sample region (around the initial prediction block) in the reference picture. For each of the two reference pictures, the MV that yields the minimum template cost (i.e. smallest matching cost) is considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one).
Regarding Claim 4, LIU in view of YAN teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction (the alternative limitation “in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction” is not required, as Claim 1 recites “determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference)… comprising at least one of the following”) (Par. [0158], In the template matching merge mode, the encoder can choose among uni-prediction from list0, uni-prediction from list1, or bi-prediction for a CU), said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates corresponds to only one pre-defined set of MVD candidates used for deriving the uni-prediction candidate MV in list 0 or list 1 (Par. [0187]-[0188] The forward reference picture in reference picture list 0 which is nearest (i.e. only one of set) to the current picture is searched. If found, RefIdxSymL0 is set equal to the reference index of the forward picture. The backward reference picture in reference picture list 1 which is nearest (i.e. only one of set) to the current picture is searched. If found, RefIdxSymL1 is set equal to the reference index of the backward picture).
Regarding Claim 5, LIU in view of YAN teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0186], in slice level, variables BiDirPredFlag), said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates corresponds to only one pre-defined set of MVD candidates used for deriving the bi-prediction candidate MV (Par. [0187]-[0188] The forward reference picture in reference picture list 0 which is nearest (i.e. only one of set) to the current picture is searched. If found, RefIdxSymL0 is set equal to the reference index of the forward picture. The backward reference picture in reference picture list 1 which is nearest (i.e. only one of set) to the current picture is searched. If found, RefIdxSymL1 is set equal to the reference index of the backward picture).
Regarding Claim 6, LIU in view of YAN teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0186], in slice level, variables BiDirPredFlag), said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates corresponds to two separate pre-defined sets of MVD candidates used for deriving list 0 MV in the bi-prediction candidate MV and list 1 MV in the bi-prediction candidate MV respectively (Par. [0187]-[0188] The forward reference picture in reference picture list 0 which is nearest to the current picture is searched. If found, RefIdxSymL0 is set equal to the reference index of the forward picture (i.e. used for list 0 MV). The backward reference picture in reference picture list 1 which is nearest to the current picture is searched. If found, RefIdxSymL1 is set equal to the reference index of the backward picture (i.e. used for list 1 MV)).
Regarding Claim 17, LIU in view of YAN teaches Claim 1. LIU further teaches wherein the matching costs correspond to distortion between said one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more corresponding neighbouring sample of each reference block (Par. [0182], he bilateral template matching applied in the decoder to perform a distortion-based search between a bilateral template and the reconstruction samples in the reference pictures in order to obtain a refined MV without transmission of additional motion information), and wherein the distortion is measured using one or more metrics comprising SATD, SAD, MSE or SSE (Par. [0269] Denote RD cost (real RD cost, or SATD/SSE/SAD cost plus rough bits cost) of affine mode and AMVP mode as affineCosti and amvpCosti for IMV=i, where in i=0, 1 or 2).
Regarding Claim 18, LIU teaches an apparatus for video coding (Par. [0004] Devices, systems and methods related to digital video coding, and specifically, to motion vector predictor derivation and signaling for affine mode with adaptive motion vector resolution (AMVR)), the apparatus comprising one or more electronics or processors (Fig. 27, Par. [0441], The apparatus 2700 may be used to implement one or more of the methods described herein. The apparatus 2700 may be embodied in a smartphone, tablet, computer, Internet of Things (IoT) receiver, and so on. The apparatus 2700 may include one or more processors 2702, one or more memories 2704 and video processing hardware 2706) arranged to:
receive input data associated with a current block (Par. [0442], The system 2900 may include input 2902 for receiving video content), wherein the input data comprise pixel data for the current block to be encoded (Par. [0442], The video content may be received in a raw or uncompressed format, e.g., 8 or 10 bit multi-component pixel values) at an encoder side (Par. [0443] the coding tools or operations are used at an encoder and corresponding decoding tools or operations that reverse the results of the coding will be performed by a decoder) or encoded data associated with the current block to be decoded (Par. [0442], The video content may be in a compressed or encoded format) at a decoder side (Par. [0443] the coding tools or operations are used at an encoder and corresponding decoding tools or operations that reverse the results of the coding will be performed by a decoder), and wherein the current block is coded using uni-prediction or bi-prediction (Par. [0158], In the template matching merge mode, the encoder can choose among uni-prediction from list0, uni-prediction from list1, or bi-prediction for a CU);
determine at least one of a first MVP (Motion Vector Predictor) and a second MVP for the current block (Par. [0216], A motion vector predictor (e.g., inherited from a neighboring block MV) is denoted by MVPred(MVPred.sub.X, MVPred.sub.Y), Par. [0115], FIG. 15 shows an example of an affine motion field of a block 1400 described by two control point motion vectors V.sub.0 (i.e. first MVP) and V.sub.1 (i.e. second MVP)));
determine at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates (As illustrated in Fig. 28, MVD0 and MVD1 (i.e. first and second MVD) from list 0 and list 1 candidates, Par. [0144], the list size is set to two (i.e. pre-defined set of candidates)) based on matching costs (Par. [0138] The PMMVD mode is a special merge mode based on the Frame-Rate Up Conversion (FRUC) method, Par. [0140], the decision on whether using FRUC merge mode for a CU is based on RD cost selection as done for normal merge candidate. For example, multiple matching modes (e.g., bilateral matching and template matching) are checked for a CU by using RD cost selection. The one leading to the minimal cost is further compared to other CU modes. If a FRUC matching mode is the most efficient one, FRUC flag is set to true for the CU and the related matching mode is used.), comprising at least one of the following:
in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction (Par. [0158]-[0164] The selection can be based on a template matching cost as follows: if cost0<=cost1 uni-prediction from list0 is used; Otherwise, uni-prediction from list1 is used), each of the matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a uni-prediction candidate MV based on a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates and one of the first MVP and the second MVP;
in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0158]-[0160], The selection can be based on a template matching cost as follows: If costBi<=factor*min (cost0, cost1) [0160] bi-prediction is used), the matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV (Par. [0183] In DMVR, a bilateral template is generated as the weighted combination of the two prediction blocks, from the initial MV0 of list0 (i.e. first MVP) and MV1 of list1 (i.e. second MVP), respectively, as shown in FIG. 25. The template matching operation consists of calculating cost measures between the generated template (i.e. neighboring sample of current block) and the sample region (around the initial prediction block) in the reference picture (i.e. neighboring sample of reference block). For each of the two reference pictures, the MV that yields the minimum template cost is considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one. Nine MV candidates are searched for each list. The nine MV candidates include the original MV and 8 surrounding MVs with one luma sample offset to the original MV in either the horizontal or vertical direction, or both. The two new MVs, i.e., MV0′ and MV1′ as shown in FIG. 25, are used for generating the final bi-prediction results); and
encode or decode the current block by using motion information comprising at least one of a first final MV associated with the first MVP and the first MVD, and a second final MV associated with the second MVP and the second MVD (Par. [0183] The two new MVs (i.e. first and second final MV), i.e., MV0′ and MV1′ as shown in FIG. 25, are used for generating the final bi-prediction results).
LIU does not specifically teach each of the matching costs is determined by a bi-prediction candidate MV. Therefore, LIU fails to explicitly teach determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates based on matching costs, comprising at least one of the following: in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction, each of the matching costs is determined between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of candidates.
However, YAN teaches determining at least one of a first MVD (MV Difference) associated with the first MVP and a second MVD associated with the second MVP from at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates (As illustrated in Fig. 5A, MVdiff and -MVdiff (i.e. first and second MVD), MV0 MV1 (i.e. first and second MVP), 1st reference frame in list 0, 2nd reference frame in list 1 (i.e. candidates), Par. [0069], The video decoder 30 may construct the reference frame lists, e.g., List 0 and List 1, using default construction techniques (i.e. pre-defined candidate list) based on reference frames stored in the DPB 92) based on matching costs (Par. [0147], the processor may derive the first MVD for the video block based on a first MVD candidate associated with the minimum matching cost among the plurality of matching costs, where a MVD can be calculated to be a difference between the motion vector and the motion vector predictor (e.g., MVD=the motion vector−the motion vector predictor) see Par. [0105]), in response to the current block being coded using the bi-prediction (Par. [0102], when the video block is coded with bi-prediction using the AMVP mode, the bilateral matching technique disclosed herein can be applied to derive one or more MVDs. Par. [0140] In the second exemplary case where the video block is coded using the bi-prediction scheme, the processor may perform MVD prediction 618 to determine one or more MVDs for the video block using the bilateral matching technique), each of the matching costs is determined (Par. [0146], for each pair of the first MVD candidates and the second MVD candidates, the processor may determine a matching cost) between one or more neighbouring samples of the current block and one or more predicted samples from one or more corresponding neighbouring samples of each reference block (Fig. 5B, Par. [0094], template matching technique is a decoder-side MV derivation method configured to refine motion information of a current video block (e.g., a current CU) by finding the closest match between a template in a current video frame and a reference region in a reference frame) pointed by a bi-prediction candidate MV (Fig. 5B, initial MV, Par. [0094], a template can include a top neighboring block and/or a left neighbouring block of the current CU in the current video frame. A reference region of the template may have the same size as the template and may include a first reference block and/or a second reference block determined by a motion vector candidate from a reference frame, where the template matching technique can be cascaded with a bilateral matching (i.e. bi-prediction) process in merge modes) based on at least the first MVP, the second MVP, and a candidate of said at least one pre-defined set of candidates (Par. [0149], MVD prediction 618 under the bi-prediction scheme, the one or more MVDs to be derived (i.e. candidate) on the decoder side may include a pair of MVDs, including (a) the first MVD for the first motion vector associated with the first reference frame list and (b) the second MVD for the second motion vector associated with the second reference frame list).
References LIU and YAN are considered to be analogous art because they both provide a guide device to aid the visually impaired. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying determining each matching costs by bi-prediction candidate MV as suggested by YAN in the invention of LIU in order to check with the bilateral matching technique which leads to the minimum matching cost being selected for the derivation of the first MVD and the second MVD on the decoder side (See YAN, Par. [0149]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 - 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 7 specifically defines in response to the current block being coded using the uni-prediction or the bi-prediction, one or more candidates in said at least one pre-defined set of MVD candidates are derived from an initial MVD that is not readily taught or suggested by the prior art uncovered during search or made of record. Claims 8 - 16 are allowed for the reasons above by virtue of their respective dependencies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425