DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: In each of claims 1 and 6, “bead” should read –plurality of beads—(two instances in each of claims 1 and 6). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 discloses “wherein an amount of the first bead is 8 to 12 times an amount of the second bead”. The claim does not make clear what is meant by “amount”. It is not clear of “amount” means the number of beads, the combined mass of the beads, or the size of the bead, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
The term “better” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “better” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2012/0311787 (Purdy et al. hereinafter) in view of USP 6,226,820 (Navarro hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Purdy et al. discloses a vacuum cushion for fixing a patient's position, comprising:
a first vacuum bag (110b) forming a first space and deformed according to a vacuum state;
a first bead (14) accommodated in the first space;
a second vacuum bag (110a) accommodating the first vacuum bag (110b), forming a second space together with an outer surface of the first vacuum bag (110b), and deformed according to the vacuum state;
a second bead (14) accommodated in the second space.
Purdy et al. does not disclose a nozzle connected to the first space and the second space. Purdy et al. does disclose evacuating gas from the vacuum bags independently (paragraph [0034]).
Navarro teaches a pad (10) with multiple cavities (24) containing beads (28) wherein gas can be evacuated through a nozzle (30) attached to each cavity (24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Purdy et al. by providing a nozzle connected to the first space and the second space as taught in Navarro for the purposes of evacuating gas from the vacuum bags independently.
With regard to claim 6, insofar as claim 6 is definite, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein an amount of the first bead is 8 to 12 times an amount of the second bead.
It is known that the size and shape of the vacuum bags, and therefore the relative amount of beads in the first and second vacuum bags depends on the intended use (paragraph [0007] of Purdy et al. discloses different uses requiring different sizes. Therefore, the ratio of the amount of the first bead to the amount of the second bead is considered a result effective variable. Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the apparatus of the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 with an amount of the first bead is 8 to 12 times an amount of the second bead. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 198).
With regard to claim 7, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 6 discloses the vacuum cushion of claim 1, wherein a volume of the first space is 8 to 12 times a volume of the second space.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy et al. in view of Navarro and in further view of USP 7,346,947 (Kruger, Jr. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 2, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for a connector connecting an outer surface of the first vacuum bag and an inner surface of the second vacuum bag.
Kruger, Jr. discloses first (13, 14) and second (12, 15) nested bags wherein there is a connector connecting an outer surface of the first vacuum bag and an inner surface of the second vacuum bag (right and left edges, Fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 by providing a connector connecting an outer surface of the first vacuum bag and an inner surface of the second vacuum bag as taught in Kruger, Jr. for the purposes of preventing relative shifting between the bags.
With regard to claim 3, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 2 discloses the vacuum cushion of the vacuum cushion of wherein a plurality of connectors are provided and formed to be spaced apart from each other (right and left edges, Fig. 3A).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy et al. in view of Navarro and Kruger, Jr. and in further view of USP 6,131,219 (Roberts hereinafter).
With regard to claim 4, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 2 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein the connector divides the second space into a plurality of sub-spaces separated from each other, and a connecting passage is formed in the connector to make adjacent sub-spaces communicate with each other.
Roberts teaches an inflatable pillow (10) with multiple nozzles (16a, 16b) and connectors (17, 20) wherein the connector divides the interior space into a plurality of sub-spaces (Fig. 1) separated from each other, and a connecting passage (19, 21) is formed in the connector (17, 20) to make adjacent sub-spaces communicate with each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 2 by providing wherein the connector divides the second space into a plurality of sub-spaces separated from each other, and a connecting passage is formed in the connector to make adjacent sub-spaces communicate with each other as taught in Roberts for the purposes of allowing communication between sub-spaces thereby continuing to allow the bead medium to flow throughout the vacuum bag(s).
With regard to claim 5, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 4 discloses the vacuum cushion of claim 4 wherein the first vacuum bag has an elongated flat shape, and the connector is formed along a side surface of the first vacuum bag (right and left edges, Fig. 3A).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy et al. in view of Navarro and in further view of USP 10,098,475 (Liran et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 8, insofar as claim 8 is definite, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein a material of the first vacuum bag has better toughness or strength than a material of the second vacuum bag.
Liran et al. teaches nested first (2) and second (1) bags enclosing a bead material wherein in one embodiment the first (interior) bag is made of TPU (col. 16, lines 29-34) and the second (exterior) bag is made of yarn (denier polyester, e.g.) (col. 8 lines 43-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 by providing that the material of the first vacuum bag is yarn and the material of the second vacuum bag is TPU as taught in Liran et al. for the purposes of ensuring the quality does not degrade over a year (col. 5 lines 23-28 of Liran et al.), resulting in wherein a material of the first vacuum bag has better toughness or strength than a material of the second vacuum bag.
With regard to claim 9, the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein the second vacuum bag is made of thermoplastic polyurethane.
Liran et al. teaches wherein the second bag is made of thermoplastic polyurethane (col. 16, lines 29-34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Purdy et al. modification with regard to claim 1 by providing that the second vacuum bag is made of thermoplastic polyurethane as taught in Liran et al. for the purposes of ensuring the quality does not degrade over a year (col. 5 lines 23-28 of Liran et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPAP’s 2011/0191960 and 2018/0279906 as well as USP’s 5,778,470, 6,032,300, 5,556,169, 3,745,998, 3,426,891, 7,562,405, 7,513,002, 7,152,263, 5,708,998, 5,630,651, 5,088,141, 2,500,974, 5,971,006, 3,762,404, and 5,363,524 each disclose pads or pillows similar to that claimed.
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673