DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 27, 31, 36, 38, 39, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US 20250048321 A1), hereinafter Goyal in view of Thomas et al. (US 20250088329 A1), hereinafter Thomas.
Claim 26 is a method of claim 38 and is thus rejected.
Claim 27 is a method of claim 39 and is thus rejected.
Regarding claim 31, Goyal fails to teach,
The method as recited in Claim 27, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the method further comprises:
if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is not less than the one or more predetermined periods, iterating at least a portion of the method including the determining a period of the one or more positioning reference signals.
However, Thomas teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 27, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the method further comprises:
if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is not less than the one or more predetermined periods, iterating at least a portion of the method including the determining a period of the one or more positioning reference signals. (paragraph 0183 – The maximum PRS configuration to include the period depends on the network deployment. If the network deployment were to change then the UE would request updated configuration from the network using the method in figure 7.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal to incorporate the period request teachings of Thomas. The purpose of doing so is to allow for an on-demand period request change when a desired PRS parameter to include a period is not being met by a UE (paragraph 0047, Thomas).
Regarding claim 36, Goyal teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein the configuration information is obtained from a network infrastructure device or a pre-configuration. (paragraph 0127 – “The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS.” And paragraph 0142 – “A configuration to send a group positioning report using a positioning protocol (e.g., LPP, SUPL, NRPP) may be provided to the anchor WTRU, e.g., by the positioning server.”)
Regarding claim 38, Goyal teaches,
An apparatus for positioning in a sidelink communication, the apparatus comprising:
a memory storing an instruction; and (Figure 1b, label 132, paragraph 0046 – The processor stores data in the memory).
a processor configured to execute the instruction stored in the memory to: (Figure 1b, label 118, paragraph 0046 - The processor stores data in the memory).
obtain configuration information that defines a set of resource periods for obtaining one or more positioning reference signals from one or more anchor devices; (Paragraph 0127 – “The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g.,… The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs;”)
determine a period of the one or more positioning reference signals; (Paragraph 0127 – “The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: … an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated;”)
Goyal fails to teach,
determine whether to transmit to the one or more anchor devices, a request to change the period of the one or more signals based on a comparison of the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals with at least one of:
one or more predetermined periods or a period requested by one or more other user equipment; and
transmit, based on the determining whether to transmit, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals.
However, Thomas teaches,
determine whether to transmit to the one or more anchor devices, a request to change the period of the one or more signals based on a comparison of the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals with at least one of:
one or more predetermined periods (Figure 7, label 1, 2, paragraph 0169-0175 – The UE is provided a reference signal with a default period not considering the UE requirements, the UE may request a change of the default PRS due to the signal not meeting the PRS configuration parameters. Paragraph 0157 – The set of PRS configuration parameters includes the PRS periodicity. Paragraph 0175 – The set of PRS configuration parameters and a range is indicated. Paragraph 0047 – Overview of steps in figure 7) or a period requested by one or more other user equipment; and
transmit, based on the determining whether to transmit, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals. (Figure 7, label 2, paragraph 0175 – The UE submits a request for a change to the configuration to include PRS parameters and therefore PRS periodicity).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal to incorporate the period request teachings of Thomas. The purpose of doing so is to allow for an on-demand period request change when a desired PRS parameter to include a period is not being met by a UE (paragraph 0047, Thomas).
Regarding claim 39, Goyal fails to teach,
The apparatus as recited in Claim 38, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine whether the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the one or more predetermined periods.
However, Thomas teaches,
The apparatus as recited in Claim 38, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine whether the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the one or more predetermined periods. (Paragraph 0187, table 7 – The UE has supported on-demand PRS configuration. This configuration includes a maximum and minimum period. Figure 7, label 1, 2, paragraph 0169-0175 – The UE is provided a reference signal with a default period not considering the UE requirements, the UE may request a change of the default PRS due to the signal not meeting the PRS configuration parameters. The UE would be transmitting a PRS period change request due to the period of the PRS not meeting the maximum or minimum period requirements of the UE. The period of the PRS being less than the predetermined minimum period would cause a request to change to be transmitted.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal to incorporate the period request teachings of Thomas. The purpose of doing so is to allow for an on-demand period request change when a desired PRS parameter to include a period is not being met by a UE (paragraph 0047, Thomas).
Regarding claim 44, Goyal teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors of an apparatus to perform a method for positioning in a sidelink communication, the method comprising:
obtaining, by the apparatus, configuration information that defines a set of resource periods for obtaining the positioning reference signals from one or more anchor devices; (Paragraph 0127 – “The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g.,… The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs;”)
determining, by the apparatus, a period of the one or more positioning reference signals; (Paragraph 0127 – “The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: … an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated;”)
Goyal fails to teach,
determining, by the apparatus, whether to transmit to the one or more anchor devices, a request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals based on a comparison of the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals with one or more predetermined periods or a period requested by one or more other user equipment; and
transmitting, by the apparatus, based on the determining whether to transmit, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals.
However, Thomas teaches,
determining, by the apparatus, whether to transmit to the one or more anchor devices, a request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals based on a comparison of the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals with one or more predetermined periods (Figure 7, label 1, 2, paragraph 0169-0175 – The UE is provided a reference signal with a default period not considering the UE requirements, the UE may request a change of the default PRS due to the signal not meeting the PRS configuration parameters. Paragraph 0157 – The set of PRS configuration parameters includes the PRS periodicity. Paragraph 0175 – The set of PRS configuration parameters and a range is indicated. Paragraph 0047 – Overview of steps in figure 7) or a period requested by one or more other user equipment; and
transmitting, by the apparatus, based on the determining whether to transmit, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals. (Figure 7, label 2, paragraph 0175 – The UE submits a request for a change to the configuration to include PRS parameters and therefore PRS periodicity).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal to incorporate the period request teachings of Thomas. The purpose of doing so is to allow for an on-demand period request change when a desired PRS parameter to include a period is not being met by a UE (paragraph 0047, Thomas).
Claims 28, 35, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal in view of Thomas, Goyal-Thomas, further in view of Khoryaev et al. (WO 2023014820 A1), hereinafter Khoryaev.
Regarding claim 28, Goyal fails to teach,
The method as recited in Claim 27, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the method further comprises:
if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the one or more predetermined periods, determining, by the user equipment, the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment.
However, Thomas teaches,
if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the one or more predetermined periods, (Figure 7, label 1, 2, paragraph 0169-0175 – The UE is provided a reference signal with a default period not considering the UE requirements, the UE may request a change of the default PRS due to the signal not meeting the PRS configuration parameters. Paragraph 0157 – The set of PRS configuration parameters includes the PRS periodicity. Paragraph 0175 – The set of PRS configuration parameters and a range is indicated. Paragraph 0047 – Overview of steps in figure 7)
Thomas fails to teach,
determining, by the user equipment, the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment.
However, Khoryaev teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 27, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the method further comprises:
determining, by the user equipment, the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment. (Figure 6a, 6b, paragraph 0164 – The UE analyzes periods of other UEs for potential transmission conflicts. The UE uses the smallest allowed period provided by the other UEs from the set of allowed periods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal-Thomas to incorporate the smallest period by one or more UE teachings of Khoryaev. The purpose of doing so is to for sidelink conflict avoidance (paragraph 0153 Khoryaev).
Regarding claim 35, Goyal-Thomas fails to teach,
The method as recited in Claim 28, wherein determining, by the user equipment, the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment further comprises:
receiving, by the user equipment, one or more sidelink signals from the one or more other user equipment, and determining the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment based on the received one or more sidelink signals.
However, Khoryaev teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 28, wherein determining, by the user equipment, the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment further comprises:
receiving, by the user equipment, one or more sidelink signals from the one or more other user equipment, and determining the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment based on the received one or more sidelink signals.
(Figure 6a, 6b, paragraph 0164 – The UE analyzes periods of other UEs for potential transmission conflicts. The UE uses the smallest allowed period provided by the other UEs from the set of allowed periods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal-Thomas to incorporate the smallest period by one or more UE teachings of Khoryaev. The purpose of doing so is to for sidelink conflict avoidance (paragraph 0153 Khoryaev).
Regarding claim 40, Goyal fails to teach,
The apparatus as recited in Claim 39, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the processor is further configured to:
determine, if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the one or more predetermined periods, the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment.
However, Thomas teaches,
determine, if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the one or more predetermined periods, (Figure 7, label 1, 2, paragraph 0169-0175 – The UE is provided a reference signal with a default period not considering the UE requirements, the UE may request a change of the default PRS due to the signal not meeting the PRS configuration parameters. Paragraph 0157 – The set of PRS configuration parameters includes the PRS periodicity. Paragraph 0175 – The set of PRS configuration parameters and a range is indicated. Paragraph 0047 – Overview of steps in figure 7)
Thomas fails to teach,
The apparatus as recited in Claim 39, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the processor is further configured to:
Determine the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment.
However, Khoryaev teaches,
The apparatus as recited in Claim 39, wherein the period requested by the one or more other user equipment is a smallest period among one or more periods requested by the one or more other user equipment, and the processor is further configured to:
Determine the smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment. (Figure 6a, 6b, paragraph 0164 – The UE analyzes periods of other UEs for potential transmission conflicts. The UE uses the smallest allowed period provided by the other UEs from the set of allowed periods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal-Thomas to incorporate the smallest period by one or more UE teachings of Khoryaev. The purpose of doing so is to for sidelink conflict avoidance (paragraph 0153 Khoryaev).
Claims 33, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal in view of Thomas, Goyal-Thomas, further in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 20250142516 A1), hereinafter Hasegawa.
Regarding claim 33, Goyal-Thomas fails to teach,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein the configuration information includes an ordered set of values defining a set of periods for the one or more positioning reference signals.
However, Hasegawa teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein the configuration information includes an ordered set of values defining a set of periods for the one or more positioning reference signals. (Paragraphs 0108-0111 – The information includes a set of periodicity values).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal-Thomas to incorporate the set of periods teachings of Hasegawa. The purpose of doing so is to enable priority of periodicity values for when requesting a change in period, for example a higher weight assigned to a period in the list that is closest to the current period to give options for what the change in period should look like and also provide a smallest period change (paragraph 0111, Hasegawa).
Regarding claim 34, Goyal-Thomas fails to teach,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals is transmitted through at least one of:
a sequence based transmission, a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) based transmission, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based transmission, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) based transmission, a Cooperative Awareness Message (CAM) based transmission, or other V2X application message based transmission.
However, Hasegawa teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals is transmitted through at least one of:
a sequence based transmission, a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) based transmission, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based transmission, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) based transmission, a Cooperative Awareness Message (CAM) based transmission, or other V2X application message based transmission. (paragraph 0107 – The PRS changes through activation or deactivation of PRS parameters are made through “a UL MAC control element (UL-MAC-CE), UL downlink control information (UL-DCI), and/or an RRC message.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal-Thomas to incorporate the transmission methods teachings of Hasegawa. The purpose of doing so is to receive a pre-configuration of allowable periods from the set of periods to be transmitted (paragraph 0108, Hasegawa).
Claims 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal in view of Thomas, Goyal-Thomas, further in view of Choi et al. (US 20210392454 A1), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claim 37, Goyal-Thomas fails to teach,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein determining, by the user equipment, the period of the one or more positioning reference signals comprises:
determining, by the user equipment, the period of the one or more positioning reference signals based on a speed of the user equipment.
However, Choi teaches,
The method as recited in Claim 26, wherein determining, by the user equipment, the period of the one or more positioning reference signals comprises:
determining, by the user equipment, the period of the one or more positioning reference signals based on a speed of the user equipment. (paragraph 0055 – The UE decides to use a different period if a threshold speed is exceeded).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal-Thomas to incorporate the speed of the UE for the period teachings of Choi. The purpose of doing so is to increase transmissions for safety purposes at high speeds (abstract of Choi).
Claims 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US 20250048321 A1), hereinafter Goyal in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 20200028648 A1), hereinafter Akkarakaran.
Regarding claim 45, Goyal teaches,
A method for managing one or more positioning reference signals in a sidelink communication, the method comprising:
obtaining, by an anchor device, configuration information that defines a set of resource periods for transmitting the one or more positioning reference signals from one or more anchor devices; (Paragraph 0102 – The anchor devices receives a PRS transmission and reporting configuration to includes periodicities and multiple sidelink resources ).
Goyal fails to teach,
receiving, by the anchor device, one or more periods requested by one or more user equipment;
determining, by the anchor device, a smallest period requested by the one or more user equipment; and
transmitting, by the anchor device, to the one or more user equipment, one or more positioning reference signals according to the determined smallest period.
However, Akkarakaran teaches,
receiving, by the anchor device, one or more periods requested by one or more user equipment; (Figure 11A, label 1102A, paragraph 0089 – The UE sends a request for a single periodicity for PRS signaling).
determining, by the anchor device, a smallest period requested by the one or more user equipment; and (The single periodicity would be the smallest period requested by the UE).
transmitting, by the anchor device, to the one or more user equipment, one or more positioning reference signals according to the determined smallest period. (Figure 11A, label 1104A, paragraph 0087 – The base station transmits to the UE based on the parameters which include the period).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goyal to incorporate the determining of period and transmission based on the period teachings of Akkarakaran. The purpose of doing so is to enable on-demand requests from the UE to the base station to decrease latency and improve efficiency (paragraph 0077, Akkarakaran).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29, 30, 32, 41-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
US 20190222364 A1, Figures 43, 47, paragraphs 0700-0705: If a first UE uses SRS transmissions with the same timing (periodicity) as a period request submitted by a second UE then the second UE will submit an updated period change request to a base station requesting a different period. This may read on the option for the independent claims that states: “or a period requested by one or more other user equipment;”
US 20230319768 A1, Paragraph 0132 – Changing periodicity to transmit with longer periods depending on the speed of the UE.
/RYAN CRIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472