DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one controller” in claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 27, the claim recites “a processor for wireless communication” comprising “at least one controller,” which allows for an interpretation wherein a processor for wireless communication comprises more than one controller. However, the only discussion of such a controller appears to be in paragraph [0050] of Applicant’s specification. Such a portion of Applicant’s specification states “[i]n some implementations, the processor 206 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In some other implementations, a memory controller may be integrated into the processor 206.” Such language does not support “a processor for wireless communication” comprising more than one controller. Claim 27 thus contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claims 28-32, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claims.
Claims 27-32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 27, the claim limitation “at least one controller” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Looking to Applicant’s specification for any discussion regarding “a processor for wireless communication” comprising “at least one controller,” the only discussion of such a controller appears to be in paragraph [0050] of Applicant’s specification. Such a portion of Applicant’s specification states “[i]n some implementations, the processor 206 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In some other implementations, a memory controller may be integrated into the processor 206.” Such language does not describe any structure for “at least one controller” in “a processor for wireless communication” as is claimed. It is therefore unclear if any structure is required for “at least one controller,” or if “at least one controller may instead be software. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 30, the claim recites “the amount of time for pausing PUSCH transmission” and “the amount of invalid data buffered at the UE,” which both lack antecedent basis and are therefore unclear. It is also unclear if claim 30 is intended to depend from both claims 28 and 29, each of which provide antecedent basis for “the amount of time for pausing PUSCH transmission” and “the amount of invalid data buffered at the UE” respectively. Claim 30 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 30 as depending from claim 27 as is recited by the claim. Regarding claim 36, the claim recites “the amount of time for pausing PUSCH transmission” and “the amount of invalid data buffered at the UE,” which both lack antecedent basis and are therefore unclear. It is also unclear if claim 30 is intended to depend from both claims 34 and 35, each of which provide antecedent basis for “the amount of time for pausing PUSCH transmission” and “the amount of invalid data buffered at the UE” respectively. Claim 30 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 36 as depending from claim 33 as is recited by the claim. Regarding claims 28-32, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradas et al. (US 2025/0126614, Pradas hereinafter, full support for cited subject matter exists in provisional application No. 63/231,564) in view of Christoffersson et al. (US 2024/0267914, Christoffersson hereinafter). Regarding claims 21, 27, and 33, Pradas teaches a method, a processor for wireless communication comprising at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (A User Equipment (UE) may be comprised of processing circuitry coupled with memory; Pradas; Figs. 7-11; [0128]-[0130], [0168]), and a User Equipment (UE) for wireless communication (User equipment (UE); Pradas; Figs. 7-11; [0128]-[0130], [0168]), comprising: at least one memory (The may be comprised of memory; Pradas; Figs. 7-11; [0128]-[0130], [0168]); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (The may be comprised of processing circuitry coupled with memory; Pradas; Figs. 7-11; [0128]-[0130], [0168]) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a Configured Grant (CG) configuration allocating multiple CG resources (The network may configure a UE with one or more UL configured grant configurations. The UE may thus be interpreted as receiving a Configured Grant (CG) configuration allocating multiple CG resources; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0076], [0128]-[0130]); determine whether to use an allocated CG resource for an uplink transmission based at least in part on an amount of data buffered at the UE (The UE determines the periodicity of the traffic and, possibly, the packet size. The UE also determines the time at which a second packet will arrive to the buffer. The UE then determines whether any of activated UL configured grants will not be used before the arrival time of the second packet. The UE may thus be interpreted as determining whether to use an allocated CG resource for an uplink transmission based at least in part on an amount of data buffered at the UE; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0080]-[0082], [0093]-[0096], [0128]-[0130]); generate Uplink Control Information (UCI) that indicates one or more unused CG PUSCH resources (If UE will find any unused activated UL configured grants, the UE determines which activated configured grants will not be used and indicates to the network UL configured grants which may be reused by other users. Such an uplink transmission to the network may be interpreted as control information transmitted in the uplink direction, and thus as uplink control information. The UE may thus be interpreted as generating Uplink Control Information (UCI) that indicates one or more unused CG PUSCH resources; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0085], [0097]-[0099], [0128]-[0130]); and transmit the UCI (If UE will find any unused activated UL configured grants, the UE determines which activated configured grants will not be used and indicates to the network UL configured grants which may be reused by other users. Such an uplink transmission to the network may be interpreted as control information transmitted in the uplink direction, and thus as uplink control information. The UE may thus be interpreted as transmitting the uplink control information; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0085], [0097]-[0099], [0128]-[0130]). However, Pradas does not specifically disclose the CG resources are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources; and the uplink transmission is a PUSCH transmission. Christoffersson teaches the CG resources are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources (CG resources may be CG PUSCH resources; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]); and the uplink transmission is a PUSCH transmission (Uplink transmissions may be PUSCH transmissions; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Christoffersson regarding uplink transmission in configured grants with the teachings as in Pradas regarding uplink transmission in configured grants. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and compatibility by conforming to existing RAN agreements (Christoffersson; [01115]-[0121], [0129]-[0130]). Regarding claims 22, 29, and 34, Pradas and Christoffersson teach the limitations of claims 21, 27, and 33 respectively. Pradas further teaches the UCI further indicates an amount of time for pausing uplink transmission on the one or more unused CG resources (The UE indication may include the timing related information of resource unused activated configured grants, e.g., UL symbol or slot index or a time range that configured grants are not needed; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0085], [0097]-[0099], [0128]-[0130]). Christoffersson further teaches the CG resources are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources (CG resources may be CG PUSCH resources; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]); and the uplink transmission is a PUSCH transmission (Uplink transmissions may be PUSCH transmissions; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Christoffersson regarding uplink transmission in configured grants with the teachings as in Pradas regarding uplink transmission in configured grants. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and compatibility by conforming to existing RAN agreements (Christoffersson; [01115]-[0121], [0129]-[0130]). Regarding claims 23, 30, and 35, Pradas and Christoffersson teach the limitations of claims 22, 27, and 33 respectively. Pradas further teaches the UCI further indicates an amount of invalid data buffered at the UE (The UE determines the periodicity of the traffic and, possibly, the packet size. The UE also determines the time at which a second packet will arrive to the buffer. The UE indication may include the timing related information of resource unused activated configured grants, e.g., UL symbol or slot index or a time range that configured grants are not needed. The UE may also indicate the expected packet size; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0080]-[0082], [0085], [0093]-[0099], [0118], [0126], [0128]-[0130]). Regarding claims 24, 31, and 36, Pradas and Christoffersson teach the limitations of claims 23, 27, and 33 respectively. Pradas further teaches the amount of time for pausing uplink transmission is associated with the amount of invalid data buffered at the UE (The UE determines the periodicity of the traffic and, possibly, the packet size. The UE also determines the time at which a second packet will arrive to the buffer. The UE then determines whether any of activated UL configured grants will not be used before the arrival time of the second packet. The timing related information of resource unused activated configured grants (i.e., the amount of time for pausing transmission) is thus associated with the amount of invalid data buffered at the UE; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0080]-[0082], [0085], [0093]-[0099], [0118], [0126], [0128]-[0130]). Christoffersson further teaches the uplink transmission is a PUSCH transmission (Uplink transmissions may be PUSCH transmissions; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Christoffersson regarding uplink transmission in configured grants with the teachings as in Pradas regarding uplink transmission in configured grants. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and compatibility by conforming to existing RAN agreements (Christoffersson; [01115]-[0121], [0129]-[0130]). Regarding claims 25, 32, and 37, Pradas and Christoffersson teach the limitations of claims 21, 27, and 33 respectively. Pradas further teaches the UCI further indicates a request for one or more subsequent CG resources for a subsequent uplink transmission (The UE indicates to the network in a first UL transmission one or more of the following: i. resources are needed, ii. timing information (e.g. frame number, slot number) which will indicate when the grant is needed, iii. the expected packet size for transmission. At least such information may be interpreted as a request for one or more subsequent CG resources for a subsequent uplink transmission; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0085], [0097]-[0099], [0123]-[0126], [0128]-[0130]). Christoffersson further teaches the CG resources are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources (CG resources may be CG PUSCH resources; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]); and the uplink transmission is a PUSCH transmission (Uplink transmissions may be PUSCH transmissions; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Christoffersson regarding uplink transmission in configured grants with the teachings as in Pradas regarding uplink transmission in configured grants. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and compatibility by conforming to existing RAN agreements (Christoffersson; [01115]-[0121], [0129]-[0130]). Regarding claims 26, 33, and 38, Pradas and Christoffersson teach the limitations of claims 21, 27, and 33 respectively. Pradas further teaches the UCI is transmitted in the CG resources allocated by the CG configuration (The indication (i.e., the UCI) may be transmitted in an UL transmission opportunity, and the UL transmission opportunity may comprise an activated UL configured grant; Pradas; Figs. 7-9; [0083]-[0085], [0097]-[0099], [0128]-[0130]). Christoffersson further teaches the CG resources are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources (CG resources may be CG PUSCH resources; Christoffersson; Figs. 2-6; [0129]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Christoffersson regarding uplink transmission in configured grants with the teachings as in Pradas regarding uplink transmission in configured grants. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and compatibility by conforming to existing RAN agreements (Christoffersson; [01115]-[0121], [0129]-[0130]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474