DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“cooling means” in claims 1 and 5, wherein the written description provides the following corresponding structure on pg. 12 “clamp 40 provided with the cooling mans (e.g., the cooling water inlet 48, the cooling water outlet 49)”
“thin-walled forming means” in claims 1 and 3-5 on pg. 7 [0023] “The leading clamp 40 is formed with protruding linear portions 42a and 43a, which are a thin-walled forming means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dragulinescu (US20220212393).
Regarding claim 4, Dragulinescu teaches a thermoforming device that thermoforms a resin sheet, which is continuously fed (Abstract: A multi-cavity mould (1) for a thermoforming machine used in the process of high-volume, continuous thermoforming of a plurality of thin-gauge plastic products (2)), to simultaneously form two or more rows of containers ([0003] Thin-gauge films are used to manufacturing trays, containers, disposable cups, blisters, etc.; see multi-cavity mold 1 with four rows in Figure 5)) in a feed direction of the resin sheet (see preheated thin-gauge thermoplastic sheet 3 in Figure 16 and [0091] In the Form/Cut/Stack or In-Mould-Cut thermoforming moulds according to the present invention, the common edges are arranged in the transport direction (x) and/or in a direction (z) perpendicular to the transport direction (x) in the same horizontal plane),
wherein the thermoforming device comprises a thin-walled forming means (plurality of common-edge cut dies (131, 132)) provided between the two or more rows of containers (see 131, 132 between rows of containers in Figure 10 and Figure 16) and configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction ([0091] a plurality of common-edge cut dies (131, 132) is arranged to sever the adjacent formed plastic products (2) on the common edge, in order to obtain finished thin-gauge plastic products (2)), and the thin-walled portion is formed at a leading end portion of a protruding ridge (see annotated Figure 14 and Figure 15 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimi et al. (US5618486), and further in view of Matsuoka et al. (US20060185789).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimi teaches a thermoforming device that thermoforms a resin sheet (Figure 6), which is continuously fed (see sheet 30 continuously fed in Figure 4B), to simultaneously form two or more rows of containers in a feed direction of the resin sheet (see upper die 1a with 5 rows of molding portions 10 in Figure 2; col 5 line 49-54),
wherein the thermoforming device comprises a cooling means (coolant passages 3; Figure 6) provided between the two or more rows of containers to prevent walled portions from rising to a crystallization temperature during heat-set thermoforming (col 6 line 14-22).
While Yoshimi teaches a separate cutting step after thermoforming has occurred (col 10 line 66-67), Yoshimi fails to teach a thin-walled forming means provided between the two or more rows of containers and configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a thermoforming device that thermoforms a resin sheet, Matsuoka teaches a thin-walled forming means (push cutter 15; Figure 3A and Figure 3B) configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction (see Figure 1A to Figure 1D). The thin-walled forming means of Matsuoka prevents the formation of burrs ([0014] In addition, since there can be provided a structure of only push-cutting the multilayer structure by the push cutter, any burr is not formed to a lower end portion of the cut face as in the shearing working, thus eliminating a burr removing working), can perform cutting with high precision ([0015] By performing a final push-cutting of the compressed thin thickness portion after the cooling and hardening of the resin material constituting the multilayer structure below a melting point thereof, the cutting can be performed with high precision), and eliminates additional forming steps by combining cutting with molding of a container body ([0026] Since the flange portion is cut by pushing the push-cutter into the multilayer structure having at least one fused layer, the flange portion can be cut at the same time of forming the container body and [0027] According to this structure, the push-cutting is performed in correlation to the opening/closing of the mold, thus eliminating forming steps).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the cooling means of Yoshimi comprise a thin-walled forming means provided between the two or more rows of containers and be configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction, as taught by Matsuoka, for the benefit of preventing the formation of burrs, performing cutting with high precision, and eliminating additional forming steps by combining cutting with molding of the container body.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimi modified with Matsuoka teaches the thermoforming device according to claim 1.
Further, Matsuoka teaches wherein the thin- walled portion is formed extending continuously over from one end face to the other end face of the resin sheet ([0084] The push cutter 15 is formed from a flexible band-shaped cutter blade and used by connecting both ends thereof to be endlessly (see FIGS. 3(B)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the cooling means of Yoshimi comprise a thin-walled forming means provided between the two or more rows of containers and be configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction, as taught by Matsuoka, for the benefit of preventing the formation of burrs, performing cutting with high precision, and eliminating additional forming steps by combining cutting with molding of the container body.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimi teaches a thermoforming device (Figure 6) that thermoforms a resin sheet, which is continuously fed (see sheet 30 continuously fed in Figure 4B), to simultaneously form two or more rows of containers in a feed direction of the resin sheet (see upper die 1a with 5 rows of molding portions 10 in Figure 2; col 5 line 49-54),
wherein the thermoforming device comprises a leading clamp (upper and lower clamp plates 52; Figure 6) provided with a cooling means (coolant passages 13; Figure 6) provided between the two or more rows of container (col 6 line 14-22).
While Yoshimi teaches a separate cutting step after thermoforming has occurred (col 10 line 66-67), Yoshimi fails to teach a thin-walled forming means provided between the two or more rows of containers and configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a thermoforming device that thermoforms a resin sheet, Matsuoka teaches a thin-walled forming means (push cutter 15; Figure 3A and Figure 3B) configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction (see Figure 1A to Figure 1D). The thin-walled forming means of Matsuoka prevents the formation of burrs ([0014] In addition, since there can be provided a structure of only push-cutting the multilayer structure by the push cutter, any burr is not formed to a lower end portion of the cut face as in the shearing working, thus eliminating a burr removing working), can perform cutting with high precision ([0015] By performing a final push-cutting of the compressed thin thickness portion after the cooling and hardening of the resin material constituting the multilayer structure below a melting point thereof, the cutting can be performed with high precision), and eliminates additional forming steps by combining cutting with molding of a container body ([0026] Since the flange portion is cut by pushing the push-cutter into the multilayer structure having at least one fused layer, the flange portion can be cut at the same time of forming the container body and [0027] According to this structure, the push-cutting is performed in correlation to the opening/closing of the mold, thus eliminating forming steps).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the cooling means of Yoshimi comprise a thin-walled forming means provided between the two or more rows of containers and be configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction, as taught by Matsuoka, for the benefit of preventing the formation of burrs, performing cutting with high precision, and eliminating additional forming steps by combining cutting with molding of the container body.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dragulinescu (US20220212393), and further in view of Gonzalez (US20200324431).
Regarding claim 3, Dragulinescu teaches a thermoforming device that thermoforms a resin sheet, which is continuously fed (Abstract: A multi-cavity mould (1) for a thermoforming machine used in the process of high-volume, continuous thermoforming of a plurality of thin-gauge plastic products (2)), to simultaneously form two or more rows of containers ([0003] Thin-gauge films are used to manufacturing trays, containers, disposable cups, blisters, etc.; see multi-cavity mold 1 with four rows in Figure 5)) in a feed direction of the resin sheet (see preheated thin-gauge thermoplastic sheet 3 in Figure 16 and [0091] In the Form/Cut/Stack or In-Mould-Cut thermoforming moulds according to the present invention, the common edges are arranged in the transport direction (x) and/or in a direction (z) perpendicular to the transport direction (x) in the same horizontal plane),
wherein the thermoforming device comprises a thin-walled forming means (plurality of common-edge cut dies (131, 132)) provided between the two or more rows of containers (see 131, 132 between rows of containers in Figure 10 and Figure 16) and configured to form a thin-walled portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction ([0091] a plurality of common-edge cut dies (131, 132) is arranged to sever the adjacent formed plastic products (2) on the common edge, in order to obtain finished thin-gauge plastic products (2)). However, Dragulinescu fails to teach the thin-walled portion includes recesses formed in both opposing surfaces.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to manufacturing an array of containers from a plastic sheet using thermoforming (Abstract: The invention relates to a multi-pack container which defines a series of containers (11) formed in a plastic sheet (L) and [0038] FIGS. 4a-4c partially show a thermoforming machine), Gonzalez teaches a thin-walled portion includes recesses formed in both opposing surfaces (see pre-cut upper line 13 and pre-cut lower line 14 in Figure 2). The recesses formed in both opposing surfaces allows for clean breakages without defining irregular projections ([0012]suitable features for obtaining clean breakage of the bridges along the precut lines, without defining irregular projections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the thin-walled portion of Dragulinescu include recesses formed in both opposing surfaces, as taught by Gonzalez, for the benefit of obtaining clean breakages without defining irregular projections.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743