DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/14/2026 was/were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16, 21, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20170103054) in view of Riello (EP0628776) and Sakashita et al. (US 2008/0053134).
Per claim 15, Lee teaches a window air conditioner comprising:
an indoor unit assembly including an indoor heat exchanger (120) and an indoor drain pan (121) arranged below the indoor heat exchanger (see figure 1);
an outdoor unit assembly including an outdoor heat exchanger (310), an outdoor fan (“suction fan”, pg. 8 of translation), and an outdoor drain pan (320) arranged below the outdoor heat exchanger (310);
a sprayer device having a spraying hole (“a predetermined number of through holes are formed in pipes”, pg. 7 of translation); and
a water conveyer including a water conveying tube (210) and a water conveying member (250) connected to the water conveying tube (210), wherein the water conveyer (250) being in communication with the sprayer device (“a predetermined number of through holes are formed in pipes”, pg. 7 of translation) and the indoor drain pan (121) (see figure 1),
the water conveyer (210) being configured to convey water in the indoor drain pan (121) to the sprayer device (“a predetermined number of through holes are formed in pipes”, pg. 7 of translation) (see figure 1 showing the indoor drain pan and the sprayer device fluidly connected),
an end of the water conveying tube (end of 210 closer to 121) being in communication with the indoor drain pan (121), another end of the water conveying tube (end of 210 closer to 300) extending towards the outdoor unit assembly (300), the water conveying member (250) being a water pump (250) configured to guide water in the indoor drain pan (121) towards the outdoor unit assembly but fails to explicitly teach wherein the air conditioner is a window air conditioner including the sprayer device having the spraying hole facing toward an air outlet side of the outdoor fan and the water pump being arranged in the indoor drain pan.
Regarding the window air conditioner, Riello teaches wherein an air conditioner is a window air conditioner (“the invention can be applied both to air conditioners of the monobloc type, which are designed to be placed in openings provided in a wall or a window of the room to be conditioned so that the condenser of the air conditioner is in communication with the outside for cooling it, and to portable air conditioners of "split" type comprising a unit placed on the inside of the room to be conditioned and a unit placed on the outside of the room to be conditioned”, pg. 2 of translation) for having a condenser of the air conditioner be in communication with the outside air cooling the condenser and further including spraying device having a spraying hole (8) facing towards an air outlet side of an outdoor fan (6) for controlling condensate levels in the system (pg. 2 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide an air conditioner as a window air conditioner including a spraying device having a spraying hole facing towards an air outlet side of an outdoor fan, as taught by Riello in the invention of Lee, in order to advantageously have a condenser of the air conditioner be in communication with the outside air cooling the condenser and control the condensate levels in the system (pg. 2 of translation).
Regarding the water pump, Sakashita teaches an air conditioning system including a water pump (16) arranged in an indoor drain pan (8) for improved antibacterial effect (para. 0001). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a water pump arranged in an indoor drain pan, as taught by Sakashita in the combined teachings, in order to advantageously improve an antibacterial effect of an air conditioning system (para. 0001).
Per claim 16, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, teaches wherein
wherein: the water conveyer (210, 250) is further in communication with the outdoor drain pan (320) (see figure 1); and
the water conveyer (210, 250) is configured to convey water in the outdoor drain pan to the sprayer device in a heating mode and convey the water in the indoor drain pan to the sprayer device in a cooling mode (“the contents stored in the storage tank are transferred through any one of the indoor unit supply pipe and the outdoor unit supply pipe according to the cooling / heating operation mode” translation abstract).
Per claim 21, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, teaches wherein the another end of the water conveying tube (end of 210 closer to 300) is in communication with the outdoor drain pan (320) (all elements of an assembly are considered to be in “communication” with one another).
Per claim 24, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, teaches
wherein:
the water conveying tube includes a first water conveying tube (210)
the water conveyer further includes:
a second water conveying tube including:
a water inlet tube segment (segment of 240 connecting to 300) in communication with the outdoor drain pan (320); and
a water outlet tube segment (segment of tube exiting 220 toward 200) in communication with the water conveying member (250); and
the water outlet tube segment (segment of tube exiting 220 toward 200) is configured to be selectively in communication with the water inlet tube segment (segment of 240 connecting to 300) or the first water conveying tube (210) (via 231 and 241).
Per claim 25, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 24. Further, Lee, as modified, teaches wherein the water conveyer further includes a switch assembly including:
a first inlet (see annotated figure below) in communication with the first water conveying tube (210);
a second inlet (see annotated figure below) in communication with the water inlet tube segment (segment of 240 connecting to 300); and
an outlet (see annotated figure below) in communication with the water outlet tube segment (segment of tube exiting 220 toward 250), and configured to be selectively in communication with the first inlet or the second inlet (via 231 and 241).
Pe claim 26, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 25. Further, Lee, as modified, teaches wherein the switch assembly is a valve (see figure 1) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the valve is a solenoid valve.
However, the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that solenoid valves are old and well known in the refrigeration art for controlling fluid flow remotely. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a solenoid valve in order to advantageously control fluid flow remotely.
In the Office Action dated 4/3/2026, the Examiner took Official Notice that solenoid valves are old and well known in the refrigeration art. Applicant has failed to traverse the(se) statement(s). As such, and in accordance with MPEP §2144.03, the statements are now considered admitted prior art.
Claim(s) 19, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20170103054) in view of Riello (EP0628776) and Sakashita et al. (US 2008/0053134) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Cha (KR100368708).
Per claim 19, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, fails to explicitly teaches the outdoor drain pan (320), the water conveying tube (210), and a direction of water flow (there is necessarily a direction of water flow) but fails to explicitly teach a filter arranged between the outdoor drain pan and the water conveying tube in the direction of water flow.
However, Cha teaches an air conditioner system including a filter (45) arranged between a drain pan (structure collecting condensate in 31) and a water conveying tube (see tubing in figure 1) in a direction of water flow (see figure 1) for increasing the durability and stability of the air conditioner system (pg. 5 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a filter between a drain pan and a water conveying tube in a direction of water flow, as taught by Cha in the invention of Lee, as modified, in order to advantageously increase the durability and stability of the cooling system (pg. 5 of translation).
When the filter of Cha is combined with the outdoor drain pan, water conveying tube, and direction of water flow of Lee, as modified, the result is a filter arranged between the outdoor drain pan and the water conveying tube in a direction of water flow, as claimed.
Per claim 23, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 20. Further, claim Lee, as modified, teaches the indoor drain pan (121), the water conveying tube (tubing connecting system), and a direction of water flow (there is necessarily a direction of water flow) but fails to explicitly teach a filter arranged between the indoor drain pan and the water conveying tube in the direction of water flow.
However, Cha teaches an air conditioner system including a filter (45) arranged between a drain pan (structure collecting condensate in 31) and a water conveying tube (see tubing in figure 1) in a direction of water flow (see figure 1) for increasing the durability and stability of the air conditioner system (pg. 5 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a filter between a drain pan and a water conveying tube in a direction of water flow, as taught by Cha in the invention of Lee, as modified, in order to advantageously increase the durability and stability of the cooling system (pg. 5 of translation).
When the filter of Cha is combined with the indoor drain pan, water conveying tube, and direction of water flow of Lee, as modified, the result is a filter arranged between the indoor drain pan and the water conveying tube in a direction of water flow, as claimed.
Per claim 27, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 25. Further, claim Lee, as modified, teaches the indoor drain pan (121), the first water conveying tube (230), and a direction of water flow (there is necessarily a direction of water flow) but fails to explicitly teach a filter arranged between the indoor drain pan and the first water conveying tube in the direction of water flow.
However, Cha teaches an air conditioner system including a filter (45) arranged between a drain pan (structure collecting condensate in 31) and a water conveying tube (see tubing in figure 1) in a direction of water flow (see figure 1) for increasing the durability and stability of the air conditioner system (pg. 5 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a filter between a drain pan and a water conveying tube in a direction of water flow, as taught by Cha in the invention of Lee, as modified, in order to advantageously increase the durability and stability of the cooling system (pg. 5 of translation).
When the filter of Cha is combined with the indoor drain pan, first water conveying tube, and direction of water flow of Lee, as modified, the result is a filter arranged between the indoor drain pan and the second water conveying tube in a direction of water flow, as claimed.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20170103054) in view of Riello (EP0628776) and Sakashita et al. (US 2008/0053134) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Cha (KR1020040069713).
Per claim 22, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, fails to explicitly teach an outdoor water tray arranged above the outdoor heat exchanger and in communication with the another end of the water conveying tube, the outdoor water tray having a plurality of outdoor water outlet holes to guide water towards the outdoor heat exchanger.
However, Cha teaches an air conditioner including an outdoor water tray (33) arranged above an outdoor heat exchanger (“ the condenser 30 includes a flow path of a refrigerant”, pg. 5 of translation) and in communication with an end of the water conveying tube (tube connecting to 23), the outdoor water tray having a plurality of outdoor water outlet holes (“ plate 33 in the form of a metal lath wire mesh”, pg. 4 of translation) to guide water towards the outdoor heat exchanger (“A spray 23 is provided on the upper side of the heat exchange means to evenly distribute the cooling water”, pg. 4 of translation) for improved cooling efficiency (pg. 2 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide an outdoor water tray arranged above an outdoor heat exchanger and in communication with an end of the water conveying tube, the outdoor water tray having a plurality of outdoor water outlet holes to guide water towards the outdoor heat exchanger, as taught by Cha in the invention of Lee, as modified, in order to advantageously improve cooling efficiency (pg. 2 of translation).
When the Cha outdoor water tray arranged above the outdoor heat exchanger and in communication with the end of the water conveying tube is combined with the another end of the water conveying tube of Lee, as modified, the result is an outdoor water tray arranged above the outdoor heat exchanger and in communication with the another end of the water conveying tube, as claimed.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20170103054) in view of Riello (EP0628776) and Sakashita et al. (US 2008/0053134) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Ryu (KR1020210080821).
Per claim 28, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, fails to explicitly teach a housing having an indoor cavity, an outdoor cavity spaced apart from the indoor cavity, and an accommodation cavity in communication with the indoor cavity and the outdoor cavity; wherein: the indoor unit assembly is arranged in the indoor cavity; the outdoor unit assembly and the sprayer device are arranged in the outdoor cavity; and the water conveyer device spans across the accommodation cavity.
However, Ryu teaches a window air conditioner including a housing having an indoor cavity (10), an outdoor cavity (30) spaced apart from the indoor cavity (10), and an accommodation cavity (20) in communication with the indoor cavity (10) and the outdoor cavity (30); wherein: an indoor unit assembly (14) is arranged in the indoor cavity (10); the outdoor unit assembly (34) and a sprayer device (55) are arranged in the outdoor cavity (30); and a water conveyer device (52) spans across the accommodation cavity (20) for improved cooling efficiency (pg. 8 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a housing having an indoor cavity, an outdoor cavity spaced apart from the indoor cavity, and an accommodation cavity in communication with the indoor cavity and the outdoor cavity; wherein: an indoor unit assembly is arranged in the indoor cavity; the outdoor unit assembly and a sprayer device are arranged in the outdoor cavity; and a water conveyer device spans across the accommodation cavity, as taught by Ryu in the invention of Lee, as modified, in order to advantageously improve cooling efficiency (pg. 8 of translation).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20170103054) in view of Riello (EP0628776) and Sakashita et al. (US 2008/0053134) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Crabtree (US 20230184457) and Hou. et al. (US 20180195758).
Per claim 29, Lee, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 15. Further, Lee, as modified, fails to explicitly teach a filter arranged in the outdoor drain pan, and connected to the water convey8ing tube and the water conveying member.
Regarding the filter, Crabtree teaches a filter (12) arranged with an outdoor drain pan (6), and connected to a water conveying tube (9) and a water conveying member (8) for providing a constant flow of clean water assisted cooling (para. 0006). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a filter arranged with an outdoor drain pan, and connected to water conveying tube and water conveying member, as taught by Crabtree in the invention of Lee, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a constant flow of clean water assisted cooling (para. 0006).
Regarding the filter being arranged in the drain pan, per MPEP 2144.04, section VI, paragraph C, “Claims … which read on the prior art except with regard to the position…were held unpatentable because shifting the position…would not have modified the operation of the device.” Rearranging the filter from in line with tubing to inside the outdoor drain pan would not modify the operation of the filter. Further, Hou teaches a drainage system including a filter (69) arranged in a drain pan (64) for reducing the risk of water leakage (para. 0005). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a filter in a drain pan, as taught by Hou in the combined teachings, in order to advantageously reduce the risk of water leakage (para. 0005).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20170103054) in view of Riello (EP0628776) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Crabtree (US 20230184457) and Hou. et al. (US 20180195758).
Claim 30 recites similar limitations as claims 1 and 29 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763