DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-32 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-17 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 13, 2025, and May 13, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20, 23, 25-27, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferdi (WO 2021202960 A1) in view of Xing (US 20220279389 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Ferdi teaches a method for performing communication, performed by a first UE (User Equipment), comprising:
performing C2 (Command and Control) communication over C2 connection via PC5 with a second UE (Fig. 3B, [0129] At operation 3B-0, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may perform C2 communication (e.g., direct) with its peer. [0118] The UAV 211 may use the received parameters (e.g., the UAS id, and/or the UAV-C WTRU id, among others), for example to discover and/or to establish a direct link (e.g., over the PC5 or another direct link using another Radio Access Technology (e.g., Bluetooth, and/or WiFi, among others) with a UAV-C 212 for direct C2 communications.);
measuring signal strength of the C2 connection via PC5 ([0127] At operation 3A-6, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 or/and the UAV-C 212) may perform C2 communication (e.g., direct or indirect) with its peer, while monitoring the current C2 link against the negotiated QoS thresholds for C2 switching (measuring the current link and comparing measurements against a given threshold). [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). In order for the UAV to detect that C2 switching conditions are met on the current link based on QoS threshold parameters such as low signal strength, signal strength of the C2 connection must have been measured and compared to a threshold. [0202] In certain representative embodiments, the representative method 1600 or 1700 may further comprise receiving, by the WTRU 102, one or more QoS threshold parameters; measuring the QoS associated with the first connection.);
wherein the C2 connection status information includes information related to the measured signal strength of the C2 connection via PC5 ([0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message (C2 connection status information) may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters. [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). (This indicates signal strength must have been measured and compared to a threshold parameter.)
determining whether i) to switch from the C2 connection via PC5 to C2 connection via network or ii) to disconnect the C2 connection via PC5, based on request from the application layer of the first UE based on the C2 connection status information ([0128] The UAE layer (UAE-C and UAE-S) provides an adaptation layer for the application layer on the WTRU side as a UAE-C. The UAE layer of Ferdi is the UAS layer of claim 18. [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). [0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. The request message may include information related to the switching conditions/context such as current C2 link QoS parameters, target C2 link and/or QoS parameters. [0132] At operation 3B-3, the UAS server may check that/determine whether the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) is authorized to switch to the target C2 link, based on the network entity (e.g., the USS/UTM 220) policy and C2 links QoS parameters received from the WTRU. [0133] At operation 3B-4, the UAS server may send a response message to the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) authorizing or rejecting the C2 mode switching. [0134] At operation 3B-5, if authorized by the UAS server, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may notify its peer (e.g., via the UAE layer) about the switch to the new active C2 communication mode. (Which means the UAE layer (UAS layer) of the first UE received a request from the application layer of the first UE to switch to the indirect link based on the C2 connection status information.)
Ferdi discloses a UAS layer of the first UE ([0128] The UAE layer (UAE-C and UAE-S) provides an adaptation layer for the application layer on the WTRU side as a UAE-C. The UAE layer of Ferdi is the UAS layer of claim 18.) Ferdi also discloses transmitting C2 connection status information ([0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message (C2 connection status information) to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. The request message may include information related to the switching conditions/context such as current C2 link QoS parameters, target C2 link and/or QoS parameters.)
Ferdi does not explicitly teach transmitting, from an UAS (Uncrewed Aerial System) layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE, C2 connection status information.
Xing in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches
transmitting, from a V2X layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE, C2 connection status information (Fig. 5, [0212] Correspondingly, the first access layer receives the first QoS status information of the multicast communication, and sends the first QoS status information of the multicast communication to the first application layer through the first V2X layer. (The multicast communication between the first and second terminal of Xing can be the C2 connection of Ferdi and the V2X layer of Xing can be mapped to the UAE layer of Ferdi).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of switching C2 communications from the first C2 communication link to the second C2 communication link of Ferdi to include the communication method of Xing to transmit connection status information from a UAS layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a communication method and an apparatus, to resolve a problem that a multicast communication status between terminals whose actual range is greater than a maximum communication range in QoS requirement information of multicast communication in a multicast group cannot be obtained, and therefore a QoS requirement parameter of the multicast communication cannot be adjusted. This can improve reliability of the multicast communication (Xing [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Ferdi teaches the method of claim 18 wherein the first UE is an UAV-C (Uncrewed Aerial Vehicle-Controller) and the second UE is an UAV (Fig. 3B, The first UE is UAV-C/WTRU 212 and the second UE is UAV/WTRU 211.).
Regarding claim 20, Ferdi teaches the method of claim 18 wherein the step of transmitting the C2 connection status information is performed, based on the measured signal strength being lower than a threshold value ([0119] During direct C2 communications, if UAV/UAV-C detects that the direct link quality has decreased below a threshold/limit based on one or more of these thresholds being crossed (e.g., the UAV 211 may move beyond a given range), the UAV/UAV-C may switch the C2 communication path from direct to network-assisted (e.g., subsequent C2 packets may be transmitted/received over the Uu instead of the PC5). [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). [0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message (C2 connection status information) to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. [0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters. (The switching request message is sent because the direct link quality has decreased below a threshold/limit.)).
Regarding claim 23, Ferdi teaches the method of claim 18 wherein the C2 connection status information includes quality of the C2 connection via PC5 or whether QoS (Quality of Service) for the C2 connection via PC5 is satisfied ([0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message (C2 connection status information) may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection (quality) and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters.).
Regarding claim 25, Ferdi teaches a first UE (User Equipment) ([0019] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102.) to perform communication, comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 1B, transceiver 120); and
a processor (FIG. 1B, processor 118), wherein the processor performs operation comprising:
performing C2 (Command and Control) communication over C2 connection via PC5 with a second UE (Fig. 3B, [0129] At operation 3B-0, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may perform C2 communication (e.g., direct) with its peer. [0118] The UAV 211 may use the received parameters (e.g., the UAS id, and/or the UAV-C WTRU id, among others), for example to discover and/or to establish a direct link (e.g., over the PC5 or another direct link using another Radio Access Technology (e.g., Bluetooth, and/or WiFi, among others) with a UAV-C 212 for direct C2 communications.);
measuring signal strength of the C2 connection via PC5 ([0127] At operation 3A-6, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 or/and the UAV-C 212) may perform C2 communication (e.g., direct or indirect) with its peer, while monitoring the current C2 link against the negotiated QoS thresholds for C2 switching (measuring the current link and comparing measurements against a given threshold). [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). In order for the UAV to detect that C2 switching conditions are met on the current link based on QoS threshold parameters such as low signal strength, signal strength of the C2 connection must have been measured and compared to a threshold. [0202] In certain representative embodiments, the representative method 1600 or 1700 may further comprise receiving, by the WTRU 102, one or more QoS threshold parameters; measuring the QoS associated with the first connection.);
wherein the C2 connection status information includes information related to the measured signal strength of the C2 connection via PC5 ([0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message (C2 connection status information) may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters. [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). (This indicates signal strength must have been measured and compared to a threshold parameter.)
determining whether i) to switch from the C2 connection via PC5 to C2 connection via network or ii) to disconnect the C2 connection via PC5, based on request from the application layer of the first UE based on the C2 connection status information ([0128] The UAE layer (UAE-C and UAE-S) provides an adaptation layer for the application layer on the WTRU side as a UAE-C. The UAE layer of Ferdi is the UAS layer of claim 18. [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). [0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. The request message may include information related to the switching conditions/context such as current C2 link QoS parameters, target C2 link and/or QoS parameters. [0132] At operation 3B-3, the UAS server may check that/determine whether the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) is authorized to switch to the target C2 link, based on the network entity (e.g., the USS/UTM 220) policy and C2 links QoS parameters received from the WTRU. [0133] At operation 3B-4, the UAS server may send a response message to the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) authorizing or rejecting the C2 mode switching. [0134] At operation 3B-5, if authorized by the UAS server, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may notify its peer (e.g., via the UAE layer) about the switch to the new active C2 communication mode. (Which means the UAE layer (UAS layer) of the first UE received a request from the application layer of the first UE to switch to the indirect link based on the C2 connection status information.)
Ferdi discloses a UAS layer of the first UE ([0128] The UAE layer (UAE-C and UAE-S) provides an adaptation layer for the application layer on the WTRU side as a UAE-C. The UAE layer of Ferdi is the UAS layer of claim 18.) Ferdi also discloses transmitting C2 connection status information ([0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message (C2 connection status information) to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. The request message may include information related to the switching conditions/context such as current C2 link QoS parameters, target C2 link and/or QoS parameters.)
Ferdi does not explicitly teach transmitting, from an UAS (Uncrewed Aerial System) layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE, C2 connection status information.
Xing in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches
transmitting, from a V2X layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE, C2 connection status information (Fig. 5, [0212] Correspondingly, the first access layer receives the first QoS status information of the multicast communication, and sends the first QoS status information of the multicast communication to the first application layer through the first V2X layer. (The multicast communication between the first and second terminal of Xing can be the C2 connection of Ferdi and the V2X layer of Xing can be mapped to the UAE layer of Ferdi).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of switching C2 communications from the first C2 communication link to the second C2 communication link of Ferdi to include the communication method of Xing to transmit connection status information from a UAS layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a communication method and an apparatus, to resolve a problem that a multicast communication status between terminals whose actual range is greater than a maximum communication range in QoS requirement information of multicast communication in a multicast group cannot be obtained, and therefore a QoS requirement parameter of the multicast communication cannot be adjusted. This can improve reliability of the multicast communication (Xing [0005]).
Regarding claim 26, Ferdi teaches the first UE of The first UE of wherein the first UE is an UAV-C (Uncrewed Aerial Vehicle-Controller) and the second UE is an UAV (Fig. 3B, The first UE is UAV-C/WTRU 212 and the second UE is UAV/WTRU 211.).
Regarding claim 27, Ferdi teaches the first UE of The first UE of wherein the step of transmitting the C2 connection status information is performed, based on the measured signal strength being lower than a threshold value ([0119] During direct C2 communications, if UAV/UAV-C detects that the direct link quality has decreased below a threshold/limit based on one or more of these thresholds being crossed (e.g., the UAV 211 may move beyond a given range), the UAV/UAV-C may switch the C2 communication path from direct to network-assisted (e.g., subsequent C2 packets may be transmitted/received over the Uu instead of the PC5). [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). [0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message (C2 connection status information) to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. [0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters. (The switching request message is sent because the direct link quality has decreased below a threshold/limit.)).
Regarding claim 30, Ferdi teaches the first UE of wherein the C2 connection status information includes quality of the C2 connection via PC5 or whether QoS (Quality of Service) for the C2 connection via PC5 is satisfied ([0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message (C2 connection status information) may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection (quality) and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters.).
Regarding claim 32, Ferdi teaches a first apparatus in mobile communication ([0019] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102), comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 1B, processor 118); and
at least one memory storing instructions and operably electrically connectable with the at least one processor (FIG. 1B, non-removable memory 130) to perform operation comprising:
performing C2 (Command and Control) communication over C2 connection via PC5 with a second UE (Fig. 3B, [0129] At operation 3B-0, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may perform C2 communication (e.g., direct) with its peer. [0118] The UAV 211 may use the received parameters (e.g., the UAS id, and/or the UAV-C WTRU id, among others), for example to discover and/or to establish a direct link (e.g., over the PC5 or another direct link using another Radio Access Technology (e.g., Bluetooth, and/or WiFi, among others) with a UAV-C 212 for direct C2 communications.);
measuring signal strength of the C2 connection via PC5 ([0127] At operation 3A-6, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 or/and the UAV-C 212) may perform C2 communication (e.g., direct or indirect) with its peer, while monitoring the current C2 link against the negotiated QoS thresholds for C2 switching (measuring the current link and comparing measurements against a given threshold). [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). In order for the UAV to detect that C2 switching conditions are met on the current link based on QoS threshold parameters such as low signal strength, signal strength of the C2 connection must have been measured and compared to a threshold. [0202] In certain representative embodiments, the representative method 1600 or 1700 may further comprise receiving, by the WTRU 102, one or more QoS threshold parameters; measuring the QoS associated with the first connection.);
wherein the C2 connection status information includes information related to the measured signal strength of the C2 connection via PC5 ([0205] In certain representative embodiments, the switching request message (C2 connection status information) may include information on any of: (1) the measured QoS associated with the first connection and/or (2) the indicated QoS threshold parameters. [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). (This indicates signal strength must have been measured and compared to a threshold parameter.)
determining whether i) to switch from the C2 connection via PC5 to C2 connection via network or ii) to disconnect the C2 connection via PC5, based on request from the application layer of the first UE based on the C2 connection status information ([0128] The UAE layer (UAE-C and UAE-S) provides an adaptation layer for the application layer on the WTRU side as a UAE-C. The UAE layer of Ferdi is the UAS layer of claim 18. [0130] At operation 3B-1, the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) may detect that C2 switching conditions are met on current C2 link, for example based on C2 link QoS threshold parameters (e.g., low signal strength) for the UAV 211 to switch to another mode of C2 communication (e.g., indirect). [0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. The request message may include information related to the switching conditions/context such as current C2 link QoS parameters, target C2 link and/or QoS parameters. [0132] At operation 3B-3, the UAS server may check that/determine whether the WTRU (e.g., UAV 211 and/or UAV-C 212) is authorized to switch to the target C2 link, based on the network entity (e.g., the USS/UTM 220) policy and C2 links QoS parameters received from the WTRU. [0133] At operation 3B-4, the UAS server may send a response message to the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) authorizing or rejecting the C2 mode switching. [0134] At operation 3B-5, if authorized by the UAS server, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may notify its peer (e.g., via the UAE layer) about the switch to the new active C2 communication mode. (Which means the UAE layer (UAS layer) of the first UE received a request from the application layer of the first UE to switch to the indirect link based on the C2 connection status information.)
Ferdi discloses a UAS layer of the first UE ([0128] The UAE layer (UAE-C and UAE-S) provides an adaptation layer for the application layer on the WTRU side as a UAE-C. The UAE layer of Ferdi is the UAS layer of claim 18.) Ferdi also discloses transmitting C2 connection status information ([0131] At operation 3B-2, the WTRU (e.g., the UAV 211 and/or the UAV-C 212) may send a request message (C2 connection status information) to a UAS server (e.g., via the UAE layer) to perform C2 mode switching. The request message may include information related to the switching conditions/context such as current C2 link QoS parameters, target C2 link and/or QoS parameters.)
Ferdi does not explicitly teach transmitting, from an UAS (Uncrewed Aerial System) layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE, C2 connection status information.
Xing in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches
transmitting, from a V2X layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE, C2 connection status information (Fig. 5, [0212] Correspondingly, the first access layer receives the first QoS status information of the multicast communication, and sends the first QoS status information of the multicast communication to the first application layer through the first V2X layer. (The multicast communication between the first and second terminal of Xing can be the C2 connection of Ferdi and the V2X layer of Xing can be mapped to the UAE layer of Ferdi).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of switching C2 communications from the first C2 communication link to the second C2 communication link of Ferdi to include the communication method of Xing to transmit connection status information from a UAS layer of the first UE to an application layer of the first UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a communication method and an apparatus, to resolve a problem that a multicast communication status between terminals whose actual range is greater than a maximum communication range in QoS requirement information of multicast communication in a multicast group cannot be obtained, and therefore a QoS requirement parameter of the multicast communication cannot be adjusted. This can improve reliability of the multicast communication (Xing [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferdi (WO 2021202960 A1) in view of Xing (US 20220279389 A1); further in view of Chen (US 20210368372 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Ferdi and Xing teaches the method of claim 20, but does not teach further comprising: receiving, from a base station, configuration, wherein the configuration includes the threshold value.
Chen in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving, from a base station, configuration, wherein the configuration includes the threshold value ([0076] In some embodiments, the UE may also receive an interface switching threshold configuration from the base station, and the UE then determines whether to perform the PC5/Uu interface switching according to whether the current sidelink link quality meets the threshold configured by the base station. For example, if the measured sidelink link quality of the UE is less than the interface switching threshold, the UE switches the unicast data transmission with UE2 to the Uu interface, otherwise the UE may continue to use the sidelink with UE2 for unicast data transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of switching C2 connection of Ferdi and Xing to include the base station configuration of Chen to provide the link quality threshold value to the first UE. The motivation to do so would have been to determine whether the link quality between the first and second UEs is sufficient for unicast communications. (Chen [0031]).
Regarding claim 28, Ferdi and Xing teaches the first UE of claim 27, but do not teach wherein the operation further comprises: receiving, from a base station, configuration, wherein the configuration includes the threshold value.
Chen in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving, from a base station, configuration, wherein the configuration includes the threshold value ([0076] In some embodiments, the UE may also receive an interface switching threshold configuration from the base station, and the UE then determines whether to perform the PC5/Uu interface switching according to whether the current sidelink link quality meets the threshold configured by the base station. For example, if the measured sidelink link quality of the UE is less than the interface switching threshold, the UE switches the unicast data transmission with UE2 to the Uu interface, otherwise the UE may continue to use the sidelink with UE2 for unicast data transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of switching C2 connection of Ferdi and Xing to include the base station configuration of Chen to provide the link quality threshold value to the first UE. The motivation to do so would have been to determine whether the link quality between the first and second UEs is sufficient for unicast communications. (Chen [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 24, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferdi (WO 2021202960 A1) in view of Xing (US 20220279389 A1); further in view of Perras (US 20250071637 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ferdi and Xing teaches the method of claim 18 but they do not teach wherein the C2 connection status information includes whether the first UE can perform C2 connection via network or not.
Perras in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the C2 connection status information includes whether the first UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0146] The path switching request message 314 may include that path switching is triggered over PC5 interface. The WTRU1 302 may also, or alternatively, specify if the PC5 link should be preserved after a successful path switch to the UU interface, e.g., as a backup link. If, for example, the WTRU1 302 already has an established PDU session that may be used for path switching, the PC5 path switching request message 314 may include the IP address associated with WTRU1's 302 established PDU session. [0114] Once a WTRU establishes a PDU session, the IP address associated with the session, which is known at the NAS layer, may also be made available to the application layer. The application layer may pass the IP address associated with the PDU session to the ProSe layer. For example, the ProSe layer may use the IP address associated with the PDU session during a path switching procedure. [0115] The WTRU may be configured to exchange information across layers to enable path switching.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the C2 connection status information of Ferdi and Xing to include the IP address of the PDU session of the first UE of Perras to include whether the first UE can perform C2 connection via network or not. The motivation to do so would have been to assist the UE in determining whether a QoS flow can be switched between the PC5 interface and the Uu interface (Perras [0200]).
Regarding claim 24, Ferdi and Xing teaches the method of claim 18, but does not teach further comprising:
requesting, to the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not; and
receiving, from the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not, wherein the C2 connection status information includes the information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not.
Perras in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches
requesting, to the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0009] A first WTRU may be configured to receive a message from a second WTRU via a PC5 communication link. For example, the message may indicate that the second WTRU is able to perform a path switch from the PC5 communication link to the Uu-based network communication link. [0128] Peer WTRUs may be configured to share information associated with existing PDU sessions with each other. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the WTRU2 204 may be configured to inform the WTRU1 202 about its existing PDU session, for example, by using the PC5 keepalive mechanism. For example, the WTRU2 204 may be configured to transmit a PC5 keepalive request message 210. The PC5 keepalive request message may include the WTRU2's 204 PDU session status (e.g., available). Similarly, both the WTRU1 202 and/or the WTRU2 204 may make sure that their respective peer WTRUs are updated with the latest PDU session status using the keepalive mechanism.); and
receiving, from the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0013] In examples, a first WTRU may be configured to send a response to the second WTRU. For example, the response may indicate that the first WTRU is able to perform a path switch from the PC5 communication link to the Uu-based network communication link. [0130] In response to the keepalive request message 210 received from the WTRU2 204, the WTRU1 202 may transmit a keepalive response message 214. The keepalive response message 214 may include the WTRU1's PDU session status. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the WTRU1 202 may transmit the keepalive response message 214 to the WTRU2 204 that indicates that WTRU1 202 does not have any established PDU session.), wherein the C2 connection status information includes the information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0114] Once a WTRU establishes a PDU session, the IP address associated with the session, which is known at the NAS layer, may also be made available to the application layer. The application layer may pass the IP address associated with the PDU session to the ProSe layer. For example, the ProSe layer may use the IP address associated with the PDU session during a path switching procedure. [0115] The WTRU may be configured to exchange information across layers to enable path switching. For example, the ProSe layer may query the application layer to obtain information related to an existing PDU session (e.g., IP addresses, link quality, etc.). The ProSe layer may query the application layer to obtain the IP address associated with the PDU session during the path switching procedure. As described herein, information related to the link quality may also be queried and/or considered to enable path switching.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the C2 connection status information of Ferdi and Xing to include the keepalive messages of Perras to exchange information on whether the UEs can perform C2 communication via the network. The motivation to do so would have been to assist the UE in determining whether a QoS flow can be switched between the PC5 interface and the Uu interface (Perras [0200]).
Regarding claim 29, Ferdi and Xing teaches the first UE of claim 25 but they do not teach wherein the C2 connection status information includes whether the first UE can perform C2 connection via network or not.
Perras in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the C2 connection status information includes whether the first UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0146] The path switching request message 314 may include that path switching is triggered over PC5 interface. The WTRU1 302 may also, or alternatively, specify if the PC5 link should be preserved after a successful path switch to the UU interface, e.g., as a backup link. If, for example, the WTRU1 302 already has an established PDU session that may be used for path switching, the PC5 path switching request message 314 may include the IP address associated with WTRU1's 302 established PDU session. [0114] Once a WTRU establishes a PDU session, the IP address associated with the session, which is known at the NAS layer, may also be made available to the application layer. The application layer may pass the IP address associated with the PDU session to the ProSe layer. For example, the ProSe layer may use the IP address associated with the PDU session during a path switching procedure. [0115] The WTRU may be configured to exchange information across layers to enable path switching.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the C2 connection status information of Ferdi and Xing to include the IP address of the PDU session of the first UE of Perras to include whether the first UE can perform C2 connection via network or not. The motivation to do so would have been to assist the UE in determining whether a QoS flow can be switched between the PC5 interface and the Uu interface (Perras [0200]).
Regarding claim 31, Ferdi and Xing teaches the first UE of claim 25, but they do not teach wherein the operation further comprises: requesting, to the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not; and Application No. : To be assigned 0043US; 23ASL177PCOlUSO1 receiving, from the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not, wherein the C2 connection status information includes the information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not.
Perras in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches
requesting, to the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0009] A first WTRU may be configured to receive a message from a second WTRU via a PC5 communication link. For example, the message may indicate that the second WTRU is able to perform a path switch from the PC5 communication link to the Uu-based network communication link. [0128] Peer WTRUs may be configured to share information associated with existing PDU sessions with each other. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the WTRU2 204 may be configured to inform the WTRU1 202 about its existing PDU session, for example, by using the PC5 keepalive mechanism. For example, the WTRU2 204 may be configured to transmit a PC5 keepalive request message 210. The PC5 keepalive request message may include the WTRU2's 204 PDU session status (e.g., available). Similarly, both the WTRU1 202 and/or the WTRU2 204 may make sure that their respective peer WTRUs are updated with the latest PDU session status using the keepalive mechanism.); and
receiving, from the second UE, information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0013] In examples, a first WTRU may be configured to send a response to the second WTRU. For example, the response may indicate that the first WTRU is able to perform a path switch from the PC5 communication link to the Uu-based network communication link. [0130] In response to the keepalive request message 210 received from the WTRU2 204, the WTRU1 202 may transmit a keepalive response message 214. The keepalive response message 214 may include the WTRU1's PDU session status. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the WTRU1 202 may transmit the keepalive response message 214 to the WTRU2 204 that indicates that WTRU1 202 does not have any established PDU session.), wherein the C2 connection status information includes the information whether the second UE can perform C2 connection via network or not ([0114] Once a WTRU establishes a PDU session, the IP address associated with the session, which is known at the NAS layer, may also be made available to the application layer. The application layer may pass the IP address associated with the PDU session to the ProSe layer. For example, the ProSe layer may use the IP address associated with the PDU session during a path switching procedure. [0115] The WTRU may be configured to exchange information across layers to enable path switching. For example, the ProSe layer may query the application layer to obtain information related to an existing PDU session (e.g., IP addresses, link quality, etc.). The ProSe layer may query the application layer to obtain the IP address associated with the PDU session during the path switching procedure. As described herein, information related to the link quality may also be queried and/or considered to enable path switching.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the C2 connection status information of Ferdi and Xing to include the keepalive messages of Perras to exchange information on whether the UEs can perform C2 communication via the network. The motivation to do so would have been to assist the UE in determining whether a QoS flow can be switched between the PC5 interface and the Uu interface (Perras [0200]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 20230319913 A1) discloses command and control (C2) communications via direct link between a pair of user equipments (UEs).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465