DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-20, and 29, in the reply filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Wu (CN ‘516) does not disclose the newly amended weight ratio of protein to active. This is not found persuasive because upon searching the newly amended ratio, the technical feature is found in the prior art and therefore lacks unity. Applicant’s species election of paclitaxel and a solid pharmaceutical form without traverse is also acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 19, 21-23, 26-28, and 30-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species or invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 14 are amended and claims 6-7, 11-12, 15, and 24-25 are canceled. Claims 19, 21-23, 26-28, and 30-31 are withdrawn as set forth above. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 10/25/2024, is a 371 filing of PCT/CN2023/090721, filed 04/26/2023, which claims foreign priority to CN202210450810.1, filed 04/27/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2026, 08/22/2025, 01/16/2025, and 10/25/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 29 recite a nanoparticle composition “for rapid suspension”. Such language represents the intended use of the nanoparticles and does not impart any structural limitations to the claim. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020). As such, the rapid suspension of the nanoparticles will not be required.
Any limitations following the phrase “optionally” will be treated as not required. Furthermore, any recitation of “and/or” will be interpreted as the “or” option.
Claim 29 recites a product by process. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As such, if the nanoparticle of the prior art comprise every structural element claimed, the products will be interpreted as the same regardless of the production method.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The ratio range of “0.3:1-4:1” would be better represented by replacing the “-“ with the word “to”.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “disodium hydrogen phosphate/sodium dihydrogen phosphate” should replace the “/” with a “,” since these two terms are not equivalent but rather alternatives. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9-10, 14, 20, and 29 recite a composition for “rapid suspension”. The term “rapid” is a relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 3 recites wherein the active ingredient is “insoluble or slightly soluble in water, and soluble or easily soluble in a specific organic solvent”. The terms “slightly” and “easily” are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. “Slightly soluble” and “easily soluble” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Furthermore, “a specific organic solvent” is indefinite as there is no means for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine which “specific” organic solvent is referred to.
Claim 4 recites the active ingredient “selected from the group consisting of” and then several genera which are “including but not limited to” several species. It is noted that a claim element defined by selection from a group of alternatives (a Markush grouping; see MPEP §§ 2117 and 2173.05(h)) requires selection from a closed group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs. v. Baxter Pharmaceutical Products Inc., 334 F.3d 1274, 1280, 67 USPQ2d 1191, 1196-97 (Fed. Cir. 2003). By defining a closed Markush group with “consisting of” and then reopening the group with the phrase “including by not limited to”, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 4 recites the term "etc." which renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "etc."), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 4-5, 10, 13, and 20 recite the phrase "preferably", which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 5 and 10 recite the phrase "such as", which renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 14 recites the phrase "for example", which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 18 recites wherein the composition “is an injection”, however, it is unclear from this limitation if the composition is in any form suitable for injection or if injection is just the intended use? For the sake of compact prosecution “injection” will be interpreted as any form suitable for injection.
For the sake of compact prosecution any limitation following the phrase “preferably” , “such as”, or “for example” will be interpreted as optional.
Since the remaining claims do not clarify the above issues, they are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-5, 8, 13-14, 16-18, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, C., et al. (US 10500165 B2, 12/10/2019, IDS dated 10/25/2024), hereinafter Li.
Li discloses purified therapeutic nanoparticles.
Regarding claim 1: The nanoparticles comprise an active pharmaceutical ingredient and human serum albumin (i.e., a protein), wherein the weight ratio of human serum albumin to the active ingredient in the therapeutic nanoparticles is from 0.01:1 to 1:1 (abstract) more specifically, 0.03:1 to 0.95:1 (claim 1). A weight ratio of protein (HSA) to active ingredient of 1:1 or 0.95:1 falls within the instantly claimed range (i.e., 0.3:1 to 4:1). In one embodiment, after removal of the organic solvent, the suspension is sterilized by passing through a filter, and subsequently, it is lyophilized to obtain a solid. The solid obtained is re-suspended in sodium chloride solution (col. 12, lines 16-23; Example 11; claim 1), wherein sodium chloride reads on a particle stabilizer, as evidenced by the instant claims (see instant claim 8). As such, the entirety of claim 1 is anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 2: The active ingredient, protein, and particle stabilizer are discussed above. Li further teaches that the pharmaceutical composition also comprises lyophilization excipient (i.e., lyoprotectant) when the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of lyophilized powder, wherein the therapeutic nanoparticles are suspended in a solution of lyophilization excipient and subsequently the solution is lyophilized to obtain a pharmaceutical composition in a form of lyophilized powder (col. 10, lines 47-57; col. 13, lines 18-26; Example 23; claims 5-6).
Regarding claims 3 and 4: The active ingredient is a taxane, specifically paclitaxel (col. 2, lines 49-50; Examples; claim 1). Since the active of Li is identical to the active of the instant invention, it must inherently possess the recited characteristics. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5: The human serum albumin discussed above (abstract; claim 1) reads on a serum albumin with a carrier function as claimed.
Regarding claim 8: As discussed above, the lyophilized solid (comprising protein and active) is re-suspended in sodium chloride solution (col. 12, lines 16-23; Example 11; claim 1), which reads on the instantly claimed particle stabilizer.
Regarding claim 13: Because the composition anticipated by the prior art is identical to the composition of claim 1, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding claim 14: As discussed above, the weight ratio of human serum albumin to the active ingredient in the therapeutic nanoparticles is from 0.01:1 to 1:1 (abstract), more specifically 0.03:1 to 0.95:1 (claim 1). A weight ratio of protein (HSA) to active ingredient of 1:1 or 0.95:1 reads on the instantly claimed ratios. Additionally, the average particle size of the therapeutic nanoparticles is from 50 nm to 190 nm (col. 8, lines 60-63; claim 3), which falls within the instantly claimed range (i.e., 30-200 nm).
Regarding claim 16: The purified therapeutic nanoparticles do not comprise any surfactants (col. 10, lines 9-10; Examples).
Regarding claims 17 and 18: Intravenous infusion is the desirable administration route for the therapeutic nanoparticles. In such cases, after removal of the organic solvent, the suspension is sterilized by passing through a filter, and subsequently, it is lyophilized to obtain a solid. The solid obtained is re-suspended in sodium chloride solution (col. 12, lines 9-23; Example 11). Such a suspended solution reads on a liquid pharmaceutical formulation for injection.
Regarding claim 29: As discussed above, Li teaches a nanoparticle composition comprising an active pharmaceutical ingredient and human serum albumin (i.e., a protein) (abstract; claim 1). In one embodiment, the nanoparticles are suspended in a sodium chloride solution (col. 12, lines 16-23; Example 11; claim 1), wherein sodium chloride reads on a particle stabilizer. Li further teaches that the pharmaceutical composition also comprises lyophilization excipient (i.e., lyoprotectant) (col. 10, lines 47-57; col. 13, lines 18-26; Example 23; claims 5-6). As such, Li teaches every structural element of the nanoparticle composition of claim 29. Since the nanoparticles of Li comprise all of the same components as claimed, it reads on the instantly claimed product regardless of the method used to prepare the composition. See claim interpretation section above.
2. Claims 1-5, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teng, L., et al. (CN 105012251 A, 11/04/2015, IDS dated 10/25/2024), hereinafter Teng.
Teng discloses a taxane drug albumin nanoparticle freeze-drying preparation for injection.
Regarding claim 1: Teng teaches a lyophilized preparation of a taxane-type albumin nanoparticle, comprising taxanes (i.e., an active ingredient), albumin (i.e., a protein), ionic stabilizer (i.e., a particle stabilizer), and lyophilized matrix agent (i.e., a lyoprotectant) (claim 1; Examples). The taxanes are 0.1-20% and the albumin is 20-70% (claim 1). When the taxanes are 20% and the albumin is 20% or 70%, as explicitly disclosed by Teng, the weight ratio of the protein (i.e., albumin) to the active (i.e., taxanes) is between 1:1 and 3.5:1, which falls within the instantly claimed range. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage the claimed invention from the disclosure of Teng. See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 2: As discussed above, the nanoparticles of Teng comprise taxanes (i.e., an active ingredient), albumin (i.e., a protein), ionic stabilizer (i.e., a particle stabilizer), and lyophilized matrix agent (i.e., a lyoprotectant) (claim 1; Examples).
Regarding claims 3 and 4: The active ingredient is a taxane, specifically paclitaxel, docetaxel, or cabazitaxin (i.e., cabazitaxel) (claims 1 and 4; Examples 1-4). Since the actives of Li are identical to the actives of the instant invention, they must inherently possess the recited characteristics. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5: The albumin is selected from several serum albumins, specifically human serum albumin (claim 5; Examples 1-4), reading on a serum albumin with a carrier function.
Regarding claim 13: Because the composition anticipated by the prior art is identical to the composition of claim 1, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding claim 14: As discussed above, when the taxanes are 20% and the albumin is 20% or 70%, as explicitly disclosed by Teng, the weight ratio of the protein (i.e., albumin) to the active (i.e., taxanes) is between 1:1 and 3.5:1, which reads on the instantly claimed ratio. Additionally, the nanoparticles have an average particle diameter (i.e., size) of 129 nm, 125 nm, 135 nm, and 116 nm (Examples 1-4), each of which fall within the instantly claimed range (i.e., 30-200 nm).
Regarding claim 16: Teng makes no mention of a surfactant and none of the examples define the inclusion of one, as such the composition must comprise no surfactant.
Regarding claims 17 and 18: Teng describes lyophilizing a concentrated solution to provide the injection-type taxane-based albumin nano-lyophilized preparation (Examples 1-4; claim 2), thereby reading on a solid composition comprising the nanoparticles. Such a composition further reads on an injection or lyophilized powder.
Regarding claim 20: The lyophilized preparation (i.e., a solid powder) comprises 0.1 to 20% taxanes (claim 1), with 20% falling within the instantly claimed range (i.e., 1-30%).
Regarding claim 29: As discussed above, Teng teaches a lyophilized preparation of a taxane-type albumin nanoparticle, comprising taxanes (i.e., an active ingredient), albumin (i.e., a protein), ionic stabilizer (i.e., a particle stabilizer), and lyophilized matrix agent (i.e., a lyoprotectant) (claim 1; Examples). As such, Teng teaches every structural element of the nanoparticle composition of claim 29. Since the nanoparticles of Teng comprise all of the same components as claimed, it reads on the instantly claimed product regardless of the method used to prepare the composition. See claim interpretation section above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng, L., et al. (CN 105012251 A, 11/04/2015, IDS dated 10/25/2024), hereinafter Teng.
The teachings of Teng are discussed above, as are the rejections of claims 1-5, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29.
It is noted that the ionic stabilizer used in the examples of Teng is potassium chloride (Examples 1-4). However, the ionic stabilizer may be selected from the group consisting of potassium chloride, sodium chloride, potassium dihydrogen phosphate, dipotassium hydrogen phosphate, sodium dihydrogen phosphate, and sodium dihydrogen phosphate (claim 3, p. 3, para. 10). Sodium chloride reads on the particle stabilizer of claim 8.
As discussed above, the taxanes (i.e., active) are 0.1-20%, the albumin (i.e., protein) is 20%-70%, the ionic stabilizer (i.e., particle stabilizer) is 15-60%, and the lyophilized matrix agent (i.e., lyoprotectant) is 1%-30% (claim 1). An amount of 20% active falls within the instantly claimed range of claims 9 and 10 (i.e., 1-30%) while an amount of 20% protein falls within the instantly claimed range of claims 9 and 10 (i.e., 0.1-30%)
The teachings of Teng differ from that of the instant invention in that Teng does not explicitly teach an embodiment comprising sodium chloride as the particle stabilizer, as defined in instant claim 8, nor a concentration of the particle stabilizer and lyoprotectant within the ranges of claims 9 and 10.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select sodium chloride as the ionic stabilizer (i.e., particle stabilizer) in the nanoparticles of Teng, since sodium chloride is a known and routine stabilizer in the art as taught by Teng. While specific embodiments of Teng teach potassium chloride as the stabilizer, the broader disclosure teaches sodium chloride as a suitable alternative. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could have performed simple substitution of one known stabilizer (i.e., sodium chloride) for another (i.e., potassium chloride) to predictably yield the instant invention.
Regarding the amount of the particle stabilizer as defined in claims 9 and 10, and the amount of the lyoprotectant defined in claim 9, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amounts of the particle stabilizer and lyoprotectant in the composition of Teng to fall within the instantly claimed ranges, since it is known and routine in the art to optimize concentrations, specifically those impacting formulation stability. While the concentrations taught by Teng do not fall within the claimed concentrations of a particle stabilizer and lyoprotectant, it is well within the abilities of an ordinary artisan to optimize the amount of stabilizer and lyoprotectant in the composition depending on the desired stability of the final product. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the instantly claimed ranges of claims 9 and 10 through no more than routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, stability is considered a result effective parameter. Therefore, the concentration of ingredients which directly impact stability, such as a stabilizer and lyoprotectant, would also be considered result effective. The optimization of a result effective parameter is considered within the skill of the artisan. See, In re Boesch and Slaney (CCPA) 204 USPQ 215. This is what research chemists do, optimization of result-effective variables through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 IIA and B).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the above modification since the modifications are broadly encompassed by the disclosure of Teng and adjusting amounts of excipients is known and routine in the art.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,500,165 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’165 discloses every element of instant claims 1 and 29.
US’165 discloses purified therapeutic nanoparticles, consisting essentially of paclitaxel (i.e., active ingredient) and human serum albumin (HSA) (i.e., a protein), wherein the weight ratio of HSA to paclitaxel in the therapeutic nanoparticles is from 0.03:1 to 0.95:1 (claim 1), with a ratio of protein (HSA) to active (paclitaxel) of 0.95:1 reading on the instantly claimed ratio. It is further recited wherein when suspended in 0.9% sodium chloride or 5% mannitol, the resulting suspension is stable for 48 hours at room temperature (claim 1). In the case of suspension in sodium chloride, the composition reads on comprising a particle stabilizer as defined in the instant claims. Claims 5 and 6 recite wherein the pharmaceutical composition also comprises lyophilization excipient selected from one or more of mannitol, sucrose, lactose, maltose, trehalose, and dextran, which read on the instantly claimed lyoprotectant as defined in the instant claims.
2. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9-10 of copending Application No. 18/549,155 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims define every component of instant claim 1.
Copending claim 1 recites a composition comprising a docetaxel albumin nanoparticle comprising docetaxel and an acid-denatured albumin, which read on an active ingredient and protein, respectively. Copending claim 3 recites wherein the docetaxel and the human serum albumin are in a mass ratio of 1:(2.0-10.0), with a mass ratio of active (docetaxel) to protein (HAS) of 1:2 reading on the instantly claimed ratio (i.e., protein to active of 2:1). Copending claims 5, 7, and 9-10 define wherein the composition further comprises sodium chloride, which reads on the instantly claimed particle stabilizer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
3. Claim 29 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-10 of copending Application No. 18/549,155 (reference application) in view of Teng, L., et al. (CN 105012251 A, 11/04/2015, IDS dated 10/25/2024), hereinafter Teng. The Obviousness Double Patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims and would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Teng.
Copending claim 1 recites a composition comprising a docetaxel albumin nanoparticle comprising docetaxel and an acid-denatured albumin, which read on an active ingredient and protein, respectively. Copending claim 3 recites wherein the docetaxel and the human serum albumin are in a mass ratio of 1:(2.0-10.0), with a mass ratio of active (docetaxel) to protein (HAS) of 1:2 reading on the instantly claimed ratio (i.e., protein to active of 4:1). Copending claims 5, 7, and 9-10 define wherein the composition further comprises sodium chloride, which reads on the instantly claimed particle stabilizer. Copending claims 8 and 9 define a lyophilized powder.
The copending claims differ from instant claim 29 in that they do not define a lyoprotectant.
Teng discloses a taxane drug albumin nanoparticle freeze-drying preparation for injection. A lyophilized preparation of a taxane-type albumin nanoparticle, comprises taxanes, albumin, ionic stabilizer, and lyophilized matrix agent (i.e., a lyoprotectant) (claim 1; Examples).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the lyophilized matrix agent of Teng into the composition of the copending claims since such an agent is known and routine in the art as taught by Teng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a lyophilized matrix agent in the composition of the copending claims since such a composition undergoes lyophilization and would reasonable protect the active agent and protein present. Furthermore, both the copending claims and Teng disclose taxane-albumin nanoparticles for the same use. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Since the combined nanoparticle composition comprises all of the same components as claimed, it reads on the instantly claimed product regardless of the method used to prepare the composition. See claim interpretation section above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-14, 16-18, 20, and 29 are rejected.
No claims allowed.
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616