DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 1/31/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-46 have been canceled. New claims 47-88 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 2/27/2026 and 7/29/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered except where lined through.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 47, 52-54, 61, 66-68, 75 and 80-82 recite amount of the compound of formula 1 as an amount in mg/kg/day. For example, claim 47 recites a range from 0.1mg/kg/day to 10mg/kg/day. At the time of the invention was filed, the average weight in kilograms for children/adolescents and adults were as follows (see Fryar et al. (“Anthropometric Reference Data for Children and Adults: United Statues, August 2021-2023”, Vital Health Stat 2. 2025; 50: 1-28):
-Average weight in kilograms for children and adolescents ages 2-19 years of age ranged from 14.5kg to 77.0 kg (Table 1, accounts for lowest and highest from either female or male within the range) and
-Average weight in kilograms for adults age 20 and older ranged from 67.9kg to 95.3kg (see Table 3, accounts for lowest and highest from either female or male within the range).
Based on this, the examiner is interpreting the amount as claimed to encompass a range of 1.45 mg to 770 mg for the average child and adolescent and a range of 6.79 mg to 953mg for the average adult. In totality, the range encompasses 1.45 mg to 953 mg depending on the age category of the patient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019/232209 to Praxis Precision Medicines (2019-12-05, IDS) referred to herein as Praxis.
Praxis teaches fused heteroaryl compounds and compositions useful for preventing and/or treating a disease, disorder or condition relating to aberrant function of a sodium ion channel, wherein the compounds have the general formula I:
(paragraph 0003). With regards to the disease, disorder or condition, Praxis teaches that the condition includes, but is not limited to, genetic epilepsy or genetic epilepsy syndrome, wherein the genetic epilepsy or genetic epilepsy syndrome includes pediatric epilepsy such as Dravet syndrome, Dravet syndrome with SCN1A mutation, as well as, SCN2A epileptic encephalopathy, focal epilepsy with SCN3A mutation, cryptogenic pediatric partial epilepsy with SCN3A mutation, SCN8A epileptic encephalopathy, KCNQ2 epileptic encephalopathy, and KCNT1 epileptic encephalopathy (see paragraph 0028). Moreover, Praxis teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of a compound of formula I, wherein the effective amount refers to an amount sufficient to elicit a desired therapeutic effect, wherein the effective amount of a compound of the invention may vary depending on such factors as the desired biological endpoint, the pharmacokinetics of the compound, the disease being treated, the mode of administration, and the age, health, and condition of the subject (paragraph 0091). For example, Praxis teaches that the dosage unit contains 1mg to 2 g for oral administration (paragraph 00182). With regards to the compounds of formula I, Praxis teaches that compounds of formula I include, but are not limited to, a compound having the structure
referred to herein as compound 10 (see Example 9), wherein compound 10 was 1 of 9 compounds which were crystallized, shown to have inhibitory activity in the voltage ramp activated sodium current test and evaluated in the various seizure and survival mouse models (See Example 9, paragraph 00475, Example 103-106).
Praxis does not specifically select compound 10 for the treatment of genetic epilepsy or the effective amount of compound 10 as claimed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select compound 10 to be used in the method of treatment taught by Praxis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Compound 10 was 1 of 9 compounds which were crystallized, shown to have inhibitory activity in the voltage ramp activated sodium current test and evaluated in the various seizure and survival mouse models.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amount of compound 10 to be used in the method of treatment taught by Praxis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Praxis teaches that the effective amount refers to an amount sufficient to elicit a desired therapeutic effect, wherein the effective amount of a compound of the invention may vary depending on such factors as the desired biological endpoint, the pharmacokinetics of the compound, the disease being treated, the mode of administration, and the age, health, and condition of the subject (paragraph 0091); and
-Praxis teaches that the dosage unit contains 1mg to 2 g for oral administration (paragraph 00182).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) see MPEP 2144.05 (I)
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Claim(s) 47-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No:12325711B2 (2025-06-10).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The US Patent claims a method for modulating sodium ion channel activity in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound:
(Claim 1). With regards to the sodium ion channel disorder, the US Patent claims that the disorder includes, but is not limited to, genetic epilepsy or pediatric epilepsy (claim 5). More specifically, the US Patent claims that that the epilepsy includes, but is not limited to, epileptic encephalopathy selected from the group consisting of early infantile epileptic encephalopathy, KCNQ2 epileptic encephalopathy, KCNT1 epileptic encephalopathy, SCN1A epileptic encephalopathy, SCN2A epileptic encephalopathy, SCN8A epileptic encephalopathy, and Dravet syndrome with an SCN1A mutation (see for example claims 6-15). With regards to the effective amount, the US Patent teaches that the effective amount refers to an amount sufficient to elicit a desired therapeutic effect, wherein the effective amount of a compound of the invention may vary depending on such factors as the desired biological endpoint, the pharmacokinetics of the compound, the disease being treated, the mode of administration, and the age, health, and condition of the subject (Column 19, lines 1-9). For example, the US Patent teaches that the dosage unit contains 1mg to 2 g for oral administration (Column 42, lines 66-67).
The US Patent does not specifically teach the effective amount of compound as claimed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amount of the compound to be used in the method of treatment taught by the US Patent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- The US Patent teaches that the effective amount refers to an amount sufficient to elicit a desired therapeutic effect, wherein the effective amount of a compound of the invention may vary depending on such factors as the desired biological endpoint, the pharmacokinetics of the compound, the disease being treated, the mode of administration, and the age, health, and condition of the subject; and
-The US Patent teaches that the dosage unit contains 1mg to 2 g for oral administration.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) see MPEP 2144.05 (I)
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 47-51, 55-60, 61-65, 69-74, 75-79 and 83-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-5 and 9-14 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12582652B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Note: The only difference between the claims of the US Patent and the independent claims of the instant applicants lies in (a)-(f) which appear to be results of administration of the claimed compound to the claimed patient population. In the instant case, the both claim sets are administering the same compounds to the same patient populations in the same amounts. As such, it is unclear how this is a patentable difference between the two.
Claims 47, 52-54, 61, 66-68, 75 and 80-82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12582652B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the amounts claimed in the US Patent substantially overlap with the instantly claimed amounts.
Claims 47-88 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No 12325711B2 in view of WO2019/232209 to Praxis Precision Medicines (2019-12-05, IDS) referred to herein as Praxis.
The US Patent claims a method for modulating sodium ion channel activity in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound:
(Claim 1). With regards to the sodium ion channel disorder, the US Patent claims that the disorder includes, but is not limited to, genetic epilepsy or pediatric epilepsy (claim 5). More specifically, the US Patent claims that that the epilepsy includes, but is not limited to, epileptic encephalopathy selected from the group consisting of early infantile epileptic encephalopathy, KCNQ2 epileptic encephalopathy, KCNT1 epileptic encephalopathy, SCN1A epileptic encephalopathy, SCN2A epileptic encephalopathy, SCN8A epileptic encephalopathy, and Dravet syndrome with an SCN1A mutation (see for example claims 6-15).
The US Patent does not specifically teach the effective amount of compound as claimed.
Praxis teaches fused heteroaryl compounds and compositions useful for preventing and/or treating a disease, disorder or condition relating to aberrant function of a sodium ion channel, wherein the compounds have the general formula I:
(paragraph 0003). With regards to the disease, disorder or condition, Praxis teaches that the condition includes, but is not limited to, genetic epilepsy or genetic epilepsy syndrome, wherein the genetic epilepsy or genetic epilepsy syndrome includes pediatric epilepsy such as Dravet syndrome, Dravet syndrome with SCN1A mutation, as well as, SCN2A epileptic encephalopathy, focal epilepsy with SCN3A mutation, cryptogenic pediatric partial epilepsy with SCN3A mutation, SCN8A epileptic encephalopathy, KCNQ2 epileptic encephalopathy, and KCNT1 epileptic encephalopathy (see paragraph 0028). Moreover, Praxis teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of a compound of formula I, wherein the effective amount refers to an amount sufficient to elicit a desired therapeutic effect, wherein the effective amount of a compound of the invention may vary depending on such factors as the desired biological endpoint, the pharmacokinetics of the compound, the disease being treated, the mode of administration, and the age, health, and condition of the subject (paragraph 0091). For example, Praxis teaches that the dosage unit contains 1mg to 2 g for oral administration (paragraph 00182). With regards to the compounds of formula I, Praxis teaches that compounds of formula I include, but are not limited to, a compound having the structure
referred to herein as compound 10 (see Example 9), wherein compound 10 was 1 of 9 compounds which were crystallized, shown to have inhibitory activity in the voltage ramp activated sodium current test and evaluated in the various seizure and survival mouse models (See Example 9, paragraph 00475, Example 103-106).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amount of the compound to be used in the method of treatment claimed by the US Patent in view of the teachings of Praxis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Praxis teaches that the effective amount refers to an amount sufficient to elicit a desired therapeutic effect, wherein the effective amount of a compound of the invention may vary depending on such factors as the desired biological endpoint, the pharmacokinetics of the compound, the disease being treated, the mode of administration, and the age, health, and condition of the subject (paragraph 0091); and
-Praxis teaches that the dosage unit contains 1mg to 2 g for oral administration (paragraph 00182).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) see MPEP 2144.05 (I)
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Conclusion
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626