Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25, 28, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale (US 2018/0132168 A1), hereinafter “Ingale”, in view of Kusashima (US 2024/0215003 A1), hereinafter “Kusashima”, and further in view of Wu (US 2023/0042361 A1), hereinafter “Wu”.
Claim 21. Ingale teaches:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), (¶0134 FIGS. 2B and 2C are flow charts 200 illustrating a method for provisioning MSI for the UE 102 & ¶0286 FIG. 9B is a block diagram illustrating various modules of the UE 102 according to an embodiment as disclosed herein.)
comprising: a processor (¶0286 FIG. 9B is a block diagram illustrating various modules of the UE 102 according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The primary blocks present for communication include a communication module 912, a control signaling module 914, a processor module 916,)
configured to: receive, via a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), a first master information block (MIB); (¶0135 At step 202, the method includes decoding a PBCH to acquire a first MIB periodically transmitted by the base station. The UE 102 is configured to decode the PBCH to acquire the first MIB)
determine, based on contents of the first MIB, one or more of a first location associated with reception of a second MIB or a first format associated with the reception of the second MIB; (¶0135 At step 202, the method includes decoding a PBCH to acquire a first MIB periodically transmitted by the base station. The base station (i.e., gNB 103) periodically transmits the first MIB on the non-scheduled PBCH and the second MIB on the scheduled SBCH. The UE 102 is configured to decode the PBCH to acquire the first MIB which includes SFN, cell barring indication and scheduling information for the second MIB. & ¶0163 The scheduling information included in the first MIB (MIB#1) indicates at least periodicity of the second MIB (MIB#2), namely, SIB1 transmitted on the SBCH. The scheduling information included in the first MIB (MIB#1) also indicates the resource information to receive the PDCCH for the PDSCH on which the second MIB (i.e. MIB#2) is scheduled. [i.e. resource information to receive the second MIB is considered a first format associated with the reception of a second MIB])
receive, using one or more of (¶0137 After storing the acquired first MIB, at step 210, the method includes acquiring second MIB based on scheduling information received in the acquired first MIB. The UE 102 is configured to acquire the second MIB based on the scheduling information included in the first MIB. [i.e. scheduling information considered a format for receiving the second MIB])
Yet, Ingale does not explicitly teach wherein the second MIB is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI);
However, in the analogous art, Kusashima teaches:
wherein the second MIB is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI); (¶0121 parameters that can be transmitted by MIB described above is transmitted by using two types of MIBs of first MIB and second MIB. The second MIB is transmitted in an SS/PBCH block different from an SS/PBCH block in which the first MIB is transmitted. Alternatively, the second MIB is transmitted on secondary PBCH. Alternatively, the second MIB is transmitted in DCI. [i.e. a second MIB transmitted in a DCI which is via the PDCCH])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Kusashima’s teaching of a second MIB being received via PDCCH DCI, because it would enable a first and second MIB to indicate different configurations via two types of MIBs. (see Kusashima ¶0121)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: determine, based on contents of the second MIB, one or more of a second location associated with reception of a system information block (SIB) or a second format associated with reception of the SIB; and receive the SIB based on the second location or the second format.
However, in the analogous art, Wu teaches:
determine, based on contents of the second MIB, one or more of (¶0054 the base station 104 can transmit a second SSB on the second initial BWP. The second SSB can include a second PSS, a second PBCH (or a second MIB), and a second SSS. The second MIB may include a second PDCCH configuration (e.g., PDCCH-ConfigSIB1) for a UE with low bandwidth capability (such as the UE 102B) to receive the at least one SIB, or another SIB(s) the base station 104 can broadcast on the second initial DL BWP. In one implementation, the UE 102B can receive the other SIB(s) according to the second PDCCH configuration. [i.e. UE determines based on the second PDCCH configuration (second MIB), the format for UE to receive SIBs through PDCCH-ConfigSIB1])
and receive the SIB based on (¶0054 the base station 104 can transmit a second SSB on the second initial BWP. The second SSB can include a second PSS, a second PBCH (or a second MIB), and a second SSS. The second MIB may include a second PDCCH configuration (e.g., PDCCH-ConfigSIB1) for a UE with low bandwidth capability (such as the UE 102B) to receive the at least one SIB, or another SIB(s) the base station 104 can broadcast on the second initial DL BWP. In one implementation, the UE 102B can receive the other SIB(s) according to the second PDCCH configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale and Kusashima’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Wu’s teaching of determining a format associated with reception of an SIB based on the contents of a second MIB, because it would enable a low bandwidth capability wireless device to receive SIBs based on the second PDCCH configuration contained within the second MIB. (see Wu ¶0054)
Claim 25. Ingale combined with Kusashima and Wu teaches claim 21.
Ingale further teaches:
wherein the first MIB includes an indication that the second MIB is being transmitted. (¶0106 the 5G eNB 103 is configured to transmit a broadcast channel (i.e., a Primary Broadcast Channel (PBCH)) to at least one UE 102. The PBCH is a non-scheduled downlink broadcast channel. The UE 102 is configured to decode the PBCH to acquire the first MIB. Further, the UE 102 is configured to determine to bar a cell from which the first MIB is acquired for a pre-determined period of time or to acquire a second MIB transmitted on a Secondary Broadcast Channel (SBCH) by the base station (i.e., the 5G eNB 103) based on a cell barring indication included in the first MIB.)
Claims 28 and 32 are directed to method and device claims that recite similar limitations to device claims 21 and 25. Therefore, the rejections for claims 28 and 32 are similar to the rejections of claims 21 and 25.
Claims 22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale combined with Kusashima and Wu, further in view of Parkvall et al. (US 2022/0159618 A1), hereinafter “Parkvall”.
Claim 22, Ingale combined with Kusashima and Wu teaches claim 21.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the contents the first MIB include first configuration information associated with a first control resource set (CORESET), and wherein the first configuration information is used to determine the first location or the first format.
However, in the analogous art, Parkvall teaches:
wherein the contents the first MIB include first configuration information associated with a first control resource set (CORESET), (¶0002 Among other pieces of information, the MIB contains the configuration of Control Resource Set 0 (CORESET #0). & ¶0097-¶0098 network node 16 such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62 and communication interface 60 is configured to cause (Block S140) transmission of master information block, MIB, where at least a portion of content of the MIB is interpretable using a first configuration different than a second configuration previously stored at the wireless device 22 for interpreting MIB. the first configuration corresponds to a first table of at least a first CORESET configuration)
and wherein the first configuration information is used to determine (¶0002-¶0003 Among other pieces of information, the MIB contains the configuration of Control Resource Set 0 (CORESET #0) which describes the structure for receiving the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). Some embodiments advantageously provide methods, systems, and apparatuses for using the reserved bit of a MIB as a flag to indicate whether an “extension MIB’ (eMIB, also referred to as additional MIB and/or MIB extension) is present or as an instruction to interpret at least a portion of content of the MIB. & ¶0097-¶0098 network node 16 such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62 and communication interface 60 is configured to cause (Block S140) transmission of master information block, MIB, where at least a portion of content of the MIB is interpretable using a first configuration different than a second configuration previously stored at the wireless device 22 for interpreting MIB. the first configuration corresponds to a first table of at least a first CORESET configuration [i.e. the MIB is interpreted (decoded) using first configuration that indicates how to interpret the MIB (first format)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale, Kusashima, and Wu’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Parkvall’s teaching of the first MIB including configuration information associated with a first CORESET, because it would enable MIB to indicate separate configurations for different versions of wireless communication standard through the use of an extended MIB. (see Parkvall ¶0003 & ¶0021)
Claim 29 is directed to a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 22. Therefore, the rejections for claim 29 is similar to the rejection of claim 22.
Claims 23-24 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale combined with Kusashima, Wu, and Parkvall, further in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0287291 A1), hereinafter “Li”.
Claim 23, Ingale combined with Kusashima, Wu, and Parkvall teaches claim 22.
Parkvall further teaches:
wherein the contents of the second MIB include second configuration information associated with a second CORESET, (¶0095 According to one or more embodiments, the MIB extension is an additional MIB. the MIB defines a CORESET #0, and the MIB extension defines a different CORESET #0 that has a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the CORESET #0 defined by the MIB. [i.e. different CORESET is a second CORESET associated with a MIB extension (second MIB)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale, Kusashima, and Wu’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Parkvall’s teaching of the second MIB including configuration information associated with a second CORESET, because it would enable MIB to indicate separate configurations for different versions of wireless communication standard through the use of an extended MIB. (see Parkvall ¶0003 & ¶0021)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the second configuration information is used to determine the second location for reception of a PDCCH DCI associated with the reception of the SIB or the second format for the reception of the PDCCH DCI associated with the reception of the SIB.
However, in the analogous art, Li teaches:
and wherein the second configuration information is used to determine (¶0153 in case that a configuration parameter pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in the MIB message has a specific value, it indicates that the network device may access the repeater and is a ncr-Support network device. & ¶0164 the first system message is a MIB message common to a ncr-Support network device and a non-ncr-Support network device, the second system message is a SIB-1 message transmitted on the PDSCH indicated by DCI in a first PDCCH [i.e. pdcch-ConfigSIB1 (second configuration information) used for determining parameters (format) for receiving a SIB indicated by PDCCH DCI (PDCCH DCI associated with reception of the SIB])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale, Kusashima, Wu, and Parkvall’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Li’s teaching of configuration information used to determine a format for the reception of a PDDCH DCI associated with the reception of an SIB, because it would enable the wireless device to receive a system information block (SIB) based on identifying whether a repeater may access the network, which saves power. (see Li ¶0169)
Claim 24. Ingale combined with Kusashima, Wu, Parkvall, and Li teaches claim 23.
Parkvall further teaches:
wherein the second CORESET is smaller than the first CORESET. (¶0006 According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the MIB defines a CORESET #0 where the MIB extension defines a different CORESET #0 that has a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the CORESET #0 defined by the MIB. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, a size of the MIB extension is less than a size of the MIB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale, Kusashima, Wu, and Li’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Parkvall’s teaching of the second CORESET being smaller than the first CORESET, because it would enable MIB to indicate separate configurations for different versions of wireless communication standard through the use of an extended MIB, such as for supporting devices that operate on smaller bandwidths. (see Parkvall ¶0002-¶0003)
Claims 30-31 are directed to method and device claims that recite similar limitations to device claims 23-24. Therefore, the rejections for claims 30-31 are similar to the rejections of claims 23-24.
Claims 26-27 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale combined with Kusashima, Wu, further in view of Bhatoolaul et al. (US 2023/0379802 A1), hereinafter “Bhatoolaul”.
Claim 26. Ingale combined with Kusashima and Wu teaches claim 21.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the WTRU is a reduced capability WTRU.
However, in the analogous art, Bhatoolaul teaches:
wherein the WTRU is a reduced capability WTRU. (¶0045 the UE may be a REDCAP UE, and the UE may locate a scheduling DCI to a PDSCH carrying REDCAP-specific SIB1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale, Kusashima, and Wu’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Bhatoolaul’s teaching of the WTRU being reduced capability, because it would enable the use of extended master information block (MIB) for a separate REDCAP system information block (SIB). (see Bhatoolaul ¶0045)
Claim 27. Ingale combined with Kusashima, Wu, and Bhatoolaul teaches claim 26.
Bhatoolaul further teaches:
wherein determining (¶0027 the UE may determine the extended PBCH time-frequency location using a time-frequency location and format from an MIB. Continuing with the previous example, after an initial reading of the MIB, the UE may determine the extended PBCH location and format. & ¶0031 certain embodiments may enable a UE to efficiently detect the presence of PBCH extension bits or indicate support for REDCAP UEs [i.e. reduced capacity UEs]. & ¶0044 for the schemes described herein, the UE may be a REDCAP UE that use SSBs for time/frequency synchronization, system frame number (SFN) acquisition and, when applicable, related measurements performed by the UE, including beam-related measurements. [i.e. extended PBCH location and format determined based on initial reading of MIB and the UE may be REDCAP (reduced capability)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale, Kusashima, and Wu’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Bhatoolaul’s teaching of determining the first format based on the WTRU being reduced capability, because it would enable the use of extended master information block (MIB) for a separate REDCAP system information block (SIB). (see Bhatoolaul ¶0045)
Claims 33-34 are directed to method and device claims that recite similar limitations to device claims 26-27. Therefore, the rejections for claims 33-34 are similar to the rejections of claims 26-27.
Claims 35 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale, further in view of Parkvall (previously cited above).
Claim 35. Ingale teaches:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), (¶0134 FIGS. 2B and 2C are flow charts 200 illustrating a method for provisioning MSI for the UE 102 & ¶0286 FIG. 9B is a block diagram illustrating various modules of the UE 102 according to an embodiment as disclosed herein.)
comprising: a processor (¶0286 FIG. 9B is a block diagram illustrating various modules of the UE 102 according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The primary blocks present for communication include a communication module 912, a control signaling module 914, a processor module 916,)
configured to: receive a first master information block (MIB), (¶0135 At step 202, the method includes decoding a PBCH to acquire a first MIB periodically transmitted by the base station. The UE 102 is configured to decode the PBCH to acquire the first MIB)
Yet, Ingale does not explicitly teach: wherein the first MIB includes first configuration information associated with a first control resource set (CORESET); determine, based on the first configuration information associated with the first CORESET, one or more of a first location associated with reception of a second MIB or a first format associated with the reception of the second MIB; receive, using one or more of the first location or the first format, the second MIB, wherein the second MIB includes second configuration information associated with a second CORESET;
However, in the analogous art, Parkvall teaches:
wherein the first MIB includes first configuration information associated with a first control resource set (CORESET); (¶0002 Among other pieces of information, the MIB contains the configuration of Control Resource Set 0 (CORESET #0). & ¶0097-¶0098 network node 16 such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62 and communication interface 60 is configured to cause (Block S140) transmission of master information block, MIB, where at least a portion of content of the MIB is interpretable using a first configuration different than a second configuration previously stored at the wireless device 22 for interpreting MIB. the first configuration corresponds to a first table of at least a first CORESET configuration)
determine, based on the first configuration information associated with the first CORESET, one or more of (¶0095 the MIB extension is an additional MIB. the MIB defines a CORESET #0, and the MIB extension defines a different CORESET #0 that has a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the CORESET #0 defined by the MIB. & ¶0097-¶0098 network node 16 such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62 and communication interface 60 is configured to cause (Block S140) transmission of master information block, MIB, where at least a portion of content of the MIB is interpretable using a first configuration different than a second configuration previously stored at the wireless device 22 for interpreting MIB. the first configuration corresponds to a first table of at least a first CORESET configuration & ¶0102 the WD 22 is configured to, and/or comprises a radio interface and/or processing circuitry configured to decode a reception timing of the eMIB in relation to the MIB. the WD 22 is configured to, and/or comprises a radio interface and/or processing circuitry configured to interpret a subsequently received MIB as the eMIB, i.e., interpret a MIB received after the MIB flagging as the eMIB which allows the WD 22 to interpret the MIB along with the additional MIB (i.e., eMIB). [i.e. based on the configuration information associated with the MIB that defines CORESET #0, a reception timing of the eMIB (second MIB) in relation to the MIB is a first format associated with the reception of the second MIB])
receive, using one or more of (¶0101-¶0102 the WD 22 is configured to, and/or comprises a radio interface and/or processing circuitry configured to receive and decode the eMIB. the WD 22 is configured to, and/or comprises a radio interface and/or processing circuitry configured to decode a reception timing of the eMIB in relation to the MIB. the WD 22 is configured to, and/or comprises a radio interface and/or processing circuitry configured to interpret a subsequently received MIB as the eMIB, i.e., interpret a MIB received after the MIB flagging as the eMIB which allows the WD 22 to interpret the MIB along with the additional MIB (i.e., eMIB). [i.e. receive and decode the eMIB (second MIB) using reception timing information (first format)])
wherein the second MIB includes second configuration information associated with a second CORESET; (¶0095 According to one or more embodiments, the MIB extension is an additional MIB. the MIB defines a CORESET #0, and the MIB extension defines a different CORESET #0 that has a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the CORESET #0 defined by the MIB. [i.e. eMIB (second MIB) includes configuration for a different CORESET #0 (second CORESET)])
determine, based on the second configuration information associated with the second CORESET, one or more of (¶0002 The MIB is transmitted on a physical channel separate from the SIBs such as a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The MIB contains a small amount of information, necessary for the wireless device (WD) to be able to receive the remaining system information in the SIBs. & ¶0095 According to one or more embodiments, the MIB extension is an additional MIB. the MIB defines a CORESET #0, and the MIB extension defines a different CORESET #0 that has a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the CORESET #0 defined by the MIB. & ¶0115-¶0116 pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in an existing communications standard may be configured to indicate a CORESET (i.e., CORESET #0) and PDCCH time domain location/monitoring occasion (i.e., Search Space #0). a network may need to transmit PDCCH scheduling SIB1 for 3GPP Rel-15 WD 22 per the configuration signaled in pdcch-ConfigSIB1. Effectively, the network node 16 needs to configure two CORESET #0's (resp. Search Space #0's) for scheduling SIB [i.e. pdcch-ConfigSIB1 is second configuration information for a CORESET #0 which schedules the SIB, and a scheduling (format) associated with the reception of the SIB is therefore determined from the configuration information])
and receive the SIB based on the second location or the second format. (¶0002 The MIB is transmitted on a physical channel separate from the SIBs such as a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The MIB contains a small amount of information, necessary for the wireless device (WD) to be able to receive the remaining system information in the SIBs ¶0115-¶0116 pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in an existing communications standard may be configured to indicate a CORESET (i.e., CORESET #0) and PDCCH time domain location/monitoring occasion (i.e., Search Space #0). a network may need to transmit PDCCH scheduling SIB1 for 3GPP Rel-15 WD 22 per the configuration signaled in pdcch-ConfigSIB1. Effectively, the network node 16 needs to configure two CORESET #0's (resp. Search Space #0's) for scheduling SIB such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, MIB unit 32, etc. [i.e. the pdcch-ConfigSIB1 (configuration information) indicates scheduling (format) of the SIBs so the WD may receive them])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Parkvall’s teaching of the first MIB including configuration information associated with a first CORESET, because it would enable MIB to indicate separate configurations for different versions of wireless communication standard through the use of an extended MIB. (see Parkvall ¶0003 & ¶0021)
Claim 38. Ingale combined with Parkvall teaches claim 35.
Parkvall further teaches:
wherein the first MIB is received via a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). (¶0002 The MIB is transmitted on a physical channel separate from the SIBs such as a physical broadcast channel (PBCH).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Parkvall’s teaching of the first MIB being received via PBCH, because it would enable the MIB to be transmitted separate from the SIBs. (see Parkvall ¶0002-¶0003)
Claim 39. Ingale combined with Parkvall teaches claim 35.
Ingale further teaches:
wherein the first MIB includes an indication that the second MIB is being transmitted. (¶0106 the 5G eNB 103 is configured to transmit a broadcast channel (i.e., a Primary Broadcast Channel (PBCH)) to at least one UE 102. The PBCH is a non-scheduled downlink broadcast channel. The UE 102 is configured to decode the PBCH to acquire the first MIB. Further, the UE 102 is configured to determine to bar a cell from which the first MIB is acquired for a pre-determined period of time or to acquire a second MIB transmitted on a Secondary Broadcast Channel (SBCH) by the base station (i.e., the 5G eNB 103) based on a cell barring indication included in the first MIB.)
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale combined with Parkvall, further in view of Kusashima (previously cited above).
Claim 36. Ingale combined with Parkvall teaches claim 35.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the second MIB is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI).
However, in the analogous art, Kusashima teaches:
wherein the second MIB is received via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI). (¶0121 parameters that can be transmitted by MIB described above is transmitted by using two types of MIBs of first MIB and second MIB. The second MIB is transmitted in an SS/PBCH block different from an SS/PBCH block in which the first MIB is transmitted. Alternatively, the second MIB is transmitted on secondary PBCH. Alternatively, the second MIB is transmitted in DCI. [i.e. a second MIB transmitted in a DCI which is via the PDCCH])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale and Parkvall’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Kusashima’s teaching of a second MIB being received via PDCCH DCI, because it would enable a first and second MIB to indicate different configurations via two types of MIBs. (see Kusashima ¶0121)
Claim 37. Ingale combined with Parkvall and Kusashima teaches claim 36.
Parkvall further teaches:
wherein the second configuration information associated with the second CORESET is used to determine (¶0002 The MIB is transmitted on a physical channel separate from the SIBs such as a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The MIB contains a small amount of information, necessary for the wireless device (WD) to be able to receive the remaining system information in the SIBs. & ¶0095 According to one or more embodiments, the MIB extension is an additional MIB. the MIB defines a CORESET #0, and the MIB extension defines a different CORESET #0 that has a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the CORESET #0 defined by the MIB. & ¶0115-¶0116 pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in an existing communications standard may be configured to indicate a CORESET (i.e., CORESET #0) and PDCCH time domain location/monitoring occasion (i.e., Search Space #0). a network may need to transmit PDCCH scheduling SIB1 for 3GPP Rel-15 WD 22 per the configuration signaled in pdcch-ConfigSIB1. Effectively, the network node 16 needs to configure two CORESET #0's (resp. Search Space #0's) for scheduling SIB [i.e. pdcch-ConfigSIB1 (second configuration information) associated with two CORESETs (a second CORESET), of which is used for scheduling the SIB (second format for receiving the PDCCH associated with reception of SIB])
and wherein the second CORESET is smaller than the first CORESET. (Claim 8 & ¶0027 the first configuration corresponds to a first table of at least a first CORESET configuration and the second configuration corresponds to a second table of at least a second CORESET configuration different from at least the first CORESET. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the first CORESET configuration corresponds to CORESET #0 with a smaller bandwidth than a bandwidth of the second CORESET configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale and Kusashima,’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Parkvall’s teaching of the second CORESET being smaller than the first CORESET, because it would enable MIB to indicate separate configurations for different versions of wireless communication standard through the use of an extended MIB, such as for supporting devices that operate on smaller bandwidths. (see Parkvall ¶0002-¶0003)
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale combined with Parkvall, further in view of Bhatoolaul (previously cited above).
Claim 40. Ingale combined with Parkvall teaches claim 35.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the WTRU is a reduced capability WTRU, and wherein determining the first location or the first format is further based on the WTRU being the reduced capability WTRU.
However, in the analogous art, Bhatoolaul teaches:
wherein the WTRU is a reduced capability WTRU, (¶0045 the UE may be a REDCAP UE, and the UE may locate a scheduling DCI to a PDSCH carrying REDCAP-specific SIB1.)
and wherein determining the first location or the first format is further based on the WTRU being the reduced capability WTRU. (¶0027 the UE may determine the extended PBCH time-frequency location using a time-frequency location and format from an MIB. Continuing with the previous example, after an initial reading of the MIB, the UE may determine the extended PBCH location and format. & ¶0031 certain embodiments may enable a UE to efficiently detect the presence of PBCH extension bits or indicate support for REDCAP UEs [i.e. reduced capacity UEs]. & ¶0044 for the schemes described herein, the UE may be a REDCAP UE that use SSBs for time/frequency synchronization, system frame number (SFN) acquisition and, when applicable, related measurements performed by the UE, including beam-related measurements. [i.e. extended PBCH location and format determined based on initial reading of MIB and the UE may be REDCAP (reduced capability)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ingale and Parkvall’s invention of a method and user equipment (UE) for provisioning minimum system information (MSI) in wireless communication system to include Bhatoolaul’s teaching of the WTRU being reduced capability, because it would enable the use of extended master information block (MIB) for a separate REDCAP system information block (SIB). (see Bhatoolaul ¶0045)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 2023/0224824 A1); at least ¶0083 teaches a UE receiving configuration information about a CORESET through which a PDCCH DCI for receiving a system information block (SIB). Relevant to claims 23, 30, and 37.
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417