DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101/112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility.
The claims 1-16 recite “the step of using an anterior segment ocular drug depot system”. However, the specification and claims do not describe how the product is to be used. Because the claimed invention merely recites a use without any active, positive steps, the artisan is unable to determine how this use is actually practiced.
Claims 1-16 also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112--Indefiniteness
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims 1-16 recite “the step of using an anterior segment ocular drug depot system”. It is not clear how the microemulsion is being used in the claimed method. Ophthalmic uses include topical application to the eye, intravitreal injections, ingestion, and parenteral injections, i.e. IV, IM, SubQ. Given the variability in uses for treating the eye, the artisan would not reasonably appreciate the metes and bounds of the claimed method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Solfato et al., (US 10,980,745, cited in IDS).
Solfato et al. teaches “oil-in-water microemulsions for formulating pharmaceutically active compounds” (Abstract).
“The emulsions, which can be formulated for administration via a variety of routes and for a variety of uses, are particularly advantageous for ophthalmic applications” (col. 1, lines 50-53).
“The emulsions herein not only have enhanced stability, but also confer enhanced bioavailability of poorly water-soluble drugs in a liquid dosage form” (col. 1, lines 59-61).
The microemulsion is composed of “an oil component in an amount of 0.4-4.0% weight/volume (w/v) of the composition; a surfactant or a mixture of surfactant(s) and co-surfactants(s) in an amount of 5.71-40.15% (w/v), inclusive of the composition; an aqueous component that is in an amount between 55.85%-93.89% (w/v), inclusive, of the composition; and optionally a pharmaceutically active compound” (col. 4, lines 22-29).
The prior art teaches as specific embodiment for ophthalmic administration comprising:
(col. 30, lines 35-45). Here, the oil phase (1.41%), surfactant mixture (15.56%), and aqueous phase (75.27%), fall within the claimed range.
Since the microemulsion is for ophthalmic use, the prior art anticipates the step of using of the microemulsion as anterior segment ocular drug depot system.
The prior art also teaches:
(col. 40, lines 25-35). This embodiment is capable of treating corneal neovascularization, as per claims 15-16 insofar as sorafenib (active; clm. 8-10) is a multikinase inhibitor which blocks VEGF receptors to block angiogenesis (see also Technological Background below).
Concerning claims 2, the oil-in-water microemulsion of the prior art is taught to “contain dispersed particles of a size <30 nm” (col. 1, lines 18-20), and provide “the weight/volume ratio between the surfactants/co-surfactants in the lipid phase and the surfactants/co-surfactants in the aqueous phase, is from 2 to 10, such as 2.2, to 9.8 or 2.4 to 8.6” (col. 2, lines 21-24) and “the weight/volume ratio between the oily (oil) component of the lipid phase and the surfactants/co-surfactants in the aqueous phase is from 0.2 to 1.0, such as 0.22 to 0.98 or 0.24 to 0.96” (Id. lines 25-28).
The prior art teaches “a narrow size distribution; generally the size distribution of particles in the resulting microemulsion is 15 nm±10 nm” (col. 3, lines 61-65), as per claim 3; a “polydispersity index (PDI)” of “0.02 to 0.380” (col. 4, lines 32-35), as per claim 4; an “HLB” of “at least 10, such as 10-16, or 12-14” (col. 5, lines 20-24), as per claim 5; “natural oil or synthetic oil” (col. 22, lines 1-3), as per claim 6, e.g. ”vegetable oil” (Id. line 4), as per claim 7; reduction of “TNF-alpha” (col. 43, lines 50-54), as per claim 11; antioxidants such as “nordihydroguaiaretic acid” (col. 7, lines 46-48), as per claim 12; “NSAIDS” (col. 25, lines 42-45), as per claim 13; actives from “0.01 to 50 mg/ml” (col. 25, lines 46-48), as per claim 14.
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches a microemulsion comprising an oil component, a surfactant component, and an aqueous component as claimed for use in treating the eye. Solfato et al. teaches, “The microemulsions can be formulated for topical administration to the eye or for injection or any suitable route” (col. 26, lines 25-26). Topical administration to the eye would have inherently included the anterior segment of the eye. The composition is capable of performing the intended use insofar as it is an oil-in-water microemulsion comprising actives, such as sorafenib, suitable for treating corneal neovascularization (see Technological Background below).
Assuming, for the sake of argument, that the prior art is not specific enough to give rise to anticipation, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use the microemulsion comprising sorafenib, for example, to treat corneal neovascularization based on its function as multikinase inhibitor for blocking angiogenesis.
Technological Background
1) The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Kang et al., (WO 2021/125800). Kang et al. is pertinent for teaching a compound and method for treating angiogenic diseases (Abstract). Angiogenic diseases include “neovascular ocular disease”, e.g. “corneal neovascular disease” (p. 10, lines 4-7). The compositions “may also be provided as a solution for topical administration, for example, eye drops” (p. 55, lines 23-25], and teaches the use of actives such as “sorafenib” (p. 2, lines 4-5).
2) The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Yang et al., (US 2020/0031783). Cleland et al. is pertinent for teaching “microemulsions” for ocular delivery of active compounds (p. 1, para. [0004]), where active compounds include “sorafenib” (p. 3, para. [0025]), and ocular diseases include “corneal neovascularization” (p. 154, para. [0852]) and administration includes topical delivery for treating anterior ocular diseases (p. 1, [0005]).
3) The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Fangueiro et al., (Current Pharmaceutical Design, 2016). Fangueiro et al. is pertinent for teaching new strategies for targeting anterior and posterior segments of the eye including “microemulsions” (Abstract). “The use of microemulsions for ocular administration is very interesting since these systems are relatively stable, can be easily sterilized, and have a high loading capacity of drugs. Also, microemulsions provide adequate fluidity and viscosity increasing ocular retention while retaining the therapeutic efficiency” (p. 1139, left column, 3rd paragraph).
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612