DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 12, 14-16 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 10 and 14-15 of copending Application No. US 18/860,529 (i.e. US 2025/0301356 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to transmitting a sensing configuration from a base station (BS) to a user equipment (UE) according to UE suitability/capability, performing sensing at the UE, and then subsequently reporting sensing result to the BS. Please see the table below for a comparison of the co-pending applications.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/860,429)
copending application
(18/860,529 | US 2025/0301356 A1)
Claim No.
1
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
A user equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication, comprising:
1
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task;
receive, from a network node, a query message for a radio sensing operation, wherein the query message indicates a set of suitability conditions;
perform radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration to determine whether the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task;
determine that the UE satisfies the set of suitability conditions;
transmit a suitability report comprising the radio sensing suitability measurements according to the first configuration; and
transmit, to the network node, a response message based on the determination;
receive, in response to determining that the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task according to the radio sensing suitability measurements, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations.
receive a sensing configuration for the radio sensing operation in response to the response message, the sensing configuration comprising one or more of: a configuration for radio sensing reference signal (“RS”) transmission, a configuration for radio sensing RS reception, or a configuration for radio sensing measurement report transmission; and
perform the radio sensing operation based on the sensing configuration.
2
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first configuration comprises:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the query message comprises a sensing suitability query,
4
wherein the response message comprises a suitability report,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a reporting configuration for the suitability report from the network node, wherein the reporting configuration comprises one or more of:
a set of time resources, frequency resources, beam resources, or a combination thereof,
a set of time-frequency resources for transmitting the suitability report, a set of beams for transmitting the suitability report, or
…
a type of report to be transmitted based on an evaluation of sensing suitability criteria; or a combination thereof.
a type of report for the suitability report based on the set of suitability conditions.
3
The UE of claim 1, wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to report the radio sensing suitability measurements in response to satisfying a suitability criteria or determining that a number of positively responding nodes does not exceed a predetermined threshold.
A user equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication, comprising:
…
determine that the UE satisfies the set of suitability conditions;
transmit, to the network node, a response message based on the determination;
1
4
The UE of claim 1, wherein the radio sensing scenario comprises
The UE of claim 1, wherein the set of suitability conditions comprises one or more of:
2
an indication of an object or target of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an object of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an area or angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an area of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, or
a type of the radio sensing task, or a combination thereof.
a type of radio sensing task.
12
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first configuration is for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a sidelink-based sensing task.
The UE of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a peer UE, wherein the query message comprises a sidelink sensing request.
10
14
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
A user equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
1
receiving a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task;
receive, from a network node, a query message for a radio sensing operation, wherein the query message indicates a set of suitability conditions;
performing radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration to determine whether the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task;
determine that the UE satisfies the set of suitability conditions;
transmitting a suitability report comprising the radio sensing suitability measurements according to the first configuration; and
transmit, to the network node, a response message based on the determination;
receiving in response to determining that the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task according to the radio sensing suitability measurements, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations.
receive a sensing configuration for the radio sensing operation in response to the response message, the sensing configuration comprising one or more of: a configuration for radio sensing reference signal (“RS”) transmission, a configuration for radio sensing RS reception, or a configuration for radio sensing measurement report transmission; and
perform the radio sensing operation based on the sensing configuration.
15
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising:
A base station for wireless communication, comprising:
15
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network entity to:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task;
transmit, to a plurality of candidate devices, a query message for a radio sensing operation, wherein the query message indicates a set of suitability conditions;
receive, from the UE, a suitability report comprising radio sensing suitability measurements performed according to the first configuration;
receive at least one response message from at least one of the plurality of candidate devices, each response message indicating a suitability of a particular candidate device for participation in the radio sensing operation;
determine, based on the radio sensing suitability measurements, whether the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task; and
determine, based on the at least one response message, a set of devices to participate in the radio sensing operation;
transmit, to the UE, in response to determining that the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations.
configure the set of devices to participate in the radio sensing operation; and
perform the radio sensing operation.
16
A processor for wireless communication, comprising:
A processor for wireless communication, comprising:
14
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task;
receive, from a network node, a query message for a radio sensing operation, wherein the query message indicates a set of suitability conditions;
perform radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration to determine whether the processor is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task;
determine that a candidate device satisfies the set of suitability conditions;
transmit a suitability report comprising the radio sensing suitability measurements according to the first configuration; and
transmit, to the network node, a response message to the network node based on the determination;
receive, in response to determining that the processor is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task according to the radio sensing suitability measurements, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations.
receive a sensing configuration for the radio sensing operation in response to the response message, the sensing configuration comprising one or more of: a configuration for radio sensing reference signal (“RS”) transmission, a configuration for radio sensing RS reception, or a configuration for radio sensing measurement report transmission; and
perform the radio sensing operation based on the sensing configuration.
19
The processor of claim 16, wherein the radio sensing scenario comprises
The UE of claim 1 (wherein copending claim 1 is the same scope as instant claim 16), wherein the set of suitability conditions comprises one or more of:
2
an indication of an object or target of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an object of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an area or angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an area of interest to be monitored via radio sensing,
an indication of an angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, or
a type of the radio sensing task, or a combination thereof.
a type of radio sensing task.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu (US 2017/0230855 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Hu [0142] device may comprise memory and [0143] an embedded processor) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task (Fig 1 S101 a capability reporting (i.e. sensing suitability) instruction sent by a base station is received);
perform radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration to determine whether the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task ([0077] capability report of a terminal includes information about whether the terminal has a capability of communication in a preset frequency band or whether the terminal has a spectrum sensing capability … spectrum sensing capability indicates that terminal may sense whether a certain frequency band may be configured for communication);
transmit a suitability report comprising the radio sensing suitability measurements according to the first configuration (Fig 1 S103 a capability report (i.e. "suitability report") of a terminal is sent to the base station according to the capability reporting instruction); and
receive, in response to determining that the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task according to the radio sensing suitability measurements, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations (Fig 1 S105 a spectrum sensing configuration command (i.e. "second configuration for performing radio sensing") sent by the base station according to the capability report of the terminal is received).
Regarding Claim 2, Hu teaches the limitation of parent claim 1.
Hu further teaches the below limitation(s):
a set of time resources, frequency resources, beam resources, or a combination thereof, to receive a reference signal for radio sensing suitability measurements for the radio sensing scenario (Hu [0074] capability reporting instructions cause terminal to sent to the BS information associated with spectrum sensing capability, i.e. frequency resources the terminal is capable of sensing);
a second configuration for the reference signal for radio sensing suitability measurements (Fig 2 S205 spectrum sensing configuration commands are sent to terminals with a spectrum sensing capability);
… (optional limitation(s) not mapped).
Regarding Claim 3, Hu teaches the limitation of parent claim 1.
Hu further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to report the radio sensing suitability measurements in response to satisfying a suitability criteria or determining that a number of positively responding nodes does not exceed a predetermined threshold (Hu Fig 2 S211 sensing results (i.e. report) sent by the terminal with the spectrum sensing capability according to the sensing task reporting commands (i.e. configuration) are received by base station).
Regarding Claim 6, Hu teaches the limitation of parent claim 1.
Hu further teaches the below limitation(s):
a first report on a first transmission beam and a second report on a second transmission beam for radio sensing suitability measurements, a single report on multiple transmission beams for radio sensing suitability measurements (Hu Fig 2 S211 sensing results (i.e. report) sent by the terminal with the spectrum sensing capability according to the sensing task reporting commands (i.e. configuration) are received by base station), a single report on multiple reception beams for radio sensing suitability measurements, a single report on a plurality of transmission and reception beam pairs for radio sensing suitability measurements, at least two reports on the transmission beams for radio sensing suitability measurements, at least two reports on the transmission beams where multiple reports correspond to different receiving beams at the UE, or a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 14, Hu teaches the below limitation(s):
receiving a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task (Hu Fig 1 S101 a capability reporting (i.e. sensing suitability) instruction sent by a base station is received);
performing radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration to determine whether the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task ([0077] capability report of a terminal includes information about whether the terminal has a capability of communication in a preset frequency band or whether the terminal has a spectrum sensing capability … spectrum sensing capability indicates that terminal may sense whether a certain frequency band may be configured for communication);
transmitting a suitability report comprising the radio sensing suitability measurements according to the first configuration (Fig 1 S103 a capability report (i.e. "suitability report") of a terminal is sent to the base station according to the capability reporting instruction); and
receiving in response to determining that the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task according to the radio sensing suitability measurements, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations (Fig 1 S105 a spectrum sensing configuration command (i.e. "second configuration for performing radio sensing") sent by the base station according to the capability report of the terminal is received).
Regarding Claim 15, Hu teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Hu [0142] device may comprise memory and [0143] an embedded processor) and configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task (Fig 1 S101 a capability reporting (i.e. sensing suitability) instruction sent by a base station is received);
receive, from the UE, a suitability report comprising radio sensing suitability measurements performed according to the first configuration ([0077] capability report of a terminal includes information about whether the terminal has a capability of communication in a preset frequency band or whether the terminal has a spectrum sensing capability … spectrum sensing capability indicates that terminal may sense whether a certain frequency band may be configured for communication);
determine, based on the radio sensing suitability measurements, whether the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task (Fig 1 S103 a capability report (i.e. "suitability report") of a terminal is sent to the base station according to the capability reporting instruction); and
transmit, to the UE, in response to determining that the UE is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations (Fig 1 S105 a spectrum sensing configuration command (i.e. "second configuration for performing radio sensing") sent by the base station according to the capability report of the terminal is received).
Regarding Claim 16, Hu teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Hu [0142] device may comprise memory and [0143] an embedded processor) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a first configuration for performing and reporting radio sensing suitability measurements for radio sensing assistance associated with a radio sensing task (Fig 1 S101 a capability reporting (i.e. sensing suitability) instruction sent by a base station is received);
perform radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration to determine whether the processor is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task ([0077] capability report of a terminal includes information about whether the terminal has a capability of communication in a preset frequency band or whether the terminal has a spectrum sensing capability … spectrum sensing capability indicates that terminal may sense whether a certain frequency band may be configured for communication);
transmit a suitability report comprising the radio sensing suitability measurements according to the first configuration (Fig 1 S103 a capability report (i.e. "suitability report") of a terminal is sent to the base station according to the capability reporting instruction); and
receive, in response to determining that the processor is suitable for providing the radio sensing assistance associated with the radio sensing task according to the radio sensing suitability measurements, a second configuration for performing radio sensing operations (Fig 1 S105 a spectrum sensing configuration command (i.e. "second configuration for performing radio sensing") sent by the base station according to the capability report of the terminal is received).
Regarding Claim 17, Hu teaches the limitation of parent claim 16.
Hu further teaches the below limitation(s):
a set of time resources, frequency resources, beam resources, or a combination thereof, to receive a reference signal for radio sensing suitability measurements for the radio sensing scenario (Hu [0074] capability reporting instructions cause terminal to sent to the BS information associated with spectrum sensing capability, i.e. frequency resources the terminal is capable of sensing);
a second configuration for the reference signal for radio sensing suitability measurements (Fig 2 S205 spectrum sensing configuration commands are sent to terminals with a spectrum sensing capability);
… (optional limitation(s) not mapped).
Regarding Claim 18, Hu teaches the limitation of parent claim 16.
Hu further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to report the radio sensing suitability measurements in response to satisfying a suitability criteria or determining that a number of positively responding nodes does not exceed a predetermined threshold (Hu Fig 2 S211 sensing results (i.e. report) sent by the terminal with the spectrum sensing capability according to the sensing task reporting commands (i.e. configuration) are received by base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 2017/0230855 A1) in view of Park (US 2022/0026550 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Hu and Park disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Hu does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the radio sensing scenario comprises an indication of an object or target of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, an indication of an area or angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, a type of the radio sensing task, or a combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of radio frequency sensing, Park does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the radio sensing scenario comprises an indication of an object or target of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, an indication of an area or angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, a type of the radio sensing task, or a combination thereof (Park [0037] BS may be configured to select one or more targets for tracking based on the beam reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a UE to include indicating a target for measurement as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate a particular target for measurement in order to enable more granular radio spectrum sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu and Park to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 5, Hu and Park disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Hu does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the first configuration comprises at least two transmission beams for radio sensing suitability measurements.
In the same field of endeavor of radio frequency sensing, Park does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the first configuration comprises at least two transmission beams for radio sensing suitability measurements (Park [0036] BS may be configured to transmit a plurality of sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) (i.e. at least "two transmission beams") and one or more stations (BS or UE) may be configured to provide beam reports based on the received SSRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a UE to include transmitting at least two beams for sensing as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate multiple beams for sensing to enable a plurality of measurement results, potentially improving the fidelity of the measurement report. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu and Park to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 7, Hu and Park disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Hu does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the radio sensing suitability measurements for the radio sensing scenario comprises a line of sight ("LOS") reception condition for a receive beam at the UE, a non-LOS ("NLOS") reception condition for a receive beam at the UE, or a combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of radio frequency sensing, Park does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the radio sensing suitability measurements for the radio sensing scenario comprises a line of sight ("LOS") reception condition for a receive beam at the UE, a non-LOS ("NLOS") reception condition for a receive beam at the UE, or a combination thereof (Park [0094] base station may have transmitted multiple RF sensing signals, some of which follow the LOS path and others which follow the NLOS path … base station may have transmitted a single RF sensing signal in a broad enough beam that a portion of the RF sensing signal followed the LOS path and a portion of the RF sensing signal followed the NLOS path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a UE to include radio sensing may comprise either LOS or NLOS conditions as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to enable sensing regardless of LOS/NLOS condition between the UE and the base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu and Park to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 11, Hu and Park disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Hu does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration over one or more of multiple transmission beams and multiple reception beams to refine a corresponding transmission beam and reception beam for radio sensing.
In the same field of endeavor of radio frequency sensing, Park does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform radio sensing suitability measurements for a radio sensing scenario according to the first configuration over one or more of multiple transmission beams and multiple reception beams to refine a corresponding transmission beam and reception beam for radio sensing (Park [0036] BS may be configured to transmit a plurality of sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) (i.e. at least "two transmission beams") and one or more stations (BS or UE) may be configured to provide beam reports based on the received SSRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a UE to include performing sensing on a plurality of beams as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to perform sensing across a plurality of beams to improve sensing result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu and Park to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 19, Hu and Park disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 16.
Hu does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the radio sensing scenario comprises an indication of an object or target of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, an indication of an area or angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, a type of the radio sensing task, or a combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of radio frequency sensing, Park does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the radio sensing scenario comprises an indication of an object or target of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, an indication of an area or angle of interest to be monitored via radio sensing, a type of the radio sensing task, or a combination thereof (Park [0037] BS may be configured to select one or more targets for tracking based on the beam reports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a UE to include indicating a target for measurement as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate a particular target for measurement in order to enable more granular radio spectrum sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu and Park to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 20, Hu and Park disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 16.
Hu does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the first configuration comprises at least two transmission beams for radio sensing suitability measurements.
In the same field of endeavor of radio frequency sensing, Park does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the first configuration comprises at least two transmission beams for radio sensing suitability measurements (Park [0036] BS may be configured to transmit a plurality of sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) (i.e. at least "two transmission beams") and one or more stations (BS or UE) may be configured to provide beam reports based on the received SSRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a UE to include transmitting at least two beams for sensing as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate multiple beams for sensing to enable a plurality of measurement results, potentially improving the fidelity of the measurement report. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu and Park to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a thorough and complete search has been conducted and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on each element of the indicated claim(s).
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412