DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FARMANBAR et al. (US 20210067297, hereinafter, “FARMANBAR”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20230421223, hereinafter, “Li”).
Claim 1. FARMANBAR teaches: A method implemented in a Wireless Transmit Receive Unit (WTRU), the method comprising: - See Fig. 2, ¶ [0046], (“FIG. 2 is a block diagram 200 illustrating…a UE 206”)
receiving, from a network node, - See Fig. 2, ¶ [0046], (“a base station (BS) 202 with multiple antenna elements 204, and a UE 206. Each antenna element 204 can be associated with an antenna port”) configuration information indicating one or more channel state information (CSI) spatial prediction parameters; - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0062], (“Information that UE2 needs to perform channel prediction for non-pilot channels, for example, is transmitted to UE2 by the BS. ¶ [0063], Such CSI-RS configuration may be used to provide a UE with such information as the location(s) of CSI-RS within a time-frequency grid and antenna port mappings.”)
receiving a first plurality of reference signals transmitted from a plurality of antenna ports of the network node; - See Fig. 2, ¶ [0046], (“base station (BS) 202 with multiple antenna elements…Each antenna element 204 can be associated with an antenna port”); ¶ [0051], (“at 210 the BS transmits CSI-RS signaling…to the UE…¶ [0052], The UE 206 transmits to the BS 202 CSI feedback corresponding to the CSI-RS transmit antenna ports through which CSI-RS signaling was transmitted by the BS.”)
estimating, based on the first plurality of reference signals, - in ¶ [0083], (“During training, a BS transmits (possibly dense) CSI-RS signaling to a UE so that the UE can estimate the channel at CSI-RS positions (antenna port index, subcarrier index in this example) and feed back CSI to the BS.”) one or more first CSI measurements; - in ¶ [0083], (“…the UE can estimate the channel at CSI-RS positions…and feed back CSI to the BS.”)
determining, based on the one or more first CSI measurements - See Fig. 2, ¶ [0053], (“determination, by the UE 206, of channel dependencies across antenna ports/time/frequency based on the channel measurements collected at 214 corresponding to pilot positions.”) and the one or more CSI spatial prediction parameters, a first subset of antenna ports among the plurality of antenna ports of the network node and one or more parameters associated with the first subset of antenna ports, wherein the first subset is less than the plurality of antenna ports; - in ¶ [0054], (“the UE 206 optimizes a sparse reference signaling pattern and corresponding predictor that is to be used for the UE 206”)
sending, to the network node, information indicating the first subset of antenna ports - in ¶ [0054], (“An indication of the sparse reference signaling pattern is transmitted from the UE 206 to the BS”); ¶ [0071], (“sparse reference signaling configurations may be specified in any of various ways…pilot and/or non-pilot antenna port indices for a signaling pattern may be specified in a signaling configuration”) and the one or more parameters associated with the first subset of antenna ports; - in ¶ [0054], (“One or more of overall reference signaling density, reference signaling densities per antenna port or subset of antenna ports, and CSI-RS pattern index or identifier…may be transmitted from a UE to the BS 202 at 216…An indication of the sparse reference signaling pattern is transmitted from the UE 206 to the BS”)
receiving a second plurality of reference signals transmitted from the first subset of antenna ports; - in ¶ [0089], (“After a sparse reference signaling pattern has been selected or otherwise obtained by a UE, the UE transmits an indication of the sparse signaling pattern to the BS, and the BS transmits CSI-RS signaling that is consistent with that pattern to a UE.”, subsequent sparse CSI-RS (eq. second plurality of reference signals)); ¶ [0055], (“Sparse reference signaling consistent with the pattern is then transmitted by the BS 202 at 218, to the same UE 206 and/or potentially another UE”) and
estimating, based on the second plurality of reference signals, one or more second CSI measurements. – in ¶ [0055], (“For CSI acquisition and feedback 220, the UE 206 estimates the channel at pilot positions in the sparse reference signaling, predicts the channel at non-pilot positions, and uses the channel estimates along with the channel predictions to derive CSI…for transmission to the BS”); ¶ [0089], (“The UE estimates channels corresponding to the A.sub.p grid points with CSI-RS from the received signal, predicts channels corresponding to the A.sub.np grid points, and feeds back CSI to the BS.”)
FARMANBAR does not explicitly teach:
determining, based on the one or more first CSI measurements and the one or more CSI spatial prediction parameters, a first subset of antenna ports among the plurality of antenna ports of the network node and one or more parameters associated with the first subset of antenna ports, wherein the first subset is less than the plurality of antenna ports;
However, Li teaches:
determining, based on the one or more first CSI measurements and the one or more CSI spatial prediction parameters, a first subset of antenna ports among the plurality of antenna ports of the network node – See Fig. 3-4, ¶ [0101], (“neural network 300, for the UE to use to determine the second set of CSI-RS ports, where the second set of CSI-RS ports may be a subset of CSI-RS ports included in first set of CSI-RS ports.”); ¶ [0117], (“…UE 115-b may determine the second number of antenna ports using the set of neural networks and using the first number of antenna ports as inputs to the set of neural networks”); ¶ [0051], (“base station may transmit a CSI-RS via one or more CSI-RS ports”, base station (eq. network node)) and one or more parameters associated with the first subset of antenna ports, - in ¶ [0102], (“one or more parameters associated with neural network 300”…¶ [0103], (“The one or more outputs 315-a may include one or more parameters associated with the second number of antenna ports 325.”) wherein the first subset is less than the plurality of antenna ports; - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0116], (“a second indication of a second number of antenna ports on which UE 115-b is to measure CSI-RSs, where the second number of antenna ports may be less than the first number of antenna ports.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FARMANBAR with Li to specify the determination of a first subset of antenna ports and one or more parameters associated with the first subset of antenna ports, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce signaling overhead, as suggested by Li, techniques may support improvements in CSI measurement and reporting by decreasing signaling overhead. - ¶ [0055]
Claim 2. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
comprising: predicting, based on the one or more second CSI measurements, - in ¶ [0055], (“the UE 206 estimates the channel at pilot positions in the sparse reference signaling, predicts the channel at non-pilot positions”) one or more third CSI measurements – in ¶ [0055], (“the UE 206 estimates the channel at pilot positions in the sparse reference signaling, predicts the channel at non-pilot positions, and uses the channel estimates along with the channel predictions to derive CSI such as proper CSI, such as Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI), and Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI)”) for a second subset of antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports of the network node; - in ¶ [0090], (“pilots can be sent on a subset of antennas to estimate the channel for those antennas and then predict the channel on antennas without pilots.”, antennas without pilots are equated to a second subset of antenna ports); ¶ [0038], (“a geographic area is surveyed by a UE and channels at CSI-RS antenna ports are measured, possibly at different locations and/or with different base stations within the area.”) and sending CSI feedback information indicating any of: – in ¶ [0052], (“The UE 206 transmits to the BS 202 CSI feedback corresponding to the CSI-RS transmit antenna ports through which CSI-RS signaling was transmitted by the BS.”) (1) the one or more first CSI measurements, – in ¶ [0052], (“The UE 206 transmits to the BS 202 CSI feedback corresponding to the CSI-RS transmit antenna ports through which CSI-RS signaling was transmitted by the BS.”) (2) the one or more second CSI measurements, - in ¶ [0058], (“The BS transmits (possibly dense) CSI-RS signaling at 312 and receives corresponding CSI feedback from UE1 at 314”) and (3) the one or more third CSI measurements. – in ¶ [0055], (“the UE 206…uses the channel estimates along with the channel predictions to derive CSI such as proper CSI, such as Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI)…for transmission to the BS 202.”)
Claim 3. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
wherein the one or more CSI spatial prediction parameters comprise any of: - in ¶ [0063], (“Such CSI-RS configuration may be used to provide a UE with such information as the location(s) of CSI-RS within a time-frequency grid and antenna port mappings.”) (1) a maximum number of antenna ports of the first subset of antenna ports; - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. (2) a method for determining the first subset of antenna ports; - in ¶ [0053], (“determination, by the UE 206, of channel dependencies across antenna ports/time/frequency based on the channel measurements collected at 214 corresponding to pilot positions. ML is used…”); ¶ [0063], (“Such CSI-RS configuration may be used to provide a UE with such information as the location(s) of CSI-RS within a time-frequency grid and antenna port mappings.”) and (3) a metric for spatial correlation between the first subset of antenna ports and the second subset of antenna ports. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.
Claim 4. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
wherein the second subset of antenna ports is the complement of the first subset of antenna ports. – See Fig. 4-5, ¶ [0083], (“A non-dense (sparse) reference signaling pattern…includes a set of points with a pilot or other reference signal (A.sub.p) and a set of points without a pilot or other reference signal (A.sub.np)…¶ [0085] grid points with pilot are labeled “p” and grid points without pilot are labeled “x””)
Claim 5. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
comprising predicting the one or more third CSI measurements – in ¶ [0055], (“the UE 206 estimates the channel at pilot positions in the sparse reference signaling, predicts the channel at non-pilot positions”) for the second subset of antenna ports - in ¶ [0090], (“pilots can be sent on a subset of antennas to estimate the channel for those antennas and then predict the channel on antennas without pilots.”, antennas without pilots are equated to a second subset of antenna ports) using an artificial intelligence/machine learning model. – in ¶ [0053], (“determination, by the UE 206, of channel dependencies across antenna ports/time/frequency based on the channel measurements...ML is used to implement 214”); ¶ [0186], (“At the UE side, machine learning may be used for predicting a channel”)
Claim 6. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters associated with the first subset of antenna ports comprise one or more channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports. – in ¶ [0084], (“In one ML embodiment, channel coefficients corresponding to A.sub.p serve as inputs and channel coefficients corresponding to A.sub.np are labels or outputs of an ML module. The UE evaluates a number of (sparse) CSI-RS patterns and selects the best one(s) for subsequent CSI-RS transmissions”)
Claim 8. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 6, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
wherein the one or more channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports are one or more first channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports, the method comprising: - in ¶ [0084], (“channel coefficients corresponding to A.sub.p serve as inputs and channel coefficients corresponding to A.sub.np are labels or outputs of an ML module.”, A.sub.p corresponds to a coefficient associated with the first subset)
predicting based on the one or more first channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports, - in ¶ [0084], (“channel coefficients corresponding to A.sub.p serve as inputs and channel coefficients corresponding to A.sub.np are labels or outputs of an ML module.”); ¶ [0090], (“pilots can be sent on a subset of antennas to estimate the channel for those antennas and then predict the channel on antennas without pilots.”) one or more second channel coefficients associated with the second subset of antenna ports; - in ¶ [0089], (“The UE estimates channels corresponding to the A.sub.p grid points with CSI-RS from the received signal, predicts channels corresponding to the A.sub.np grid points, and feeds back CSI to the BS.”, A.sub.np corresponds to a coefficient associated with the second subset) and
sending, to the network node, information indicating the one or more second channel coefficients associated to the second subset of antenna ports. – in ¶ [0055], (“For CSI acquisition and feedback 220, the UE 206 estimates the channel at pilot positions in the sparse reference signaling, predicts the channel at non-pilot positions, and uses the channel estimates along with the channel predictions to derive CSI such as proper CSI…for transmission to the BS”); ¶ [0089], (“The UE estimates channels corresponding to the A.sub.p grid points with CSI-RS from the received signal, predicts channels corresponding to the A.sub.np grid points, and feeds back CSI to the BS.”)
Claim 11 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 2-6 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 8 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FARMANBAR et al. (US 20210067297, hereinafter, “FARMANBAR”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20230421223, hereinafter, “Li”), and further in view of WU et al. (US 20200195328, hereinafter, “WU”) and Palenius et al. (US 20180227036, hereinafter, “Palenius”).
Claim 7. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 6, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of FARMANBAR and Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining a first subset of antenna ports comprises determining the first subset of antenna ports based on meeting a threshold of a minimum correlation between the one or more channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports.
However, WU teaches:
wherein determining a first subset of antenna ports comprises determining the first subset of antenna ports – in ¶ [0047], (“The UE 100 selects a subset of antenna ports…”) based on meeting a threshold of a minimum correlation – in ¶ [0047], (“The UE 100 selects a subset of antenna ports only according to its computation capability. After computing squared correlation coefficients, they will be subjected to a threshold test by comparing them with a predefined threshold set by the UE 100”) between the one or more channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports. – in ¶ [0046], (“The estimated CSI on different ports (assume K ports) will be used as input to N correlators 212.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FARMANBAR and Li with WU to include determining the first subset of antenna ports based on meeting a threshold between channel coefficients, as taught by WU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce signaling overhead, as suggested by WU, The signaling overhead and extra computation required at the UE are relatively small and are more than offset by the improved network performance. - ¶ [0055]
Combination of FARMANBAR, Li, and WU does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining a first subset of antenna ports comprises determining the first subset of antenna ports based on meeting a threshold of a minimum correlation between the one or more channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports.
However, Palenius teaches:
wherein determining a first subset of antenna ports comprises determining the first subset of antenna ports based on meeting a threshold of a minimum correlation between the one or more channel coefficients associated with the first subset of antenna ports. – in ¶ [0031], (“The selection may comprise to select the antenna ports which have the least mutual correlation, or to select antenna ports which have a mutual correlation below a threshold.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FARMANBAR, Li, and WU with Palenius to include a minimum correlation, as taught by Palenius. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve selection of antenna ports, as suggested by Palenius, selection of the number of antenna ports used for reception may be adapted based on an evaluation to improve operation in sense of balancing performance and energy consumption. - ¶ [0009]
Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 7 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 9-10, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FARMANBAR et al. (US 20210067297, hereinafter, “FARMANBAR”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20230421223, hereinafter, “Li”), and further in view of Palenius et al. (US 20180227036, hereinafter, “Palenius”).
Claim 9. Combination of FARMANBAR and Li teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
comprising: determining a condition indicative of one or more changes in one or more channel conditions associated to the first subset of antenna ports, – in ¶ [0125], (“A UE may request retraining based on any one or more of: a threshold amount of time since previous training or re-training, movement of the UE by more than a threshold distance, an error detection rate above a threshold”) wherein the condition is based on estimating one or more fifth CSI measurements – in ¶ [0038], (“In online training, again taking an FDD application as an example, a UE collects channel measurements according to transmitted downlink CSI-RS signaling by network equipment while the UE is performing normal data demodulation/CSI feedback.”) based on a third plurality of reference signals transmitted from the first subset of antenna ports; – in ¶ [0052], (“The UE 206 transmits to the BS 202 CSI feedback corresponding to the CSI-RS transmit antenna ports through which CSI-RS signaling was transmitted by the BS.”) and responsive to such determination, altering the first subset of antenna ports. - in ¶ [0135], (“transmitting to the network equipment, responsive to a condition at the UE, an indication that the network equipment is to transition from the sparse reference signaling to dense reference signaling for the UE”)
Combination of FARMANBAR and Li does not explicitly teach:
responsive to such determination, altering the first subset of antenna ports.
However, Palenius teaches:
responsive to such determination, altering the first subset of antenna ports. - in ¶ [0032], (“the event comprises that a change in correlation among the plurality of antenna ports has occurred. The outcome of the re-evaluation may comprise that a second number of antenna ports are to be used, wherein the second number is different from the first number.”); ¶ [0068], (“The determination of change of correlation may alternatively comprise determining whether mutual correlations of used antenna ports have increased, e.g. above a threshold”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FARMANBAR and Li with Palenius to specify altering the first subset of antenna ports responsive to determining a condition is met, as taught by Palenius. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve selection of antenna ports, as suggested by Palenius, selection of the number of antenna ports used for reception may be adapted based on an evaluation to improve operation in sense of balancing performance and energy consumption. - ¶ [0009]
Claim 10. Combination of FARMANBAR, Li, and Palenius teaches The method according to claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
FARMANBAR teaches:
wherein the condition comprises a data block error rate exceeding a threshold. – in ¶ [0125], (“The network equipment may initiate re-training, or re-training may be requested by a UE at 1230. A UE may request retraining based…an error detection rate above a threshold”)
Claims 19-20 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 9-10 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475