DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 8, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4 (line 5, line 9); Claim 5 (line 2, line 3); Claim 13 (line 5, line 9) and Claim 14 (line 2, line 3), the use of "and/or" in unclear/ambiguous. For examination purposes, examiner interprets "and/or" as - - - or - - -.
Further for the claims including but not limited to Claims 4-5, 8, 13-14 and 16, the use of the pronoun “it” in the claim language renders the claim unclear/ambiguous. For examination purposes, examiner interprets “it” to correspond to the terminal or base station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-10, 13-15, 17-18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 20250286654 A1), hereinafter KIM.
Regarding Claim 1, KIM teaches a control channel receiving method, performed by a terminal (KIM, FIG. 7, ¶0008, a method of performing communication in a wireless communication system. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, a terminal may receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information and rate matching configuration information), comprising:
determining a first time-domain symbol corresponding to a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), wherein the first time-domain symbol is part or all of time- domain symbols in time-domain resources where the CRS is located (KIM, ¶0156; FIG. 7,¶0179, LTE and NR share a spectrum [and] ¶0179, the UE/”terminal” configured with the number of LTE CRS ports (nrofCRS-Ports) and LTE-CRS-vshift(s) (v-shift); ¶0186, the UE may determine a position of a CRS in an NR slot corresponding to an LTE subframe based on LTE CRS patterns [and] the UE may determine a position of a CRS in an NR slot corresponding to an LTE subframe based on the configuration information ; see also ¶0187 one NR carrier 700 coexists with two LTE carriers 701 and 702 ); and
determining, at least based on configuration information of the CRS, whether it is expected to receive a new radio physical downlink control channel (NR PDCCH) on the first time-domain symbol (KIM, FIG. 7, ¶0187, a UE/terminal may control an operation of transmitting and receiving a data channel and a control channel based on received LTE CRS pattern information [and] and the NR UE may not monitor the PDCCH candidate group overlapping the REs corresponding to the LTE CRS ).
Regarding Claim 4, KIM teaches Claim 1.
KIM further teaches determining, at least based on the configuration information of the CRS, whether it is expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time-domain symbol comprises:
determining a number of resource elements (REs) occupied by the CRS on the first time-domain symbol and/or a first resource occupancy rate of the CRS on the first time-domain symbol based on the configuration information of the CRS (KIM, FIG.2, ¶0050 OFDM symbols and slots; FIG. 7; ¶0156, configuration information (Ite-CRS-ToMatchAround) for REs corresponding to an LTE cell-specific reference signal or common reference signal (CRS) pattern, the number of LTE CRS ports (nrofCRS-Ports) [and] the UE may determine a position of a CRS in an NR slot corresponding to an LTE subframe based on the above information.); and determining that it is not expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time- domain symbol, in a case where the number of resource elements (REs) is greater than or equal to an RE number threshold, and/or the first resource occupancy rate is higher than or equal to a first occupancy rate threshold (KIM ¶0022 identify resource elements (REs) overlapping a rate matching resource from among REs included in PDCCH candidates, based on the PDCCH configuration information and the rate matching configuration information, and monitor a PDCCH candidate including the identified REs from among the PDCCH candidates, based on whether a number of ports of signals transmitted via the rate matching resource exceeds a preset value; see also §112 rejection herein).
Regarding Claim 5, KIM teaches Claim 4.
KIM further teaches the RE number threshold and/or the first occupancy rate threshold are related to an NR PDCCH aggregation level and/or a format of downlink control information (DCI) in the NR PDCCH (KIM , ¶0060 a UE may be configured with a control resource set (CORESET) for a downlink control channel via which downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a system information block; FIG. 4, ¶0089, a control resource set (CORESET) in which a downlink control channel is transmitted in a 5G wireless communication system; see also §112 rejection herein).
Regarding Claim 6, KIM teaches Claim 1.
KIM further teaches determining whether it is expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time- domain symbol based on the configuration information of the CRS (KIM, ¶0026 determine whether REs having a number of ports not exceeding the preset value from among REs of the PDCCH candidate overlap the rate matching resource; FIG. 7, ¶0187, LTE/NR spectrum sharing mapped herein, where he NR UE may not monitor the PDCCH candidate group overlapping the REs corresponding to the LTE CRS. In this case, because the LTE CRS may always be periodically and repeatedly transmitted at a fixed symbol position within an entire bandwidth corresponding to the LTE carrier; FIG. 4, ¶0089, the control resource set #1 401 may be configured with the control resource set duration of two symbols, and the control resource set #2 402 may be configured with the control resource set duration of one symbol;) and configuration information of the NR PDCCH (KIM, ¶0187 the NR base station configures a control resource set and a search space of NR by avoiding a symbol in which the LTE CRS is transmitted).
Regarding Claim 8, KIM teaches Claim 6.
KIM further teaches determining a second resource occupancy rate of the CRS in a control resource set (CORESET) of the NR PDCCH, wherein a second time-domain symbol in the CORESET overlaps the first time-domain symbol (KIM, ¶0055, the UE before RRC connection may be configured with an initial BWP for initial connection through a master information block (MIB) from the base station. In more detail, the UE may receive configuration information for a search space and a control resource set (CORESET) where a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) may be transmitted in order to receive system information; ¶0060, a UE may be configured with a control resource set (CORESET) for a downlink control channel via which downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a system information block (SIB) may be transmitted; ¶0089, FIG. 4 ; a control resource set (CORESET) in which a downlink control channel is transmitted in a 5G wireless communication system); FIG. 4, the control resource set #1 401 may be configured with the control resource set duration of two symbols, and the control resource set #2 402 may be configured with the control resource set duration of one symbol.); and determining that it is not expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time- domain symbol, in a case where the second resource occupancy rate is greater than or equal to a second occupancy rate threshold (KIM ¶0232, where the number of LTE CRS ports of all resources corresponding to the one or more LTE CRS patterns overlapping the REs corresponding to the control resource set including the PDCCH candidate group is configured to be greater than X. X may be a value received from the base station, a value reported by the UE as capability to the base station, or a pre-defined fixed value (e.g., X=2) ; see also ¶0145; ¶0198, UE may perform monitoring by assuming that REs overlapping the LTE CRS from among REs to which the PDCCH candidate group is mapped are rate matched; see §112 rejection,).
Regarding Claim 9, KIM teaches Claim 1.
KIM further teaches transmitting, to a network device, capability information used for indicating whether the terminal supports receiving the NR PDCCH on the first time-domain symbol in a case where the configuration information of the CRS meets a target configuration (KIM, FIG. 7 ¶0179 -¶0180 configuration; ¶0196; the number of LTE CRS ports (nrofCRS-Ports) is configured to be greater than X [and] the X may be a value received from the base station, a value [is] reported by the UE as capability to the base station, or a pre-defined fixed value (e.g., X=2); see also ¶0230-¶0231).
Regarding Claim 10, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 1 (KIM, a method of performing communication in a wireless communication system. . .a terminal may receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information and rate matching configuration information from a base station).
Regarding Claims 13-15 and 17-18, the claims disclose similar features of Claims 4-6 and 8-9 respectively and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 4-6 and 8-9 (KIM, ¶0008, a method of performing communication in a wireless communication system. . .a terminal may receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information and rate matching configuration information from a base station).
Regarding Claim 21, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 1, in apparatus form (KIM, FIG. 11; ¶0282, a terminal (FIG. 11, UE), comprising: a processor (FIG. 11, 1103); and a memory configured to store a computer program (FIG. 11, ¶0284, the memory 1102 may store a program and data required to operate the UE; may store control information or data included in a signal transmitted and received by the UE).
Regarding Claim 22, the claim appears to disclose similar features of Claim 10 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 10, in apparatus form (KIM, FIG. 12; ¶0289, a network device (FIG. 12, base station), comprising: a processor (FIG. 12, 1203); and a memory configured to store a computer program(KIM, FIG. 12, ¶0291, the memory 1202 may store a program and data required to operate the base station. Also, the memory 1202 may store control information or data included in a signal transmitted and received by the base station; the memory 1202 may store a method of controlling monitoring of a downlink control channel of the UE by the base station and a program for generating and transmitting a downlink control channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7, 11-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (as applied to claims above) in view of KIM et al. (US 20220131642 A1, disclosed in the IDS), hereinafter KIM2.
Regarding Claim 2, KIM teaches Claim 1.
KIM further teaches determining that it is not expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time- domain symbol, (KIM, ¶0026, when the REs having the number of ports not exceeding the preset value from among the REs of the PDCCH candidate overlap the rate matching resource, not monitor the PDCCH candidate; see also FIG. 7, ¶0179-¶0180; ¶0187 the NR base station may not perform a PDCCH by using the PDCCH candidate group overlapping the REs corresponding to the LTE CRS, and the NR UE may not monitor the PDCCH candidate group overlapping the REs corresponding to the LTE CRS).
KIM further teaches the UE may be configured with up to four rate match patterns for each BWP (¶0153) [and] the monitor[ing]/” determining” a PDCCH candidate including the identified REs from among the PDCCH candidates, based on whether a number of ports of signals transmitted via the rate matching resource exceeds a preset value.
Yet, KIM does not explicitly teach determining a number of a configured pattern of the CRS; and [determining …] in a case where the number of the configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a pattern number threshold.
However, in the analogous art, KIM2 discloses determining a number of a configured pattern of the CRS; and [determining] in a case where the number of the configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a pattern number threshold (KIM2,¶0242 the number of CRS patterns configured in one serving cell is 2 /”a pattern number threshold” or more, there is a CRS pattern linked for each CORESET, and rate matching may be performed on the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI received through the i-th CORESET based on the CRS pattern linked to the i-th CORESET); see also ¶0232 when the CRS transmission resource (e.g. RE of lte-CRSToMatchAround) and the resource of the PDCCH (e.g. RE of the PDCCH candidate) overlap, the UE may not need to monitor the resource of the PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KIM’s method of dynamic spectrum sharing with KIM2’s method of applying a pattern of a cell reference signal (CRS) to transmit and receive data when a plurality of control resource set groups are configured in a UE.. The motivation would be to improve reliability using multiple TRP-based transmission [KIM2, ¶0184].
Regarding Claim 3, KIM teaches Claim 1.
KIM further teaches determining a number of ports corresponding to each configured pattern of the CRS respectively (KIM, FIG. 7, ¶0181 configuration information included to configure the CRS patterns [includes] Number of LTE CRS ports (nrofCRS-Ports) [ see also Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0022, monitor a PDCCH candidate including the identified REs from among the PDCCH candidates, based on whether a number of ports of signals transmitted via the rate matching resource exceeds a preset value; FIG. 7); and
determining that it is not expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time- domain symbol (KIM ¶0026, determine whether REs having a number of ports not exceeding the preset value from among REs of the PDCCH candidate overlap the rate matching resource, and when the REs having the number of ports not exceeding the preset value from among the REs of the PDCCH candidate overlap the rate matching resource, not monitor the PDCCH candidate; see also FIG. 7, ¶0179-¶0180), . . [and]
a number of ports corresponding to at least one configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a port number threshold (KIM, ¶0196, the number of LTE CRS ports (nrofCRS-Ports) is configured to be greater than X / “a port number threshold”. X may be a value received from the base station, a value reported by the UE as capability to the base station, or a pre-defined fixed value (e.g., X=2)..
KIM does not explicitly teach determining a number of a configured pattern of the CRS; and [determining …] in a case where the number of the configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a pattern number threshold.
However, in the analogous art, KIM2 discloses determining a number of a configured pattern of the CRS; and [determining] in a case where the number of the configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a pattern number threshold (KIM2,¶0242 the number of CRS patterns configured in one serving cell is 2 /”a pattern number threshold” or more, there is a CRS pattern linked for each CORESET, . . .. ); see also ¶0232 when the CRS transmission resource (e.g. RE of lte-CRSToMatchAround) and the resource of the PDCCH (e.g. RE of the PDCCH candidate) overlap, the UE may not need to monitor the resource of the PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KIM’s method of dynamic spectrum sharing with KIM2’s method of applying a pattern of a cell reference signal (CRS) to transmit and receive data when a plurality of control resource set groups are configured in a UE.. The motivation would be to improve reliability using multiple TRP-based transmission [KIM2, ¶0184].
Regarding Claim 7, KIM teaches Claim 6.
KIM further teaches determining . . . an aggregation level of the NR PDCCH (KIM, ¶0094, number of CCEs required to transmit a PDCCH may be 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 according to the aggregation level (AL), and determining that it is not expected to receive the NR PDCCH on the first time- domain symbol, in a case where . . . the aggregation level is less than or equal to a level threshold (KIM, ¶0093, a downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504, and a specific downlink control channel may be transmitted after being mapped to one or more CCEs 504 according to an aggregation level (AL) in the control resource set; [and] the ¶0094, number of CCEs required to transmit a PDCCH may be 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 according to the aggregation level (AL), . . .asearch space set may be defined as a set of search spaces at all configured aggregation levels).
KIM does not explicitly teach determining a number of a configured pattern of the CRS; and [determining …] in a case where the number of the configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a pattern number threshold.
However, in the analogous art, KIM2 discloses determining a number of a configured pattern of the CRS; and [determining] in a case where the number of the configured pattern of the CRS is greater than or equal to a pattern number threshold (KIM2,¶0242 the number of CRS patterns configured in one serving cell is 2 /”a pattern number threshold” or more, there is a CRS pattern linked for each CORESET, and rate matching may be performed on the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI received through the i-th CORESET based on the CRS pattern linked to the i-th CORESET); see also ¶0232 when the CRS transmission resource (e.g. RE of lte-CRSToMatchAround) and the resource of the PDCCH (e.g. RE of the PDCCH candidate) overlap, the UE may not need to monitor the resource of the PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KIM’s method of dynamic spectrum sharing with KIM2’s method of applying a pattern of a cell reference signal (CRS) to transmit and receive data when a plurality of control resource set groups are configured in a UE.. The motivation would be to improve reliability using multiple TRP-based transmission [KIM2, ¶0184].
Regarding Claims 11-12 and 16, the claims disclose similar features of Claims 2-3 and 7, respectively and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 2-3 and 7, (KIM, ¶0008, a method of performing communication in a wireless communication system. . .a terminal may receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information and rate matching configuration information from a base station).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465