DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on August 7, 2026, and any subsequent filings.
Claims 1-19 stand rejected. Claim 17 has been canceled. Claims 20 and 21 have been added. Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Specification
The abstract has been amended and the objection withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 10, 13, and 14 have been amended and the objections withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 12 and 19 have been amended and thus the rejections of Claim 12-19 withdrawn for lack of enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 9 and 10
Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s argument that abbreviations used in the claims have a certain meaning (Remarks, Page 7-8 (“Pg”)), Applicant provides no evidence to support the assertion yet argument cannot supplant evidence (MPEP 2145(I)).
As to Applicant’s argument that the specification supports the abbreviations used in the claims (Remarks, Pg7-8), the specification only repeats the same abbreviations without definition.
Claim 11
Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the claim limitation “duty cycle” (Remarks, Pg8), Applicant provides no evidence to support the assertion yet argument cannot supplant evidence (MPEP 2145(I)).
As to Applicant’s argument that the specification gives a range for the claim limitation “duty cycle” and thus provides support (Remarks, Pg8), the specification only repeats the same limitation without definition as cited by Applicant and Applicant’s argument appears directed towards a rejection under 35 USC § 112(a) not 35 USC § 112(b) as is the issue here.
Claim 12
Claim 12 has been amended and the rejections withdrawn.
Claim 13
Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claim limitation “radiation signature” is definite relying upon the specification (Remarks, Pg9). Applicant’s argument lacks a nexus with the limitation in the specification. The specification notes that the “radiation signature” can be certain a range but could also be amplitudes at different frequencies (Spec., Pr66). Further, the specification refers to “radiation signature” as both an apparent frequency and as an amplitude (Spec., Pr66) which also makes the limitation indefinite. Finally, the specification references the “radiation signature” can either be a range or a single point value (Spec., Pr66) leading to further indefiniteness.
Claim 14
Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s argument that abbreviations used in the claims have a certain meaning (Remarks, Pg9), Applicant provides no evidence to support the assertion yet argument cannot supplant evidence (MPEP 2145(I)).
As to Applicant’s argument that the specification indicates radiation can have a certain frequency (Remarks, Pg9), the specification indicates a “radiation signature” not “radiation” alone can have a certain range (Spec., Pr66).
Claim 19
The claim has been amended and the rejection withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the amended claims and are not persuasive for the reasons detailed infra.
Response to Amendment
Specification
The amendment filed August 7, 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the units associated with abbreviations in paragraphs 42 and 66.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “using a radiation signature of a substance” yet nothing in the claim, specification, or drawings defines this limitation. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as requiring a substance.
Claim 9 recites electromagnetic radiation wavelength units of “m” yet these units are not defined in the claim, specification, or drawings. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as requiring electromagnetic radiation.
Claim 10 recites electromagnetic radiation intensity units of “VPP” yet these units are not defined in the claim, specification, or drawings. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as requiring electromagnetic radiation.
Claim 11 recites a “duty cycle” of the electromagnetic radiation yet what constitutes a duty cycle is not recites in the claim, specification, or drawings. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as requiring electromagnetic radiation.
Claims 12 recites “obtaining a radiation signature of a substance” yet nothing in the claim, specification, or drawings defines what constitutes a “radiation signature.”
Claim 13 recites artificially generating part of a radiation signature yet the claim, specification, and drawings provide no acts that may perform this function.
Claim 14 recites units of Hz with respect to a radiation signature yet Hz, i.e., Hertz, are a measure of frequency.
The dependent claims not specifically detailed above contain the limitations of the recited claims and thus are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goll, German Publication No. DE 202009009268U1 (“Goll”) in view of Bagley, U.S. Publication No. 2006/0273045 (“Bagley”) as evidenced by Penn State, “The Four Laws of Radiation,” (https://courses.ems.psu.edu/meteo3/book/export/html/1955, accessed 10/26/26) (“Penn”). A machine translation has previously been provided and the claims are mapped to that translation and the drawings in the original document.
Applicant’s claims are directed towards a device.
Regarding Claims 1-11, Goll discloses a device for treating a fluid, comprising a first tube having an inlet and an outlet configured to provide a passageway for flow of the fluid (Fig. 1, item 6, Paragraphs 9-10 (“Pr”)); a plurality of crystals (Pr6,9) disposed inside or around the passageway (Fig. 1); and a source of electromagnetic radiation disposed to irradiate the plurality of crystals (Fig. 1, items 1, 7, Pr9) using a radiation signature of a substance (given all matter emits radiation (Penn, Pg1 (“Every object emits radiation at all times and all wavelengths.”) (emphasis in original)), if crystals exposed to any matter such as the tube in which they are disposed around they are irradiated by the tube).
Goll does not disclose crystals having a size ranging from 5 mm to 120 mm.
Bagley also relates to a device for treating a fluid and discloses crystals having a size ranging from 5 mm to 120 mm (Pr165; note also obviousness of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use crystals in the device disclosed by Goll with those having the dimensions disclosed by Bagley because, according to Bagley, differing crystals may be used (Pr165).
Additional Disclosures Included: Claim 2: wherein the first tube is disposed within a second tube (Goll, Fig. 1, items 6, 8, Pr9 (note under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the second tube includes cabinet 8)), and the plurality of crystals are disposed within a space between the first and second tubes (Goll, Fig. 1). Claim 3: wherein the first tube is disposed about a second tube (Goll, Fig. 1, items 2, 6, 8, Pr9), and the plurality of crystals are disposed within the second tube (Goll, Fig. 1, items 2, 6, 8, Pr9). Claim 4: wherein the plurality of crystals are disposed within the first tube (Goll, Fig. 1 (note mere rearrangement of parts does not distinguish over the prior art, see MPEP 2144.04)). Claim 5: wherein the plurality of crystals are affixed about the first tube (Goll, Fig. 1, items 2, 6, Pr9). Claim 6: wherein the plurality of crystals are selected from the group consisting of quartz, copper, iron, a piezoelectric oscillator, and a paramagnetic material (Goll, Pr5,9 (noted disclosure of rock crystal which is quartz as evidenced by Tutton, “Rock Crystal: Its Structure and Uses,” Nature, No. 2199, Vol 88, 261-265 (1911) (“Tutton) at Page 261 (“Pg”) / Column 2 (“C”) /Pr7)). Claim 7: wherein the plurality of crystals have a lattice structure selected from the group consisting of cubic, isometric, tetragonal, orthorhombic, hexagonal, trigonal, triclinic, and monoclinic (Tutton, Pg262/C1/Pr3). Claim 8: wherein the plurality of crystals have a geometrically symmetrical lattice structure (Tutton, Figs. 4, 5, Pg262/C2/Pr5). Claim 9: wherein the electromagnetic radiation has a wavelength of 104 m to 10-12 m (Goll, Fig. 1, item 1; see also 112(b) analysis supra). Claim 10: wherein the electromagnetic radiation has a minimum intensity of 10 VPP to 50 VPP (Goll, Fig. 1, item 1; see also 112(b) analysis supra). Claim 11: wherein the electromagnetic radiation has a duty cycle of 23-72 (Goll, Fig. 1, item 1; see also 112(b) analysis supra).
As to Claims 12-19, an attempt has been made to determine the scope and meaning of the claimed invention yet the indefinite limitations are fundamental to understanding the claims and prevent a thorough search of the prior art based upon any cognizable technical features and limitations in the art. Further, "where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art," MPEP 2173.06(II).
Although no rejections based upon the prior art have been made, this does not mean that the prior art does not disclose the intended definite claims. From the limited understanding of the claimed invention, which may or may not be correct, the above cited prior art appears to disclose, either alone or in combination, the claims of the instant application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK ORME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779