DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This NON-FINAL communication is the first action on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in GR 20220100516 on 06/27/2022 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “configured to randomly select the first time delay offset and the second time delay offset”. It is unclear how a first time delay can be random when claim 1 states “a first time delay offset” is “relative to a previous frame” and since the first set of slots is identified, “the second time delay offset” cannot be random since it “is different from the first time delay offset”. Further, it is unclear how a random time delay is applied and is not in contrast to the purpose of the time delay in removing interference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-11, 14, 16-30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hall (US 20230384416).
Regarding Claims 1, 25, Hall discloses the following limitations:
A first apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: (Hall - [0011] In accordance with a first aspect, embodiments of the present invention provide a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar system comprising:)
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Hall - [0041] The first aspect of the invention further extends to a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out a method of operating an FMCW radar device,)
(Claim 25) A method for wireless communication by a first apparatus, comprising: (Hall - [0031] The first aspect of the invention also extends to a method of operating an FMCW radar device,)
identify a first set of slots configured for a first group of apparatuses including the first apparatus; (Hall - [0032] receiving from an external radar device a plurality of first FMCW chirp frames each having a first pattern of time slots, said first pattern comprising: a first time slot containing a first FMCW chirp; a second time slot containing a second FMCW chirp; and a plurality of FMCW chirp-free time slots; and [0103] The approach to synchronising the first and second radars may also, as outlined in further detail below, allow the use of multiple unconnected radar modules to operate in concert, chirping (i.e. frequency modulating) simultaneously, increasing power on target, providing additional view receiver antenna locations, and increasing the operational range beyond that of a single isolated radar.)
transmit, according to a first time delay offset relative to a previous frame, a chirp transmission in a first frame during a first slot within the first set of slots; and (Hall - [0032], [0012] a first FMCW radar device configured to transmit a plurality of first FMCW chirp frames each having a first pattern of time slots, said first pattern comprising: a first time slot containing a first FMCW chirp; a second time slot containing a second FMCW chirp; and a plurality of FMCW chirp-free time slots; [0115] f) when the difference contains a tone having a signal power greater than the predetermined threshold within the in-band frequency range, the second FMCW radar device adjusts a start frequency of (or effective start time of) the second chirps transmitted by the second radar device to reduce a frequency difference between a chirp in a next first FMCW chirp frame and a chirp in a next second FMCW chirp frame. It will be appreciated that adjusting the start frequency of the second chirps may be seen as equivalent to adjusting the effective start time of the second chirps. [0322] The master and slave chirp loops are each of fixed time duration. A chirp frame contains a sequence of multiple chirp loops. A chirp frame is created wherein the start time of the slave chirps within the loop are successively offset by a particular dither (e.g. few nanoseconds) on each repeat of the loop.)
transmit a chirp transmission in a second frame during a second slot within the first set of slots, according to a second time delay offset after the first frame, (Hall - [0012], [0115], [0322])
wherein the second time delay offset is different from the first time delay offset. (Hall - [0012], [0115], [0322])
Regarding Claims 2, 26, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first group of apparatuses is associated with a common time reference. (Hall – [0103], [0281] In order to co-ordinate transmission timings, the radar devices 202, 204, 206 are connected to one another via a series of cables 214. In other arrangements, known in the art per se, these cables could be avoided by providing a wireless communication channel link between the devices 202, 204, 206 or by equipping each of the devices with a mechanism for obtaining timing from an external source, e.g. using a GPS clock.)
Regarding Claim 3, 27, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first group of apparatuses is associated with a same set of frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) parameters, and (Hall – [0012], [0103])
wherein the set of FMCW parameters comprises one or more of: a bandwidth, (Hall – [0342] In this particular non-limiting example, the multistatic radar system is configured to use an IF bandwidth of 20 MHz,)
a carrier frequency, (Hall – [0276] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that FMCW radar systems utilise a continuous transmission (or ‘radiation’) of RF power (hence ‘continuous wave’), during which the frequency of the RF transmission is modulated (i.e. varied).)
a chirp transmission duration; (Hall – [0271] The term ‘sweep time’ T.sub.s means the time period over which the frequency varies, i.e. the length of the chirp.)
upchirp intervals; downchirp intervals; (Hall – [0276])
a number of chirp transmissions per frame; (Hall – [0032])
a chirp transmission period within a frame; (Hall – [0012], [0271])
a frame period; or a (Hall – [0294] As can be seen from FIG. 6, each radar device 302, 304, 306 produces respective chirps in certain time frames. In particular, each device 302, 304, 306 is configured to produce a pair of chirps within a given frame (i.e. time period).)
sampling frequency. (Hall – [0032])
Regarding Claims 4, 28, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first set of slots represent partitions of time, and wherein successive slots within the first set of slots are separated by guard intervals. (Hall – [0032], [0110] Where multiple second (i.e. ‘slave’) radar devices are used, these may each use the same chirp pattern as one another. In a particular set of such embodiments, the second pattern comprises alternating between FMCW chirps and chirp-free time slots. In other words, such a pattern has an FMCW chirp followed by a chirp-free time slot, followed by another FMCW chirp, followed by another chirp-free time slot (and so on). Such an arrangement provides for a 50% duty cycle of chirps and chirp-free time slots. This particular chirp pattern is advantageous for avoiding having the multiple second radar devices inadvertently synchronise to one another, rather than to the first radar device.)
Regarding Claim 5, Hall further discloses:
wherein: the memory comprises non-signaled information stored thereon, and (Hall – [0041])
wherein the non-signaled information is indicative of the guard intervals and the first set of slots; and (Hall – [0032], [0041], [0110])
the guard intervals and the first set of slots correspond to each apparatus within the first group of apparatuses. (Hall – [0032], [0041], [0103], [0110])
Regarding Claim 6, Hall further discloses:
wherein a guard interval between the successive slots is more than a maximum propagation delay associated with the first group of apparatuses. (Hall – [0032], [0110], [Fig. 6], [0307] At the master radar 302 there is no dynamic adjustment of the chirp start time, these occur at set times according to a particular schedule. The two chirps A and B are used to measure the range from the slave radar to the master radar. The chirps A and C are mixed at the master radar 302, resulting in a spectral response that includes a tone and the background. The tone is proportional to the time delay time-of-flight from C to A only. It is important to remember that, in accordance with the process described herein, at this stage the slave radar 304, 306 has already independently ensured that it is synchronised to the master radar 302.)
Regarding Claim 7, Hall further discloses:
wherein slots within the first set of slots have a periodicity based on chirp transmission periodicity within each frame of a plurality of frames corresponding to the first group of apparatuses, (Hall – [0032])
wherein the plurality of frames comprise at least the first frame and the second frame. (Hall – [0032])
Regarding Claim 8, Hall further discloses:
wherein: to transmit the chirp transmission in the first frame in the first slot, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the chirp transmission in a first plurality of non-sequential slots within the first set of slots, (Hall – [0012], [0041], [0110])
wherein the first plurality of non-sequential slots includes the first slot; and to transmit the chirp transmission in the second frame in the second slot, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the chirp transmission in a second plurality of non-sequential slots within the first set of slots, wherein the second plurality of non- sequential slots includes the second slot. (Hall – [Fig. 6], [0012], [0041], [0110])
Regarding Claim 9, Hall further discloses:
wherein the guard intervals and the first set of slots are configured so chirp transmissions from different apparatuses of different groups comprising the first group of apparatuses initiated over different slots do not interfere with each other. (Hall – [0032], [0110])
Regarding Claim 10, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first group of apparatuses comprises a second apparatus, and (Hall – [0012], [0032])
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to start chirp transmissions at different times during each slot within the first set of slots relative to start times of chip transmissions associated with the second apparatus during the slot. (Hall – [Fig. 6], [0012], [0041])
Regarding Claim 11, Hall further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to maintain a chirp transmission offset for all slots within the first set of slots during which the chirp transmissions are transmitted. (Hall – [0322])
Regarding Claim 14, Hall further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive an indication, from a network entity, indicating the first set of slots allocated for the first group of apparatuses. (Hall – [0041], [0281])
Regarding Claim 15, Hall further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to randomly select the first time delay offset and the second time delay offset. (Hall – [0041], [0322], [0292] The output 422 of the threshold comparator 410 is provided to the PID controller 412 which uses a PID control loop to carry out the coarse lock and fine lock processes outlined later. In brief, the PID controller 412 seeks to drive the frequency of the tone (once present) to a particular set point or range (the coarse lock process), and to adjust the initial frequency of the chirps transmitted by the transmitter 404 (the fine lock process) as discussed below. To achieve this, the PID controller 412 supplies suitable control signals 424 to the transmitter 404 to adjust its timing (by applying a dither) and/or initial start frequency (which equivalently changes the effective start time of the chirp), as appropriate.)
Regarding Claim 16, Hall further discloses:
wherein a time delay offset between frames of apparatuses within the first group of apparatuses is different. (Hall – [0322], [0040] e) when the difference contains a tone having a signal power greater than the predetermined threshold within the in-band frequency range, applying a variable dither to the transmission timing of the next second FMCW chirp frame, thereby driving a frequency of the tone toward a set point within the in-band frequency range.)
Regarding Claims 17, 29, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first time delay offset and the second time delay offset are restricted so one or more chirp transmissions of the first frame and the second frame fall within allocated slots within the first set of slots for the first group of apparatuses. (Hall – [0040], [0322])
Regarding Claims 18, 30, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first time delay offset is a positive time delay offset or a negative time delay offset. (Hall – [0040], [0322])
Regarding Claim 19, Hall further discloses:
wherein the second time delay offset is a positive time delay offset or a negative time delay offset. (Hall – [0040], [0322])
Regarding Claim 20, Hall further discloses:
wherein: the first group of apparatuses corresponds to a plurality of groups of apparatuses, (Hall – [0032], [0103])
the plurality of groups of apparatuses comprises the first group of apparatuses and a second group of apparatuses, (Hall – [0012], [0103])
the first group of apparatuses comprises the first apparatus and a second apparatus, and (Hall – [0032], [0103])
the second group of apparatuses comprises a third apparatus and a fourth apparatus. (Hall – [0012], [0103])
Regarding Claim 21, Hall further discloses:
wherein the first set of slots configured for the first group of apparatuses are different from a second set of slots configured for the second group of apparatuses. (Hall – [Fig. 6], [0012], [0032], [0103])
Regarding Claim 22, Hall further discloses:
wherein one or more slots within the first set of slots and one or more slots within the second set of slots are separated by one or more guard intervals. (Hall – [Fig. 6], [0012], [0032], [0110])
Regarding Claim 23, Hall further discloses:
wherein: the chirp transmission in the first frame during the first slot within the first set of slots and the chirp transmission in the second frame during the second slot within the first set of slots correspond to the first apparatus; and (Hall – [0012])
a chirp transmission in a third frame during the first slot within the first set of slots and a chirp transmission in a fourth frame during the second slot within the first set of slots correspond to the second apparatus. (Hall – [0012], [0103])
Regarding Claim 24, Hall further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive a non-interfering chirp transmission from another apparatus of the first group of apparatuses. (Hall – [0032], [0041], [0110])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 20230384416) in view of Peng (US 20210293948).
Regarding Claim 12, Hall further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify the first group of apparatuses based on operating information associated with apparatuses within the first group of apparatuses, (Hall – [0041], [0032])
wherein the operating information comprises one or more of: location information, (Hall – [0006] In order for these various radar devices to co-operate when tracking and identifying targets in their shared area of coverage, it is important that the various radar devices are synchronised with one another. If the radar devices are not synchronised, accurate determination of the range, heading, and velocity of a given target may be extremely difficult if not impossible to ascertain.)
orientation information, (Hall – [0006])
movement information, or (Hall – [0006])
Hall does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
field of view information. (Peng – [0029] The database 120 may further store information regarding parameters of the particular radar under test 105, such as codes, power, fields of view, and the like.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wireless communication channel link of Hall with the fields of view information of Peng in order to further configure control operations (Peng – [0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, Hall further discloses:
wherein the memory comprises non-signaled information stored thereon, and (Hall – [0041])
wherein the non-signaled information is indicative of the first set of slots for the first group of apparatuses. (Hall – [0032], [0041])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Chen (US 12164053) teaches randomly assigning a new operating time within the specified frame-to-frame interval.
Li (US 20210239787) teaches a radar system that includes at least one antenna array and multiple transceivers to transmit and receive radar signals.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648