DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 regarding the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has asserted that the primary reference, Shieh (U.S. Patent No. 11572068), does not disclose determining a correction distance based on the distance information and the vehicle type information and adjusting the target distance by the correction distance, however examiner respectfully disagrees. Shieh teaches an adaptive cruise control system which determines a current distance to a preceding vehicle (Shieh: Col. 7, lines 5-8; i.e., the data from the image sensor 122 may further be used to determine a current distance between the main body 109 and the leading vehicle) and identifies the type of preceding vehicle (Shieh: Col. 9, lines 59-62; i.e., the method 300 may begin in block 302 in which various sensors of the vehicle may detect data. Such data may include data usable to identify a shape or type of the leading vehicle). An optimal distance to a preceding vehicle is determined based on the type of preceding vehicle (Shieh: Col. 10, lines 26-39; i.e., the ECU may determine an optimal distance from the present vehicle to the leading vehicle based on the detected data and the stored data… the ECU may access the lookup table for the determined shape or type of the leading vehicle and may compare a portion of the detected and received data to the lookup table to determine the optimal distance), and when the current distance is closer or farther than the optimal distance, a correction distance is determined, and the vehicle is controlled to adjust the distance to the preceding vehicle by the correction distance to achieve the optimal distance (Shieh: Col. 11, lines 17-20; i.e., the ECU may control the output device to output a representation of the present vehicle and the leading vehicle and indicate whether the present vehicle should be closer or farther from the leading vehicle; the ECU may control a power source of the vehicle to cause the following vehicle to remain within a predetermined amount of the optimal distance from the leading vehicles). In other words, it is inherent that the distance must be adjusted by a correction distance in order to achieve the optimal distance when the current distance and optimal distances are known. Therefore, Shieh teaches each and every limitation as presented in amended claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shieh (U.S. Patent No. 11572068; hereinafter Shieh).
Regarding claim 11, Shieh teaches a method for adjusting a target distance between a motor vehicle and a preceding vehicle traveling in front, comprising: activating an adaptive cruise control to adjust the target distance (Shieh: Col. 3, lines 8-11; i.e., the system can advantageously autonomously control the following vehicle to remain the optimal distance behind the leading vehicle during autonomous driving or during adaptive cruise control mode);
determining distance information characterizing the distance between the motor vehicle and the preceding vehicle (Shieh: Col. 7, lines 5-8; i.e., the data from the image sensor 122 may further be used to determine a current distance between the main body 109 and the leading vehicle);
determining vehicle type information characterizing a vehicle type of the preceding vehicle (Shieh: Col. 9, lines 59-62; i.e., the method 300 may begin in block 302 in which various sensors of the vehicle may detect data. Such data may include data usable to identify a shape or type of the leading vehicle);
determining a correction distance based on the distance information and the vehicle type information and adjusting the target distance by the correction distance (Shieh: Col. 10, lines 26-39; i.e., the ECU may determine an optimal distance from the present vehicle to the leading vehicle based on the detected data and the stored data… the ECU may access the lookup table for the determined shape or type of the leading vehicle and may compare a portion of the detected and received data to the lookup table to determine the optimal distance; Col. 11, lines 17-20; i.e., the ECU may control the output device to output a representation of the present vehicle and the leading vehicle and indicate whether the present vehicle should be closer or farther from the leading vehicle; Col. 11, lines 29-34; i.e., In block 310, the ECU may control a power source of the vehicle to cause the following vehicle to remain within a predetermined amount of the optimal distance from the leading vehicles. The ECU may perform this operation when the vehicle is operating in … an adaptive cruise control state).
Regarding claim 12, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 11. Shieh further teaches wherein the target distance is adjusted such that the target distance is increased if the vehicle type of the preceding vehicle is a utility vehicle (Shieh: Col. 5, lines 45-49; i.e., the ECU may control the output device to output a representation of the present vehicle and the leading vehicle and indicate whether the present vehicle should be closer or farther from the leading vehicle; as displayed in Figure 4B, a light duty truck has a larger length and area than a sedan, resulting in a longer turbulent wake and an increased recommended distance for the host vehicle).
Regarding claim 13, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 11. Shieh further teaches wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is dependent on a speed of the motor vehicle (Shieh: Col. 13, lines 49-50; i.e., the optimal distance may vary based on the speed).
Regarding claim 17, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 11. Shieh further teaches wherein the distance information is determined by a vehicle-side radar device (Shieh: Col. 6, lines 59-61; i.e., the image sensor 122 may include four or more radar detectors to detect radar data on all four sides of the main body; Col. 7, lines 5-8; i.e., the data from the image sensor 122 may further be used to determine a current distance between the main body 109 and the leading vehicle)
and the vehicle type information is determined by a vehicle-side camera device (Shieh: Col. 6, lines 61-63; i.e., The image sensor 122 may also or instead include a first camera to detect image data in a forward direction; Col. 6, line 66 – Col. 7, line 3; i.e., The data from the image sensor 122 may include information corresponding to a shape of a leading vehicle 103. For example, the shape may include … a specific type of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 11. Shieh further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing software instructions executable by a data processing device to carry out the method of claim 11 (Shieh: Col. 5, lines 40-45; i.e., The memory 104 may include any non-transitory memory and may store data usable by the ECU 102. For example, the memory 104 may store instructions usable by the ECU 102 to drive autonomously (which may include fully autonomous driving or partial autonomous driving such as adaptive cruise control)).
Regarding claim 19, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 11. Shieh further teaches a data processing device for an automated motor vehicle, wherein the data processing device is configured to carry out the method of claim 11 (Shieh: Col. 5, lines 10-11; i.e., The ECU 102 may be coupled to each of the components of the vehicle 100 and may include one or more processors).
Regarding claim 20, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 19. Shieh further teaches a motor vehicle, comprising the data processing device of claim 19 (Shieh: Col. 4, line 65; i.e., the vehicle 100 (or system 101) may include an ECU 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shieh, and further in view of Horiguchi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0086771; hereinafter Horiguchi).
Regarding claim 14, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is activated above an upper speed threshold and is deactivated below a lower speed threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Horiguchi teaches wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is activated above an upper speed threshold and is deactivated below a lower speed threshold (Horiguchi: Par. 130; i.e., The ACC activation resume condition herein means a pre-set condition for resuming the ACC activation; Par. 226; i.e., Whether or not the vehicle speed V of the subject vehicle exceeds a threshold may be added to the ACC activation resume condition; the adjustment of the target distance (ACC activation) is dependent on the speed of the vehicle exceeding a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Shieh to have further incorporated wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is activated above an upper speed threshold and is deactivated below a lower speed threshold, as taught by Horiguchi. Doing so would prevent the driver from feeling a sense of discomfort during activation and deactivation of the ACC (Horiguchi: Par. 186; i.e., a sense of discomfort is prevented from being felt by the driver in a braking operation resulting from a change in braking performance).
Regarding claim 15, Shieh teaches the method according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is dependent on a number of lanes of a road travelled by the motor vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Horiguchi teaches wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is dependent on a number of lanes of a road travelled by the motor vehicle (Horiguchi: Par. 145; i.e., In step S34, the ACC-ECU 41 sets an ACC activation resume condition based on Case 5 (the number of lanes of the travel road is plural); Par. 146; i.e., In step S35, meanwhile, the ACC-ECU 41 sets an ACC activation resume condition based on Case 6 (the number of lanes of the travel road is single); the adjustment of the target distance (ACC activation) is dependent on the number of lanes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Shieh to have further incorporated wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is dependent on a number of lanes of a road travelled by the motor vehicle, as taught by Horiguchi. Doing so would prevent the driver from feeling a sense of discomfort during activation and deactivation of the ACC (Horiguchi: Par. 186; i.e., a sense of discomfort is prevented from being felt by the driver in a braking operation resulting from a change in braking performance).
Regarding claim 16, Shieh in view of Horiguchi teaches the method according to claim 15. Horiguchi further teaches wherein the determination of the correction distance and/or the adjustment of the target distance is deactivated on a road having multiple lanes (Horiguchi: Par. 195; i.e., the third evaluation threshold EV11z1 according to the variation of the first example is set to a value nearer High Evaluation, compared to the first evaluation threshold EV1z1. This is because, in the travel scene according to the variation of the first example … a smooth travel of the subject vehicle is more likely to be obstructed, to thereby have a larger brake load, compared to the travel scene according to the first example in which a vehicle ahead is present in the forward direction on the lane same as that of the subject vehicle; as displayed in Figure 4A, the activation condition may be met for a singular lane road but not for a multi-lane road).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON Z WILLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3665