DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 25, 2024 has been considered.
________________________________________
Specification
The specification is objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4)-(5) because the two references to "track switch 96" on page 13, lines 32-35 of the substitute specification, in the discussion of Figure 3, do not agree with the reference character 97 shown for that track switch in Figure 3.
Suggested Correction: Replace the two occurrences of "track switch 96" in that discussion of Figure 3 with "track switch 97." Retain numeral 96 where it identifies the different track switch shown in Figures 2 and 8.
The abstract is objected to under 37 CFR 1.72(b) and MPEP 608.01(b) because its final sentence describes purported merits using "beneficial" and "spectacular" and speculates that one device "may suffice," instead of concisely describing the technical disclosure.
Suggested Correction: Replace the final sentence of the abstract with "A single reverse track switch device provides backward and forward travel on the respective trajectory segments."
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 28 and 33 are objected to because "to and fro at least three switch positions" omits the preposition joining the motion to the positions. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claims 16, 28 and 33, replace "to and fro at least three switch positions" with "to and fro between at least three switch positions."
Claim 17 is objected to because "the first and second exit position" uses a singular noun for two positions. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 17, replace "the first and second exit position" with "the first and second exit positions."
Claim 25 is objected to because "according claim 16" omits "to." Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claim 25, replace "according claim 16" with "according to claim 16."
Claims 28 and 33 are objected to because the first occurrence of "the ride vehicle" lacks an express introduction. The vehicle is understood from the claimed rollercoaster and subsequent routing limitations, so this is a form informality. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In claims 28 and 33, replace the first occurrence of "the ride vehicle" with "a ride vehicle."
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a launch unit for launching a ride vehicle" in claim 24 and "a locking member to engage with the respective other of the ride vehicle and dead-end track section" in claim 26, as inherited by claim 27.
For the launch unit of claim 24, the function is launching the ride vehicle. The corresponding structure is the kicker wheel, tyre launch or linear motor, including a LIM or LSM, described in paragraphs 0026 and 0080 and shown as launch unit 123 in Figure 6. For the locking member of claim 26, the function is engaging the other of the vehicle and track section to lock the vehicle to the track section. The corresponding structure is a locking pen or hook engaging a complementary hole, ridge or locking member, described in paragraphs 0029 and 0079 and shown as part of locker 125 in Figure 6. Claim 27 further specifies the pen or hook. These paragraph numbers refer to the numbered published specification; the corresponding passages are present in the entered substitute specification.
"Dead-end track section" requires receiving and departing through the same proximal entrance during the recited reversing operation. A permanent hard stop is not required: paragraphs 0011-0012 describe the reversing function and alternative end stops, and paragraph 0086 and Figure 9 permit through travel in another operating mode. The apparatus claims require the physical capability for the complete first-exit, return and second-exit sequence; those functions are given patentable weight. Claim 24 requires at least one of its listed alternatives, so a stopping brake alone satisfies that additional limitation.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites "a high speed track switch." Neither the claim nor paragraphs 0051 and 0070 of the published specification identify whether "speed" means the rate at which the switch changes track alignment or the speed of a vehicle passing through the aligned switch. Those passages also provide no objective criterion distinguishing a high-speed switch from other switches. The two readings encompass different operating characteristics, and the boundary of the additional limitation cannot be determined. The prior-art analysis below applies the reasonably ascertainable reading of a switch that rapidly changes track alignment, without resolving this ambiguity for applicant.
Suggested Correction: Amend claim 30 to identify the relevant operating characteristic and an objective criterion supported by the original disclosure, or cancel claim 30. Any clarification must avoid introducing new matter.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 2007/0074638 A1.
Reference 2 - CN 103505878 A.
Reference 3 - US 2010/0163688 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A reverse track switch device for reversing an initial riding direction of a ride vehicle on a trajectory, wherein the reverse track switch device comprises: (L2) a movable dead-end track section for receiving the ride vehicle, wherein the dead-end track section has an entrance at a proximal end; (L3) a framework for supporting the dead-end track section; (L4) a drive for moving the dead-end track section to and fro at least three switch positions including at least one access position and at least a first and second exit position (L5) to allow a ride vehicle to leave the dead-end track section in a reverse riding direction to a first trajectory segment at the first exit position, (L6) to allow the ride vehicle to return thereafter onto the dead-end track section via the at least one access position (L7) and subsequently to allow the ride vehicle to leave the dead-end track section in the initial riding direction to a second trajectory segment at the second exit position.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches an amusement-ride track switch using movable track section 10 and motion base 15 in a closed-loop path 100 for ride vehicle 20 (paragraphs 0007-0008 and 0015-0018; Figure 1). Reference 1 does not expressly teach reversing the vehicle at the same end of the track section. Reference 2 teaches that operation: movable rail 1 receives vehicle body 10 through its open end, rotary drive unit 3 aligns that same end with the other fixed rail 2, and the vehicle departs through that end in the opposite vehicle-relative direction (paragraphs 0020-0022; Figures 1-2). (L2) Movable rail 1 of Reference 2 has the receiving opening at one end and terminates at the opposite end, as shown in Figures 1-2; it supplies the claimed dead-end arrangement to track section 10 of Reference 1. (L3) Reference 1 supplies the supporting framework through track support 120, motion base 15 and support platform 17 (paragraph 0020; Figures 2-3). (L4) Reference 1 supplies actuators 115 and a rotational drive on motion base 15, including yaw rotation exceeding 360 degrees, and a switch with multiple positions rather than only one or two (paragraphs 0020 and 0026). Its incoming fixed track 5 and outgoing primary route 30 and alternate route 25 provide three distinct alignments for the same proximal end when the reversing arrangement of Reference 2 is used (Figure 1; paragraph 0018). (L5) At the first outgoing alignment with primary route 30, the proposed same-end arrangement releases vehicle 20 backwards onto that route, using the reversal taught by Reference 2. (L6) The closed loop in Figure 1 of Reference 1 brings primary route 30 back to the incoming track 5; resetting track section 10 to that access alignment receives the same vehicle again. Reference 1 expressly teaches resetting the movable track after departure and repeated use of the same movable section during a ride (paragraphs 0021 and 0025). (L7) Aligning the proximal end next with alternate route 25 and releasing through the same end makes the second reversal, restoring the initial vehicle-relative direction. This three-position reversing configuration is the proposed combination; it is not asserted to be expressly disclosed by Reference 1 alone.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the movable section 10 and motion base 15 of Reference 1 to receive and release the vehicle through the same proximal end as taught by Reference 2, aligning that end successively with incoming track 5, primary route 30, incoming track 5 again and alternate route 25. Reference 1 seeks variable ride experiences and reuses a movable section to serve successive routes while reducing the ride footprint (paragraphs 0002, 0018 and 0025-0026); Reference 2 uses track realignment to change vehicle travel direction while maintaining reliable docking (paragraphs 0004 and 0020-0022). Combining those functions lets one shared switching station provide a backward first circuit and a forward second circuit without a separate reversing station. Reference 1 already provides the translational and rotational travel, vehicle securing device and aligned-track interlocks needed to carry out these alignments (paragraphs 0019-0024), giving a predictable, operable change in routing.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch device according to claim 16, wherein the dead-end track section is movable between a single access position and the at least two exit positions.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 16 is incorporated. Figure 1 of Reference 1 shows one incoming fixed track 5 and the two outgoing choices, primary route 30 and alternate route 25 (paragraphs 0015 and 0018). Using the same-end reversal of Reference 2 at those three alignments provides a single access position and at least two exit positions; the closed loop returns the vehicle to that access position.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the single incoming track 5 and both outgoing route choices of Reference 1 in the reversing arrangement of Reference 2 because a shared receiving point permits repeated use of the same switch and limits the required track footprint, consistent with Reference 1, paragraph 0025.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch device according to claim 16, wherein the dead-end track section is rotatable about a pivot axis.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 16 is incorporated. Reference 1 rotates movable track section 10 in yaw using the drive of motion base 15 (paragraph 0020), and Reference 2 expressly mounts movable rail 1 on a pivoting turntable driven by rotary drive unit 3 (paragraph 0022; Figures 1-2). The resulting dead-end track section is rotatable about the turntable pivot axis.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the rotary turntable of Reference 2 to reposition the receiving end of the combined track between the incoming and outgoing routes, because both references employ controlled rotation to align a vehicle-carrying track with another track, producing the predictable alignment needed for the two reversals.
________________________________________
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch device according to claim 16, wherein the dead-end track section is slidably supported at the proximal end by a guidance rail mounted to the framework, (L2) wherein a switch lock is provided at each switch position to lock the dead-end track section in position.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 16 is incorporated. Reference 2 locates road wheels 4 on mounting rack 5 beneath the open, proximal end of movable rail 1. The wheels enter and travel within walking grooves 61 of walking tracks 6 on mounting racks 7 at the docking positions (paragraph 0020; Figures 1-5). These guides support and guide the proximal end as it moves into alignment. Mounting the guide racks to the support framework of Reference 1 provides the recited rail supported sliding carriage arrangement; the claim does not require continuous guide contact throughout the entire switching motion. (L2) Reference 2 provides docking locking device 9 between the movable rail and each fixed rail, using cylinder 91, lock shaft 92 and lockplate 93 with lockhole 931 (paragraphs 0020 and 0023-0024; Figures 4-5). Repeating that guide and lock at each of the three alignments of the combined device locks the track at each switch position. Reference 1 likewise uses track locks 65 and 65a at the fixed/movable interfaces (paragraph 0019; Figure 2).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to support the docking guides 6/7 of Reference 2 on the combined device framework and provide its docking lock 9 at each incoming and outgoing alignment of Reference 1. Reference 2 explains that the flared guide mouth corrects positional error and the mechanical lock prevents unsafe misalignment after docking (paragraphs 0004 and 0011). Repeating the same guide-and-lock assembly at all three docking positions predictably supplies those benefits at every vehicle transfer.
________________________________________
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch device according to claim 16, wherein the dead-end track section is sloped about a slope angle of at least 5°.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 16 is incorporated. Reference 1 expressly pitches movable track section 10 twenty degrees downward to connect to a fixed track section, and its Figure 3 shows track positions at different elevations (paragraphs 0022-0023). Selecting that disclosed twenty-degree downward departure orientation for the combined dead-end section provides a slope of at least five degrees.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the downward-pitched departure configuration of Reference 1 with the same-end reversing section of Reference 2 because Reference 1 teaches both gravity propulsion and pitching the section to meet a receiving track (paragraphs 0015 and 0023). A downward slope at the releasing end predictably assists vehicle departure while adding the disclosed pitch sensation.
________________________________________
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch device according to claim 16, wherein the dead-end track section comprises at least one of the following features: a launch unit for launching a ride vehicle; a brake unit for stopping a ride vehicle at the dead-end track section; and a stopper at a distal end.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 16 is incorporated. Reference 1 stops ride vehicle 20 relative to movable track section 10, and provides brakes or other securing mechanisms preventing traversal of a track terminus until alignment is complete (paragraphs 0017 and 0021). It also discloses a caliper brake as vehicle securing device 210 (paragraph 0024; Figure 3). Retaining a stopping brake on the combined track satisfies the expressly alternative brake-unit feature of claim 24; the claim does not require all three listed alternatives together.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain a stopping brake on the combined movable track because the vehicle must be brought to rest and held before the track changes alignment. Reference 1 expressly stops and secures the vehicle for that motion (paragraphs 0017 and 0021-0024), preventing premature departure during reversal.
________________________________________
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch device according claim 16, wherein the dead-end track section comprises a locker for locking the ride vehicle to the dead-end track section.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 16 is incorporated. Reference 1 provides vehicle securing device 210 to rigidly hold vehicle body 200 on track section 10 while the track is decoupled and moving (paragraph 0024; Figure 3). The disclosed hook extending from track section 10 to engage a bar on vehicle 20 is a locker carried by the track section.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the track-mounted securing hook of Reference 1 in the reversing arrangement because it holds the vehicle to the movable track during repositioning, preventing relative vehicle motion before the next aligned exit is established, as expressly contemplated in Reference 1, paragraphs 0017 and 0024.
________________________________________
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch according to claim 25, wherein one of the ride vehicle and the dead-end track section includes a locking member to engage with the respective other of the ride vehicle and dead-end track section.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 25 is incorporated. Reference 1 locates vehicle securing device 210 on either ride vehicle 20 or track section 10 and makes it engageable with the other. Its specific track-mounted hook releasably engages a bar or other portion of vehicle 20 (paragraph 0024; Figure 3). That hook and complementary bar provide the same locking structure and function as the hook and complementary locking member identified in the construction of this claim.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the disclosed hook-to-bar engagement of Reference 1 as the locker in the combined device, because it mechanically retains the vehicle on the track during switching and releases it for the next trajectory segment, as Reference 1 expressly teaches in paragraph 0024.
________________________________________
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The reverse track switch according to claim 26, wherein the locking member is a locking pen or locking hook.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 26 is incorporated. The hook extending from track section 10 to engage a bar on vehicle 20 in Reference 1, paragraph 0024, is the expressly recited locking-hook alternative. Claim 27 does not require a locking pen in addition to the hook.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the locking member as the expressly disclosed releasable hook of Reference 1, because its engagement with the vehicle bar rigidly secures the vehicle during track movement and permits release after alignment, fulfilling the required locking operation with a known mechanical structure.
________________________________________
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A rollercoaster to provide a passenger ride along a trajectory comprising a reverse track switch device comprising: (L2) a movable dead-end track section for receiving the ride vehicle, wherein the dead-end track section has an entrance at a proximal end, the dead-end track section being operable between at least three switch positions including at least one entrance position and at least two exit positions; (L3) a framework for supporting the dead-end track section; (L4) and a drive for moving the dead-end track section to and fro at least three switch positions including at least one access position and at least a first and second exit position (L5) to allow a ride vehicle to leave the dead-end track section in a reverse riding direction to a first trajectory segment at the first exit position, (L6) to allow the ride vehicle to return thereafter onto the dead-end track section via the at least one access position (L7) and subsequently to allow the ride vehicle to leave the dead-end track section in the initial riding direction to a second trajectory segment at the second exit position, (L8) wherein the rollercoaster further comprises: a first trajectory segment and a second trajectory segment having each respectively a segment start in alignment with respectively the first and second exit positions of the reverse track switch device; (L9) and an entry trajectory segment having a segment end in alignment with the at least one entrance position of the reverse track switch device.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses a rollercoaster or other amusement ride with passenger vehicle 20 and track path 100 (paragraphs 0002, 0007 and 0015; Figure 1). (L2) Reference 2 supplies movable rail 1 that receives and releases vehicle body 10 at the same proximal end (paragraphs 0020-0022; Figures 1-2). Applying that reversing mode to movable section 10 of Reference 1 provides a dead-end receiving section whose proximal end is operable at three positions: one at incoming track 5 and two at primary route 30 and alternate route 25. (L3) Reference 1 supplies motion base 15, track support 120 and support platform 17 (paragraph 0020; Figures 2-3). (L4) Its actuators 115 and rotational drive reposition the track among multiple alignments, with translation and more than 360 degrees of available yaw motion (paragraphs 0020 and 0026). (L5) The first departure through the receiving end, using Reference 2's reversing operation, places vehicle 20 onto primary route 30 in the reverse vehicle-relative direction. (L6) Primary route 30 rejoins the closed path to incoming track 5 in Figure 1 of Reference 1, returning the vehicle to the same access alignment after track section 10 is reset. Reset and repeated use are taught in paragraphs 0021 and 0025. (L7) Realignment of the same proximal end with alternate route 25 produces the second reversal and departure in the initial vehicle-relative direction. (L8) The starts of primary route 30 and alternate route 25 are the respective outgoing alignments selected by the movable section (paragraph 0018; Figure 1). (L9) The end of incoming fixed track 5 aligns with the receiving position of that section (paragraphs 0015-0019; Figures 1-2). The same-end reversal and the resulting three distinct proximal-end alignments are supplied by the stated modification, rather than attributed to the through-running example of Reference 1 alone.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to operate the multiple-route rollercoaster of Reference 1 with the same-end receiving and reversing track arrangement of Reference 2. Keeping its incoming track 5 and two outgoing route starts, and configuring motion base 15 to align the receiving end with each, lets the rider travel the first circuit backwards and the second forwards using one switching station. Reference 1 expressly seeks varied motion and reuse of a track section across successive routes with a reduced footprint (paragraphs 0002, 0018 and 0025-0026), while Reference 2 provides a vehicle-carrying reversal with reliable docking (paragraphs 0004 and 0020-0022). Reference 1's rotation, translation, securing device and track locks provide the necessary motion and alignment for this predictable combination.
________________________________________
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The rollercoaster according to claim 28, wherein the reverse track switch device comprises a single entrance position, (L2) wherein the first and second trajectory segments are coupled to each other by a track switch to guide a ride vehicle from the first or second trajectory segment onto a common track being in alignment with the single entrance position to enter the dead-end track section of the reverse track switch device.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 28 is incorporated. The Figure 1 layout of Reference 1 has a single incoming track 5 for the common receiving alignment of the combined reversing track. (L2) Primary route 30 and alternate route 25 rejoin the common closed-loop track leading to that receiving alignment. Reference 1 does not detail a switching mechanism at their rejoining point. Reference 3 provides such a selectable track connection using track-switching device 320, straight switch track 104 and curved switch track 106 to connect through track 308 with either the continuing track or branch track 312 (paragraphs 0027 and 0036-0040; Figures 2-3). Installing that device at the rejoining point, with the common side directed toward incoming track 5 and its branch sides connected to the two returning trajectory segments, guides a returning vehicle from either segment onto the common track. Figure 3 of Reference 3 illustrates diverging travel; using its same aligned rail connections for converging travel is the proposed orientation at the return junction, not a statement that Figure 3 expressly depicts merging.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place the selectable straight/curved track connection of Reference 3 at the return junction of Reference 1, orienting its two branch-side connections toward the two returning routes and its common connection toward the single entrance of the reversing device. Reference 3 teaches positive alignment, locking and vehicle-presence interlocks for safe transfer between connected tracks and accommodates multiple ingress and egress points (paragraphs 0037-0040). Those functions are pertinent at the shared return junction: the aligned rail geometry provides a continuous path from either approaching branch, while the interlocks prevent changing alignment under a vehicle. The modification preserves the single common return and safely serves the alternate routes.
________________________________________
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The rollercoaster according to claim 29, wherein the track switch is a high speed track switch.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 29 is incorporated. Under the rapid-realignment reading explained in the 112(b) rejection, Reference 3 expressly provides track switching in less than two seconds (paragraph 0022). Motor 108, flywheel 120, clutch assembly 122 and drive axle 148 rapidly rotate barrel 102 carrying tracks 104 and 106; braking assembly 154 and the latch stop and hold the selected alignment (paragraphs 0027-0034; Figures 1-3). This is a high-speed track switch in the ascertainable rapid-realignment sense.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the rapid-switching drive of Reference 3 for the return-junction switch because Reference 3 expressly identifies reduced switching delay, increased vehicle throughput and shorter guest waiting times as its benefits (paragraphs 0002-0003 and 0022). Rapidly establishing and locking the chosen return path predictably reduces the time for which the common return junction is unavailable, while retaining the disclosed vehicle-presence protection.
________________________________________
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The rollercoaster according to claim 28, wherein the rollercoaster comprises in its trajectory a passenger station to allow passengers to enter or exit a ride vehicle, wherein the passenger station is located at a final trajectory segment of the trajectory being in alignment with an exit position of the reverse track switch device.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 28 is incorporated. Reference 1 locates loading and unloading area 50 on closed-loop path 100 as the beginning and end of the passenger ride (paragraph 0015; Figure 1). The path from alternate route 25, aligned with the second exit of the combined device, proceeds along track 5 to area 50. Using that route after the second reversal places the passenger station on the final trajectory segment, where passengers can board or disembark.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain loading and unloading area 50 on the final route after the second reversal because Reference 1 already uses that area to start and end the ride (paragraph 0015). Completing the backward and forward portions before unloading returns passengers to the station in the initial vehicle-relative riding direction with a single shared station.
________________________________________
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The rollercoaster according to claim 28, wherein the first trajectory segment being in alignment with the first exit position and being arranged for a reverse riding direction differs in length from the second trajectory segment being in alignment with the second exit position which is arranged for an initial riding direction.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 28 is incorporated. Reference 1 provides differently routed primary and alternate paths 30 and 25 between the movable section and their rejoining point (paragraph 0018; Figure 1). Selecting unequal lengths for those two routes, with primary route 30 serving the first reverse-direction circuit and alternate route 25 serving the subsequent initial-direction circuit, supplies the claimed length difference. No numerical length or scale measurement is inferred from the schematic figure.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to give the primary and alternate routes of Reference 1 unequal lengths in the combined reversing ride because Reference 1 seeks to avoid a fixed, familiar ride experience and expressly offers alternate routes and successive loops (paragraphs 0002, 0018 and 0025). Different route lengths provide different travel durations and spacing of ride effects on the backward and forward circuits. This predictable variation requires no new switching principle and preserves both routes' shared return; the claim specifies no critical amount of length difference.
________________________________________
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A method for operating a rollercoaster comprising the steps of: providing a rollercoaster to provide a passenger ride along a trajectory comprising a reverse track switch device comprising: (L2) a movable dead-end track section for receiving the ride vehicle, wherein the dead-end track section has an entrance at a proximal end, the dead-end track section being operable between at least three switch positions including at least one entrance position and at least two exit positions; (L3) a framework for supporting the dead-end track section; (L4) and a drive for moving the dead-end track section to and fro at least three switch positions including at least one access position and at least a first and second exit position (L5) to allow a ride vehicle to leave the dead-end track section in a reverse riding direction to a first trajectory segment at the first exit position, (L6) to allow the ride vehicle to return thereafter onto the dead-end track section via the at least one access position (L7) and subsequently to allow the ride vehicle to leave the dead-end track section in the initial riding direction to a second trajectory segment at the second exit position, (L8) wherein the rollercoaster further comprises: a first trajectory segment and a second trajectory segment having each respectively a segment start in alignment with respectively the first and second exit position of the reverse track switch device; (L9) and an entry trajectory segment having a segment end in alignment with the at least one entrance position of the reverse track switch device; (L10) moving the dead-end track section to the entrance position for receiving a ride vehicle in an initial riding direction on the dead-end track section; (L11) moving the dead-end track section from the entrance position to a first exit position to launch the ride vehicle onto a first trajectory segment in a reverse riding direction; (L12) moving the dead-end track section from the exit position to an entrance position for receiving the ride vehicle from the first trajectory segment again on the dead-end track section; (L13) and moving the dead-end track section supporting the ride vehicle from the entrance position to a second exit position to launch the ride vehicle onto a second trajectory segment in the initial riding direction.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 provides the passenger rollercoaster, movable track section 10 and motion base 15 of path 100 (paragraphs 0007-0008 and 0015-0018; Figure 1). (L2) Reference 2 supplies movable rail 1 having a receiving end through which the vehicle also departs after reversal (paragraphs 0020-0022; Figures 1-2). Configuring section 10 in that manner provides three proximal-end alignments with incoming track 5, primary route 30 and alternate route 25. (L3) Motion base 15, track support 120 and support platform 17 provide the framework (Reference 1, paragraph 0020; Figures 2-3). (L4) Actuators 115 and the rotational drive provide translation and rotation among the alignments (Reference 1, paragraphs 0020 and 0026). (L5) Releasing through the receiving end at primary route 30 implements Reference 2's reversal for a backwards first circuit. (L6) The closed-loop path returns the vehicle along incoming track 5 to the reset section, consistent with Reference 1's reset and repeated-section use (paragraphs 0021 and 0025). (L7) Releasing next through that same end at alternate route 25 makes the second reversal and restores the initial vehicle-relative direction. (L8) Routes 30 and 25 supply the two respective outgoing segment starts at their selected alignments (Reference 1, paragraph 0018; Figure 1). (L9) Incoming track 5 supplies the aligned entry-segment end (Reference 1, paragraphs 0015-0019). (L10) Reference 1 receives vehicle 20 on movable section 10 and stops it there; Reference 2 receives vehicle body 10 through the open end of rail 1 before moving that rail (Reference 1, paragraph 0017; Reference 2, paragraph 0020). The combined method first aligns that end with incoming track 5 to receive the vehicle in its initial direction. (L11) It next carries the received vehicle to the first outgoing alignment and releases it backwards, using the carried-vehicle rotation and same-end departure of Reference 2, paragraphs 0020-0022. (L12) It resets the section to incoming track 5 while the vehicle completes the first circuit, then receives that same returning vehicle, applying Reference 1's reset and repeated-use teachings to its common-return layout. (L13) It moves the occupied section to the alternate-route alignment and releases the vehicle through the receiving end again, restoring the initial direction on the second segment. These ordered acts are the proposed operation of the combination; they are not inferred merely from the existence of a capable apparatus.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the receive, first reverse launch, reset, return reception and second reverse launch sequence with the combined rollercoaster. Reference 1 expressly reuses its movable section for successive loops and resets it after departure (paragraphs 0021 and 0025), while Reference 2 supplies receiving, moving with the vehicle and departure through the same end to change travel direction (paragraphs 0020-0022; Figures 1-2). Performing that reversal on successive visits to the common receiving track of Figure 1 produces a backward first circuit followed by a forward second circuit, varying the ride and sharing one switching station. The available rotational/translational drive, vehicle securing device and track interlocks of Reference 1 permit the identified sequence, with each launch occurring only after the next route is aligned.
________________________________________
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The method according to claim 33, wherein the dead-end track section is moved from the exit position to the same previous entrance position.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 33 is incorporated. Reference 1 resets movable track section 10 after a vehicle leaves (paragraph 0021), and the closed path of Figure 1 returns both route choices to the same incoming track 5. Resetting the combined section to that receiving alignment after the first reverse launch returns it to the same previous entrance position before the vehicle completes the circuit.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to return the combined movable section to its previous incoming-track alignment after departure because the closed-loop route returns the vehicle to that same track. The reset taught in Reference 1, paragraph 0021, then prepares the shared station to receive the returning vehicle before the second reversal.
________________________________________
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The method according to claim 33, wherein the dead-end track section is moved to a single entrance position of the reverse track switch device after a launch of a ride vehicle from the dead-end track section.
Analysis
(L1) The analysis of claim 33 is incorporated. Figure 1 of Reference 1 provides one incoming track 5 to the movable track section, and paragraph 0021 teaches resetting the movable section after a vehicle passes off it. Applying that reset after a launch in the combined device moves the section to its single entrance alignment, ready for the next reception.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to reset the combined section to its single incoming-track alignment after launch, using Reference 1's disclosed post-departure reset, because both outgoing paths rejoin the loop leading to that entrance. Reusing this one receiving position predictably prepares the switch for a returning vehicle while keeping the common-return layout.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 17, the claimed access position lies between the first and second exit positions of the same reversing section. The primary/alternate layout of Reference 1 and the two-position reversal of Reference 2 do not teach that intermediate access arrangement, and their combination does not supply a reason to relocate the three interfaces into it. For claim 20, the pivot axis is at the distal end of the dead-end section. Reference 2 uses a turntable beneath an intermediate portion of movable rail 1, while Reference 1 uses a multi-axis motion base; neither teaches the claimed distal-end pivot in the inherited three-position reversing device. For claim 21, the swing between neighbouring switch positions is at most 30 degrees. Reference 1 gives broad motion ranges and an example including 50-degree yaw, and Reference 2 shows a quarter-turn between its two alignments. Neither supplies the claimed small-angle relationship among all neighbouring positions of the inherited three-position reversing section. The broad angular capabilities do not establish that relationship. The available art does not show or suggest these respective combinations without further reconstruction of the routing geometry.
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 16-35 are pending. Claims 1-15 are canceled. Claims 16, 18, 19 and 22-35 are rejected. Claim 30 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 16, 17, 25, 28 and 33 are objected to for the stated formal informalities. Claims 17, 20 and 21 contain allowable subject matter if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of their respective base and intervening claims. The specification and abstract require the corrections stated above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The publications identified below concern movable ride-track transfers, reversing arrangements and repeated circuit travel.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 2016/0257316 A1 provides vehicle shuttle 20 with one entrance location and two exit/maintenance locations, track interlocks and vehicle brakes (paragraphs 0032-0043; Figures 1-6). It does not teach the same-end reversing section returning the same vehicle for a second, direction-restoring departure along another route. It therefore supplies a weaker starting point for the complete claimed sequence than Reference 1.
US 2022/0379227 A1 describes a fixed dead-end rail section 12 adjacent to a separate switch 13 (paragraphs 0046-0048 and 0094; Figure 4). The vehicle can reverse from that dead end, but the dead-end section itself is not the claimed movable section selecting the three alignments for the two departures.
US 2024/0286048 A1 describes a movable track platform used for successive forward and reverse rides through a circuit. Its described receiving and departure alignments do not supply two distinct exit positions for the two trajectory segments in the claimed three-position switching arrangement. It is considered as a routing comparison; no earlier foreign priority disclosure is relied upon to establish a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615