DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 10/25/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 and 03/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (Pub. No.: US 2021/0092783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Sun [0002-0003]: user equipment for wireless communication), comprising:
at least one memory (Sun [0074-0076]: memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Sun [0074-0076] and fig. 4: processor coupled to memory) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network node, configuration information for initiating a channel occupancy time (COT) (Sun [0079]: receive configuration information from a BS (base station) (network node), for initiating COT (channel occupancy time)), the configuration information associated with at least one of a channel access priority class (CAPC) (Sun [0037], [0078], [0105], [0158], [0164-0168]: “sidelink COT sharing information includes information associated with a channel access priority class (CAPC)”, associated with CAPC since they are part of the same communication process, association can be to any degree, further the information shared was obtained through configuration information [0079]), or an energy detection operation related to the COT; and
communicate with a second UE over a sidelink (Sun [0007-0010]: first and second UEs communicating over sidelink).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the configuration information is configured or preconfigured to the UE (Sun [0136] and [0078-0079]: configuration information configured to the UE).
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein based at least in part on the configuration information being associated with the CAPC, the configuration information includes at least one of:
a first CAPC value for a resource pool on an unlicensed band;
a first mapping relationship between one or more traffic priority level values and one or more CAPC values (Sun [0102], [0105], and [0110]: CAPC may determine priority of traffic);
a priority level value for the resource pool on the unlicensed band; or
a second mapping relationship between the priority level value and one CAPC value.
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 3 (the limitations of parent claim 3 as indicated above), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine the first CAPC value based on the configuration information (Sun [0128] and [0058]: resources for sidelink communications between UEs is configured by the BS, BS may also directly indicate whether to share certain information; [0037]: UE utilizing the CAPC value); and
perform a channel access procedure for initiating the COT based on one or more parameters related to the first CAPC value (Sun [0037], [0133], [0141] and [0102-0103]: channel access priority class (CAPC) used for acquiring the COT, COT information includes information associated with a CAPC).
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 3 (the limitations of parent claim 3 as indicated above), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine a traffic priority level value of the UE (Sun [0102]: priority of traffic); and
determine a second CAPC value corresponding to the traffic priority level value based on the first mapping relationship (Sun [0110]: separate CAPC than the CAPC indicated (second CAPC value) corresponding to transmit traffic).
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 3 (the limitations of parent claim 3 as indicated above), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine the priority level value based on the configuration information;
determine a traffic priority level value of the UE (Sun [0102] and [0109-0110]: priority of traffic); and
transmit, to the second UE over the sidelink, data traffic of the UE based at least in part on the traffic priority level value being less than or equal to the priority level value (Sun [0110]: separate CAPC than the CAPC indicated (second CAPC value) corresponding to transmitting traffic, scheme 600 describing communications between the two UEs over sidelink); or
not transmit the data traffic of the UE to the second UE, in response to based at least in part on the traffic priority level value being greater than the priority level value.
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein, in response to the configuration information being associated with the energy detection operation, the configuration information includes a first energy detection threshold for a resource pool on an unlicensed band (Sun [0057], [0130], and [0140]: energy detection, which utilizes a set threshold and operates in an unlicensed band).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Sun [0002-0003]: user equipment for wireless communication), comprising:
at least one memory (Sun [0074-0076]: memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Sun [0074-0076] and fig. 4: processor coupled to memory) and configured to cause the UE to:
determine at least one of a first channel access priority class (CAPC) value or a first priority level value of a first data traffic of the UE (Sun [0156]: determining associated with CAPC; Sun [0128] and [0058]: resources for sidelink communications between UEs is configured; [0037]: UE utilizing the CAPC value);
receive, from a second UE over sidelink, at least one of a second CAPC value or a second priority level value of a second data traffic of the second UE (Sun [0110], [0102]: receiving from another UE CAPC information, which includes a separate CAPC than the CAPC indicated (second CAPC value)); and
determine a greater CAPC value between the first CAPC value and the second CAPC value, or determine a greater priority level value between the first priority level value and the second priority level value. (Sun [0109]: higher priority level between priority levels).
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches
A network node for wireless communication (Sun [0003]: wireless communication by base station (BS) (network node)), comprising:
at least one memory (Sun fig. 5: memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Sun fig. 5: memory coupled to the processor) and configured to cause the network node to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for initiating a channel occupancy time (COT), the configuration information associated with at least one of a channel access priority class (CAPC), or an energy detection operation related to the COT (Sun [0079] and [0049]: BS (base station) transmitting reference signals and configuration information to a UE, configuration information used in initiating COT; Sun [0037], [0078], [0105], [0158], [0164-0168]: “sidelink COT sharing information includes information associated with a channel access priority class (CAPC)”, associated with CAPC since they are part of the same communication process, association can be to any degree, further the information shared was obtained through configuration information [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches
The network node of Claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above), wherein the configuration information is configured or preconfigured to the UE (Sun [0136] and [0078-0079]: configuration information configured to the UE).
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches
The network node of Claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above), wherein, based at least in part on the configuration information being associated with the CAPC, the configuration information includes at least one of:
a CAPC value for a resource pool on an unlicensed band;
a first mapping relationship between one or more traffic priority level values and one or more CAPC values (Sun [0102], [0105], and [0110]: CAPC may determine priority of traffic);
a priority level value for the resource pool on the unlicensed band; or
a second mapping relationship between the priority level value and one CAPC value.
Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches
The network node of Claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above), wherein, in response to the configuration information being associated with the energy detection operation, the configuration information includes an energy detection threshold for a resource pool on an unlicensed band (Sun [0057], [0130], and [0140]: energy detection, which utilizes a set threshold and operates in an unlicensed band).
Regarding claim 16, Sun teaches
A processor for wireless communication (Sun fig. 4, [0002], and [0074-0075]: processor for wireless communication), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Sun fig. 4, [0002], and [0074-0075]: controller coupled with memory) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive configuration information for initiating a channel occupancy time (COT) (Sun [0079]: receive configuration information for initiating COT (channel occupancy time)), the configuration information associated with at least one of a channel access priority class (CAPC) (Sun [0037], [0078], [0105], [0158], [0164-0168]: “sidelink COT sharing information includes information associated with a channel access priority class (CAPC)”, associated with CAPC since they are part of the same communication process, association can be to any degree, further the information shared was obtained through configuration information [0079]), or an energy detection operation related to the COT; and
communicate with a user equipment (UE) over a sidelink (Sun [0007-0010]: first and second UEs communicating over sidelink).
Regarding claim 17, Sun teaches
The processor of claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein the configuration information is configured or preconfigured (Sun [0136] and [0078-0079]: configuration information configured to the UE).
Regarding claim 18, Sun teaches
The processor of claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein, based at least in part on the configuration information being associated with the CAPC, the configuration information includes at least one of:
a first CAPC value for a resource pool on an unlicensed band;
a first mapping relationship between one or more traffic priority level values and one or more CAPC values (Sun [0102], [0105], and [0110]: CAPC may determine priority of traffic);
a priority level value for the resource pool on the unlicensed band; or
a second mapping relationship between the priority level value and one CAPC value.
Regarding claim 19, Sun teaches
The processor of claim 18 (the limitations of parent claim 18 as indicated above), wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to:
determine the first CAPC value based on the configuration information (Sun [0128] and [0058]: resources for sidelink communications between UEs is configured by the BS, BS may also directly indicate whether to share certain information; [0037]: UE utilizing the CAPC value); and
perform a channel access procedure for initiating the COT based on one or more parameters related to the first CAPC value (Sun [0037], [0133], [0141] and [0102-0103]: channel access priority class (CAPC) used for acquiring the COT, COT information includes information associated with a CAPC).
Regarding claim 20, Sun teaches
The processor of claim 18 (the limitations of parent claim 18 as indicated above), wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to:
determine a traffic priority level value of the UE (Sun [0102]: priority of traffic); and
determine a second CAPC value corresponding to the traffic priority level value based on the first mapping relationship (Sun [0110]: separate CAPC than the CAPC indicated (second CAPC value) corresponding to transmit traffic).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (Pub. No.: US 2021/0092783 A1) in view of Myung (WO 2021/091306 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 8 (the limitations of parent claim 8 as indicated above), wherein the at least one processor is configured to…
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach cause the UE to set a second energy detection threshold to be equal to or less than the first energy detection threshold.
However, Myung, in the analogous art of LBT (listen before talk) and COT (channel occupancy time), teaches
cause the UE to set a second energy detection threshold to be equal to or less than the first energy detection threshold (Myung pg. 4 paragraphs 3-4 and pg. 3 paragraph 3: first ED (energy detection) threshold may be the second ED threshold (meaning they can be equal)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Myung and cause the UE to set a second energy detection threshold to be equal to or less than the first energy detection threshold. Doing so would allow for help determining whether or not to allow COT sharing (Myung pg. 2 paragraph 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (Pub. No.: US 2021/0092783 A1) in view of Myung (WO 2021/091306 A1), further in view of Wu (WO 2022/046441 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sun modified by Myung teaches
The UE of Claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
…
use the COT initiated by the second UE during communicating with the second UE (Sun [0007-0010]: utilizing the COT from the second UE).
While Sun modified by Myung does teach LBT type 2, it is not explicit regarding perform a listen-before-talk (LBT) type 2 procedure based on the second energy detection threshold.
However, Wu, in the analogous art of sidelink communications and channel access priority, teaches
perform a listen-before-talk (LBT) type 2 procedure based on the second energy detection threshold (Wu [0084]: type 2 channel access (cat2 LBT) based on measuring energy); and…
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Sun and Myung to incorporate the teachings of Wu and perform a listen-before-talk (LBT) type 2 procedure based on the second energy detection threshold. Doing so would provide better access for the UEs to transmit on the channel (Wu [0106]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (Pub. No.: US 2021/0092783 A1) in view of Wang (Pub. No.: US 2022/0174733 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches
The UE of Claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine the first CAPC value based on the configuration information (Sun [0128] and [0058]: resources for sidelink communications between UEs is configured by the BS, BS may also directly indicate whether to share certain information; [0037]: UE utilizing the CAPC value);
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach determine a greater CAPC value between the first CAPC value and the second CAPC value; and perform a channel access procedure for initiating the COT based on one or more parameters related to the greater CAPC value.
However, Wang, in the analogous art of LBT and channel access, teaches
determine a greater CAPC value between the first CAPC value and the second CAPC value (Wang [0148], [0169], [0191], [0211]: determine greater value between first CAPC and second CAPC); and
perform a channel access procedure for initiating the COT based on one or more parameters related to the greater CAPC value (Wang [0148], [0169], [0191], [0211]: CAPC value required for initiating the COT).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Wang and determine a greater CAPC value between the first CAPC value and the second CAPC value; and perform a channel access procedure for initiating the COT based on one or more parameters related to the greater CAPC value. Doing so would improve performance of services provided to the UE and reduce power consumption (Wang [0267]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is as follows:
Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0300886 A1) discloses type 2 LBT, CAPC associated with sidelink transmissions, and COT determined based on CAPC.
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412